QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 11 2012, 02:34 PM)
like that go see prius c la, or top up a bit get, prius lo, low interest, and cheap petrol, so, all in all, total payment might be same.
prius C to prius upgrade (tentatively) is 40K werh...2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!
Jan 11 2012, 03:26 PM
974 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Jan 11 2012, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(watonk @ Jan 11 2012, 03:17 PM) As an owner, yes, the hybrid system is different, being Prius so called full hybrid. 7 airbags + push start FTWbut the end results: Insight 20km/l, Prius 20.5km/l, driven back to back with similar speed to the same location. And after 8-10 years, Insight battery replacement RM5-6k, Prius RM12k. Prius C might be the same /only slightly cheaper. Prius C boot size already a turn down to average malaysian. I still see Insight ownership as the most relevant comparing the price of Insight:Prius:Prius C in Malaysia. jk, i think the Prius C interior looks fugly This post has been edited by tunasandwich: Jan 11 2012, 03:42 PM |
Jan 12 2012, 11:14 AM
Jan 12 2012, 09:43 PM
Jan 12 2012, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 12 2012, 09:47 PM) .............. |
Jan 12 2012, 10:57 PM
Jan 12 2012, 11:26 PM
Jan 13 2012, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 12 2012, 09:47 PM) Bro fluidic, can confirm? |
Jan 13 2012, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 13 2012, 11:51 AM) this one advertise date is much older... 120k one is a much newer ad... sighz |
Jan 13 2012, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(khusyairi @ Jan 13 2012, 04:54 PM) Not many but still enough to steal the market. Some of us have just been waiting too long already. I'm quite pissed already.For example, Still Honda Civic & Ford Focus are market leader for C-segment car in US or Europe although Elantra win a lot award. In asia, we will see soon as both car will launch officially later. Really got eff-ed nicely. Thanks SDAC, Inokom and Hyundai Malaysia. Let me just show you my middle effing finger. |
Jan 13 2012, 05:13 PM
Jan 13 2012, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 13 2012, 10:06 PM) No confirmed pricing yet, so it's best not to speculate too much. good to see u back bro fluidic... so u haven't got any hint yet wat they wanna price it at? Been sick for 3 days + busy with new 'family' member Anyway, there are 1.8 cars in the same price range as well, I guess nobody is willing to accept a Korean car as a Japanese car price no matter how well spec'ed it is would be great if you can shed some light here... |
Jan 13 2012, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 13 2012, 10:23 PM) yeah seems like it. malaysians want high spec (above average) C-segment Korean's car at B-segment Jap's car price. agreed... these models are suppose to save wads left of their reputation....the confidence level of Malaysians toward Kimchi's car still not there yet especially on service support. Kia and Hyunda in Malaysia are doing good progress for the past 2 years. but K5's price and perhaps Elantra's price will slow down the progress. |
Jan 14 2012, 02:30 AM
QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 14 2012, 12:12 AM) Put in a little effort, and you'll realize Hyundai's after sales services aren't as bad as many people say. ure not disagreeing.. I guess its confirm to be 115k... sighzNo complain from my customer so far, as long as I am in touch with the regular service centre I send them to. |
Jan 14 2012, 03:34 AM
QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 14 2012, 02:44 AM) From the customer POV, nothing is ever right. customer is always right....But looking from HSDM's POV it's a different story. If I am going to stand up for both side I'd be really busy with dilemmas. If you think Hyundai overpriced their car, I can say the profit margin is narrower than many thought it is. Hyundai's car were never cheap, just that the profit margin is lower than most car giving the illusion that you are buying a cheaper car. Take for example the Sonata and Tucson never had over-trade higher than RM3,000. HSDM simply couldn't give that much. Many like to compare the Elantra and Forte in term of pricing, that I don't want to comment much, because a certain group of fanboys will start leaping on me. If you've done enough research on this, you'll know why we're more expensive, but yet at the same time still well received. Majority of people who know where the true value of a Hyundai lies will never leap over to KIA or other brand, unless circumstances doesn't permit them. it's almost 20K more than forte.... my my.... |
Jan 14 2012, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 14 2012, 08:42 AM) Hyundai has made the same mistake over n over again with many of its new launches. They keep on using that same old excuse about Hyundai being a premium brand and therefore should have God status reserved for it. The strategy may have worked overseas (where car prices arent dictated by an autocratic local car crony company) but has fallen flat here in Malaysia with its exorbidant car prices. Malaysia market is too small for them to be worried about...... unfortunately... i'm very disappointed too...I guess the Malaysian market isnt all that important to Hyundai. So they adopt the 'take it or leave it' stance. Guess we have to then leave it eh? Why should we continue to give this false impression to Hyundai that we agree to this mentality? If the Elantra 1.8L is indeed priced between 110-115K, this thread will go silent soon enuf together with the showrooms. Many Kia showrooms are already starting to become quiet after all the initial hype bout the Optima. Even its Facebook page is going slow now. |
Jan 14 2012, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(etseleste @ Jan 14 2012, 12:03 PM) Reason Elantra sales are so strong in US is people over there are concern with the fuel price hike and with Elantra claiming 29/40 city/highway mpg, it make sense to get one. moreover it has stylish design. most importantly it is priced very competitively there. I'm not talking about conversion to RM, but to their competitor in the C-segment market. yah... its marketed as an economical (both FC and the car itself compared to it's competitors), stylish with lotsa goodies in the US of A... that's how it won't COTY there...Over here in Bolehland, u are right, the price is being dictated by HSDM. I would anytime take a Sonata over Camry due to its stylish design and after seeing plentiful of Camry on the Msian road, the design of Camry seems bland. But just like Cybermaster98 said, people will factor in the resale value. If only Mazda3 or 6 equipped with skyactiv engine arrive in Msia in 2012 instead of probably 2013....... can also consider Altis since I dislike the new 2012 Civic design. but in Malaysia, its missing a bit part of the economical bit.... |
Jan 14 2012, 02:55 PM
Jan 14 2012, 03:24 PM