128 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart - Invest Globally and Profitably, Discussion on investment through FSM

jack2
post Aug 17 2012, 06:54 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(nspk @ Aug 17 2012, 12:52 AM)
AmDynamic Bond Fund drop ...
that was due to dividends payment.
wongmunkeong
post Aug 17 2012, 08:26 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Aug 17 2012, 06:16 AM)
Haha... Big welcome to the club bro...

Kamsiah kamsiah notworthy.gif
Aiming to hit those discounts hehe - gotta re-start my info/data and structuring again to see what FSM has, performance and how they can fit my plans sweat.gif (my brain hurts)
alexkos
post Aug 17 2012, 10:00 AM

2,275 posts

morning, my uob osk bond hurt.... sob...
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 17 2012, 10:11 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Aug 17 2012, 10:00 AM)
morning, my uob osk bond hurt.... sob...
kan u kata long-term? whistling.gif

Still outperform what? Annualised return >10% rolleyes.gif
mauinsons
post Aug 17 2012, 10:32 AM

1,107 posts

Hi all sifu. New to funds/bonds investment and I'm planning to start. Seems like this FSM community is pretty active here.

I'm totally new to this and wish to learn as much as I could.

I started off thinking of doing funds/bonds investment after I was approached by my insurance agent to top up my Live Insurance since I'm expecting my first child next month. To me I think I have sufficient coverage at the moment and didn't want to top up more for time being.

PM came to my mind but the high SC discouraged me. If I could "save" 3-4k a year in my live insurance, I was thinking of diversifying these funds (maybe more through higher monthly top up) into something else, i.e. funds/bonds.

Opening an account in FSM is straight forward and can be done at their website right?
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 17 2012, 10:42 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(mauinsons @ Aug 17 2012, 10:32 AM)
Hi all sifu. New to funds/bonds investment and I'm planning to start. Seems like this FSM community is pretty active here.

I'm totally new to this and wish to learn as much as I could.

I started off thinking of doing funds/bonds investment after I was approached by my insurance agent to top up my Live Insurance since I'm expecting my first child next month. To me I think I have sufficient coverage at the moment and didn't want to top up more for time being.

PM came to my mind but the high SC discouraged me. If I could "save" 3-4k a year in my live insurance, I was thinking of diversifying these funds (maybe more through higher monthly top up) into something else, i.e. funds/bonds.

Opening an account in FSM is straight forward and can be done at their website right?
1. register online
2. print form
3. send form + crossed IC by fax/e-mail/go FSM office in person

simple and fast thumbup.gif

anything dun understand, just ask "LiveHelp" on their website...its a live chat feature nod.gif

Investment-Linked Insurance involves not only high SC (usually 5% EVEN FOR BOND FUNDS), your agent also makan a big chunk of your payment in the early years. DO NOT treat ILP as an investment tool.
wongmunkeong
post Aug 17 2012, 11:10 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Very good and knowledgeable helpdesk staff FSM has.

Just to share what i found, for fellow forumers' consideration if you're like moi having EPF and Cash investments in PM and Eastspring (exPRU) mutual funds.
Please correct me if i've misunderstood or typo yar notworthy.gif

First... the bad news (to me - hey, i'm a pessimistic optimist) cry.gif :
1. EPF Investments
ALL SWITCHING must go through these steps:
a. Fill in the fund house's EPF SWITCHING form and send doh.gif (fyi - i'm doing management totally online for PM, for Eastspring they only ask me to send form)
b. Execute also via online FSM - no issue

2. INTER-Fund "SWITCHING" - between different fund houses
a. T+4 (ie. time to see $ movement online)
b. Effectively it's a "SELL Fund A, BUY Fund B" thus costs involved are:
-Exit fees for Fund A
-Entry fees for Fund B
-SELL value of Fund A is based on transaction date's (assuming not pass their cut off time lar) end-of-day NAV
-BUY value of Fund B is based on transaction date + 2 days' end-of-day NAV <-- eek!
yeouch! + manageability lowered coz SWITCHED INTO or BUY of Fund B's value is based on 2 days' later end-of-day NAV

Note: Contra Redemption for OSK's different fund series is treated similar to Inter-Fund SWITCHING
ie. OSK's Smart Series SWITCH to/from OSK's notSmart Series tongue.gif

Second, the good news (to me):
3. Transfer-In Campaign - ZERO % sales charges
This covers even non-FSM funds! heheh <eyeing donkey cash PM's funds>
a. Redeem ANY mutual funds with ANY fund houses
b. Scan/screenshot proof of redemption
c. Execute BUY transaction in FSM
d. Email them the proof of redemption and FSM will remove the sales charges of (c.) - i'm assuming i'll email the screenshots in addition with my bank-in snapshots.

4. Banking in - MBB + SCB
Woohoo - my Flexi mortage SCB mar, thus most of my ammo stored there and easier to move around

Thirdly, the neutral news (to me)
5. INTRA-Fund SWITCHING
a. Slightly confusing as different fund houses = different costs
b. Summarized possible costs are:
+ When switching from lower load funds (eg. 1.5%) to higher load funds (2%), pay the difference of %
+ When switching from higher load funds (eg. 2%) to higher load funds (1.5%), ZERO cost OR $XX, depending on specific fund house's rules/cost
+ All the above, please note and add any EXIT fees (like some funds with EXIT cost of 1% eg. AmDynamic Bond Fund). Yes, it's treated as EXIT even switching

Phew.. i hope the above helps blur fellows like moi.
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 17 2012, 11:25 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 17 2012, 11:10 AM)
Very good and knowledgeable helpdesk staff FSM has.

Just to share what i found, for fellow forumers' consideration if you're like moi having EPF and Cash investments in PM and Eastspring (exPRU) mutual funds.
Please correct me if i've misunderstood or typo yar  notworthy.gif

2. INTER-Fund "SWITCHING" - between different fund houses
a. T+4 (ie. time to see $ movement online)
b. Effectively it's a "SELL Fund A, BUY Fund B" thus costs involved are:
-Exit fees for Fund A
-Entry fees for Fund B
-SELL value of Fund A is based on transaction date's (assuming not pass their cut off time lar) end-of-day NAV
-BUY value of Fund B is based on transaction date + 2 days' end-of-day NAV <-- eek!
yeouch! + manageability lowered coz SWITCHED INTO or BUY of Fund B's value is based on 2 days' later end-of-day NAV

Note: Contra Redemption for OSK's different fund series is treated similar to Inter-Fund SWITCHING
ie. OSK's Smart Series SWITCH to/from OSK's notSmart Series tongue.gif

Second, the good news (to me):
3. Transfer-In Campaign - ZERO % sales charges
This covers even non-FSM funds! heheh <eyeing donkey cash PM's funds>
a. Redeem ANY mutual funds with ANY fund houses
b. Scan/screenshot proof of redemption
c. Execute BUY transaction in FSM
d. Email them the proof of redemption and FSM will remove the sales charges of (c.) - i'm assuming i'll email the screenshots in addition with my bank-in snapshots.
I think u got something wrong about inter-switch hmm.gif
It should be, e.g. u switch-sell ABC Fund today, T+4 would be 27-Aug-12, your switch-buy fund would be priced on 27-Aug-12

My suggestion, don't do switch-buy. Instead, maintain sufficient balance in OSK-UOB Cash Management Fund, transact ALL buy transactions thru CMF. Then, sell the fund u wanna reduce and put the proceeds back to CMF. icon_idea.gif

Itu Transfer-In...wonderfool gooding news drool.gif
Kaka23
post Aug 17 2012, 11:34 AM

8,259 posts

Hi Wong seefood,

you mentioned Transfer-In Campaign - ZERO % sales charges. Did they say there is a time frame for this campaign? After that, no more FREE transfer in possible?
wongmunkeong
post Aug 17 2012, 12:31 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 17 2012, 11:25 AM)
I think u got something wrong about inter-switch hmm.gif
It should be, e.g. u switch-sell ABC Fund today, T+4 would be 27-Aug-12, your switch-buy fund would be priced on 27-Aug-12

My suggestion, don't do switch-buy. Instead, maintain sufficient balance in OSK-UOB Cash Management Fund, transact ALL buy transactions thru CMF. Then, sell the fund u wanna reduce and put the proceeds back to CMF. icon_idea.gif

Itu Transfer-In...wonderfool gooding news drool.gif
er.. i clarified 3 times with her and even in my writing on paper (noting her words), INTER = T+6 & INTRA = T+4, both are just the time to "see" the transaction online.
However the NAV executed was not based on the T+X

eg.
INTRA's BUY NAV is based on transaction day's end of day NAV, not T+4
INTER's BUY NAV is based on transaction day + 2 end of day's NAV, not T+6 nor transaction date's end of day NAV

Hm.. let me go poke them again later - either old man's hearing problem tongue.gif or hot woman's voice causing problem laugh.gif.
Anyhow, still makes it that bit harder to manage VS the other fler's online.

Bro - dont lar Cash Mgt Fund, my FlexiMortgage gives me "more" leh and less hassle. sweat.gif

Added on August 17, 2012, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 17 2012, 11:34 AM)
Hi Wong seefood,

you mentioned Transfer-In Campaign - ZERO % sales charges. Did they say there is a time frame for this campaign? After that, no more FREE transfer in possible?
I did ask the EXACT same Q.
She said - started somewhere in Jan and management hasn't said anything about cut-off date / deadline for expiry of this campaign thumbup.gif

Now for me to figure out which worthwhile to kill and which worthwhile to get into.. taking into account of INTER / INTRA SWITCHING cry.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 17 2012, 12:51 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 17 2012, 01:18 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 17 2012, 12:31 PM)
er.. i clarified 3 times with her and even in my writing on paper (noting her words), INTER = T+6 & INTRA = T+4, both are just the time to "see" the transaction online.
However the NAV executed was not based on the T+X

eg.
INTRA's BUY NAV is based on transaction day's end of day NAV, not T+4
INTER's BUY NAV is based on transaction day + 2 end of day's NAV, not T+6 nor transaction date's end of day NAV

Hm.. let me go poke them again later - either old man's hearing problem tongue.gif or hot woman's voice causing problem laugh.gif.
Anyhow, still makes it that bit harder to manage VS the other fler's online.

Bro - dont lar Cash Mgt Fund, my FlexiMortgage gives me "more" leh and less hassle. sweat.gif
Yea I know, intra pricing is based on transaction day e.g. I switch from AmIncome Plus to AmDynamic Bond, selling pricing and buying pricing is on "T", no delay. What I meant was INTER-switch...

Naughty Seafood brows.gif

Just maintain enough in CMF to satisfy your "normal" lust for purchases lor tongue.gif
For fire sale bulk purchase, itu lain cerita lor tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 17 2012, 01:22 PM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 17 2012, 02:06 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 17 2012, 01:18 PM)
Yea I know, intra pricing is based on transaction day e.g. I switch from AmIncome Plus to AmDynamic Bond, selling pricing and buying pricing is on "T", no delay. What I meant was INTER-switch...

Naughty Seafood brows.gif

Just maintain enough in CMF to satisfy your "normal" lust for purchases lor tongue.gif
For fire sale bulk purchase, itu lain cerita lor tongue.gif
hehhe - cannot help it mar, i'm a guy brows.gif (testosterones and all)

Anyhow, back to INTER-fund SWITCHING, found this:
--------
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/faq.svdo?id=8922
Q: HOW LONG WILL THE WHOLE INTER SWITCH PROCESS TAKE?

A: The switch-sell order will be transacted on the same business day the order is received provided the order is received before 3:00pm. Otherwise, the order will be transacted on the next business day.
The switch-buy order will be transacted based on the lag time as described in the table shown at FUNDS INFO-> FUND SALES CHARGES-> SWITCHING-> INTER FUND HOUSE. However, this lag time will be shorter than executing the sell and buy transactions on your own.

NOTE:

The whole process of an Inter switch will take four business days to complete after the transaction date (T) of the switch-buy funds ie T+4 business days.
--------
er.. haven't poked them again though, thus unsure the above:
a. whether that's (T+4) the latest or phone's (T+6) the latest or again, my hearing aid failing due to hot woman's whispers tongue.gif
b. the NAV of the BUY Fund which day's

As for having enough "normal" lust purchases in CMF (not CFM meh? brows.gif), susah lar.
I'm 24/7 lustful - it swings between hari2mau to jam2mau laugh.gif Thus, hard to prepare in CFM oops.. i mean CMF sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 17 2012, 02:09 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 17 2012, 02:18 PM

16,872 posts

It will depend on the time for the switch-sell fund to pay the redemption proceeds...

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/faq.svdo?id=8278

The following redemption period for redemption proceeds to reach you applies:

T+2 business days for OSK-UOB Cash Management fund and OSK-UOB Money Market Fund,

T+5 business days for TA Investment Funds and Pacific Cash Fund,

T+6 business days for Pacific A.I.R Fund,

T+7 business days for Prudential Foreign Funds,

Generally T+4 business days for all other unit trusts.
jasonlcy
post Aug 17 2012, 07:44 PM

Bazinga!
550 posts

Hi flers!

My FSM account just got activated today. Will be lurking a bit more around these forums before I actually do any transactions online. FSM has quite good resources for newbies like me to read!
Kaka23
post Aug 17 2012, 09:19 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(jasonlcy @ Aug 17 2012, 08:44 PM)
Hi flers!

My FSM account just got activated today. Will be lurking a bit more around these forums before I actually do any transactions online. FSM has quite good resources for newbies like me to read!
Welcome bro...

Added on August 18, 2012, 9:27 amhttp://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/research/viewHTML.tpl?articleNo=2634

Anybody affected?

This post has been edited by Kaka23: Aug 18 2012, 09:27 AM
alexkos
post Aug 18 2012, 08:20 PM

2,275 posts

@kaka

hmm not affected apparently.

===

I felt that my instinct is going to hurt me, dumping lump sum now as FBM KLCI reaches point high every week.

Business cycle...ge13....aww...

I want to do regular saving plan (RSP), but I have only Public Bank account. It is a hassle for me to to bank in cash via Maybank atm just to avoid the interbank transfer.
Kaka23
post Aug 18 2012, 09:02 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Aug 18 2012, 09:20 PM)
@kaka

===

I felt that my instinct is going to hurt me, dumping lump sum now as FBM KLCI reaches point high every week.

I want to do regular saving plan (RSP), but I have only Public Bank account. It is a hassle for me to to bank in cash via Maybank atm just to avoid the interbank transfer.
Bro.. Better not do lump sum at this time.

Lunch time during working day you are not able to go to bank?
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 18 2012, 10:13 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Aug 18 2012, 08:20 PM)
@kaka

===

Open a new bank account lo...either Maybank, CIMB or (worst case tongue.gif ) HLB lo

Added on August 18, 2012, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 18 2012, 09:02 PM)
Bro.. Better not do lump sum at this time.

Lunch time during working day you are not able to go to bank?
At risk of sounding like a boring repeating parrot...

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 18 2012, 10:14 PM
alexkos
post Aug 18 2012, 10:34 PM

2,275 posts

too late, dump in ledi. if i withdraw now got charge? currently i lost RM30...
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 19 2012, 02:42 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Aug 18 2012, 10:34 PM)
too late, dump in ledi. if i withdraw now got charge? currently i lost RM30...
Totally don't understand what u trying to say doh.gif

128 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0304sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:57 AM