128 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart - Invest Globally and Profitably, Discussion on investment through FSM

SUSPink Spider
post Jul 25 2012, 11:24 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 25 2012, 11:21 PM)
If you're keep on losing money in a particular shares, you still want to hold it? I believe there's must be a stop loss point.

Share a bad experience that I had with shares. I bought a penny stock at nearly peak price 2 to 3 year. Being hold it till recent months when the price rebounced back to the previous peak in 3 years ago. Sold it and make a profit of nearly 50 to 60. Am I stupid or what?
Penny stock is speculative play IMHO shakehead.gif

For baby boomers, ppl who are nearing retirement age, blue chips/dividend play is the way to go...just my 1 sen worth of opinion tongue.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jul 25 2012, 11:25 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 25 2012, 11:24 PM)
Penny stock is speculative play IMHO shakehead.gif

For baby boomers, ppl who are nearing retirement age, blue chips/dividend play is the way to go...just my 1 sen worth of opinion tongue.gif
You're absolutely not wrong at all about the blue chips/dividend/defensive stocks.

This post has been edited by David83: Jul 25 2012, 11:25 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 25 2012, 11:29 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 25 2012, 11:25 PM)
You're absolutely not wrong at all about the blue chips/dividend/defensive stocks.
For US ppl, they have this 401K/IRA thingy (which I don't fully understand), just like our EPF? But they have the freedom to decide how and what to invest in...

The article is saying, better to invest in quality stocks than in mutual funds which incur management expenses. I do agree, when u have $XXX,XXX or even $X,XXX,XXX, owning quality/dividend stocks is better than buying mutual funds.

But for young ppl like us who are still growing their investment assets, mutual funds is still the way to go, due to cheaper entry cost and benefits of diversification. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 25 2012, 11:29 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jul 29 2012, 02:50 PM

52,874 posts

Chart Talk: Hwang Asia Quantum Fund

KEYPOINTS:

1. We Compared The Hwang Asia Quantum Fund Against Its Benchmark Since 2Q 2008, Covering A Period Of 17 Quarters
2. In Those 17 Quarters, It Outperformed In 13 Quarters And Underperformed In 4 Quarters
3. This Fund Has Benefited From Market Timing And Strategic Allocations Between Its Investable Regions And Asset Classes
4. nvestors Who Are Looking To Invest In Major Southeast Asian And Hong Kong Markets Should Consider Investing In This Fund

CONCLUSION

The Hwang Asia Quantum Fund is classified as a Malaysia-focus fund (rather than an Asia ex-Japan fund) on our platform because: 1) it is significantly overweight on Malaysian equities, and 2) technically, it invests in Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand and Hong Kong, rather than the entire Asia ex-Japan region. That said, the fund manager has proved its mettle over these past 4 years, seeing that the fund outperformed its benchmark by 91.9 percentage points from beginning 2Q 2008 till end 2Q 2012, and did so by making timely strategic allocations. A rather admirable point is that the fund manager is not hesitant to put investor's money to good use; although cash holdings hit a high of 51.5% at the end of September 2011 (see Chart 2), there are also times when cash holdings dwindled to as low as 2.7%, indicating that the fund manager is quick to react on its convictions.

In ending, the Hwang Asia Quantum Fund is not our Recommended Unit Trust for the 2012/2013 period but still, investors who are looking to invest in the major Southeast Asian and Hong Kong markets and can stomach volatility should consider investing in the Hwang Asia Quantum Fund.

URL: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=2565
wongmunkeong
post Jul 29 2012, 03:00 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 25 2012, 11:29 PM)
For US ppl, they have this 401K/IRA thingy (which I don't fully understand), just like our EPF? But they have the freedom to decide how and what to invest in...

The article is saying, better to invest in quality stocks than in mutual funds which incur management expenses. I do agree, when u have $XXX,XXX or even $X,XXX,XXX, owning quality/dividend stocks is better than buying mutual funds.

But for young ppl like us who are still growing their investment assets, mutual funds is still the way to go, due to cheaper entry cost and benefits of diversification. nod.gif
True, until one can do RM3K+ (local stocks/REITs) or RM25K+ (SGX stocks/REITs) per pop (EOQ or cost effective transaction size) and still have diversification of at least 3 sub-sectors every 3 to 6 months, the most cost effective is still mutual funds for now.

Er.. diversification IMHO however is a double-edged sword leh,
average of average
VS
focused good companies only (ie. filtered stocks & REITs buying)

Just a thought notworthy.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 29 2012, 05:27 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 29 2012, 03:00 PM)
True, until one can do RM3K+ (local stocks/REITs) or RM25K+ (SGX stocks/REITs) per pop (EOQ or cost effective transaction size) and still have diversification of at least 3 sub-sectors every 3 to 6 months, the most cost effective is still mutual funds for now.

Er.. diversification IMHO however is a double-edged sword leh,
average of average
VS
focused good companies only (ie. filtered stocks & REITs buying)

Just a thought  notworthy.gif
As usual, what can potentially earn u better returns can also lose u more money if u got it wrong tongue.gif

At the end of the day, it all boils to your risk appetite nod.gif
...and also the size of your ammo blush.gif
mois
post Jul 29 2012, 06:21 PM

Enemy Territory
3,625 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 29 2012, 05:27 PM)
As usual, what can potentially earn u better returns can also lose u more money if u got it wrong tongue.gif

At the end of the day, it all boils to your risk appetite nod.gif
...and also the size of your ammo blush.gif
Yes the size of our ammo is quite important. If capital is small, it takes forver to see huge growth. Need to inject in capital frequently. Sigh i am still halfway toward my main goal 6 digits dividends. blush.gif

This post has been edited by mois: Jul 29 2012, 06:21 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 29 2012, 06:27 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jul 29 2012, 06:21 PM)
Yes the size of our ammo is quite important. If capital is small, it takes forver to see huge growth. Need to inject in capital frequently. Sigh i am still halfway toward my main goal 6 digits dividends. blush.gif
many ppl dun even hv 6 digits investment capital shakehead.gif
Kaka23
post Jul 29 2012, 06:40 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 29 2012, 07:27 PM)
many ppl dun even hv 6 digits investment capital shakehead.gif
Ya.. What more 6 digit dividends... Sigh!
wongmunkeong
post Jul 29 2012, 06:46 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jul 29 2012, 06:40 PM)
Ya.. What more 6 digit dividends... Sigh!
Well, that's the goal or aim mar.
Starting from zero also can what - that's how most people and i started.
It's good to have a goal / target to focus on & track against (to improve or cruise) mar.
Right or right? tongue.gif

Heck, my aim/goal is present value of money $100K (5 figures enough but 6 figures just in case kaka happens) dividends and interest returns.
I'm kinda far away from it too hehe (> 50%+ to go). Hi ho, hi ho, off to work i go (to feed into my investments).

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 29 2012, 06:58 PM
Limster88
post Jul 29 2012, 06:50 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jul 29 2012, 06:21 PM)
Gosh.... 6 digit dividends. Even a 5 digit dividend is more than enough for you to be financially free.... An annual dividend of RM50k is already more than enough if you want to live a modest life. Reach that and basically everything can run on autopilot.... thumbup.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 29 2012, 07:07 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Limster88 @ Jul 29 2012, 06:50 PM)
Gosh.... 6 digit dividends. Even a 5 digit dividend is more than enough for you to be financially free.... An annual dividend of RM50k is already more than enough if you want to live a modest life. Reach that and basically everything can run on autopilot....  thumbup.gif
Agree. Material possessions are not that important. RM5K a month in today's terms good enough to live a retired life. nod.gif
Kaka23
post Jul 29 2012, 07:40 PM

8,259 posts

If I were to get 6 digits in dividends,. I should need close to 20 yrs based on my current ammo.. Considering I make good investment down the road la......
yck1987
post Jul 30 2012, 01:32 AM

808 posts

With the release of the 2012/13 Recommended Unit Trusts list which boasts 23 funds and 4 new categories, we take the opportunity to highlight another 2 newcomers which made it to our recommended list purely on the basis of the region and sector they invest in, and also the reputation of the fund managers.

Recommended China Equity Fund: OSK-UOB Big Cap China Enterprise Fund

China is one of the most undervalued equity markets, being traded at deep discounts against its fair valuation. This suggests substantial upside potential over the next three years. Since the OSK-UOB Big Cap China Enterprise Fund is the only fund under the China Equity category on our platform, we recommend this fund solely based on our bullish view on China and the general perception of the reputation of the external fund manager, UOB Asset Management Ltd, Singapore.

URL : http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=2540

What do you think bro in LYN... ??
SUSDavid83
post Jul 30 2012, 07:57 AM

52,874 posts

@yck1987, personally I have not much high confidence to China or Greater China region.
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 30 2012, 09:54 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Jul 30 2012, 01:32 AM)
With the release of the 2012/13 Recommended Unit Trusts list which boasts 23 funds and 4 new categories, we take the opportunity to highlight another 2 newcomers which made it to our recommended list purely on the basis of the region and sector they invest in, and also the reputation of the fund managers.

Recommended China Equity Fund: OSK-UOB Big Cap China Enterprise Fund

China is one of the most undervalued equity markets, being traded at deep discounts against its fair valuation. This suggests substantial upside potential over the next three years. Since the OSK-UOB Big Cap China Enterprise Fund is the only fund under the China Equity category on our platform, we recommend this fund solely based on our bullish view on China and the general perception of the reputation of the external fund manager, UOB Asset Management Ltd, Singapore.

URL : http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=2540

What do you think bro in LYN... ??
In addition to what Dave said, I'd like to add...

u can consider China funds as a tiny % of ur portfolio...but NEVER show hand on it like a poker game biggrin.gif
yck1987
post Jul 30 2012, 10:03 AM

808 posts

Yes bro, noted. Another thing is does the General election issues which right around the corner will bring any impact to the local malaysian fund such as Kenanga growth or pure malaysian bond fund ? I worried that holding much will get a burn. flex.gif

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 30 2012, 09:54 AM)
In addition to what Dave said, I'd like to add...

u can consider China funds as a tiny % of ur portfolio...but NEVER show hand on it like a poker game biggrin.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 30 2012, 10:04 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Jul 30 2012, 10:03 AM)
Yes bro, noted. Another thing is does the General election issues which right around the corner will bring any impact to the local malaysian fund such as Kenanga growth or pure malaysian bond fund ? I worried that holding much will get a burn.  flex.gif
bond funds should b ok
equity-wise, keep a minimum holding, or sell a little to book in the gains (e.g. sell ur profit) icon_rolleyes.gif

my 1 sen opinion blush.gif

Added on July 30, 2012, 10:07 amAsia Rises With Eyes on EU

Dave/wongmunkeong,

Shanghai CI just won't drop below 2,000 biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 30 2012, 10:07 AM
wongmunkeong
post Jul 30 2012, 10:25 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 30 2012, 10:04 AM)
bond funds should b ok
equity-wise, keep a minimum holding, or sell a little to book in the gains (e.g. sell ur profit) icon_rolleyes.gif

my 1 sen opinion blush.gif

Added on July 30, 2012, 10:07 amAsia Rises With Eyes on EU

Dave/wongmunkeong,

Shanghai CI just won't drop below 2,000 biggrin.gif
Gark lar bro, not Dave tongue.gif

Aiya - wait and see EU any more scares lar hehe.
See (saw, up/down tongue.gif) what happened 2 weeks ago till now, world markets' reaction to EU's scares and EU's politicians' promises.
"This time, it's different" - ha!
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 30 2012, 10:29 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 30 2012, 10:25 AM)
Gark lar bro, not Dave tongue.gif

Aiya - wait and see EU any more scares lar hehe.
See (saw, up/down tongue.gif) what happened 2 weeks ago till now, world markets' reaction to EU's scares and EU's politicians' promises.
"This time, it's different" - ha!
Bcos of the equity rally, my Emerging Market bonds go down doh.gif

128 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:43 AM