2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

turbocharged
post Jan 6 2012, 02:25 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(kekura @ Jan 6 2012, 02:24 PM)
Got 2 full pages of 2012 Elantra review in Berita Harian (Auto) today.
here

wrong wrong

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 6 2012, 02:37 PM
turbocharged
post Jan 6 2012, 03:54 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(JC999 @ Jan 6 2012, 03:53 PM)
The same as the honda accord full spec priced lower than the 5 series lowest spec
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

cos one is rear wheel drive, one is front wheel drive?

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 6 2012, 03:55 PM
turbocharged
post Jan 6 2012, 04:45 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Jan 6 2012, 04:44 PM)
Imagine a couple who've been together for years. Hyundai is the man, Hyundai owners collectively is the woman. Now imagine that at the beginning, the man wooed the woman with plenty of promises and his dashing Korean good looks. The woman finally agrees to take the man home to live together as a couple. It was good for the first few years, then suddenly, that handsome Korean man this woman married turned out to be a real liability, being a guzzler and always costs a bomb with every trip to the clinic (service centre).

Worse still, her friends all married Japanese men and report that their husbands are generally problem free, just like their fathers and their fathers before them. They ridicule this woman for having been sweet talked into marrying a Korean man who's only good on the outside but rotten to the core. It's become so bad that when she tried to trade him in for a better husband, the husband traders didn't want to take in any Korean men.

One day, she meets a new man. A young, extremely handsome Korean man with plenty of muscles and a long and sturdy gearstick. He tries to seduce her, but in the back of her mind, the rotten memories of her previous experience with a Korean man has left her jaded with anything Korean. Nonetheless, this new handsome man tells her that he's different, that he doesn't need to visit the clinic as often as previous generation Korean men, that he will give her the ultimate ride of her life!

In the back of her mind, she is thinking to herself, "Should I trust this new Korean guy, or should I listen to all my other friends and go with a Jap instead?. A Japanese man does nothing for me, but after all the pain that I've been through, will I risk it all and go Korean again?"

In the meantime, this clueless new Korean man who thinks so highly of himself, and for good reason, since he's a much improved version of his predecessor and knows that the woman will not go wrong in choosing him, refuses to oversell himself to her, and instead waits patiently at the side, hoping that the woman will eventually come to her senses and make the right choice. He is unaware of the personal conflict brewing within this woman, and the fact that she is really keen to take him in, and all he needs to do to convince her, is to....

omg.....

turbocharged
post Jan 7 2012, 10:36 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 7 2012, 10:31 AM)
Well said. Exactly my point. Its pointless saying waiting period is 6 months and there are 1000 ppl in queue. Because come 6 mths, this 1000 ppl may have been reduced to only 100 and thats the statistics that will show in the end not the initial 1000 bookings. Bookings must turn into actual sales. No 2 ways about it.

And we must remember that the current sales of the Sonata is compared against the the current Camry model which is 6 yrs old and yet the Sonata is nowhere close. Everybody knows a new Camry is due in the next few months. What will happen to Sonata sales when the new Camry comes? Are we still gonna hear stories about 6 months waiting period, factories running at 3 shifts, 1000 bookings, etc to justify even lower sales of the Sonata?

The Camry can be considered the Godfather of D Segment cars. It may not be as beautiful as the BMW or as well specked as other similar makes but it still commands a good following due to brand recognition. Many months after its launch, it will still have a good turnout in showrooms. I can imagine the Sonata sales dropping further once the Camry is launched unless Toyota really screws up the pricing or specs.
bro,stop complaining at ppl rice bowl biggrin.gif gotta understand where it comes from biggrin.gif

i must say its not easy to fight with the reputation and the fame civic and corolla (altis/camry) is enjoying, they are at 8th generation already. japs car might be cheap, but japs arent stupid. there are stuff that can be copied, and there are stuff that cant be copied smile.gif

but we as consumer has everything to benefit from, so i welcome their challenges to the jap's throne biggrin.gif

and lately, even local car makers are buckling up smile.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 7 2012, 10:47 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(Madgeiser @ Jan 7 2012, 10:40 AM)
I will have to agree on this also. RM110k is the max i would go for it, anything more, i am better off going for something else. The sweet spot would be around or less than RM105k.

As i said many times, they have improved by leap and bounds, but to price their car too close to a Japanese makes right now, it is a bit too early. Gregy does have some valid point. Part of the reason why Forte was so successful is thanks to it's competitive edge in pricing. It is undercutting similiar segment car about RM10k - 15k.

Reeducation does not happen overnight, for it to work, it has to be introduced slowly for the masses to accept. Bear in mind malaysian market for Korean car still have the perception of inferiority to Japanese make, but i can see this is changing slowly. Give it another year or two and you can probably see Korean and Japanese on par.
sometimes its not just reeducation, its about proving themselves.

we have civics that is as old as 1st generation right here. which is more than 30 years.

its about long term reliability. thats why honda motorcycle is still hot selling, because the 30 years old model is still running on the street, and THAT is advertisement, not some restyling and some hard sell of sweet talkers can do.

looking at the effort japanese had put in, we must respect them, this beyond former audi designer can do.

1. continuous improvement of the car parts and lifetime.
2. investment and involvement in motorsports such as rally, F1, super GT, which they can learn the knowhow of tuning a car chassis and handling ( thats where UK is excel at, korean i'm not sure)

in short, korean cars need time to prove themselves, but generation x and y are very willing to change, because they do not want to be seen in a car their father's would buy( same fear on iphone now, father using iphone, kids will be more willing to use android)

they need time, more time
turbocharged
post Jan 7 2012, 11:41 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(Madgeiser @ Jan 7 2012, 10:54 AM)
True, but looking at the Japanese model of these past decade, i would have to say, they have stagnated somewhat. So is it a good time for other car makers to catch up. When someone has been the king for too long, innovation tends to drizzle out.

The old Hyundai Accent was involved in Rally sport. Not sure how good was the result, maybe someone else in the forum would know?
yup, they have slow down, design wise smile.gif

turbocharged
post Jan 7 2012, 08:55 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(akafoz @ Jan 7 2012, 01:42 PM)
true..in fact, most of us will only be interested at the pricing info..

anything else can wait..
go leave a namecard at the sales office, and ask the SA to call you back.

or if you're internet savvy, try check mudah.my, usually some SA will leak early on the pricing and spec. works most of the time.

lowyat? its a forum to you to talk, not to wait for announcement.

turbocharged
post Jan 11 2012, 11:59 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jan 11 2012, 11:57 AM)
F1 driver wannabe? tongue.gif
local fake car wanna be biggrin.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 11 2012, 12:09 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jan 11 2012, 12:08 PM)
2 weeks to CNY. still no news!?!?!
should be anytime now.

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 11 2012, 12:15 PM
turbocharged
post Jan 11 2012, 02:04 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jan 11 2012, 02:03 PM)
looking forward smile.gif
after work fast fast go lo
turbocharged
post Jan 11 2012, 02:24 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jan 11 2012, 02:22 PM)
i think it's by invite tongue.gif
biggrin.gif unless they dun wan your money lo....ppl arrive already, need to serve ma.
turbocharged
post Jan 11 2012, 02:34 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jan 11 2012, 02:31 PM)
base on SDAC track record, very likely will happen wor, those lan C phucks tongue.gif
like that go see prius c la, or top up a bit get, prius lo, low interest, and cheap petrol, so, all in all, total payment might be same.
turbocharged
post Jan 11 2012, 04:42 PM

250 posts

i heard its fiesta size.

for 103k, with 7 airbags....sometimes maybe we can say, buy fiesta, and take the balance 20k to put petrol biggrin.gif still cheaper.

BUT toyota after sales service sounds better, and resale confirm better biggrin.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 11 2012, 05:39 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Humping^Panda @ Jan 11 2012, 05:34 PM)
fiesta too cute ady...it is a lady car...
u hurted a lot of guys ,lol.
turbocharged
post Jan 12 2012, 09:47 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jan 12 2012, 09:43 PM)
So.... any info from Glenmarie today?
http://www.mudah.my/Hyundai+Elantra+1+8+ve...ry-13311706.htm
turbocharged
post Jan 12 2012, 09:55 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(saujana @ Jan 12 2012, 09:49 PM)
120k????? rclxms.gif  if it is real, SDHM made it again! rclxm9.gif  notworthy.gif
then only i realize the thread title is

2012 Hyundai Elantra
Hello Impossible!
turbocharged
post Jan 12 2012, 10:37 PM

250 posts

anyone wanna give the mudah guy a call or sms?
turbocharged
post Jan 13 2012, 09:38 AM

250 posts

no one willing to spend 10cents to sms that mudah guys, lol.

turbocharged
post Jan 13 2012, 11:51 AM

250 posts

another one at 110000

http://kualalumpur.sheryna.com.my/NEW-HYUN...TRA-2012-319803
turbocharged
post Jan 13 2012, 04:58 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jan 13 2012, 04:57 PM)
Some of us have just been waiting too long already. I'm quite pissed already.

Really got eff-ed nicely. Thanks SDAC, Inokom and Hyundai Malaysia. Let me just show you my middle effing finger.
decided?

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 13 2012, 05:00 PM

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0425sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:44 AM