8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Mountain Biking Heaven V25.5, Noobs... go read page 1

xandman
post Jan 30 2012, 07:23 AM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Jan 29 2012, 11:21 PM)
Guys, dilemma here. I got an offer to swap my Nomad with a Glory

Nomad 2011

Shock: DHX 5.0
Fork: Fox Float 160mm 2012
Brakes: SLX
Shifter: SLX
RD: SLX
Chainguide: e13
Crankset: SLX
Wheelset: specialized DT Swiss

The glory 2010

Shock: Fox Van R
Fork: 2010 Boxxer 2010
Handlebar: Race Face atlas
Stem: Truvativ direct mount
Brakes: Avid Elixir R
Shifter: Sram X0 9speed
RD: Sram X0 9speed
Chainguide: MRP
Crankset: Raceface Evolve 38t
Wheelset: Bontrager Big Earl

The components claimed to be taken new from Session 8 2011.

My question is, is it worth to swap?  hmm.gif
If u ask me...
Skip the offer.

With the nomad u can enjoy going DH albeit a bit slow...
But with the Glory...i dun think u can enjoy riding uphill....

been there, done that, hate it.

ive used an XC, Trail/AM, DH, FR...
trust me...
A trail/AM is the best way to enjoy your weekend ride...
unless u r joining the DH fellas....then u have no choice la...

but to tell u frankly...
Glory is very hard to sell off...well not just glory...DH stuff in general...
if u plan to change bike in the future...skip the Glory...

xandman
post Jan 30 2012, 07:26 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(snapshots @ Jan 30 2012, 07:23 AM)
Santa cruz blur lt, meta am or 575 with alloy swing arm.blur lt gets my vote
between the 3...i choose Blur LT as well!

rclxms.gif
xandman
post Jan 30 2012, 05:27 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Jan 30 2012, 03:56 PM)
Well said. Expert is always Sifu  whistling.gif

Got 1 noob question here  sweat.gif : That is a lots of AM bike in the market.. For instance,
1) Yeti 575, AS-R, SB66
2) Giant Trance
3) Intense Tracer-2
4) Spec Enduro
5) SC Blur LT
6) Ibis Mojo
7) Trek Fuel EX, Trek Scratch
8) Commencal Meta AM
9) Others.... You name it....

I know that brand and setting are solely depends on personal preferences.
But is anyone here mind to comment on the bikes I listed above?
I just wants to know more on the personal review, experiences, price worthiness???
(Hopes to hear Tim, Xandman or Reza's comment)  brows.gif
i just buy what looks good!
rclxms.gif

among all my bike...all look good except one...the banned shit!

so from this list...just get what looks the best to u!
performance wise all is almost at par...albeit some pros and cons of coz!

better still...
since u have UNLIMITED budget...
get something u dun see ppl riding or less ppl riding... brows.gif

This post has been edited by xandman: Jan 30 2012, 05:28 PM
xandman
post Jan 30 2012, 06:26 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 30 2012, 06:13 PM)
Eh? How come I feel like I read this somewhere...
rolleyes.gif
142mm treaxle is future proof? I thought that is proprietary thingy?
Thing like 30mm seatpost... ? unsure.gif
bcoz wise minds think alike? nod.gif
hahahahaha...

142 is considered future proof la...
since it is backward compatible maaa....
can use 135 oso...with spacers...
i think that is future proof la...
xandman
post Jan 30 2012, 06:27 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Jan 30 2012, 05:06 PM)
Speaking about budget? I will be confused.  rclxub.gif
Before I got my Scott Spark 60 2012. My budget was $2,500.00
After I few trips to Bikepro. I got a new bike for $5,000.00 plus.  doh.gif

LoL! I can't resist the look. (Matt Black+Red)  shakehead.gif
according to research...matte black can make u faster!
brows.gif
xandman
post Jan 30 2012, 06:45 PM

7,214 posts

but ugly will negate the speed.
xandman
post Jan 31 2012, 07:23 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Jan 31 2012, 04:12 AM)
Oh man oh man! Poison. I friggin love my white nomad but i want to see what the fuss is about for the new scratch.  biggrin.gif And the green theme is  drool.gif
i used to think the same thing also...
whats the big fuss about Trek.
After owning one...
Let's just say...it's hard to find a better bike to change to. doh.gif
xandman
post Jan 31 2012, 11:02 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Jan 31 2012, 08:24 AM)
Veli the easy! just sale me your Trek and you will automatically buy a better one.  laugh.gif
Tomorrow got work.  cry.gif
thats the problem...
if there's nothing better...
i wont think about changing...
so if i dun think about changing...
i wont sell my ride...
and the cycle goes on... biggrin.gif

unless what u offer is reasonable of coz.
$$$ can do wonders i tell u. brows.gif
xandman
post Jan 31 2012, 06:30 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Jan 31 2012, 11:31 AM)
LoL! Now you have voiced out as I expected.  biggrin.gif

Btw, Any good about Spec Bighit 3... My hand is gatal already.
I think I wont put boxxer to it.. Just 160-180mm fork suffice.  thumbup.gif
Bro...
ignore big hit plz...
its heavy as hell... srsly...

Added on January 31, 2012, 6:31 pm
QUOTE(noprob @ Jan 31 2012, 11:33 AM)
Shud i get this ? good buy ?

plan to get 2nd ride ..
no good.
2.9k can get new XTC!

Added on January 31, 2012, 6:31 pm
QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Jan 31 2012, 12:36 PM)
I mau test drive satu. Haha.
This one 2k also i think 9999999 times before buying.
Test drive? Can.
Buy one. Then u test.
No like, sell.

Added on January 31, 2012, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Jan 31 2012, 11:31 AM)
LoL! Now you have voiced out as I expected.  biggrin.gif

Btw, Any good about Spec Bighit 3... My hand is gatal already.
I think I wont put boxxer to it.. Just 160-180mm fork suffice.  thumbup.gif
Unker. just wondering la.
why would u want a FR bike?
hmm.gif

This post has been edited by xandman: Jan 31 2012, 06:35 PM
xandman
post Feb 1 2012, 11:09 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Feb 1 2012, 12:37 AM)
Wow... u actually really belip this....
notworthy.gif
Go V25, see which bike brand we put....
Any other brand that u never heard before... throw it in rubbish bin.
not to say belip la...
just wondering why he even thought of FR bike...

Added on February 1, 2012, 11:09 am
QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Feb 1 2012, 11:06 AM)
Gaya is the most important thing.  flex.gif
gaya always top of the list one!

This post has been edited by xandman: Feb 1 2012, 11:09 AM
xandman
post Feb 1 2012, 12:37 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Feb 1 2012, 12:05 PM)
U donno us la...
First day of work = for show only.
We are not supposed to work hard because it will signify what going to happen for the rest of the year.
Branding is not important if u are buying the few common brands. Not a brand that u never heard of.
e.g. Cherry car from China.
Yeah... it still run and cheap but you just don't want to be the first on the road to test it out how good or bad it is....
Slash 9 la.
Then, u will the first one. Can climb, can downhill, kak Shima all the way.... And u no need upgrade since already SRAM X0... He! He! He!
One time pain, whole year enjoy... worth the go...

this advice.
very powderful.
always get ppl to spend more than budget!
sweat.gif

Added on February 1, 2012, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Feb 1 2012, 11:34 AM)
Any bike is in my list. But subject to further review and study. Now I found that Downhill/Freeride bike have no resale value, though.

Second. I want to hear the comment from Expert. (our Mr.Xand)  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  hehehehe~
FR/DH bike got resale value.
but just hard to sell off!
EXCEPT for BANNEDSHIT!

what comment u want?
brows.gif

This post has been edited by xandman: Feb 1 2012, 12:38 PM
xandman
post Feb 1 2012, 07:29 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Feb 1 2012, 02:24 PM)
Haha! Golden words from Sifu. Thx.. Let's see how much do my piggy bank got...  thumbup.gif
Words from the seniors are always worthier. I don't have much exposure and experience.

LoL! You really HATE Banshee..  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
LoL! If kena the 'Change Bike Virus".. The Bike gotta be sale off.. So.. I must get ready..  doh.gif
After having almost all kinds of bikes....
given the chance...
i'll get a Tracer once again...and fit it with Talas 160...
so there u go...my advice... rclxms.gif

Reason being...
Tracer is light...very agile... adjustable rear travel...VPP2...Plush...can go up...can go down...
It's an awesome allrounder...!

xandman
post Feb 8 2012, 07:23 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Feb 8 2012, 02:02 AM)
Trek Scratch Air 9 for sales. Letting go at cheap price. Bought 2011 June.
Interested? Pm me
Slash coming ker? biggrin.gif
xandman
post Feb 15 2012, 06:04 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Feb 15 2012, 04:20 PM)
If u can ride a 23k bike... baju or singlet where got problem?
Xand rode a 20k bike with double cround cruising his taman...
i still do!

like a boss!!

hahahha...
long time no post here!

Added on February 15, 2012, 6:10 pm
QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Feb 15 2012, 04:58 PM)
Go to LBS...wear Shorts and singlet ....and buy RM23K bike ...
Itu baru boss ...

Wanna ask...does the rider's body weight be considered when he wants to get a FS bike? will it effect the type of travel too?
one question....
got money?

then anything oso can.

brows.gif

on a srs note...body weight no problem one...
if air shock u can pump the air spring to accommodate ur weight....
if coil shock...like timmy said...a little more problem bcoz u need to find a spring suitable for u...
and usually u'll need to buy that spring as the standard spring will often be too hard or too soft...(if u r lighter or heavier than the average rider la)

and if u need to know also...each suspension design affects spring rate differently...

so the best thing to get is a frame with an air shock!

This post has been edited by xandman: Feb 15 2012, 06:10 PM
xandman
post Feb 16 2012, 07:13 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Feb 15 2012, 10:13 PM)
Abang Xand... This saturday ride on... Make sure u come this time... got gathering kao kao...
If not use cash use what?
wokay!

Added on February 16, 2012, 7:14 am
QUOTE(keyibukeyi @ Feb 15 2012, 10:18 PM)
I've read some review about this bike. And it stated 30.9mm seatpost.. is that a rare pain in the a55 seat post to find? Overall i kinda like this bike..based on review lar.. tongue.gif And i tot climb is based on leg strength? no?
leg strength is true.
but bike geometry helps.

This post has been edited by xandman: Feb 16 2012, 07:14 AM
xandman
post Feb 16 2012, 06:58 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Feb 16 2012, 04:49 PM)
Not bad right their customer service...almost instant reply....
Couldnt find any email for Yeti though ...
Yeti CS is also awesome!
i have asked them previously regarding the 303 RDH...

nah...
srawley@yeticycles.com

this is their marketing & communications specialist's email... biggrin.gif
xandman
post Feb 17 2012, 01:09 PM

7,214 posts

siap ade worksheet tuh!
hebat2!!!

Tp specs wise i think Blur is the better frame!
brows.gif
xandman
post Feb 17 2012, 01:10 PM

7,214 posts

include la Tracer 2 in the analysis! biggrin.gif
xandman
post Feb 17 2012, 06:26 PM

7,214 posts

Afiq retire...??