4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Fundsupermart - Invest Globally and Profitably, Discussion on investment through FSM

ben3003
post Feb 16 2013, 12:19 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 15 2013, 10:50 PM)
U must be looking at FSM SG tongue.gif

Looking at the fact sheet of their so-called "short duration FI fund", it looks just like our normal bond fund to me. rclxub.gif

To me, an example of long duration bond fund would be AmDynamic Bond, underlying bondholding portfolio of which has average maturity of 6-7 years. "Normal" duration would be like 3-5 years (tips - see AmBond's fact sheet and compare to AmDynamic Bond's). A perfect example of short duration bond fund would be AmIncome Plus (my favourite for parking excess cash which I don't foresee to be needed for at least 3 months biggrin.gif ), which has average duration of 2 years or less i.e. its portfolio of bonds is maturing in 2016 or earlier.

Longer duration portfolio would be more vulnerable to interest rate changes.
cos i see the theme and keys of 2013 talked about this short term fixed income fund lol.. then wat will happen at maturity date?
ben3003
post Feb 16 2013, 03:13 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Feb 16 2013, 02:42 PM)
actualy which one better, CMF or MBB FD?
coz MBB at least can get 3%p.a

CMF i get the concept, is just like having bank acount with higer interest rate and u can use anytime for topup ur UT.
but how hight is the interst rate?
bcoz if its lower than 3%p.a like MBB FD..i pretty reluctant to use that service
FD u cannot simply take money out for let say u wan to do investment in UT, whereby CMF advertised 2.95%pa, yet u can invest ur money anytime u want, and u wan cash out also no problem. If u park inside FD, u need money u cannot use. If i wan park money, i better park in bond or money market fund.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Feb 16 2013, 03:13 PM
ben3003
post Feb 16 2013, 04:12 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Feb 16 2013, 03:44 PM)
i see FSM MY and SG,
looks like MY has better choices for low risk UT, performance oso not bad moreover can start from 500,1000rm.
but for high risk SG has much better performance, but of course starting from 1000sgd.
which is at the end, again, higher capital higher risk vice versa.
CMIIW..

classic question: when is the right time to enter market?
this is how my mind twisted..nd help to clarify... shakehead.gif

e.g. i see 2-10 years past performance is roughly 10%
then the past few month- 1 year is 30%.
if I buy now, is that mean i buy in high market price?
is waiting for few days and weeks may help (have big difference thus worth to wait)
...as noob, i asume the way it works is like buying USD. today USD strong, so i only get 3USD for every 10rm. but a week later I might get 3.5USD for every 10rm i change.

this is how i think CMF will give you flexibility to go in once u see good price, unlike bank transfer which possibly hv one week fluctuation while u waiting for ur fund inside account

but sifu..where/how to find the current price ya?
coz if i click the fund, i only see the launch price and NAV price (pure-noob mode On)  sweat.gif
there will say latest NAV price, means is the current price lo smile.gif but i think fund not like stock tat the price fluctuates in a big range, so price high or low not a big problem la..
ben3003
post Feb 17 2013, 06:34 PM

10,859 posts

dividend 6.15% means the total amount in ur acc times 6.15% is the amount u get? is this considered as per annum return? sorry last year is my 1st year working haha..
ben3003
post Feb 17 2013, 06:51 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 17 2013, 06:41 PM)
Its time-weighted, e.g. RM100 contributed in December will get 6.15% x 1/12
oh ok.. so the epf on jan 2012 only get full 6.15% lo.. so dividend different from interest rate at epf? or epf no interest one?
ben3003
post Feb 17 2013, 09:08 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 17 2013, 06:59 PM)
Interest=dividend=interest

If they call it "interest", Muslims gonna rage tongue.gif
haha ok.. i dont understand why they are sensitive, don wan ungkit religion issue here smile.gif

After looking at funds factsheet and some reading, i drafted 1 portofolio:

Bond (60-70%)
Hwang Select Bond
OSK-UOB Emerging Markets Bond

MY Equity (10%)
Hwang Select Opportunity

Global (20-30%)
Pacific Global Stars
Hwang Asia Quantum

is tis ok? but i am abit uncertain on the market that whether now is a right time to go into the market or not, looks like US economy is shaking, then recently China & HK is also having some drop in their indexes, Japan also problem. Euro crisis, then finally malaysia general election ><
ben3003
post Feb 17 2013, 09:14 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 17 2013, 09:09 PM)
@ben3003 from the proposal, looks like you're going to be a Hwang supporter. laugh.gif

Just kidding!
LOL not i wan support them la.. i see their performance quite good ma.. especially hwang select bond.. i really need a very solid performing bond as foundation, i see hwang select bond doesnt disappoint, with some good ROI compared to Kenanga and AmBond. Would love to buy AmDynamic but their counter closed edi.. wat to do lol..
ben3003
post Feb 17 2013, 09:38 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 17 2013, 09:20 PM)
If u are worried about macroeconomic issues impact on equities, I've got something else to worry u tongue.gif

Look at the bond yields...Australian government 10-year bond yield is rising...Brazilian 10-year bond yield is also rising. I'd say that yields are "normalising", they have been hovering at multi-year lows for some time already...still wanna go overweight on bonds? brows.gif

That's just about Asian and EM bonds. Asia Pac ex-Japan and EM economic growth is pretty decent, thus these regions may adjust interest rates (upward) sooner than u expect. On the contrary, Japan has just started with expansionary policies, and US have expressed commitment to keep rates low for some time. Americans will look for yield away from Treasurys...where to look for other than dividend-yielding stocks? With that, the Dow and S&P 500 uptrend might have further legs to go.

On the "global" portion of your equity portfolio, may I comment that both Pacific GS and Hwang AQ has one similarity? They are relatively "trading-happy" funds. U may want to consider a more "buy-and-hold" equity fund to balance things off. Alliance Global Equities and OSK-UOB Global Equity Yield merits your consideration. And do bear in mind, as at September 2012 report, Pacific GS is overweight Asia Ex-Japan, it only has 20% in US+Europe.
Oh, u mean bond is reaching a limit? Sorry but i cannot analyze let say bond yield is rising, then what is the effects that it may brought, so as the region tat adjust the interest rates, if interest rates higher, means ppl rather put money in bank? And also, u talking about US side, u mean US market is quite optimistic?

Oh ok, maybe i should consider either one of them and take a more stable global equity fund. BUt looking at OSK GEY, their last year performance is 5.33% and their recent years performance isnt up to par with let say Pacific GS and AQ. I am looking at long term, maybe 5-10yrs period, i would hope my portfolio can do 10-15% ROI is considered good enough for me. Maybe i am quite noob, but arent that the main purpose u invest is all about the return? Please do enlighten me for anything i had said wrongly, i am still learning tho biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ben3003: Feb 17 2013, 09:43 PM
ben3003
post Feb 17 2013, 10:01 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 17 2013, 09:50 PM)
Let me use a simple example to illustrate, then u pakai your own imagination to put into perspective...

Today I lend RM100,000 to Ah Jeep at interest rate of 9% p.a. Bank 1-month FD rate is now 3%. In simplistic language, I perceive Ah Jeep's credit risk to warrant 3x of bank FD rate.

Not long after, bank 1-month FD rate rose to 5% due to Bank Negara adjusting interest rates. If Ah Jeep were to come to me for a fresh loan now, I'd only lend to him at 15% p.a.

Let's say I need cash now, the simplest way would be to "sell" Ah Jeep's debt to a third party ("hey, who wants to take over this loan?") But do u think I still can sell this 9% RM100,000 for RM100,000? Hell no! Here's the math (assuming it's an annuity i.e. no maturity date, cos the math is simpler tongue.gif ):

Annual interest payment for Ah Jeep's loan:
RM100,000 x 9% = RM9,000

How much can I get by selling Ah Jeep's loan to a third party?
RM9,000 x 100/15 = RM60,000
RM9,000 is 15% of RM60,000

Understand the illustration?

When rates rise, existing bonds will experience paper loss. So, don't buy too much into bond funds now...take it slow and easy.
oh ok... abit understand about the interest rate and bond relationship.. so how about the global equities thingy?
ben3003
post Feb 17 2013, 10:09 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 17 2013, 10:04 PM)
The point is to have a well-diversified portfolio to reduce portfolio volatility and enhance risk-weighted returns. I know OUGEYF's past performance isn't really inspiring, but its investing mandate is what keeping me interested - dividend-yielding global equities with more emphasis on developed markets. I allocate 2/3 of my global equity to OUGEYF, 1/3 to Pacific GS. Will monitor how well this allocation works, I might even rebalance to 50/50 in the future. I've just started in Pacific GS this month, but have been holding OUGEYF for some time already, yea its IRR is just a puny 2.7% blush.gif
yeah, maybe different ppl got different taste, even in investment lol.. in between alliance and osk, alliance is a better performer lol.. anyhow i gonna kickstart my portfolio, but headach-ing on what should i go for first >< i dont have hit the minimum investment amount for all the fund in my portfolio..
ben3003
post Feb 17 2013, 10:58 PM

10,859 posts

I did saw this RSP plan, but the thing is i believe there are some downside on this one, like u have to invest monthly, let say u this month maybe lah, u got some extra expenditure, then u cannot manage to top up, then there might be some problem. i felt like it is quite complicated >< looks like i cannot do switching as if i buy it thru normal way. Also i not quite understand about RSP contract, what is teh contract about? FAQ din actually say about wat is the contract all about.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Feb 17 2013, 11:10 PM
ben3003
post Feb 18 2013, 10:51 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(jerrymax @ Feb 18 2013, 09:19 AM)
If this month you are unable to top-up, then RSP instructions will be put on hold until next month's contribution date.

Yeah, switching is not possible between RSP plans.

What is RSP contract?
Wat does it mean by put on hold? Nothing will happen to my RSP fund?
ben3003
post Feb 18 2013, 02:42 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 18 2013, 11:42 AM)
Come on guys, pakai a bit of naughty imagination... rolleyes.gif

There is no lock-in period for RSP contracts with FSM. icon_idea.gif

Start RSP for Fund ABC now e.g. for RM100
15-Mar-2013 will buy in RM100 (date for all RSPs is 15th)
Immediately after that, terminate the RSP
Voila, u have made an Initial Investment for only RM100 brows.gif

Don't tell FSM people about this ph34r.gif
Wow, thanks bro for the sharing biggrin.gif i shall do like tat as well, so i can complete my portfolio hehehehe.. but i scare later they ban my acc haha.. it's very haxor... u pay rm100 min investment acc, it is so low compare to the min investment amount set by the fund..

This post has been edited by ben3003: Feb 18 2013, 02:43 PM
ben3003
post Feb 18 2013, 04:16 PM

10,859 posts

but i can enter anytime right? i mean i can subscribe RSP anytime.. but only renew at 15th monthly? ah i saw the thing said contract renew at nex month.. but my newcomer promotion until 28th feb only, which anything i invest is 1% sales charge, also for RSP. So if i apply RSP now, does the 1% still vaild when they issue contract on 15th march?

This post has been edited by ben3003: Feb 18 2013, 04:37 PM
ben3003
post Feb 18 2013, 05:13 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 18 2013, 04:58 PM)
All HwangIM funds not available for RSP Special, u can buy the HwangIM funds u want this month, leave the other funds for Ninja RSP next month icon_idea.gif
Great idea smile.gif is HAQ good time to go in now? hang seng quite low now.. or should I go for hwang select bond or hwang select opportunity?

Btw wat does it mean by capped 1% for 6 months deduction? I tot RSP can terminate anytime? I scare when terminate later they wan charge u sales charge again later u wan topup lol..
ben3003
post Feb 19 2013, 11:56 AM

10,859 posts

I asked fundsupermart i am still entitled for 1% sales charge for 6month as long as i apply for RSP this month.. but this RSP is it let say tis month i got extra money, i wan top up rm500 to this particular fund but at 1st i set rm100 per month, can?
ben3003
post Feb 19 2013, 12:04 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 19 2013, 12:01 PM)
RSP is fixed...u let it auto deduct RM100 every 15th...then say u got extra cash in March, u manually do a purchase for RM400 lo...
Hmm, but i cannot touch the RSP fund right? Or can manual topup the RSP fund? Cos i believe it is independent under RSP, not in ur holdings right?
ben3003
post Feb 19 2013, 07:05 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(rachy @ Feb 19 2013, 07:01 PM)
Oh sorry ignore the two that are not in FSM. What I meant to say was I am now going to invest in funds that are on the FSM platform and through FSM smile.gif Much cheaper!

So now that I have the below:

Hwang Select Income Fund
OSK-UOB Asian Income Fund
Templeton Global Total Return Fund (Global Bond)
Local MYR bond funds from Public Mutual

What should I add to diversify my portfolio until it is of the right balance?

Is adding Hwang AQF and Pacific GSF and perhaps AmAsia Pacific REITs (unsure about this one) enough?

Thanks smile.gif
ur portfolio looks very defensive with mostly fixed income fund tho.. adding AQF and GSF makes it interesting biggrin.gif
ben3003
post Feb 19 2013, 08:20 PM

10,859 posts

Pinky, is it wise to put a little amount into Kenanga growth fund or eastspring investment equity income fund, even GE is coming soon?
ben3003
post Feb 19 2013, 09:11 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 19 2013, 08:57 PM)
Just glanced thru January 2013 fact sheets for the HwangIM funds I'm holding - Global Financial Institutions, Asia Quantum and Select Income...

- ALL THREE FUNDS HAVE RAISED CASH LEVELS SIGNIFICANTLY (between 18% to 30%)
- ALL THREE FUNDS HAVE TRIMMED HOLDINGS OF MALAYSIAN EQUITIES

U sendiri fikir la wink.gif
oh kk smile.gif but kenanga growth only malaysia based, so they have no-where to run..

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0313sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:36 AM