Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc & Arc S ~~Version 3~~, a smashingly fabulous phone
airputra
Mar 28 2012, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(fridel @ Mar 27 2012, 06:08 PM) just unlock it la  hehehehe i not know y i so afraid.. QUOTE(bluebeary @ Mar 27 2012, 08:35 PM) Need to clarify :- 1) Rooting means can delete some default apps to free up more RAM? 1a) After rooting still can receive SONY OTA/ICS upgrade? 2) Unlocking bootloader means can flash custom ROM? 2a) After unlocking the bootloader still can receive SONY OTA/ICS upgrade?? Thks if anyone would like to help :-) your answer here http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=47916693
khyroll
Mar 28 2012, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(zafrandbz @ Mar 27 2012, 06:33 PM) Do you mind telling me what sp you use? The case do not push your sp not even a tiny bit? Bro..sori  dunno what brand of sp they use but it's the clear type. Installed when i got the phone at the shop. it looks just like the other sp to me...i guess it cud push the sp at the edges a little if the sp did not stick well but it didnt happen to me..just my luck i guess Maybe u cud put try another sp...maybe the little more expensive one (>RM10) khyroll
pakcikDriver
Mar 28 2012, 02:15 PM
hi proud arc owner here
fridel
Mar 28 2012, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(airputra @ Mar 28 2012, 11:06 AM) go find video tutorial on youtube
michaellks
Mar 28 2012, 07:44 PM

QUOTE(bluebeary @ Mar 27 2012, 07:56 PM) I actually posted on V1 but my name was not listed somehow. Bought S.E.X Arc on the 1st day when it was launched. Still using it but getting painfully slow  My Arc is almost a year too. After the 2.3.4 upgrade, it's gotten much smoother compared to the then 2.3.2. You still find it slow? Somehow browsing through the apps page is faster and smoother then S II and Galaxy Note. But opening a huge app really takes time. I used the phone naked since first day, no casing but with the factory applied SP on. Lots of chrome has peeled of from the body and I took of the pre-applied SP after the 5th month of using this phone. What about the rest, phone still look new?
nixonyang
Mar 29 2012, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(michaellks @ Mar 28 2012, 07:44 PM) My Arc is almost a year too. After the 2.3.4 upgrade, it's gotten much smoother compared to the then 2.3.2. You still find it slow? Somehow browsing through the apps page is faster and smoother then S II and Galaxy Note. But opening a huge app really takes time. I used the phone naked since first day, no casing but with the factory applied SP on. Lots of chrome has peeled of from the body and I took of the pre-applied SP after the 5th month of using this phone. What about the rest, phone still look new? spanking new... bought on launching day, just the crack though.
bluebeary
Mar 29 2012, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(michaellks @ Mar 28 2012, 07:44 PM) My Arc is almost a year too. After the 2.3.4 upgrade, it's gotten much smoother compared to the then 2.3.2. You still find it slow? Somehow browsing through the apps page is faster and smoother then S II and Galaxy Note. But opening a huge app really takes time. I used the phone naked since first day, no casing but with the factory applied SP on. Lots of chrome has peeled of from the body and I took of the pre-applied SP after the 5th month of using this phone. What about the rest, phone still look new? Lag when open up gallery. Even saving photos take some times. Yes lots of chrome area already peeled off...sad.
mode893
Mar 30 2012, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(eone @ Mar 27 2012, 01:03 PM) I'm a happy Xperia S user now, been using Arc for a year thou, its a very nice phone. Mind sharing with us the main differences that you experience between the 2 phones? TIA
vanessalee93
Mar 31 2012, 12:01 AM
Hello there! I'm a proud user of Xperia Arc S for 5 months now.! Really scared of the hairline cracks though I think mine would pop up anytime now.  So far, im loving the phone! But the problem is the insufficient internal memory  and im such a nooobbbb when it comes to rooting or flashing. no matter how much i do reseach im still blur And, another problem i face is i can't find nice covers for the phone. So jelly of iphone users. Soo many nice iphone covers in the market
pc-ox
Mar 31 2012, 10:35 AM

ICS upgrade push to mid-April for Xperia arc S, while for Xperia arc only can upgrade from the end of May/early June. source:- http://blogs.sonymobile.com/products/2012/...from-mid-april/
bug_vengeance
Mar 31 2012, 12:03 PM
^ nvm,means that i will rely on 'ICS-based' custom rom instead
jojoes
Apr 2 2012, 12:33 PM
getting my arc not long ago under ori set. now in dilemma either want to root it or not since its ori set. worry if it rooted still can upgrade into ICS?
armadasaxon
Apr 2 2012, 12:56 PM
Hahaha..now all complain lag and low memory and crack..already warn many users about all this..380mb,after all apps load,only left 100+mb..on 3g few more mb gone..
Ppl mostly say no lag as they have already root .How about those who dunno how to root?
Sorry to say as im a high spec user with 70 apps installed.
bug_vengeance
Apr 2 2012, 01:10 PM
those who dunno to root or dont want to,maybe the only option is to wait for ICS
exkaizen
Apr 2 2012, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(jojoes @ Apr 2 2012, 12:33 PM) getting my arc not long ago under ori set. now in dilemma either want to root it or not since its ori set. worry if it rooted still can upgrade into ICS? If you root... you still can update ur firmware (I believe applicable to ICS update as well)... only that once you've update you will lose ur root (but update cases... the root still there when update through OTA) Added on April 2, 2012, 1:57 pmCurrently I have issue with my display... since whenever key-in letter 'a' it detect as 'q'... need to push abit low to get 'a'... Thinking to re-locked bootloader... and send for servicing or warranty... huhuhuhuhu... as well change the case for the hairline crack... This post has been edited by exkaizen: Apr 2 2012, 01:57 PM
bug_vengeance
Apr 2 2012, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(exkaizen @ Apr 2 2012, 01:55 PM) If you root... you still can update ur firmware (I believe applicable to ICS update as well)... only that once you've update you will lose ur root (but update cases... the root still there when update through OTA) Added on April 2, 2012, 1:57 pmCurrently I have issue with my display... since whenever key-in letter 'a' it detect as 'q'... need to push abit low to get 'a'... Thinking to re-locked bootloader... and send for servicing or warranty... huhuhuhuhu... as well change the case for the hairline crack... pls let us know the charge/cost to replace the case if can change to white case would be better
exkaizen
Apr 2 2012, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Apr 2 2012, 02:54 PM) pls let us know the charge/cost to replace the case if can change to white case would be better  hahaha... yeah thinking the same... want to change to white...
Boomeraangkid
Apr 2 2012, 05:16 PM
guys any good roms out there for arc s? my friend wants some recommendations
skyevo91
Apr 3 2012, 07:57 AM

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Apr 2 2012, 01:55 PM) Currently I have issue with my display... since whenever key-in letter 'a' it detect as 'q'... need to push abit low to get 'a'... try another keyboard lah see if it helps Added on April 3, 2012, 8:01 amQUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Apr 2 2012, 05:16 PM) guys any good roms out there for arc s? my friend wants some recommendations Try arconium v8. custom made rom by malaysian fast n stable than stock. my advise, don't flash any ics rom yet coz i found it is not suitable for daily use. This post has been edited by skyevo91: Apr 3 2012, 08:01 AM
exkaizen
Apr 3 2012, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(skyevo91 @ Apr 3 2012, 07:57 AM) try another keyboard lah see if it helps Added on April 3, 2012, 8:01 amTry arconium v8. custom made rom by malaysian fast n stable than stock. my advise, don't flash any ics rom yet coz i found it is not suitable for daily use. not sure whether its due to keyboard layout since I don't have such problem... I think its more on screen... since when I push 'a'... it highlight 'a' but it type-in as 'q'... only letter 'a' having problem...