4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!

gregy
post Jan 17 2012, 10:48 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 17 2012, 10:34 AM)
they will get slaughtered in 1.6 region, for 85k-95k. see previous page on their competitor in that region.

fiesta, city, vios, forte, mazda 3, pug308(non turbo) , without local car intervention.

this kind of car ,if you buy low spec, namely 1.6 at 85k, a few years/months down the road, you'll regret, because, you dont feel luxury, you dont feel fast, not many gadgets, and there's many other choices with better spec or better power. this is a tough fight.
Not entirely true. The best selling spec for the Forte is the 1.6SX at 85,800. If the 1.6 Elantra is priced at 85-90k it will affect the Forte 1.6SX sales.
gregy
post Jan 18 2012, 05:19 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 18 2012, 04:20 PM)
100% agree. I believe almost everyone in this thread are potential customers who are interested in buying the Elantra, otherwise why we waste our time in this tered mah...

Bro Fluidic no need to be defensive in your points. At the end of the day, it was SD that announced "C-segment car at C segment price"... so we are askign what is the justification for this, when its locally assemble with penis Inokom logo somemore (dun angry)

Naza can sell 2.0 Forte at 97k, why can't SD?

Btw, you can check the price of 2006 Sonata - dropped by almost RM100K from ori selling price. (in less than 6 years!)http://www.mudah.my/Hyundai+Sonata+2+0+auto+06+07-13347653.htm 

You need (or your mgmt) need to address questions like this from potential customers, if not tak dak sales, ta dak commission pun.
Bro, mana ada nearly RM100k drop eh? Brand new around RM120k oni leh... http://www.kahbintang.com/Vehicles/Sonata%20NF/index.html

It is roughly RM64k plus minus, so roughly RM10,667 per annum flatline depreciation. That one is D segment, price drop is always higher than C or B segment.

gregy
post Jan 19 2012, 02:20 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(ngweichoong @ Jan 19 2012, 01:57 PM)
Think twice before take Hyundai Car. 
1. The Tucson car has the cap of the fuel tank under the back seat. Which means there have the "fuel tank access" at the back seat.
2.Both Front Door can easily be open eventhough already locked from inside.. just simply pull the door latch. Highlight to SC, they claim that so call future design.
If above is the fact, the Hyundai car is just have a nice look but the customer safety not the priority concern in the car design concept. Further more if you go to access below link , you will find that a lot of customer struggle in Hyundai bad service .
http://www.facebook.com/hyundaimalaysia
Point 1. Most modern cars have this fuel tank cap. It's to gain access to the petrol filter inside the tank, which needs to be changed periodically. No big deal. Maybe because the Tucson's back seats can be moved about easily unlike sedan cars that's why many people encountered this so-called shocker. No big deal.

Point 2 is really a safety feature, a mechanical unlocking system that allows the occupants from within to open the doors even if it is locked from the outside. The first time I encountered this so-called futuristic feature was many years ago on a Citroen ZX. I also tried it on a Pug 308T, works the same way.

On my Forte, it's the same thing but only two front doors. However, when the car is moving, I tried to pull the lever, it won't budge/unlock, only when the car is stopped will this feature work.

In other words, there's nothing wrong with the Tucson or any other Hyundai having the above two features which have long been in place in so many cars, including Jap cars (except maybe Point 2 which is more for Conti makes).
gregy
post Jan 21 2012, 02:03 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(Madgeiser @ Jan 21 2012, 12:52 AM)
Normal human nature, rebranding from original is inferior. Especially rebranding down, Inokom is considered inferior by majority of car buyer. Same argument cropped up when they did the Inokom Getz and Hyundai Getz. The mentality was Inokom is local assembled and rebranding of Hyundai. Local assembled, more problematic.

If you take a Toyota or Honda and rebrand it into a local brand, you will get the same general consensus from prospective car buyer.
Yes, this one too. People is expecting this also. I wouldn't say increase of profit margin, i think it is more in the aspect of competitively pricing of the car. If you have a good car, but it is killed by price, it is pretty much useless.
Eh, not true. All those Myvi owners say it's worth buying Perodua cos underneath the skin is a Toyota Passo or Daihatsu Boon woh...
gregy
post Jan 24 2012, 04:27 PM

411 posts

[quote=sonyman,Jan 24 2012, 02:23 PM]

Added on January 23, 2012, 11:50 am

Civic 1.8 tsi =+/-118k
Mazda2.0 =+/-120k
Elantra1.8 =<110k
It should be price less than 110k if compare to J car?
Anyway, K car resale value is really hard to compromise Malaysian mindset..

[/quote]
wah Honda got TSI engine woh... cool, i want one also, but got DSG a not?

Added on January 24, 2012, 2:25 pm

no worries, ask any of the SD sales man they can get the Hyundai batch for you. like the kia forte loh. boleh tukar nama.

[/quote]

They'd better heck change it for free. Inokom sounds like a lorry badge hehehe... At least Naza sells Harleys and exotic cars. Inokom is famous for lorries.
gregy
post Jan 27 2012, 04:04 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 27 2012, 11:34 AM)
The way I look at it.

Buying a car u have a value lost over the years, cant be help.

Buying THIS car u have a Bigger then average loss over the year. If over 3 years I lost an extra 30k compared to say buying an accord.

I might as well put in the extra 30k initially and buy a different car, and at RM120k, I can just buy a Rm150k jap, and I doubt the specs would be much less compared to elantra.

As for korean cars, I have 2 at home now, their drop is bigger then what i woudl like, my proton/nissan depreciation is still acceptable.

As for being able to "afford" it or not, that is a different thing all together, just cause I can afford it doesnt mean I should make a bad buying decision which will end up costing me more $$ then it should have.
Bro, you'd be surprised at how much depreciation you will experience with a D-segment smile.gif

I did this comparison in another thread:

2003 Camry 2.0 (the big backside model) New price = RM140k
2003 Sonata 2.0 New price = RM110K

2003 Camry 2.0 now = RM55k
2003 Sonata 2.0 now = RM25k

Camry's depreciation = RM85k
Sonata's depreciation = RM85k

So at the end of the day, what does it tell you? Both cars lost RM85k over a span of 9 yrs, or a flatline depreciation of RM9,444 per annum.

If you're comparing the C-segment Elantra vs the C-segment Civic then yes, the Civic will retain more value over the years.
gregy
post Jan 27 2012, 04:10 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 27 2012, 04:06 PM)
Hmm... u have any numbers for say 3~5 yrs? Cause, in my case, I dont forsee keeping a car for more then 5 years.

Cause if you keep a car for 10 years... there is a rock bottom of how much the price will go I reckon.
*Yes* I do smile.gif

Sonata NF 2.0A 2006 vs Camry XV30 2.0 2006:

Sonata NF 2.0 2006 New Price: RM116,000 w/out insurance etc
Camry XV30 2.0 2006 New Price: RM131,000 w/out insurance etc

Sonata NF 2.0 2006 Current Price: RM54,000 w/out insurance etc
Camry XV30 2.0 2006 Current Price: RM74,000 w/out insurance etc

Sonata NF depreciation: RM62,000
Camry XV40 depreciation: RM57,000

So the savings for driving a Jap over a Korean over a 6 yr period amounts to RM5,000. IMO that is not a lot of money lost for wanting something other than what every other uncle is driving.
gregy
post Jan 29 2012, 05:23 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 28 2012, 10:13 AM)
very smart calculation.

why dont we fast foward 1 year?

2007?

camry = rm100k ++
sonata = rm58k ++

good job in taking 2006 version, because new version came out on 2007, and the older version will have significantly lower price wink.gif
Ceh, like that the comparison will never end lol. I can also say why not compare the XV40 against the YF?

Sonata YF std specs:
http://www.mudah.my/Hyundai+Sonata+2+0+AUTO-13337785.htm RM111,000
How to confirm that it's std specs? Check out the keys in the ignition below the steering wheel. High spec 2.0 has push start smile.gif

Camry XV40 2.0E:
http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+Camry+2+0+Vvti+10-13226922.htm RM122,000
Confirm std specs: Check for body coloured door handles and rear number plate garnish (G spec has chrome)

Both 2010 models:
Sonata YF RM136,000 less RM111,000 = RM24,888

Camry XV40 RM145,000 less RM122,000 = RM23,000

This post has been edited by gregy: Jan 29 2012, 05:24 AM
gregy
post Jan 30 2012, 12:02 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(Aaron135LC @ Jan 29 2012, 07:42 PM)
I still think if u pay more around 110k for elantra.. Still not competitive enough.. Ppl still arent dumb.. Rather add few K get altis or civic.. Cause at the end of 5 year term using the car.. When u sell it off.. U still win ppl.. Cause u get to retain ur car value..

I'm taking 5 years as an example.. Even if we use it for another 7-9 years.. It is still gonna be same..

Nvm la.. Just wait for the official pricing.. =)
Oh, you mean Elantra price should be low until ppl start becoming dumb is it? lol... joking.

But I do agree with you. Based on the rudimentary calculations I did on the previous model Korean vs Jap cars, loss in resale value in RM sense may be the same, but the percentage is higher for K cars. So in order for the loss in value of K cars to be equal to those of Jap cars, the initial selling price needs to be lower by at least RM10k, otherwise you will definitely lose more than buying a Jap of a similar price.

And in these current uncertain times, not many ppl will take that risk.
gregy
post Feb 3 2012, 03:23 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(shyhhua @ Feb 3 2012, 03:05 PM)
All quoted from the blog here : S.O.S
Hmm, very professional indeed. So now there are 4 variants.
gregy
post Feb 4 2012, 03:07 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(gg8989 @ Feb 4 2012, 01:05 AM)
this looks suck
Looks like a Decepticon wink.gif

I do hope the front central vents are better than the ones found on the Forte. The Forte vents aren't placed that well, freezing the fingers on my left hand. Which is worse I wonder, freezing fingers or freezing elbow? Somehow in the air vent department I feel that both the Elantra and Forte haven't quite got it right.
gregy
post Feb 7 2012, 06:17 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Feb 7 2012, 06:04 PM)
80k is a lot cheaper than Elantra. I think the 1.6MT will definitely be more expensive than this. tongue.gif
But then 5yrs, 4AT, no ESP but a D-seg car. So the choice is quite obvious depending on your own need. If your house need a big car then maybe you can consider it. For my family Elantra will be the second car so we don't need a D-seg smile.gif

The Accord already has 5-AT since the model before the 2003-2007 model. And, if you're buying a 2.4 model you have electric leather seats and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) as standard.

This post has been edited by gregy: Feb 7 2012, 06:19 PM
gregy
post Feb 8 2012, 01:47 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 7 2012, 07:24 PM)
SA just sent me message ask me to place booking ASAP...  Lol...

Heard launching events gonna held might be in a hotel... Will get invite...  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

2weeks...  The accord should be bye-bye dy...  cry.gif  cry.gif
Don't worry la, there are many Accords to choose from with an 80k budget. And thanks to consumers' fear of FC, the 2.0 and 2.4 models (Accord and Camry) are selling around the same price, so if you don't mind a slightly higher FC you get a whole lot more goodies than a plain 2.0.
gregy
post Feb 8 2012, 10:39 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(spchew79 @ Feb 8 2012, 10:02 AM)
There is a reason why Vios sold about 30,000 units in Malaysia while Forte about 10,000 units in year 2011. A friend of mine trade in his 7 years old Vios in 2010 for a Mazda and manage to fetch RM45k trade in value for his Vios.
Well, so it's a one-off thing for your friend. He will find that his new Mazda will lose more value than a Forte next time when he plans to sell it. I'm surprised he didn't buy another Vios instead.

Added on February 8, 2012, 10:42 am
QUOTE(Nick-87 @ Feb 8 2012, 10:26 AM)
Local Car  ---->  Global Car

Tun. M cakap ini boleh compete dengan euro, japs, korea cars laaaaaaaaaaa...  rclxm9.gif
Of course can compete. Just like Malaysia also can compete in Olympics wat. The question is, can win or not? hehehe...

This post has been edited by gregy: Feb 8 2012, 10:42 AM
gregy
post Feb 8 2012, 11:17 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Feb 8 2012, 11:01 AM)
This is the only way i can show u the point i made juz now... just for reference...
what i wanna say is that the performance of a c seg 1.6 is not far from d seg 2.0... same for 1.8 vs 2.4... due to power to weight ratio... not applicablt to forced induction engine though...
You are quite right when it comes to acceleration due to the relative power-to-weight ratio factor. However, once the cars are on the move, the one with the higher cc will have an easier time reaching top speed. But the difference is not that much.
gregy
post Feb 8 2012, 04:35 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(PublicWay @ Feb 8 2012, 03:52 PM)
Some forumer suggested Kia Optima to me, thanks. i saw that car, also find it a bit 'too big' for me. Is there a car with:

1) C-segment-SIZE
2)  power like 2.0-2.5L
3) provide very stable ride on highway

So far i can only think of Mazda 6 2.5 (compact, big like Accord/Optima), power and stable. Would appreciate if someone can share. Budget RM1xxK.

(btw, how come my post is in Text form but you guys in html?) thanks.
Have you considered a used Conti? Nowadays you can get a 323i E90 or a 523i E60 for around the 15x,xxx mark.

This post has been edited by gregy: Feb 8 2012, 04:37 PM
gregy
post Feb 8 2012, 05:12 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 8 2012, 04:56 PM)
then it will be pretty good performer (0-100 below 10seconds) compared to our local C segment offerings.  biggrin.gif
Ya, not bad. It's 0-100 times are about the same as a Forte 2.0 (roughly 9.3s) thanks to a lighter body (Elantra). But I wonder if it can reach top speed as fast as a Forte 2.0 due to the slightly lower torque.
gregy
post Feb 8 2012, 06:01 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(PublicWay @ Feb 8 2012, 05:57 PM)
Thanks for recomendation. But dont think gonna get the BM la cos: 1) high maintenance 2)i am working class, if i drive BM how my bosses will look at me, will be driving better brand car than them lo tongue.gif

Mazda6 size is smaller than accord/camry. but a forum bro here say will have new model after this year..
Mazda3 rear storage too small to put in a golf set, have tried.
if you can wait a while I hear that they will be launching the Peugeot 408 (essentially a 308 with a boot).
gregy
post Feb 9 2012, 06:30 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Feb 9 2012, 06:11 PM)
Not very much diff btwn the coupe n sedan...  Becoz the sedan itself already like a coupe... Lol
Agreed smile.gif
gregy
post Feb 10 2012, 04:52 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(kekura @ Feb 10 2012, 04:45 PM)
My fog light will be up for sale.  biggrin.gif 

I installed fog light on my wira last 10 years but hardly use it. If install DRL every day use it.
DRL is definitely more useful. Others will be able to notice you from further away, which hopefully lowers the risks of accidents.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.2833sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:48 AM