2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

turbocharged
post Jan 20 2012, 04:29 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Jan 20 2012, 04:27 PM)
Not really... actually camry v6 is selling at a similar volume as the hybrid... 2.4 is stil the majority. Check out this three years old news...
http://www.hybridcars.com/news/hybrid-camr...amry-march.html
first comment down there, lol

"Why the hell shouldn't it? With 198 HP available total and more torque than the gasoline version, who would be stupid enough to buy a V6?"

v6 is 3.5l
turbocharged
post Jan 21 2012, 02:47 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Jan 21 2012, 12:08 PM)
Isn't the CKD continental car significantly cheaper than the CBU counterpart? ohmy.gif
Just like the 407 which dropped 30k from CBU to CKD. The S60 T5 also dropped by 33k from CBU to CKD.
Suppose the Elantra 1.8 CBU is between 125-130k (an estimated figure compared to Sonata 2.0std), maybe a CKD Elantra 1.8 should be around 110-115k... Just a guess:D

Added on January 21, 2012, 1:39 pm
I think i30 at least 10k more than Elantra... But now only got 1.6NA engine so very hard to compete with Pug308T if over 110k...
308 1.6 mini cooper engine only 99k.
turbocharged
post Jan 23 2012, 02:25 PM

250 posts

suddenly that makes mazda 3 1.6 ckd sounds like over priced at rm102k OTR.
turbocharged
post Jan 27 2012, 01:04 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jan 27 2012, 01:00 PM)
well the discussion was actually about if 120k is reasonable or not. did u miss all that?

whether or not it will change SD's policy, anyone with the right mind or basic common sense wud know the answer.

this is an online forum mind u. its where opinions are voiced out, or debates on different opinions yo. not where decisions are being made.
+1

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

turbocharged
post Jan 27 2012, 01:08 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(etseleste @ Jan 27 2012, 01:04 PM)
This thread is not going anywhere atm. Lets see how many pre-bookings convert into actual sales when the time comes.

Will I pay $120k for this Inokom badge CKD car? I would if it is CBU. Still, I gotta test drive it first when it launches. Then would decide if this is better than Mazda 3 2.0 CKD which is similar pricing. Anyway both car takde second hand value.
if you talk about drive-ability, no, mazda 3 road handling beats that.

http://www.caranddriver.com/comparisons/11...comparison-test

mazda 3 has worse resale than korean car? lol.

er...anyone saying sonata beats mazda 6? ( since both models are out on the road for quite sometime)

yes, hyundai is good, but not that good, yet.

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 27 2012, 01:10 PM
turbocharged
post Jan 27 2012, 01:28 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Jan 27 2012, 01:26 PM)
haha rm120k for this car is a joke and a turn off for everyone, better if go for civic 1.8cc around 120k. Safer in term of depreciation and reliability.
or, as many have said, a mazda 3 2.0l for more fun. and 6 airbags.
turbocharged
post Jan 27 2012, 03:05 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 27 2012, 02:51 PM)
Wrong. Expensive or not is not relative to our income, its a comparison of similar products.

If A = B,
and A is $50,
while B is $500, then B is expensive.

Our income have nothing to do with it.
some thought that the rich are fool

they tot by being stupid, one can actually accidentally get rich biggrin.gif and buy normal stuff at inflated price.

lol.
turbocharged
post Jan 28 2012, 10:13 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Jan 27 2012, 04:10 PM)
*Yes* I do smile.gif

Sonata NF 2.0A 2006 vs Camry XV30 2.0 2006:

Sonata NF 2.0 2006 New Price: RM116,000 w/out insurance etc
Camry XV30 2.0 2006 New Price: RM131,000 w/out insurance etc

Sonata NF 2.0 2006 Current Price: RM54,000 w/out insurance etc
Camry XV30 2.0 2006 Current Price: RM74,000 w/out insurance etc

Sonata NF depreciation: RM62,000
Camry XV40 depreciation: RM57,000

So the savings for driving a Jap over a Korean over a 6 yr period amounts to RM5,000. IMO that is not a lot of money lost for wanting something other than what every other uncle is driving.
very smart calculation.

why dont we fast foward 1 year?

2007?

camry = rm100k ++
sonata = rm58k ++

good job in taking 2006 version, because new version came out on 2007, and the older version will have significantly lower price wink.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 28 2012, 04:07 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(harpyboy @ Jan 28 2012, 04:01 PM)
I'm sure in both his case, the 50k are spare cash and could be locked in FD for the next 5 years. no one mentioned about using the 50k for the monthly installments. As long as the salary can support the monthly commitment, putting as little dp as possible is the best option.
yes, and the fact that inflation rate is much higher than 3%,makes the" as little dp as possible make sense."

turbocharged
post Jan 29 2012, 10:05 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Jan 29 2012, 05:23 AM)
Ceh, like that the comparison will never end lol. I can also say why not compare the XV40 against the YF?

Sonata YF std specs:
http://www.mudah.my/Hyundai+Sonata+2+0+AUTO-13337785.htm  RM111,000
How to confirm that it's std specs? Check out the keys in the ignition below the steering wheel. High spec 2.0 has push start smile.gif

Camry XV40 2.0E:
http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+Camry+2+0+Vvti+10-13226922.htm  RM122,000
Confirm std specs: Check for body coloured door handles and rear number plate garnish (G spec has chrome)

Both 2010 models:
Sonata YF RM136,000 less RM111,000 = RM24,888

Camry XV40 RM145,000 less RM122,000 = RM23,000
Ceh, then from your exaple, there is no doubt in the resale value already, then ppl here dont have to talk about resale value anymore. it will have same or very similar depreciation as the hot selling jap car.
turbocharged
post Jan 29 2012, 06:01 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 29 2012, 05:16 PM)
my cousin who js came back from Hyundai showroom in Butterworth, told the same thing.
rm110k seems reasonable for CKD unit when compare to Civic CKD 1.8....5-8k cheaper but extra spec/gadget worth more than 5k...

but for some ppl it still may not be reasonable due small diff albeit the spec.
they are not happy because forte 2.0 is 98k and cruze 1.8 is 100k ish.

forte 2.0 has 6 airbags and auto aircon autolight auto wiper and reverse camera.not sure whats the spec for elantra yet

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 29 2012, 06:05 PM
turbocharged
post Jan 30 2012, 04:44 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Madgeiser @ Jan 30 2012, 04:18 PM)
I have a hunch Veloster pricing is gonna be out of this world. Probably along the lines of Prius C and Honda CRZ or was it CZR? (Whatever, can't remember... the 1.5L Hybrid)....  rclxms.gif
CRZ

CRaZy.

easy to remember right?
turbocharged
post Jan 31 2012, 01:29 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 31 2012, 01:26 PM)
Some info on the specs for the upcoming Hyundai Elantra 1.8L:

1) 148Hp & 178 Nm torque
2) Cruise control
3) Push start
4) 10 way power seat
5) Nappa Leather
6) GPS & Reverse Camera
7) Dual zone fully auto aircon

Estimated price: RM 115K++
here
turbocharged
post Feb 1 2012, 10:00 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(Chongkor @ Feb 1 2012, 09:55 AM)
Actually if the real price and your budget only few thousand gaps it makes no difference. Unless you expect the price should pair with Forte. But confirmed it's "Not Cheap".
true, thats why no one bother to leak the price. if its really cheap, they will leak the news and hope you place a booking, just my speculation though.

10 days from now to official launching, i'm sure the price brochure and all printed material are prepared already.
turbocharged
post Feb 1 2012, 10:56 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Feb 1 2012, 10:15 AM)
I still not sure 115K CKD Inokom is value car to buy as it same wt Japanese car. Still 50-50. Hope somebody can convinced me it's a better choice.
I not expect the price should pair with Forte. But I hope the price is below 110K (then surely will buy).

When I buy a lancer. My big2 boss ask why dont I buy a camry or Prius instead of lancer.
That's a easily I can answer bcoz it's fully imported, sporty, for young guy, value for money etc...
Itu pun masih lg dia nak menang by said those car better. Diam je la.
If I buy another car an Inokom, of course my big2 boss will ask again. How to answer if Inokom price too pricey, I am not sure.

My wife ( a Doctor) say she don wan to pay monthly installment wt her salary. Just enough payment wt her monthly oncall claim. Cheaper is better.
That's why instead of buy a conti or D segment car.
I decided top buy C segment car.
But is it 115K CKD Inokom value car to buy? Hmm...
doctor needs an ultra reliable and boring car biggrin.gif get altis biggrin.gif
turbocharged
post Feb 1 2012, 11:09 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 1 2012, 11:07 AM)
Everything still depends on affordability as well. Doctors doesnt mean they earn alot. If ure in Gov, u wont earn much unless ure a specialist. Even then it depends on your specialisation and grade.
well i think altis is similar price to what he is looking at now.

toyota suits her just fine biggrin.gif
turbocharged
post Feb 1 2012, 11:36 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Feb 1 2012, 11:31 AM)
That's why we are not talking affordability to buy Ferrari, Lamborghini, rite.. smile.gif
Just discuss other cheaper car from Korean, Japanese etc.

Added on February 1, 2012, 11:35 am

Forte vs Elantra.
Better FC, yes..
Better resale value, still dont know here in Msia. In North America, yes..
2.0 vs 1.8. FC of cos its better.
turbocharged
post Feb 2 2012, 02:20 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(ryanliew87 @ Feb 2 2012, 01:56 PM)
this is so sad ....very very sad  cry.gif
dude your avatar is god like!!!
turbocharged
post Feb 2 2012, 02:24 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Feb 2 2012, 02:22 PM)
why does the government fixes the price?

So Hyundai will propose the price... so the government will approve the price? Base on? What's the criteria?

Isit the engine size?
Isit the make?
Isit the cable with government thick or not?
Isit the bribe enuf or not?
Isit how bad will it fucuk proton sales?

I mean how does it work actually? Anyone have any idea?
my guess.

sonata is similar price with camry, and sonata sales very good.

so, they expect elantra sales very good, then they can price at similar price with altis/civic lo.
turbocharged
post Feb 2 2012, 02:40 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Feb 2 2012, 02:27 PM)
hyundai under sime darby...
sime darby just acquire proton shares...
hmmm...  hmm.gif
not dbr-hicom?

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0539sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:44 PM