5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Sony XPERIA S™ Official Thread, the first Xperia™ Smartphone from Sony

jason18689
post Feb 15 2012, 08:22 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

Flagship phone wont come cheap i guess...
But nevertheless, i just cant wait. My current phone is already dead, using old phone now..
Xperia S <3 !!!
jason18689
post Feb 15 2012, 10:38 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

How slim u want it to be?
IMHO, 1cm thick is marvellous.
I wonder how thickness of the phone can advances to. Now, currently the thinnest is from Huawei P1 S with 6.7mm? How thin do you guys want? 1mm?
Thickness isnt an issue for me =) The standard thickness of a smartphone is perfect =)
jason18689
post Feb 17 2012, 07:47 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Feb 17 2012, 07:08 PM)
Nobody wonder why the box so big?  Looks like they may include some goodies : )
Maybe some Playstation free games bundled inside!!!
Who might knows..
jason18689
post Feb 17 2012, 09:30 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(shah333 @ Feb 15 2012, 10:58 PM)
if the thickness same as galaxy s2 with the curve of xperia s, it would be more sexy..
but some people prefer something thicker to suit their hand when holding the fon.. for me, 8-9mm X 60-65mm width ,just nice to hold..  thumbup.gif
i'm big fan of sony..  wub.gif
Xperia S has a curve?! I certainly didnt know that, because all the while i thought it is only for Xperia Arc.
Its good to know though, thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
And, yeah different people different preferences... But i doubt one has the sensitivity to feel the difference of few millimetres. But i am just saying, there are some end-users who are too particular in thickness phones, as you said 8 to 9mm is consider VERY SLIM already, i certainly dont see the intention of phone manufacturers to launch thinner phones, like the recent Huawei P1 S (6.7mm).

QUOTE(silencer @ Feb 15 2012, 11:09 PM)
After readng the new spec of S3 with 12-megapixel back-facing camera, HD Super AMOLED Plus screen, quad-core CPU, more RAM and promising a 24-hour battery life for the “average to moderately heavy” user, I guess I have to pass this one.
This is Sparta[U] Sony!!!

QUOTE(sil3ntlif3 @ Feb 16 2012, 02:54 AM)
If it's any slimmer ... i'm afraid it might snap xD I don't mind the thickness at all. As long as it's not brick or something. Even if it's heavier or thicker it'll feels more solid in hand biggrin.gif
Erm, i guess first you gotta think how you're gonna break the battery laugh.gif Then only think of breaking the whole phone into two tongue.gif

QUOTE(Ninja @ Feb 17 2012, 12:22 PM)
Xperia S retail box:

Hmmm nice =)

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Feb 17 2012, 02:39 PM)
I prefered Xperia screen > samoled/samoled+/samoledHD.... hurt my eyes when look to it... T.T

Xperia screen colour much more natural...
Because Sony has BRAVIA inside them? rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(sil3ntlif3 @ Feb 17 2012, 07:51 PM)
They might bundle with smart tags or watch maybe? Or some other gadget they plan to announce in WMC.
I like the Xperia HD screen too biggrin.gif better than S.Amoled.
Haha dream on laugh.gif

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Feb 17 2012, 09:03 PM)
thats what i am saying! hehe...amoled is overhyped marketing gimmick. who wants good viewing angle on their phones? wanna let ppl see ur msg is it? haha
Color is better in terms of AMOLED compared to LED-backlighting, this is a fact. O stands for Organic.
It is not a marketing gimmick.
Simply put, OLED > LED in terms of color sharpness, vividness, clarity, brightness, value, hue, tint, saturation and so on.
jason18689
post Feb 17 2012, 11:05 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Feb 17 2012, 10:41 PM)
i have seen those in action. S2, Note...you name it. so many using them nowadays. it is not my taste for what's worth. the colors are over saturated. in terms of technology, yes maybe its more advance. but real life usage and quality? pfft...i prefer super LCD any day. even the old htc sensation has a more natural look.
It is not maybe more advance, it is definitely more advance laugh.gif
Btw, what is super LCD?

Real life usage and quality?
Real life usage very much depends on individual, if it is someone who likes lower power consumption and high energy efficiency aka "go-green-getter-people", yes, a thumbs up for real life usage.

Fun Fact:
Why OLED consume less power?
Because OLEDs generate light themselves and OLEDs do not require backlighting.

Quality?
3 words, thinner, brighter, lighter =)

jason18689
post Feb 18 2012, 01:00 AM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Feb 17 2012, 11:48 PM)
hey, i think you dont get it. stop quoting me. i stressed many times, I (a big I) HATE amoled display. simple right? if you like it, good for you. you can go for any amoled as you pleased. and xperia s is not for you. as for amoled or whatever crap it churns out, even if its 100x more advance, who the fark cares?
it is gimmick. and you know what? I'm glad it is not in Xperia S! period.
Hmm i guess this is the first time people getting mad from being quote by me in this forum =.="
But whatever it is, i did not say i like AMOLED, i am just telling you the correct specs and facts about it, nothing more, nothing less. But let me pin-point this again, OLED is a more advanced technology, not maybe a more advance technology as you said previously.

And please watch your language, this is a public forum smile.gif
Well, believe it or not, its more like a reason on why Sony phones arent getting OLEDs still, not a gimmick icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(china_dude 02 @ Feb 18 2012, 12:01 AM)
any idea on the color when it launch hmm.gif
Black and white rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(uzary @ Feb 18 2012, 12:12 AM)
since a few of u discussing bout the display, i wan to ask something.. im using xperia arc currently. i love the display of my phone but only one thing i dun really like is the white color.. it is kinda yellowish.. compared to superamoled n retina display, for me retina display is the best.. i would like to know why retina display so incredible? is it becoz of the ppi? or becoz it use ips panel?
Good question about retina display but i dont know the answer laugh.gif
Anyone who is "pro" enough to answer? I would like to know too.

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 18 2012, 12:25 AM)
do you guys prefer the black or the white xperia S??

I want to take the white, but i'm scared that after sometime of holding it, it might have black stains on it (if you know what I mean).

For example, white keyboard, after using for some time, some of the keys have slight black colours or spots .. it looks dirty. How leh?
Imma get the white one, simply because the design is such an elegant design, and combining with white color, its just perfect...
Just one thought, do you think there will be a sort of like launch party for Sony Xperia S wink.gif
jason18689
post Feb 18 2012, 01:08 AM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(sil3ntlif3 @ Feb 18 2012, 01:02 AM)
I don't think we have to be afraid of stain as it contain nanotechnology anti-stain coating on phone. There's a video about it. And the guy use pen and draw all over the phone and just rub it away. I hear that you can just put it out on the sun and let it clean the stain/dirt?
0.o yea ... Xperia S have the highest ppi yet? higher than retina display? biggrin.gif
Highest, 342 ppi pixel density babeh tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Not forgetting the 720 x 1280 resolution too, its HD rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by jason18689: Feb 18 2012, 01:08 AM
jason18689
post Feb 18 2012, 02:47 AM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Feb 18 2012, 01:21 AM)
i saw the REAL soon to be launch Sony Xperia S today happy.gif

*my management a.k.a boss using it*
wow whr u working sis?
jason18689
post Feb 18 2012, 02:17 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ Feb 18 2012, 09:52 AM)
With such a hi spec screen, I wonder if battery can tahan or not.
Battery has been always an issue for smart phones. If and only if end-users like us arent that particular with the thickness of the phone, then inserting a 2000mAh shouldnt be a problem. But i guess, the usual charging routine? Every night gotta charge it =)

Addon: Once Xperia S upgraded to ICS 4.0, battery life will be prolonged too!

Standard battery, Li-Ion 1750 mAh
Stand-by Up to 450 h (2G) / Up to 420 h (3G)
Talk time Up to 7 h 30 min (2G) / Up to 8 h 30 min (3G)
Music play Up to 25 h

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Feb 18 2012, 10:51 AM)
Our beloved yeelin04 (allow me to address you like this, since my SE neo is still not giving me any problem) works in SonyEricsson Malaysia la...
Ohh selling shops is it? Great, let us know the RRP then shall get from you soon =P

This post has been edited by jason18689: Feb 18 2012, 02:18 PM
jason18689
post Feb 18 2012, 06:33 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(sil3ntlif3 @ Feb 18 2012, 04:06 PM)
The unboxing of the Xperia S box biggrin.gif

Nice video!!! I hope i can do that unboxing in less than 1 month with my own hands icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Feb 18 2012, 05:33 PM)
Nope. i dont cos i am not permanent worker here. just here for promotion.
i do not get any commissions even if i sell phones  cry.gif
Oooo okay. I thought you were a Sony staff at first laugh.gif
jason18689
post Feb 18 2012, 11:05 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Feb 18 2012, 07:51 PM)
i am directly sony ericsson part time staff for promotions
ooooooooooo...

pretending to understood =.="
your job is deeeeeeeep! haha...
jason18689
post Feb 18 2012, 11:57 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4y_9Kjesp94&feature=related
Have a look.
Dont know how to post the video directly here.

This post has been edited by jason18689: Feb 18 2012, 11:59 PM
jason18689
post Feb 19 2012, 09:50 AM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

Arghhh ryosuke! But if you dont mind, pm me your coding? =P

yearh the videos are damn poison!
jason18689
post Feb 19 2012, 06:54 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

no more SE =P Its S =P
jason18689
post Feb 19 2012, 08:34 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Feb 19 2012, 07:01 PM)
Ericsson should have been gone a long time. Look at how awesome Sony is without Ericsson now. laugh.gif
It only started officially as SONY few days ago =P But nevertheless, this issue has been months ago (around Oct).
To be exact, it is 16th Feb 2012.

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 19 2012, 07:07 PM)
I'm just basing on the 'global' release?  hmm.gif

Sony Mobile Malaysia maybe a week or two later  sweat.gif
Seriously so fast? icon_idea.gif
I really hope so, but i guess that would take a month or so.
jason18689
post Feb 21 2012, 12:44 AM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

Bad impression already haha.
A big glitch during boot up!
Oh god...

This post has been edited by jason18689: Feb 21 2012, 12:45 AM
jason18689
post Feb 21 2012, 10:53 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 21 2012, 09:33 AM)
does it mean he gets it for free?

Send me one also, I can also do a review!!
He get it just for review only laugh.gif

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Feb 21 2012, 03:38 PM)
i think the battery is easily removable from looking at the unboxing video. probably not soldered on but fixed with a couple of screws which would undeniably have the warranty sticker over it. reset shit aside but you know i will be damn pissed if i have to leave my phone for a day or more just to have the battery replaced.
It is stated non-removable bro nod.gif

QUOTE(hewtwok @ Feb 21 2012, 09:08 PM)
the video shows the back cover still sony ericsson logo biggrin.gif

32gb phone, cost RM2k++?
Why not?
Its the best smartphone currently!
HD all around the phone, the screen and the capability of shooting 720p and 1080p videos front back camera wub.gif

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 21 2012, 10:01 PM)
ya, dual core is more than enough
even my desktop also running dual core only, lol
Dual core FTW! icon_idea.gif
In a sane mind seriously, why consumers need a quad core smart phones?
Dual core is just nice! rclxms.gif
jason18689
post Feb 21 2012, 10:59 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

I always believe that consumers will never ever able to keep up with electronics.
Everyday there is new invention!
Personally, a dual core smartphone is adequate.
What's more can you do with a quad core smartphone right?
It was meant to be a phone, which have smart functions and not smart specs =P (Now this statement makes Sony at top of the chart compared to rivals)
jason18689
post Feb 22 2012, 07:13 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Feb 21 2012, 03:38 PM)
i think the battery is easily removable from looking at the unboxing video. probably not soldered on but fixed with a couple of screws which would undeniably have the warranty sticker over it. reset shit aside but you know i will be damn pissed if i have to leave my phone for a day or more just to have the battery replaced.
QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Feb 22 2012, 08:50 AM)
I was just wondering how easy it is to remove it with the necessary tools when you sent it back to the service centre. Read back. doh.gif
Haha, there are internal circuitry that connects with that non-removable battery mr.soitsuagain, it is not that easy to replace a non-removable battery nod.gif
jason18689
post Feb 23 2012, 08:47 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

There is only 32gb only, no?

Added on February 23, 2012, 8:50 pmAbout the price, what about be the reasonable price?
Bear in mind that, you're now talking about world's best smartphone camera with 12MP with Exmor R lens, a brilliant HD screen with BRAVIA engine integrated on it, and as well as its iconic identity design.

This post has been edited by jason18689: Feb 23 2012, 08:50 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0740sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:22 PM