Wooden Door, Room & Main Door

weikee
post Oct 15 2012, 04:43 PM

12,019 posts

You want to get skirting or frame? two difference things.

Frame, any door seller will have some have ready stock for standard thickness, even some big hardware shop will have. Is just basic wood, not the nice and hard wood. For nicer do to door seller.

If you want non standard, have to pre order. Like only one side is sunken instead of two side sunken.

weikee
post Oct 15 2012, 04:49 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Yamma @ Oct 15 2012, 04:46 PM)
initial plan, to use tile for skirting. but when re-imagine, doesnt look nice. maybe need to reconsider the skirting, to be the same with door frame.
Sorry, i cannot imagine how the door skirting using tiles look like. There is another name for the door skirting, just can't get it out of my brain now. The door skirting is surronding the entire door frame for inside and outside.

weikee
post Oct 15 2012, 10:33 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Oct 15 2012, 06:56 PM)
Door architraves smile.gif

Skirting= low vertical pcs of tiles/ timber to cover the ugly connection btwn floor finishing and wall…
Thank you. That is the word.
weikee
post Jan 11 2013, 11:30 AM

12,019 posts

My wood frames take about 1week plus. It depend the type of wood you choose and design.
weikee
post Jan 15 2013, 01:42 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(xsaed @ Jan 15 2013, 01:29 PM)
anyone here using wooden door for bathroom. any tips to maintain it from moisture. i hate plastic doors
How far away from shower area? If got few feet away is ok. But got to use gloss paint, possibly try to paint bottom, top and side of the door too. Do expect the door may expand a bit more. Usually for bath room for they will user ply wood door. Solid wood door tend to expand more.
weikee
post Jan 15 2013, 01:56 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(xsaed @ Jan 15 2013, 01:50 PM)
my door is solid wood frame with plywood... and the bottom part expands dy  cry.gif i scraped off the bottom part with electrical wood planer and put some shellack. but now started expands again and plywood bocor d. if i wanna replace that door, i dont want to make some mistake again. kindly advice.
My mom house come with plywood doors inclusive the toilets doors. We Use it for many years before expand. Maybe before you install the door, fill the gab, and paint few layer with glossy wood/metal paint.

Do remember wood will expand when wet, possible the expand may open up some gab even is painted. May need to touch up the paint.
weikee
post Jan 15 2013, 02:15 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(xsaed @ Jan 15 2013, 02:08 PM)
k thanx will keep that in mind
Experience door seller will be able advice you.
weikee
post Jan 18 2013, 03:21 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Pennbattle @ Jan 18 2013, 02:35 PM)
do they do installation oso?? may i know how to measure the door size cos planning to change my main door....or they will come to measure and install oso?
Measure top, middle and bottom. You need three measurement.
weikee
post Jan 18 2013, 03:22 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(vinvon23 @ Jan 18 2013, 03:07 PM)
no wo...i just need a normal 33x83 door.. but they say frame kenot do before cny...haiz... hav to find somewhere else now...
CNY, sure all rush to complete the job and collect$$$$
weikee
post Jan 18 2013, 03:56 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Pennbattle @ Jan 18 2013, 03:27 PM)
thank you for ur info.... icon_rolleyes.gif
eh by the way measure fron center frame or side? err...i dont know how to explain....hehe
I also don't know how to explain. you need to measure where the hinge are installed. If you are not sure better ask the door seller.
weikee
post Jan 22 2013, 05:54 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(xsaed @ Jan 22 2013, 08:30 AM)
its just me dat i dont like light doors... plastic, aluminium, zink, plywood
My washroom door are folderable door, Is aluminium + glass. Not the chepo type. Is still light, but not as bad as the cheapo type.
weikee
post Sep 21 2013, 06:40 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(*~xiao.yu~* @ Sep 21 2013, 05:24 PM)
Is it not advisable to spray paint nyatoh door to my preferred paint color?
If paint you loose the nice wood grain. Unless you stain it.
weikee
post Apr 27 2014, 11:31 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(bukithot @ Apr 27 2014, 05:06 PM)
Hi weikee, your doors look superb!!

What is the difference between shellac and staining? And their prices?
Price I don't know now, almost 2 1/2 years since i move in. Shellac is the final coating of the wood, shellac come with limited variety of color only, and staining is to make the wood difference color. You can stain the wood into green and apply final coating of shellac.

Some uses shellac to stain too, they just thinned it and the wood will absorb.
weikee
post May 9 2014, 10:55 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kokmengng @ May 9 2014, 10:49 AM)
Durability = metal/steel frame
Look & feel = wooden frame
Expensive = wooden frame
Wait till you change hinge, and you know the meaning of durability of wooden frame.
weikee
post May 9 2014, 11:12 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Mohdnorazman @ May 9 2014, 11:03 AM)
Weekee
Normally for wooden frame how long can lasting? And diff price between steel frame
A good solid hard wood frame can last long time. Termites will only attack solid hard wood after no other option. Price depend on quality, and good metal frame (thicker type) are expensive too.

If intend to use steel / aluminium door frame with solid wood door / heavy door make sure get a really good frame with good ball bearing hinges, if not you will enjoy the good eeeekkk eeeek sound.
weikee
post Aug 17 2015, 07:11 PM

12,019 posts

You can have two locks for bi-fold door. I am using two.
weikee
post Aug 18 2015, 12:11 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(SnowLady @ Aug 17 2015, 10:44 PM)
Hi, can you snap photo? Thanks.
Is two independent lock one at each end., you ask the bifolder supplier they will show you how it work.

0.0254sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:11 AM