perfect
686 posts

haha funny wei
Cyphereza
post Mar 17 2012, 02:23 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

The secret to getting better at mtb is a secret.
chamelion
post Mar 17 2012, 03:04 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

chyu89
post Mar 17 2012, 03:34 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

QUOTE(glamour @ Mar 17 2012, 12:17 PM)
The secret to mountain biking is pretty simple. The slower you go the more likely it is you'll crash. 
tongyam will prove otherwise.
TStimothyy
post Mar 17 2012, 04:16 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

Tongyam in action.

TStimothyy
post Mar 17 2012, 04:16 PM

4,504 posts

This is how Tongyam spoilt the nature with his falls...

chyu89
post Mar 17 2012, 05:16 PM

2,465 posts

Remember the spec guy hehehe
TStimothyy
post Mar 17 2012, 05:48 PM

4,504 posts

Just now?
chyu89
post Mar 17 2012, 05:51 PM

2,465 posts

Ya.

new bike
chyu89
post Mar 17 2012, 07:02 PM

2,465 posts

How to danny hart ?

snowfire64
post Mar 17 2012, 08:02 PM

305 posts

Hey guys, I've read around the thread and as the page 1 states that the fork is the most important part to see in buying a bike. After surveying around bike shops and bikes ranging from 2k - 3.2k, lot of the bikes have similar forks i.e suntour xcm/xcr rock shox xc 3 (can't find tora) with the price difference mainly due to groupset (9/10 speed) but similar/higher frame specs.

Is the best alternatives to buy the cheapest yet best looking for me and upgrading the fork later on or buy the more expensive ones with 10 speed groupset? Which cost/importance is the best?

Thanks to anyone who can help answering this. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by snowfire64: Mar 17 2012, 08:05 PM
chyu89
post Mar 17 2012, 08:06 PM

2,465 posts

QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Mar 17 2012, 08:02 PM)
Hey guys, I've around and as the page states that the fork is the most important part to see in buying a bike. After surveying around bike shops and bikes ranging from 2k - 3.2k, lot of the bikes have similar forks i.e suntour xcm/xcr rock shox xc 3 (can't find tora) with the price difference mainly due to groupset (9/10 speed) but similar/higher frame specs.

Is the best alternatives to buy the cheapest yet best looking for me and upgrading the fork later on or buy the more expensive ones with 10 speed groupset? Which cost/importance is the best?

fork and colour.
snapshots
post Mar 17 2012, 08:46 PM

15 posts

Hey guys, I've read around the thread and as the page 1 states that the fork is the most important part to see in buying a bike. After surveying around bike shops and bikes ranging from 2k - 3.2k, lot of the bikes have similar forks i.e suntour xcm/xcr rock shox xc 3 (can't find tora) with the price difference mainly due to groupset (9/10 speed) but similar/higher frame specs.

I'd go for a better frame and groupset. Fork all about the same at that price range. Giant may give you a better value at this price range.If you get a tora its a steal..... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by snapshots: Mar 17 2012, 08:50 PM
TStimothyy
post Mar 17 2012, 09:58 PM

4,504 posts

Its like this...
If all fork the same... then choose the color you want.

The expensive complete bikes are the best bet for your buck.
Meaning, if your target is all highest end stuff, then, straight got to a bike at highest end. But of course, it will cost you around 10-20k.

Best way to do is....
Go look see in bike shops.
See which brand/color you like best. Short list them.
Then, prepare your budget.
Buy the one you fancy most.

e.g.
Higher end bike

Giant Reign 0 vs Trek Remedy 9.9

Both have all the high end stuff including best of the best fork.
Both claim can climb like a goat and downhill like Danny Hart/Aaron Gwin.
Price?
RM10-12k vs RM30k.

Proclaimer
post Mar 17 2012, 09:59 PM

1,150 posts

buy la buy la what is nice. Frame also choose what is nice and you feel comfortable. Apa geometry bla bla, at the end of the day you still look at your bike by its look.

Fork later can upgrade if not satisfied, no big deal. laugh.gif
snowfire64
post Mar 17 2012, 10:17 PM

305 posts

Great feedback guys. I'm at ease in choosing which bike I'll buy then. Thanks a bunch! smile.gif
s6xs9x
post Mar 17 2012, 11:26 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Mar 17 2012, 09:59 PM)
at the end of the day you still look at your bike by its look.
this is like most.

Oh yea, between stylo and aka which crank arm would you choose?
Are there other options as my budget is nothing above 600 bucks. triple or double i dun mind. wanting to build a 1x9.
Cyphereza
post Mar 18 2012, 12:35 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

How about SLX or XT?
chamelion
post Mar 18 2012, 12:47 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Added on March 18, 2012, 12:58 amuser posted image