Fundsupermart - Invest Globally and Profitably, Discussion on investment through FSM

birdman13200
post Feb 3 2013, 05:58 PM

605 posts

Anyone with personal and beneficiary account can answer my curious?

I hv another question regarding account opening. Now, I am waiting for my account to be approved. After that, I am going to open a beneficiary account, I know i need to click " ADDITIONAL" in order all my account to be link. But does the additional beneficiary account need to go thru the verification and approval process again? The FAQ area do no highlight this item.

birdman13200
post Feb 4 2013, 08:14 PM

605 posts

Still waiting for account to be approved.....
But already received email from felixyew regarding CIS Fund Choice: Pacific Global Stars Fund !! Wah, it is matching the choice I made !!!!!
birdman13200
post Feb 4 2013, 09:09 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Feb 4 2013, 09:00 PM)
Haha.. Then should go for it since is your choice as well..
One more day waiting, Eugene told me my account should be activate within Monday or Tuesday.
birdman13200
post Feb 4 2013, 09:13 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Feb 3 2013, 10:49 PM)
Yeap.. Need to go through again. Fill in the form, your beneficiary IC scan... Same as opening your first personal account.
Kaka, did u hv 2 account as well? So, besides filling form and scan IC, do i need to waiting for the verification call and account approval again, since my primary account hv done the same process.
birdman13200
post Feb 4 2013, 09:26 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Feb 4 2013, 09:17 PM)
I have 2 beneficiary account...

My 2nd account, they didn't call me to verify anything...
So u just filling form, scan IC and email them. Then they email back to approve ur account?
May I know how long it take. I am planning it to avoid CNY holiday. Thanks in advance for ur information.
birdman13200
post Feb 5 2013, 07:57 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 5 2013, 10:20 AM)
Today would be a red red day (gong xi fa cai? laugh.gif ) for sure, who's topping up on equity?

If Hang Seng and STI drops -2%, I'm in
Hang Seng drop 2.27%
STI drop 0.75%
So best time for me to enter market, just got account approved.
birdman13200
post Feb 5 2013, 09:27 PM

605 posts

Just finished my first transaction, buying Pacific Global Stars Fund and place some money into Cash Management Fund. rclxms.gif
birdman13200
post Feb 6 2013, 06:18 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 5 2013, 10:56 PM)
Though this may sound cliche...

...build a portfolio, don't pick funds icon_idea.gif
ya, i hv plan a portfolio that include PM fund. Then look for fund that match my planning. So, Pacific Global Stars Fund is my choice under global equity.
birdman13200
post Feb 6 2013, 07:05 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(s_kates81 @ Feb 6 2013, 06:50 PM)
Just a new bie la, don't wanna share since risk is too great. Need guidance from you pros.

UT is medium to long term investment. Most fund suggest the period is 3 to 5 years. If u thinking of selling the UT in half year time, it is not suitable to enter UT.
birdman13200
post Feb 10 2013, 12:00 AM

605 posts

Happy Chinese New Year 2013 to all FSM member !!!
birdman13200
post Feb 12 2013, 07:54 PM

605 posts

I need help icon_question.gif . I am searching for historical NAV data for some fund, I try to google around but not able to get it. Anyone hv recommend website to get this data. I did find some from below site:

http://www.myunittrust.info/index.php/funds-nav
birdman13200
post Feb 12 2013, 08:14 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 12 2013, 08:02 PM)
can get historical nav up to 10 years from Bloomberg, but dunno accurate or not. Just type the fund mame at the "QUOTE" column at top right of the screen
Pinky, thanks for ur reply. I try to look around the website, it just provided chart, not "data" can be copy into excel sheet. And the NAV just 2 decimal point.
birdman13200
post Feb 13 2013, 11:52 AM

605 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 13 2013, 09:57 AM)
Inter switching? Then u need to look for funds within the same fund house.

A bit difficult...cos the "star" funds are all from different fund houses doh.gif

Take your pick, do your own mix and match tongue.gif

Global bond
Hwang Select Bond
OSK-UOB Emerging Markets Bond
RHB Asian Total Return

Pure MYR bond
OSK-UOB Income Fund (up to 30% in Asian bonds)
AmBond
Kenanga Bond

Global equity
Pacific Global Stars
Pacific Dana Dividend (Shariah-compliant, heavy Malaysian focus)
Alliance Global Equities
OSK-UOB Global Equity Yield
RHB Global Fortune

Malaysian equity
Kenanga Growth
Eastspring Investments Equity Income
Hwang Select Opportunity (up to 30% globally, Asian focus)
Hwang Select Dividend (up to 30% globally, Asian focus)
Just bought OSK-UOB Emerging Market Bond. Planning on Hwang Asia Quantum since hv 1% sales charge promotion this month, but their asset have 26% allocation on Malaysia, make me worry about upcoming GE. Pinky, in ur opinion, is there worth to save 1% sc on GE risk (26% of the fund). I dun know should I wait for GE or go with the promotion.

birdman13200
post Feb 13 2013, 12:01 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 13 2013, 11:54 AM)
I'd say leave the market timing to the Fund Manager, they'll kaotim the entry/exit timing for u. HwangIM is managing the downside risks of this fund fairly well. wink.gif
So, u suggest me to take up the 1% sc promotion this month.
birdman13200
post Feb 13 2013, 01:22 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 17 2013, 11:58 PM)
I'm no finance guy too Kaka
Just to share my views - please note, NOT SELLING OR BRAINWASHING, just sharing to see if any holes in my logic yar (pls do criticize with optional solutions - kamsiah  notworthy.gif ):

RHB GS BRIC (my own Excel + logic cooking yar, please dont eat if not to your taste tongue.gif)
[attachmentid=3267841]
a. NAV current = historical NAVs (since 07/01/2010) 25% percentile or lower (CELL B1 Excel formula PERCENTILE() ) AND near (3 year's moving average LESS standard deviation since 07/01/2010, see column P)

b. See snaps of Brazil, Russia, China from ( http://markets.on.nytimes.com/research/mar...orldmarkets.asp )
[attachmentid=3267856][attachmentid=3267858][attachmentid=3267859]

c. The driving factors of these 4 economies are different enough AND continentally far enough that, barring a worldwide hit like 2008, it should chug along without any massive swings.
Commodities via Manulife thinggy... (again, my own Excel cooking yar, pls dont eat if not to your taste)
[attachmentid=3267870]
d. NAV current = historical NAVs (since 07/01/2010) lower than 25% percentile (CELL B1 Excel formula PERCENTILE() ) AND lower than (3 year's moving average LESS standard deviation since 07/01/2010, see column P)

PS: Pls ignore all the other columns in the spreadsheet except:
a. column A (Date)
b. column B (NAV of each Date)
c. cell B1 - the current 25% Percentile of historical NAVs till the current NAV
d. column P (3 years' moving average of NAV +/- standard deviation, where green = NAV < (3yrs MA - Std Deviation) )
The rest of the columns are for calculating my moving averages, Trends (short-mid & mid-long) + other checks to see if any "jumps off rail". Too lalaland for general usage discussion .
Note - i'm only showing the last few days' NAV since easily gotten from FSM's site as i promised someone not to drop the entire NAV data out yar.
Again - these Excel are my own cooking, for my own usage.
Sharing to see if fellow forumers can shoot holes in them and help me learn & improve.
notworthy.gif
Wong sifu, during this CNY session, I hv revamp my UT monitoring excel sheet to add in more useful information. Ur above post is quite useful for me, but I hv few question on it:
1. what is the meaning of 25 percentile data to u? what decision can be make based on this data.
2. what is the use for "3 years MA - Std Deviation"? I am creating it with "1 year EMA - std deviation" since no enough data.

Ur sharing is much appreciated.
birdman13200
post Feb 13 2013, 08:47 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 13 2013, 02:52 PM)
eh BirdMan bro, i ain't no sifu lar, still have not millions to swim in (like Uncle Scrooge McDuck tongue.gif)

1. what is the meaning of 25 percentile data to u? what decision can be make based on this data.
Just a simpleton statistical trigger for me to "vulture" a bit more at it.
The "25th percentile NAV" means a point in the historic NAVs, at the 25th percentile (ie. way below the 50th percentile, AKA Median or true average).
I'd "vulture" more if it was below 5th percentile (another trigger) tongue.gif
General idea: Buy more NAV is run-over by train/road kill AND it is something i'm looking for to fill up a position in my Asset Allocation / team of players.

NOTE:
Pls don't buta trigger "just like that" yar, i've filtered the fund/stock based on my own needs first, THEN setup the triggers of 25th & 5th percentile for "vulture-ing" on (extra from my quarterly DCA+VCA).
2. what is the use for "3 years MA - Std Deviation"? I am creating it with "1 year EMA - std deviation" since no enough data.
Another simpleton stats to trigger me that a fund has fallen hard to be "vultured on"
i took 3 years as a historic point in time and its standard deviation coz i wanted a mid-term trigger (as opposed to the above which is since inception)

Note:
Std Deviation = how far left or right of the average (ie. outliers).
Thus, if say something has an Average returns of 10%pa & std deviation of 6%, we can generally say that generally, the returns ranges from 4% (10%-6%) to 16% (10% avg + 6%)

er.. statistical gurus & mathematical geniuses, please correct if i'm in lalaland yar.  notworthy.gif
Brother Wong, thanks for ur sharing. Dun worry, i will not buta trigger anything, just to know ur usage and modified based on my need.

May I know how u get 3 years NAV data?
birdman13200
post Feb 14 2013, 01:56 PM

605 posts

Recently I am reading the news of the potential sales of HwangDBS Investment Bank, does it hv any relation to Hwang Investment Management Berhad (fund house for FSM)??
birdman13200
post Feb 14 2013, 02:08 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 14 2013, 02:02 PM)
My company also changed hands 2-3 times in the past few years, yet no changes in management and business. HwangIM is doing well, if u are the acquirer, would u wanna mess with its operations that are doing well? biggrin.gif
I am just worry the acquisition is the change of boss or merging into their current business, which will make HwangIM disappear from market?
birdman13200
post Feb 15 2013, 03:32 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 15 2013, 03:23 PM)
Revisiting The Investment Case For Small Caps

1. Smaller capitalisation companies often escape the attention of investors, even though there are various benefits to be had by complementing larger cap equity exposure with smaller cap funds.
2. It is more plausible for a smaller company which has a negligible market share to grow its revenues by double digits each year, which could lead to a doubling or tripling of profits over a shorter period of time.
3. Smaller cap stocks can offer substantial scope for mispricing, since they generally garner less interest, particularly so from the likes of stock analysts
4. For investors in smaller companies, the valuation expansion (another component of stock market returns) can sometimes come a lot more quickly when a company is being acquired.
5. While the bulk of a portfolio should still consist of funds invested in larger-cap companies, investors may wish to consider adding some smaller-capitalisation exposure in the supplementary/satellite portion of their portfolios

URL: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=3159
I read from FSM site just now, thinking of the Hwang Asia Quantum Fund. No space for Malaysia smallcap fund in my portfolio anymore.
birdman13200
post Feb 15 2013, 06:05 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Hapeng @ Feb 15 2013, 05:59 PM)
guys I have read and re-read the discussion but i still am not sure what to make of it so I'm just gona ask.

In the View Holdings page, lets say I have Kenanga Growth, the cost is 2500, current value 2469.96. Which means a loss of -30.04 right?
With the new member 1% charge, 2500/1.01 = 2475.25,
so have i made a 30.04 loss or a (2475.25-2469.96) 21.71 loss?

So my question is, does the 2469.96 already reflect the 1% sales charge? and does that mean that everytime you buy a fund you the View Holdings page will show a 1% loss?
When u can see ur fund in view holding page, the NAV already move forward and it represent ur latest profit/loss. u can try to recalculate based on historical NAV.

This post has been edited by birdman13200: Feb 15 2013, 06:05 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0501sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:35 AM