Android Phone recommendation thread v4, The fourth of many, many more to come

danielcmugen
post Feb 11 2012, 02:59 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Feb 10 2012, 08:32 PM)
need recommendation..buying 2 android phones..

1. Brand: samsung, LG or htc
    budget: 1200-1300
    spec: best spec for the price, > 4.0 inch, officially upgradable to ICS
    what u need in the phone : best battery life for the price

2. Brand: SE
    budget: 700-900
    specs: non qwerty, >3.2 inch
    what u need in the phone : average spec, value for the price
1) Best battery life? SE xperia arc S or samsung google nexus S (if u can find 1). LG optimus 2x's battery not that good as far as I know, but u can always get an external battery pack or something nod.gif . Optimus 2x got the best spec and ICS update is promised by LG.

2) SE xperia ray, neo (AP set), neo V, live with walkman

Added on February 11, 2012, 3:01 am
QUOTE(khajoe58 @ Feb 11 2012, 02:37 AM)
do you have any price information about the sensation XE?
Click on x132755's signature

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 11 2012, 03:03 AM
danielcmugen
post Feb 11 2012, 12:51 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(slehead @ Feb 11 2012, 12:48 PM)
im stuck between htc incredible s or samsung s plus..or should i wait for s advance..help me to consider between this two phone
Please state what u want/need in a phone
danielcmugen
post Feb 13 2012, 06:17 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(sharizulhedy @ Feb 13 2012, 05:13 PM)
Guys,

Need advice. First time future to be Android user (previous blackberry user)

1. Brand. (Samsung)
2. Budget. (No issue)
3. Specs. (The best of everything)
4. Hardcore user (Games and internet)

Gone through some comments and its seem that galaxy s2 is very popular. Which is better g version or non-g version? Or should i go for note?

Samsung galaxy nexus. If s2, non-G better but only got AP set.

Added on February 13, 2012, 6:21 pm
QUOTE(badzeugene @ Feb 12 2012, 11:25 PM)
is HTC desire Z wont be able to upgrade to ICS anymore?
Official ICS - Most likely not.
Unofficial ICS - Most likely yes.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 13 2012, 06:23 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 13 2012, 11:04 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(tolaktakjatuh @ Feb 13 2012, 06:36 PM)
"We can confirm Ice Cream Sandwich upgrades will be coming later this year to the HTC Rezound, HTC Vivid, HTC Amaze 4G, HTC EVO 3D, HTC EVO Design 4G, HTC Incredible S, HTC Desire S and HTC Desire HD."
- from HTC's FB page.

No ICS for Desire Z.

HTC really suck in rolling Android updates. Most being abandon after released/several updates.  shakehead.gif
Consider good edi, mid-ranged Samsung all sangkut laugh.gif . Thumbs up to HTC for at least putting effort to bring the official ICS to even mid-ranged ones thumbup.gif
danielcmugen
post Feb 14 2012, 04:10 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(BigSaver @ Feb 14 2012, 11:57 AM)
Hi all, need advice here. Is it worth to upgrade my HTC Incredible S to Moto Atrix?since atrix is dual core while incredible only single core. Wana feel the power of dual core.
Yes, but looks like moto atrix ain't getting official ICS update. Unofficial 1 should have through flashing but may void warranty.

Added on February 14, 2012, 4:12 pm
QUOTE(sharizulhedy @ Feb 14 2012, 04:02 PM)
OOOOOOO... So many recommend nexus.. looking at the specs, i kinda think that its lower than S2. Anybody have any idea when S3 is coming out??

p/s note is my last option due to the screen size.. very hard "nak simpan dalam poket"..
Should be the same month where s2 came out this year.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 14 2012, 04:12 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 14 2012, 11:36 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(white_dandelion @ Feb 14 2012, 11:20 PM)
hi everyone. i need suggestion. i want to buy phone for my parents

1. Brand - samsung
2. Budget - below 1k
3. Specs - wifi,3g,video call n anything that worth the price
4. What you need in the phone - can turn off and disable mobile data connection so no charge when not use it
Samsung galaxy W / Huawei honor
danielcmugen
post Feb 15 2012, 03:09 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Feb 15 2012, 12:43 AM)
looking for low range smart phone recently
around rm600 - rm750 android phone.
any brand also can, as long as it dont have problem xD

pls recommend me some , thx X)
SE live with walkman / huawei ideos x5.
danielcmugen
post Feb 16 2012, 05:07 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(badzeugene @ Feb 16 2012, 02:05 AM)
how is SE Neo V? is it good?
Okay la.

Added on February 16, 2012, 5:10 pm
QUOTE(FuNks @ Feb 16 2012, 09:36 AM)
I want get from shop.
Go search shop by shop, should have since this phone is highly mentioned here smile.gif

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 16 2012, 05:10 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 16 2012, 09:55 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(bushyboy105 @ Feb 16 2012, 09:10 PM)
Currently using Motorola defy and fall in love with it. Maybe we have a good developer thou? smile.gif
I am gonna hand my defy to my gf since she is a clumsy person who will drop phone oftenly.
Can you guys recommend me any other hp that is in range of rm1500? With good camera and having good developer for it? Btw, not interested in s2.

Added on February 16, 2012, 9:12 pmThe best it is coming with ics already
HTC sensation.
danielcmugen
post Feb 17 2012, 02:52 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(bushyboy105 @ Feb 17 2012, 12:41 AM)
Plus good battery life like defy do... sorry didn't add in just now
Not sure how good is defy's batt life but as far as I know, sensation's batt life is okay for a smartphone.
Really sorry, I'm not sure about this sweat.gif . Hope others can help...

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 17 2012, 02:55 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 18 2012, 11:37 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(tashfinsheikh @ Feb 18 2012, 11:15 PM)
Am thinking to get Galaxy Y , is it worth it ?

Not sure about android phones at all....

There are tons of mobiles out on Android makes me get confused... rclxub.gif
Worth it. But SE xperia mini(not x10 mini) even better.
danielcmugen
post Feb 18 2012, 11:59 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Feb 18 2012, 11:40 PM)
Planning to buy galaxy w for my wife, just nowsaw desire HD with price 1199, just about few hundred above galaxy w

Do you guys think it is a better deal?
Yes, better... like game4life said. But that phone is a huge battery sucker if Im not mistaken, so better eye the HTC incredible S if u can get 1 at that price.

Added on February 19, 2012, 12:01 am
QUOTE(tashfinsheikh @ Feb 18 2012, 11:58 PM)
SE Xperia is also an android mobile ?

any other recommendation for below <RM1k ?
Yes. Can strech to 1k? Huawei honor then.
But to get even more specific answers, state your usage/wants/needs.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 19 2012, 12:03 AM
danielcmugen
post Feb 19 2012, 01:22 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(tashfinsheikh @ Feb 19 2012, 12:38 AM)
My needs are gaming/email/whatsapp/sms only.....  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thnx for recommending it to me  nod.gif
Lol like that many phones also can. Perhaps huawei honor? Galaxy W most likely not getting ICS update, but that's only if u mind. All 2011 xperia series will get it...
danielcmugen
post Feb 19 2012, 10:53 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(tashfinsheikh @ Feb 19 2012, 02:09 AM)
http://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_u8860_honor-4197.php

Is this the phone you are referring to ?

whats the expected price for this phone ?  whistling.gif

and Sony Xperia recommendation ?
Ya, that's the 1. Already on sale here @ around 1k. For xperia, play / neo / neo V / pro also ok for your needs. Just that they each master on their own such as play for gaming, neo for camera, neo V for cheaper price and pro for physical qwerty keyboard brows.gif Xperia ray's screen maybe a lil too small, so I'll cross out that for now.
danielcmugen
post Feb 19 2012, 09:15 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(xzjasonzx @ Feb 19 2012, 03:56 PM)
Buy Atrix 2 RM1450, or, faster 1.2ghz vs 1ghz, Super Amoled and thinner body and go for Razr RM1800.

Is Razr worth the higher price?
That depends on u, but yeah I kinda think the atrix 2 is a better deal thumbup.gif

Added on February 19, 2012, 9:17 pm
QUOTE(Mr.CoMoT @ Feb 19 2012, 06:25 PM)
1. Brand. prefer samsung or sony or htc
2. Budget. 1.2k
3. Specs. good spec  sweat.gif
4. What you need in the phone (good camera,can play all games,smooth browsing,good sound,large screen)
At that budget cannot play all games la. The best all rounder is perhaps the SE xperia arc S.

Added on February 19, 2012, 9:24 pm
QUOTE(tbheng @ Feb 19 2012, 06:36 PM)
To all sifu, am helping friends looking for andriod phones.

Mobile 1: budget android phone for a driving lady (need GPS)
1. Brand: any brand except china phone
2. Budget: RM600
3. Specs: min CPU=1GHz, min RAM=512MB, min Camera=5MP, min screen=3.5"
4. What you need in the phone: GPS, sms, take photo/video (no need hd), music, radio, simple game (angry bird, fruit ninja).
Remarks: She was happy with Xperia mini and SE Live, but screen too small.
Mobile 2: cheapest dual sim android phone for a uni student
2. Budget: RM800
3. Specs: min CPU=800MHz, min RAM=512MB, min Camera=3MP, min screen=3.5"
4. What you need in the phone: dual sim standby, sms, facebook, youtube, simple game (angry bird, fruit ninja), take photo/video (no need hd), music, radio.
Remarks: He was eyeing CSL MI35x, please recommend any others.
Mobile 3: dual sim android phone for a working professional
2. Budget: RM1500
3. Specs: min CPU=1GHz dual core, min RAM=1GB, min Camera=5MP, min screen=4", ICS or in the plan
4. What you need in the phone: dual sim standby, office apps, surf internet, GPS, HD games, take photo/video (720p),  music, video, radio.
Remarks: No candidate so far.
Thank you all.
1) At that budget can't find any suitable 1, nearest is SE live. U need to top up your budget or get a 2nd hand phone. A 2nd hand SE xperia x10 will be good biggrin.gif

2) Wait for samsung galaxy ace duos.

3) Sorry, Im not sure.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 19 2012, 09:24 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 19 2012, 09:49 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Feb 19 2012, 09:36 PM)
Thanks for your recommendations.  smile.gif
For 1) If new set, which one will meet the requirement and how much to top up?
Huawei ideos X5, this 1 the 800mhz is using the better chipset so performance should be ok. Huawei is actually a reputable china brand, RM7xx for ori set.

If u still mind the brand, then SE xperia neo V @ 7xx for AP set.

Oh, maybe can wait for galaxy ace plus

Hope others can help u on no.3.

Added on February 19, 2012, 9:51 pm
QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 19 2012, 09:42 PM)
got bad experience with Huawei android phone...the 1 i hv is U8150....no software support, no updates, very laggy 2.2...after that, no more huawei for me....
That 1 is really really low spec la bro, 528mhz only....HTC wildfire also laggy ooo...I got no comments on the software updates though. But the huawei honor will get ICS, I believe they are trying to improve? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 19 2012, 09:53 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 20 2012, 04:31 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(miszxmaryx @ Feb 20 2012, 06:01 AM)
Looking for a phone for a mother smile.gif

Brand: HTC/Samsung/SE
Budget: ~RM1k
Specs: Prefer 5mp camera (with secondary camera if possible ^^), not too slow/laggy when browsing or playing games, touch screen..
What you need in the phone: whatever the phone has, no specific needs. smile.gif

Was thinking of Galaxy W.. But is there any other option other than Galaxy W? Cheers!
-HTC desire S
-The rest x132755 and XeactorZ already listed biggrin.gif

Added on February 20, 2012, 4:34 pm
QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Feb 20 2012, 07:20 AM)
Looking for a decent Android phone...

1. Brand - HTC/ Samsung or any others brand/ model which easily get support/ custom ROM
2. Budget. - RM500 - RM800
3. Specs. -
basic phone call/ SMS.. must be android 2.2 above.. (wanted to do wifi hotspot) , hopefully battery will last long enough for me coz i wanted to do wifi hotspot...
Screen size at lease 4 above... too small cant do texting...
4. What you need in the phone - as above..

Was thinking about HTC Desire Z, because with keypad.. but the model already EOL .. not sure worth to buy or not... ...
any others suggestion...  please do suggest me.. thanks...
2nd hand Samsung galaxy S or HTC incredible S.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 20 2012, 04:34 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 20 2012, 10:38 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(wakdol_24 @ Feb 20 2012, 08:11 PM)
pls suggest 1 phone for my frend new to android;p

1.Brand: Any
2.Budget: <2k
3.Spec: best camera phone,gps,good battery life,can upgrade to ICS
SE xperia arc S or wait for Sony xperia S.
danielcmugen
post Feb 21 2012, 03:46 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Feb 20 2012, 11:38 PM)
Im on the same boat as the person you replied too.
Same budget.

I really prefer to spend RM700 on a used Galaxy S but
it's very risky isn't it buying used smartphones?
They are so much more fragile than your typical candy bar phones.

I'm really worried that the internal components or the screen might be spoiled after it dropped a few times by the previous owner.

Or am I wrong? Are they strongly built?

I really think that I would regret if I would get a Galaxy Y or Ace.
Maybe can get from a reputable seller with good feedbacks or 1 with a long successful trade list.
Anyway, what are your requirements in a phone? Cuz maybe WP7 might suit u. U can eye the rumoured Nokia lumia 610 if so...

Oops, this is android section.. sweat.gif

Added on February 21, 2012, 3:49 pm
QUOTE(objectretrieval @ Feb 21 2012, 01:52 PM)
What are the cheapest Android phones with amoled screens?
HTC legend if I'm not mistaken, but that 1 stopped production edi.
Samsung galaxy S plus perhaps? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 21 2012, 03:49 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 21 2012, 03:58 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(si hebat @ Feb 21 2012, 03:09 PM)
Hi, I don't know which phone should i buy. Please suggest to me the best and ' berbaloi' phone one

1. Brand. HTC/Samsung/LG/Motorola. But not SE. But if SE is good for u all, can suggest also

2. Budget - Below RM 1.2K

3. Specs. 1GB Ram (minimum)/dual core or single core also can /Camera's 5mp minimum/ above 3.7 inch screen size ( prefer nice display resolution and display colours)

4. What you need in the phone - considerable amount of usage period ( battery wise), gaming a lil bit, but light games only. Average camera quality, can record 720p video. shutter key (optional). will use mainly on everyday task, browsing and other.

And upgrade to ICS (official/unofficial)

and please state the price also .

Thanks  smile.gif
1GB RAM... hmm.gif ... I dun think u can get 1 with 1GB RAM below 1.2k. The cheapest phone that suits your requirements is Motorola atrix, need to top up. Unofficial ICS through custom ROM most likely can....official 1 still uncertain but looks like not gonna have.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Feb 21 2012, 03:58 PM

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0499sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:23 PM