2012 Hyundai Elantra, Hello Impossible!
cybermaster98
Jan 7 2012, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(vong @ Jan 7 2012, 01:30 PM) Im getting boring with this thread for all those comments not related to Elantra. Just hope to hear what is bad or good about the new car.
Not about what resale value, comparing to Japan car, what what about Hyundai; it is too general and the arguments will never end.
I would like to see more specific details just about Elantra. The car has not been launched yet in Malaysia. What are u expecting? If u wanna know details about the car then google it up and get reviews from other countries. But for now, discussions will be mostly general until we get more details about the car. Understand?
cybermaster98
Jan 7 2012, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(SKINMan @ Jan 7 2012, 01:53 PM) When will it launch, we are waiting so long....... Before CNY is possible? No it will be after CNY.
cybermaster98
Jan 7 2012, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(Chongkor @ Jan 7 2012, 02:26 PM) Camry in Malaysia is unbeatable, but Altis is different, so Elantra will can win over the sales. Elantra will beat Altis? I remember a similar statement made about the Forte when it was launched. But sadly, till now its sales are a bit lower than the Altis. Kia sold 5291 units of the Forte for 11 months of this year while 5545 units of the Altis were sold. Altough the figures are impressive for the Forte but it surely didnt beat the Altis flat as some claimed it would. The Civic was still the best seller among the 3 with 6884 units sold in the same period. So with the Elantra i would expect all 3 cars to take hits on their sales but whether the Elantra emerges as the best seller of the lot....i doubt.
cybermaster98
Jan 10 2012, 07:59 AM
Any latest news on the tentative launch date or pricing?
cybermaster98
Jan 10 2012, 05:46 PM
Was just looking at the Nissan Teana 2.0L Luxury specs. Seems that the Kia Optima is so much more superior. Wonder hows the spec list for the Elantra....
cybermaster98
Jan 11 2012, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(khusyairi @ Jan 11 2012, 02:43 PM) Prius C is a small car. Smaller than H. Insight in term of dimension. But better specs and more efficient hybrid system.
cybermaster98
Jan 11 2012, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(khusyairi @ Jan 11 2012, 03:11 PM) That's true...
However to me it still pricey for such small car. Why la they didnt sell it cheaper? No tax rite. Guess wanna get more profits. Yes i agree. They should have priced it below 100K for a 1.5L Hybrid. Even 99,800 would have the required phychological advantages.
cybermaster98
Jan 13 2012, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(khusyairi @ Jan 13 2012, 04:28 PM) Dont worry guyz, if elantra price is not good. There will be a lot replacement choice of new car that will come into Msia market soon such as: Alfa Romeo Giulietta Audi A4 – facelift model Audi Q3 Audi A5 – facelift model BMW 6-Series Gran Coupe Chevrolet Sonic Chrveolet Colorado Chevrolet Malibu Citroen DS4 Ford Focus Ford Ranger Honda Civic Honda CR-V Hyundai Accent/Verna Hyundai Veloster Isuzu D-Max Kia Rio Kia Soul Lexus GS Mazda BT-50 Mercedes-Benz B-Class Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class Mercedes-Benz M-Class Mercedes-Benz SL-Class Nissan Almera Peugeot 408 Proton Savvy Proton P3-21A Subaru XV Subaru BR-Z Suzuki Swift Suzuki Kizashi Toyota Avanza Toyota Camry Volkswagen Vento – new CKD model Volkswagen Jetta – new CKD model Volkswagen Passat – new CKD model Volkswagen Amarok Volkswagen New Beetle Volvo V60 Sime Darby-Hyundai Msia will get tough time if price their new Elantra too much for Msian. Not many within the 1.8-2.0L thats worth considering actually.
cybermaster98
Jan 13 2012, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 13 2012, 09:26 PM) https://www.facebook.com/hyundaimalaysia?fl...hettimonster=tsthe 1st topic with 43 comments, almost last 5 comments i think EVerybody should go to the link and slam Hyundai nicely. If we dont do that now, the price will be crap when it is launched. We can make this happen. FLood their Facebook page with comments bout their crap pricing.
cybermaster98
Jan 14 2012, 08:07 AM
QUOTE(etseleste @ Jan 14 2012, 04:45 AM) hmm. that is just too bad. was seriously thinking of getting elantra due to its superb FC & stylish design. but if it is priced around 110k-115k for a CKD 1.8 with Inokom branding, I would prefer to get a Mazda 3 2.0 CKD at $122k with insure. I dun even mind a 1.6 at $102k with insure. Oh well, we shall see. Exactly! Why would Hyundai even think of pricing the 1.8L Elantra between 110-115K when the Altis is priced between 112-122K? Wouldnt it be a logical sense to pay RM7K more and go for an Altis which would have 40% more resale value after 5-7yrs compared to the Elantra? Even the Forte 2.0L is only priced at RM 97K+ with all its specs. If this pricing is true, the impact would be far worse than the Sonata being priced too close to the Japs. In the Sonata's case, there wasnt already a cheaper Korean D segment car in the market to compare against. But the Elantra has the 2.0L Kia Forte which is already enjoying great sales (in comparison to all other Korean makes in the market) to compare against and people will do exactly that. I really hope HSDM's common sense prevails. The Elantra should only be priced at most 5% higher than the Forte 2.0L since its only a 1.8L. Not 15% higher. Thats crazy! This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jan 14 2012, 08:22 AM
cybermaster98
Jan 14 2012, 08:26 AM
QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 14 2012, 02:44 AM) From the customer POV, nothing by HSDM is ever right.
But looking from HSDM's POV it's a different story. If I am going to stand up for both side I'd be really busy with dilemmas. If you think Hyundai overpriced their car, I can say the profit margin is narrower than many thought it is. Hyundai's car were never cheap, just that the profit margin is lower than most car giving the illusion that you are buying a cheaper car. Take for example the Sonata and Tucson never had over-trade higher than RM3,000. HSDM simply couldn't give that much.
Many like to compare the Elantra and Forte in term of pricing, that I don't want to comment much, because a certain group of fanboys will start leaping on me. If you've done enough research on this, you'll know why we're more expensive, but yet at the same time still well received. Majority of people who know where the true value of a Hyundai lies will never leap over to KIA or other brand, unless circumstances doesn't permit them. People will always compare the Hyundai with the Kia the same way Toyota is compared to Honda. So what is the true value of Hyundai? Why should Hyundai be priced higher than Kia? Do explain.
cybermaster98
Jan 14 2012, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 13 2012, 10:41 PM) Absolutely - I guess there must be some truth in the what the salesman said. I called one of the salesman in Kah Bintang, said the same thing RM115k for 1.8...sweet jesus! I guess T &H salesman dun hav to worry... I guess this might follow I30's fate, poorly priced... how many I30's do you see on the road nowadays? Hyundai has made the same mistake over n over again with many of its new launches. They keep on using that same old excuse about Hyundai being a premium brand and therefore should have God status reserved for it. The strategy may have worked overseas (where car prices arent dictated by an autocratic local car crony company) but has fallen flat here in Malaysia with its exorbidant car prices. I guess the Malaysian market isnt all that important to Hyundai. So they adopt the 'take it or leave it' stance. Guess we have to then leave it eh? Why should we continue to give this false impression to Hyundai that we agree to this mentality? If the Elantra 1.8L is indeed priced between 110-115K, this thread will go silent soon enuf together with the showrooms. Many Kia showrooms are already starting to become quiet after all the initial hype bout the Optima. Even its Facebook page is going slow now.
cybermaster98
Jan 14 2012, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(Oldskolboyz @ Jan 14 2012, 08:54 AM) Latest News on Elantra.. Good & Bad Make False Claim in AdvLets allow our Bro Fluid to comment on this.
cybermaster98
Jan 16 2012, 08:20 AM
A good read: http://cbt.com.my/120112/tuv-toyota-prius-...scores-well-tooQuite a few Korean makes in the bottom half of the survey. But good to see Toyota in the Top 10 list for all age groups. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jan 16 2012, 08:24 AM
cybermaster98
Jan 16 2012, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 16 2012, 09:17 AM) those at the bottom of the ranking are consistent with their resale value in malaysia, not a surprise apparently. Consistent with demand too.
cybermaster98
Jan 16 2012, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Jan 16 2012, 11:02 AM) PEUGEOT consistently at the bottom...  But those are the older models. Those were problematic. Not sure about the 508. Thats pretty new but has gotten good reviews so far.
cybermaster98
Jan 16 2012, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Jan 16 2012, 02:24 PM) I just asked the HQ and they say the price is RM90k-120K.
1.6 Standard might be RM89,XXX - 91,XXX The 1.8 Premium might be RM118,XXX
Still waiting for finalization. They will announce the launching date end of this month/ early week of next month..
Cheers 1.8L now RM118K+??? HSDM must be really out of their mind if they think they can hope to sell it at that price unless they wanna push ppl to get the 1.6L standard or run back to the Kia Forte. Madness! This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jan 16 2012, 02:27 PM
cybermaster98
Jan 16 2012, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 16 2012, 02:35 PM) ok what, so its on par with civic 1.8.
its no longer inferior anymore.
c segment car with c segment price. On par with what and in what way is it on par? Just cuz its a C segment??
cybermaster98
Jan 16 2012, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 16 2012, 03:29 PM) Another ugly car from VW. Looks worse than the Passat 1.8 and Jetta. Hope they really price it cheap. So far ive only seen 1 jetta and 1 Passat 1.8 on the road in KL since its launch.
cybermaster98
Jan 16 2012, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(WheelieWonka @ Jan 16 2012, 05:36 PM) One of the salesman walk past me and mentioned in Cantonese "This guy only came in a Myvi, waste our time only"... but he though I dun understand... Incidently I drove my wife's Myvi to the showroom...they wanna treat their potential customers like this, why should I give them my money?? Btw, I got treated really really well when i followed my fren to Glenmarie BMW showroom...somemore I'm looking only. Ive seen this happen many times with the Korean car showrooms. Even the Kia showroom in TTDI got the same rubbish salesmen. Mazda showroom here also the same. 1 day i feel like fxxxxxx telling them that i can fxxxxxx buy their car cash if i wanted to. Bloody fools.  I also went to the Kia showroom in Ipoh last week and 1 Malay salesman sitting next to the car outside didnt even bother to stand up when i started asking bout the car. Should boycott these types of salesmen and their showrooms.