6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart - Invest Globally and Profitably, Discussion on investment through FSM

wongmunkeong
post Aug 17 2012, 11:10 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Very good and knowledgeable helpdesk staff FSM has.

Just to share what i found, for fellow forumers' consideration if you're like moi having EPF and Cash investments in PM and Eastspring (exPRU) mutual funds.
Please correct me if i've misunderstood or typo yar notworthy.gif

First... the bad news (to me - hey, i'm a pessimistic optimist) cry.gif :
1. EPF Investments
ALL SWITCHING must go through these steps:
a. Fill in the fund house's EPF SWITCHING form and send doh.gif (fyi - i'm doing management totally online for PM, for Eastspring they only ask me to send form)
b. Execute also via online FSM - no issue

2. INTER-Fund "SWITCHING" - between different fund houses
a. T+4 (ie. time to see $ movement online)
b. Effectively it's a "SELL Fund A, BUY Fund B" thus costs involved are:
-Exit fees for Fund A
-Entry fees for Fund B
-SELL value of Fund A is based on transaction date's (assuming not pass their cut off time lar) end-of-day NAV
-BUY value of Fund B is based on transaction date + 2 days' end-of-day NAV <-- eek!
yeouch! + manageability lowered coz SWITCHED INTO or BUY of Fund B's value is based on 2 days' later end-of-day NAV

Note: Contra Redemption for OSK's different fund series is treated similar to Inter-Fund SWITCHING
ie. OSK's Smart Series SWITCH to/from OSK's notSmart Series tongue.gif

Second, the good news (to me):
3. Transfer-In Campaign - ZERO % sales charges
This covers even non-FSM funds! heheh <eyeing donkey cash PM's funds>
a. Redeem ANY mutual funds with ANY fund houses
b. Scan/screenshot proof of redemption
c. Execute BUY transaction in FSM
d. Email them the proof of redemption and FSM will remove the sales charges of (c.) - i'm assuming i'll email the screenshots in addition with my bank-in snapshots.

4. Banking in - MBB + SCB
Woohoo - my Flexi mortage SCB mar, thus most of my ammo stored there and easier to move around

Thirdly, the neutral news (to me)
5. INTRA-Fund SWITCHING
a. Slightly confusing as different fund houses = different costs
b. Summarized possible costs are:
+ When switching from lower load funds (eg. 1.5%) to higher load funds (2%), pay the difference of %
+ When switching from higher load funds (eg. 2%) to higher load funds (1.5%), ZERO cost OR $XX, depending on specific fund house's rules/cost
+ All the above, please note and add any EXIT fees (like some funds with EXIT cost of 1% eg. AmDynamic Bond Fund). Yes, it's treated as EXIT even switching

Phew.. i hope the above helps blur fellows like moi.
wongmunkeong
post Aug 17 2012, 12:31 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 17 2012, 11:25 AM)
I think u got something wrong about inter-switch hmm.gif
It should be, e.g. u switch-sell ABC Fund today, T+4 would be 27-Aug-12, your switch-buy fund would be priced on 27-Aug-12

My suggestion, don't do switch-buy. Instead, maintain sufficient balance in OSK-UOB Cash Management Fund, transact ALL buy transactions thru CMF. Then, sell the fund u wanna reduce and put the proceeds back to CMF. icon_idea.gif

Itu Transfer-In...wonderfool gooding news drool.gif
er.. i clarified 3 times with her and even in my writing on paper (noting her words), INTER = T+6 & INTRA = T+4, both are just the time to "see" the transaction online.
However the NAV executed was not based on the T+X

eg.
INTRA's BUY NAV is based on transaction day's end of day NAV, not T+4
INTER's BUY NAV is based on transaction day + 2 end of day's NAV, not T+6 nor transaction date's end of day NAV

Hm.. let me go poke them again later - either old man's hearing problem tongue.gif or hot woman's voice causing problem laugh.gif.
Anyhow, still makes it that bit harder to manage VS the other fler's online.

Bro - dont lar Cash Mgt Fund, my FlexiMortgage gives me "more" leh and less hassle. sweat.gif

Added on August 17, 2012, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 17 2012, 11:34 AM)
Hi Wong seefood,

you mentioned Transfer-In Campaign - ZERO % sales charges. Did they say there is a time frame for this campaign? After that, no more FREE transfer in possible?
I did ask the EXACT same Q.
She said - started somewhere in Jan and management hasn't said anything about cut-off date / deadline for expiry of this campaign thumbup.gif

Now for me to figure out which worthwhile to kill and which worthwhile to get into.. taking into account of INTER / INTRA SWITCHING cry.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 17 2012, 12:51 PM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 17 2012, 02:06 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 17 2012, 01:18 PM)
Yea I know, intra pricing is based on transaction day e.g. I switch from AmIncome Plus to AmDynamic Bond, selling pricing and buying pricing is on "T", no delay. What I meant was INTER-switch...

Naughty Seafood brows.gif

Just maintain enough in CMF to satisfy your "normal" lust for purchases lor tongue.gif
For fire sale bulk purchase, itu lain cerita lor tongue.gif
hehhe - cannot help it mar, i'm a guy brows.gif (testosterones and all)

Anyhow, back to INTER-fund SWITCHING, found this:
--------
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/faq.svdo?id=8922
Q: HOW LONG WILL THE WHOLE INTER SWITCH PROCESS TAKE?

A: The switch-sell order will be transacted on the same business day the order is received provided the order is received before 3:00pm. Otherwise, the order will be transacted on the next business day.
The switch-buy order will be transacted based on the lag time as described in the table shown at FUNDS INFO-> FUND SALES CHARGES-> SWITCHING-> INTER FUND HOUSE. However, this lag time will be shorter than executing the sell and buy transactions on your own.

NOTE:

The whole process of an Inter switch will take four business days to complete after the transaction date (T) of the switch-buy funds ie T+4 business days.
--------
er.. haven't poked them again though, thus unsure the above:
a. whether that's (T+4) the latest or phone's (T+6) the latest or again, my hearing aid failing due to hot woman's whispers tongue.gif
b. the NAV of the BUY Fund which day's

As for having enough "normal" lust purchases in CMF (not CFM meh? brows.gif), susah lar.
I'm 24/7 lustful - it swings between hari2mau to jam2mau laugh.gif Thus, hard to prepare in CFM oops.. i mean CMF sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 17 2012, 02:09 PM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 24 2012, 08:30 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Amanda85 @ Aug 24 2012, 08:28 AM)
i tried buying AmDynamic Bond today, but unable to do it.
does the bond already sold up or something?
AmDynamic Bond is closed for additional investments from what i read earlier in this thread.
wongmunkeong
post Aug 27 2012, 01:22 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 27 2012, 09:46 AM)

Added on August 27, 2012, 10:57 amWong see food... you already transfer in?
The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak... didn't make the time to study & analyze what to sell (PM) and buy (FSM) - had my monthly financial tracking last weekend & Raya holidays enjoying the company of my loved ones sweat.gif

I suspect i'd need 2 solid days' focus - to reconstruct my plans (programmatic + opportunity investing for cash & EPF with overall Asset Allocation arcing controls) shocking.gif..
AND LOTS OF COFFEE (oo reminds me.. i'm running out of tongkat Ali coffee blush.gif)

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 27 2012, 01:32 PM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 27 2012, 01:31 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 27 2012, 01:28 PM)
Wong Seafood, I just finished my UT worksheet yesterday...thanks for intro me to this magic XIRR fungsi notworthy.gif wub.gif
you're welcomed.
i also buta buta stumbled on it several donkey years ago when looking for an easier way to count all the donkey transactions' total combined CAGR.
being effectively lazy, need to automate mar tongue.gif sweat.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 27 2012, 03:39 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Aug 27 2012, 03:11 PM)
I roughly remember Master Wong say correct wor.

1/2/2012 cash inflow
1/5/2012 cash inflow
27/8/2012 latest investment value

I did not include any distributions like you suggested. Do you think it makes a different that my investment this year alone is less than 12 months?

I maintained 2 work sheets. One is total investment, another one is investment each year (to be include into total investment the following year).
Boss, cash OUTFLOW lar (outflow coz yr $ go out to buy fund units)
Then right - total value of investment (ASSUMING didn't take out cash dividends but reinvested)
er.. i think i'll upload a demo snapshot later tomorrow (kinda tied up today) sweat.gif
wongmunkeong
post Dec 14 2012, 09:32 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 14 2012, 07:52 PM)
aargh.. i just used a "1% token" today.. doh.gif

oo wait.. 1% for specific funds only heheh.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Dec 14 2012, 09:33 PM
wongmunkeong
post Dec 14 2012, 09:39 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 14 2012, 09:33 PM)
hehe... the funds listed for 1% sc is one of the fund you just bought in?
nope - not listed. Manulife Global Resources Fund.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Dec 14 2012, 09:42 PM
wongmunkeong
post Dec 14 2012, 09:50 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 14 2012, 09:46 PM)
Wong Seafood wave.gif

What other FSM funds u holding now?
Yo Pink.
er.. just RHB GS BRIC Equity Fund & AmAsiaPacific REITs.
BTW, Shanghai Index shot up 4%+ today brows.gif
wongmunkeong
post Dec 24 2012, 09:46 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Ooo i just found out bonds & even money market funds count towards silver/gold membership - now to inch close to those nice discounts biggrin.gif.
Yes yes, i'm a bit slow or blind (didnt read properly the FAQ on silver/gold) tongue.gif
Sharing in case there are others like me in LYN laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Dec 24 2012, 09:47 PM
wongmunkeong
post Dec 25 2012, 02:45 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 25 2012, 10:08 AM)
Wong Seafood, my bank a/cs got just enough to last me for 1 month. So, u know where the rest are... brows.gif
women & wine? tongue.gif
Properties lar - commercial & retail, tiuk boh?
Sigh.. i wish i was as focused as U youngsters in my 20s & early 30s. Multi-MULTI millionaire by now... cry.gif
wongmunkeong
post Dec 25 2012, 09:32 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 25 2012, 03:07 PM)
No lar...I don't have the guts and capital to go into properties blush.gif

What I was trying to say is, all my excess cash are parked in money market funds with FSM thumbup.gif
Pink - <whispers>.. after i moved into FSM's RHB GS BRIC in Nov, till now.. 6%+ net profit. I think mainly due to the C in BRIC.
Guess how's me CIMC25 entries (yes, multiples liao) are going brows.gif
By my own tracking, C is picking up steam like a "snowball getting into critical mass".
Note - your mileage may vary yar. Just sharing something i noticed from my own tracking / entries. notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Dec 26 2012, 07:31 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Dec 25 2012, 10:37 PM)
So far, the C performs quite well. Snowball into critical mass? That is going downhill bro  laugh.gif . More like fueling up the jet. Based on your valuation, at what situation should we pull out from china?
hehe - well, snowball as in getting bigger and bigger (index) mar. laugh.gif
down (hill) will come sooner or later though - when, unsure.

Hm.. to me - it'll be "rich" at about 3K shanghai idx and definitely "hot" at about 4K+ (ie. i wont be buying lump sums).
However, when to pull out - no idea until my own "trend tracking" drops to -ve or when my "trailing stop loss" (now it's a "trailing stop to take profit" hehe) is hit, whichever comes first. Sorry bro - no crystal balls notworthy.gif

Added on December 26, 2012, 7:38 am
QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 26 2012, 06:48 AM)
thats great so is C's economy recovering soon? when did you bought it?
I bought into CIMBC25 like 3 times liao this year + via FSM the RHB GS BRIC in Nov 2012.

BTW, C's economy was not down wor bro.
Only its market's sentiments - C's economy has been growing >5% (last saw was 7%+/-) all the while, even when fear of hard landing set in.
Beats the living kaka out of US' & EU's economy growth.

Keep in mind, market <> business/economy.
Market = sentiments
That's how we make $ or get $laughtered sweat.gif

eg.
Say Nestle is making ROE of 60%+ pa every year consistently
Then one fine day, world economy scare (something like 2008 lar say) & Nestle's stock price (market) drops 20%.
Note that even though market's sentiments bearish/fearful, Nestle's business is STILL chugging along making 60%+ ROE per year.
See the difference between actual business/economy VS market's pricing/sentiments?

To the "efficient market theorists" - yeah yeah, equilibrium will be met and everything will be priced in... EVENTUALLY.
However, when the kinks are still being worked out to reach equilibrium, there's opportunities for us to gather up some good value.
Just a thought notworthy.gif

Added on December 26, 2012, 7:41 am
QUOTE(TakoC @ Dec 25 2012, 10:41 PM)
Yup. Will be calling them as soon as I sent out the email to them. Kaka convince me to open up an account. 1% SC on AQ. I guess I shall make use of it then smile.gif
remember to put Kaka's a/c as the referer - he'll get "1% cost" transaction token, ie. his cost if he uses the token when buying in, will be only 1% thumbup.gif

Added on December 26, 2012, 9:07 amBTW, just furthering a thought on China - if China's growth continues to strengthen LIKE its financial market ("some say" financial market out paces real economy by 3 to 6 months mar), commodities will go up as well.

Thus, anyone targeting commodity-related mutual funds & food/plantation/metal related equities?

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Dec 26 2012, 09:07 AM
wongmunkeong
post Dec 31 2012, 07:39 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Dec 31 2012, 12:48 AM)
Quote FSM : The payment reference will be your FSM Investment Account number. Your Investment Account number starts with "P" and is followed by 7 numbers. Example: P1234567

I'm using M2U service. So under the description I'm suppose to enter my investment account as the payment reference? But my investment account starts with 'M' and not 'P'.
Brother, M**** is your FSM a/c #, P***** is the TRANSACTION / CONTRACT number. U shd receive an email from FSM after U created a BUY contract on FSM's website. Use that P***** as reference (ie. if MBB2U allows U to type a reference during transfer of $).

FYI - mine a/c also M**** + my purchase contracts are also all P**** + when i transfer from a non-MBB bank, i put in the P***** as reference for the recipient.
wongmunkeong
post Dec 31 2012, 12:51 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Dec 31 2012, 10:11 AM)
Thx Wong. All done  icon_rolleyes.gif

Btw, the XIRR excel you provided some times back. For the cash inflow column, if there is a sales charge of 2% (for example), I assume we only enter the after sales charges (98% portion) of our cash inflow as the amount? Thx  thumbup.gif
Yeah - as what Pink Spider said.
Me - i put in my COST (ie. whatever cash i put in, including service charges) as a negative cash flow
eg. i put in $100, then my cash outflow captured as $100, not $98 excluding 2% service charges
more realistic and pessimistic (i'm pessimistically optimistic mar tongue.gif)

wongmunkeong
post Jan 3 2013, 08:50 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jan 3 2013, 08:20 AM)
PFES fund manager is Tan Yan Heong. He managed a lot of good funds. That's why can trust him though. PFES has 60% exposure to China. Hopefully China market can keep the momentum.

Shanghai CI, now 22xx. Previously the peak was 5xxx. More like 50% discount  brows.gif
wah Mois - U use PEAK to measure discount? Optimistically Optimistic thumbup.gif

Me - i use the lower of median Vs average as baseline, then compare current to it to see the "discount": pessimistically optimist sweat.gif

No right/wrong (only wong tongue.gif) yar, just sharing thoughts out loud notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jan 3 2013, 09:55 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jan 3 2013, 09:21 AM)
how you use the lower median vs average? Which website provide such chart? I use bloomberg. Maybe it is in there?
Raw data: http://finance.yahoo.com/q/hp?s=000001.SS+Historical+Prices
Export to Excel and cook, then enjoy brows.gif

Added on January 3, 2013, 10:02 am
QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 3 2013, 09:27 AM)
Anybody is going for this event?

URL: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=3032

0.5% SC for all funds on the day of event: 20th January (Penang), 26th January (KL)
Nice... 0.5%SC on ALL FUNDS. I'm going shopping for BRICs, Commodities & REITs thumbup.gif <hunts for sniper rifle, bullets and grenades for asset hunting>

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 3 2013, 10:04 AM
wongmunkeong
post Jan 3 2013, 10:10 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 3 2013, 10:06 AM)
But...how? Transact online on event day at event venue? hmm.gif
Dunno - i've sent an email to Eugene of FSM to ask ask liao on T&C, especially whether we need to be PHYSICALLY there or we can just register and transact on THAT DATE biggrin.gif. Will keep U guys posted
wongmunkeong
post Jan 3 2013, 10:13 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 3 2013, 10:11 AM)
LOGICALLY, it should be 0.5% SC for all fund purchases transacted on FSM website on that day.
Logically/theoretically the same as practise
But in practice may not tongue.gif
No worries - best to get from source & share here later

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:43 PM