The SSD Thread V2, Faster Better Greener Unbreakable!

wildwestgoh
post Jan 18 2012, 10:47 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Jan 18 2012, 09:57 AM)
So i plug memory like this is ok right ?

I'm curious that, possible to use SSD + SATA or not.
There not listed =___=
SSD must put at 1 slot follow by the rest.

This RAM can be used by server ?

How come 8GB just RM300++, I'm doubt with it ....
RAM placement does not matter IMO, as long as the system support it, some system has restriction of 4GB per rank.
SSD + SATA? You mean SSD + HDD? As long as it's configured properly, you can have any combination of SSD and/or HDD.
But if RAID must be between the same mechanic, i.e. SSD + SSD or HDD + HDD.

8GB DDR3 for RM300? Probably the non-ECC, for the buffered or ECC (server RAM) the price could be double or higher, you can't mix ECC with non-ECC RAM, it's most recommended to use ECC RAM for critical workstation and server, although the performance could be lower.

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jan 18 2012, 10:50 AM
wildwestgoh
post Mar 12 2012, 03:42 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Mar 12 2012, 03:00 PM)
lets say if i get an SSD, and i want to migrate my windows 7 onto it, is it possible? PC spec on my sig bar
You can try to use Clone software to clone your previous Windows 7 volume/partition only over.
Software like erm, Acronis TrueImage or equivalent.
This is theoretically works but depends on the system, might not work cause the SSD needs proper driver to boot or possibly other Windows related settings.
wildwestgoh
post Jun 30 2012, 09:30 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Qavs @ Jun 29 2012, 04:01 PM)
Shiok when you see the window 7 logo can't even stick together then boot d, not so shiok after it stick and wait 3 second. Trololol
Maybe you can list your PC specs and your startup loads.
Programs that consume lots of RAM and CPU during loads can also slows down your startup time, especially those applications that relies on heavy load of drivers, etc. Well, even the highest-end Sony Vaio with RAID0 SSD also slows down due to bloat-ware so it's pretty normal.
With that said, compared to Velociraptor or top-of-the-line SCSI 16k enterprise HDD, cheapest SSD still wins. whistling.gif
wildwestgoh
post Jun 30 2012, 09:18 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(redshark_999 @ Jun 30 2012, 08:54 PM)
hey guys, whats d current price list for ssds in market? im running on nec versa e6500, feel jz wanna get faster start up speed by changing the hdd. =)

if affordable yawn.gif

p/s: my computer fan sound is pretty loud. anybody got any ideas why? i think sent for cleaning once but the sound remains, thx
With that processor, it's better to find a better laptop, like the newest Intel Core i5 3000 series then you'll really feel the power of SSD.

For your fan problem, umm, you can try better notebook cooler which has adjustable fan and position to the fan intake. Else it could be the thermal paste need to be changed. I'm not sure if the person that you sent to does a thorough cleaning? unsure.gif
wildwestgoh
post Jul 5 2012, 07:49 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(bontotalan @ Jul 4 2012, 08:09 PM)
QUOTE(bontotalan @ Jul 4 2012, 10:20 PM)
QUOTE(bontotalan @ Jul 4 2012, 11:09 PM)
QUOTE(bontotalan @ Jul 4 2012, 11:47 PM)
Mind telling what you'll be doing with all those speed? Real-time FHD rendering?
I think that speed (refer to first quote) is already quite fast, considering the 4K at 25MB, can boot up windows under 10 seconds. Launch applications like loading up from RAM.
If you're serious about speed, invest on PCI-E, SATA will still needs to pass through another controller so there's always a bottleneck there. nod.gif
wildwestgoh
post Jul 5 2012, 08:56 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(bontotalan @ Jul 5 2012, 08:06 AM)
The speed? I'm simply a perfectionist regarding PC. It just bothers me so much that i NEED it to be fast. sorry bout that. Money wise, i can kumpul it to buy new stuff. Of course will not buying new stuff this month. There's a pci-e for sata?

Added on July 5, 2012, 8:13 am

Hmmm, what if I do heavy after effects? Will it have any difference?
There's PCI-E SSD, which cost probably double or higher, but it provide the highest I/O, highest bandwidth and possibly the lowest response since the 16x PCI-E directly incorporate with the CPU since the Intel Core i generation so you'll get the most out of the SSD.
But, yeah if you looking for value, SATA MLC SSD still the best, otherwise enterprise SLC SSD will cost arm and leg, if you're serious about overall performance. wink.gif
wildwestgoh
post Jul 18 2012, 08:07 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(torino @ Jul 18 2012, 08:03 AM)
Hello, new user here...M4 128GB, and sharing my first speed test  blush.gif

Is it okay / normal? hmm.gif
The 4K is little low (not too low) but that's to be expected since you have OS installed on that drive already, so it's pretty much normal, and darn, near 500MB (sequential) ler thumbup.gif
wildwestgoh
post Jul 18 2012, 11:57 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(AwaN87 @ Jul 18 2012, 10:56 AM)
i thought u need my mobo model, not laptop model but its MSI GE620DX-675 btw smile.gif
HM67, should be SATA3
wildwestgoh
post Jul 20 2012, 07:38 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(renishi @ Jul 20 2012, 01:44 AM)
SSD component returns rate

found this to be quite interesting smile.gif
OCZ Vertex series in the top 10.. wow.. doh.gif
Crucial just start being popular lately so have to wait more time for the % to stabilize hmm.gif
wildwestgoh
post Jul 24 2012, 01:11 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(neverendinghells @ Jul 24 2012, 12:24 PM)
This is real? or Fake ya?

O.O

Price is too steep... RM399 i saw last week, this week RM360.

How can even this be?
No play-play ya friend brows.gif , SSD price drop war has been started. drool.gif
wildwestgoh
post Jul 25 2012, 08:24 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Bombgen @ Jul 25 2012, 03:19 AM)
yeah seems like it maxed out my M4's performance..hey u know any software that bench the boot up time?
Stop watch function on the phone?
There's no software that I know can clock when you press on the power button so stop watch still the best one to go with. You can even "lap" the time in between mainboard boot and Windows boot.
wildwestgoh
post Jul 25 2012, 03:27 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(udin901 @ Jul 25 2012, 03:11 PM)
now only notice that my mobo only have sata 2.0...which is im going to buy crucial m4 that use sata 3.0...can i get recommendation on this? do i need to buy pcie sata 3 card or buy a new mobo? is there any noticable differences between sata 2.0 and sata 3.0 in case of boot time or playing games like bf3 on it?
Most possibly none, but only so significant that you can only notice using BootRacer or benchmarking software.
When you say "playing games" which performance are you referring to? Don't tell me its FPS (frame per second)??
wildwestgoh
post Jul 25 2012, 04:52 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(udin901 @ Jul 25 2012, 03:52 PM)
really?  blink.gif
what i mean is bf3 long loading time when to get ingame. already got gtx580 for my FPS.. smile.gif
soo..ill just stick to use my p55 mobo with the crucial m4 in sata2_0. blush.gif

btw..what is raid0?
Loading will definitely decrease, but can't guarantee by how much since HDD loading very dependent on data location on the HDD and also the fragmentation of the data.
RAID0, umm, technically it's striping, if you want to increase speed of your HDD, then this could be a good choice but you get decreased security on your data, either 1 HDD fail and your data goes bye bye.
RAID0 on SSD will only increased its bandwidth, will not improve the latency since the latency is already way low.
If you want to learn more about RAID0... google is your friend nod.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jul 25 2012, 04:55 PM
wildwestgoh
post Jul 27 2012, 08:03 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(tanmcjiann @ Jul 27 2012, 07:12 AM)

Get the Intel 320 if you don't care about numbers and warranty, most value! wink.gif
As for PSU (Power Supply), if you're using GX, better change la... my personal advise.

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jul 27 2012, 08:04 AM
wildwestgoh
post Jul 27 2012, 08:38 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(tanmcjiann @ Jul 27 2012, 08:10 AM)
what you mean numbers? @@

i just bought the PSU?! @@ why change?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1g1dpcxmVKw

the guy at the shop asked me to change because my current 460w PSU can't support the new GC i just changed.
Um, the GX Bronze, found some good reviews about it, I thought it was the old GX series. blush.gif
The numbers that I meant is the benchmarks' result.
wildwestgoh
post Jul 27 2012, 01:30 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(yonghong @ Jul 27 2012, 11:57 AM)
if wanna go to 120gb ssd which brand is the best n the price also moderate? notworthy.gif
Crucial M4, best price + reliable so far.
Otherwise Intel 330 also not a bad deal since the price cut.
wildwestgoh
post Jul 27 2012, 05:29 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(tanmcjiann @ Jul 27 2012, 02:40 PM)
oh i see , benchmarks result? sorry i don't understand doh.gif
why do you need 2 PSU @@ , oh but if anything happens 5 years warranty =D

any of you guys got advise on the SSD?
Read last few pages from here, those posted picture is benchmark results, higher they're of course it's better but for SSD as daily use, you won't feels those different unless you're looking at video encoding, even so you should really look at the random read/write benchmark results. Data won't be at one place every time.
If you just looking at boot time, then look at the picture, most of it has 4 results, look at the 3rd one, Crucial M4 should be around 25~28MB/s which should translate into 7~10 seconds of Windows boot time, really quick IMO.

wildwestgoh
post Jul 27 2012, 07:14 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(tanmcjiann @ Jul 27 2012, 06:52 PM)
ah i see. i wanna get SSD for fast boot / opening applications faster. which do you think is best for me? , that is the use of SSD right ?  rclxub.gif
Generally, like I say before, get the Intel 320 that you have listed, otherwise just go for the size that comfortable (budget) for you. If you only need fast boot time, any SSD will work for you.

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jul 27 2012, 07:21 PM
wildwestgoh
post Jul 28 2012, 11:48 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Jul 28 2012, 02:27 AM)
Gosh, price is just going down and down and down  ohmy.gif
Waiting game is just begin... rclxms.gif
I shall wait until it goes below RM2/GB... gahahhahaha laugh.gif biggrin.gif whistling.gif
Then install the 240GB into my louzy laptop... ga huhuhu blush.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 3 2012, 07:50 AM

2,215 posts

Is there any review on M4 @ SATA2? Didn't saw (or notice) any, would like to see the 4K random on the read and write, most important part IMO.

0.0731sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:52 PM