10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

~**Proton CPS TribeĀ® V11**~, TT Date: ? Time/Place: Day@EA Autoworks

sphiroth
post Jan 31 2012, 03:54 PM

2,804 posts

Hi guys, PLEASE CHECK YOUR RADIATOR FAN.

I just got back my ride from workshop after 3 days. Cost me more than RM1k to fix the tappet sound issue that i've been experiencing for quite some time. But last week, it got really worst that I sent it for repairs.

First they suspect it was the adjuster/latch. Open up the head and turns out all of it damaged. Total expected cost: RM380 for each of the intake latch and RM90 for each the exhaust latch. There is a total of 16 latch for intake and 8 for exhaust. doh.gif Change all of them but the problem still persist. Phew, so didn't have to pay.

The next day, they open back the head and all the new latch have been damaged. After a lot of troubleshooting, only then they found out that my radiator fan not working properly. Cannot turn on and when its turning, its turn slower than normal. Thus, my engine suffered slight overheat for a long period of time. Cost: RM400. But the sound is still there.

The 3rd day they want to change the head gasket, suspect it was damaged because of the overheating. Later they found out the cylinder head assembly also damaged. New one cost about RM4k doh.gif Thus, I opted for used ones. They also change the latch. Now problem solved already.

Weird thing is, after some hard driving, the ABS light doesn't turn on. My theory is, ABS got problem because the engine bay is too hot due to mulfunction radiator fan. So I advise alll members who got ABS issue to check the radiator fan.

And also thanks a lot to singchaii for helping me and the mech solved the problem. thumbup.gif

sphiroth
post Jan 31 2012, 04:05 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(R.Y.D.E.C.K @ Jan 31 2012, 04:01 PM)
huh...means the radiator fan not working properly?soo how to fix and how much?.....i think need to check mine too...tappet sound like wut?tht ur experiencing?
Damn, I should record some video so that can share.... sound like tek tek tek. When you rev up, the sound will be louder/more intense. Just turn on the engine and see when it get hots, does it spins. But you need the PDT to see whether its turned on at the right temperature and also the rpm its turning.

Added on January 31, 2012, 4:06 pmCannot fix, have to change to new one (motor). RM400 inc labour.

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Jan 31 2012, 04:06 PM
sphiroth
post Jan 31 2012, 04:17 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(R.Y.D.E.C.K @ Jan 31 2012, 04:14 PM)
ic...the more we rev the teppet sound getting louder?.....soo PDT to check if the fan spinning in the right speed!....so far normal sound from the engine..but no cost right to take precaution b4 our money fly more! sweat.gif ...will check and pay visit tmoro...ehh singchai got PDT??esok holiday...can go check biggrin.gif
Go TT with singchaii lar...free inspection what. hehehe brows.gif

Added on January 31, 2012, 4:18 pm
QUOTE(chrislyv @ Jan 31 2012, 04:17 PM)
bro, ur radiator fan so fast "kong", what's ur mileage?
110k km of high spirited driving. brows.gif

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Jan 31 2012, 04:18 PM
sphiroth
post Jan 31 2012, 04:22 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(chrislyv @ Jan 31 2012, 04:20 PM)
110k km? shld b around this life-span.. shld hav it replaced when its above 100k km.. if just replace the motor, shld b much cheaper outside..
The problem is, it will still spin, but not at the correct temperature and speed. Not easy to noticed. I've always seviced at SC so I thought the checked it for me. sweat.gif

Added on January 31, 2012, 4:24 pm
QUOTE(R.Y.D.E.C.K @ Jan 31 2012, 04:20 PM)
mine clocking 121721k km +++....can consider spirited style too sweat.gif...so change the motor onli?
Motor only.

QUOTE(chrislyv @ Jan 31 2012, 04:22 PM)
btw, wat grade of full-syn oil r u guys using for CPS? is 10w40 or 5w 40 suitable for CPS??
I used 5w40.

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Jan 31 2012, 04:24 PM
sphiroth
post Jan 31 2012, 04:28 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(chrislyv @ Jan 31 2012, 04:24 PM)
SC?? cannot depend on them la..  they just rely on trainee to handle our cars.. if its not under warranty, i would not send to SC...
IMO, better sent to SC. Not many workshop can differentiate between a campro and cps engine. Some internal parts are different. Like the latch I mentioned earlier, campro use different latch and only have 8 for the intake. The oil sump/pan also different. Last time my oil sump leak, normal workshop changed to normal campro ones, end up the engine cannot start due to different sensor position.
sphiroth
post Jan 31 2012, 06:10 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(klia @ Jan 31 2012, 05:24 PM)

Added on January 31, 2012, 5:31 pm

Bro, can we notice it from temperature indicator, i mean may be slightly higher
Not that i noticed of. Might be the sensor not sensitive enough.
sphiroth
post Feb 1 2012, 09:46 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Feb 1 2012, 08:46 AM)
Thanks for sharing bro..
so the tappet sound come from the cylinder head or the radiator fan?
From cylinder head.
sphiroth
post Feb 1 2012, 06:41 PM

2,804 posts

I've cucuk a R35 before. Not just me, got another wira and one kancil turbo (i think) also cucuk-ing the GTR at 180km/h on NSE because I suspect the gtr haven't removed the speed cut yet. Hahaha. Maybe after that he straightaway get it removed.
sphiroth
post Feb 1 2012, 07:52 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Feb 1 2012, 07:42 PM)
Dont cucuk2 wey. Later u sontot orang depan punye bontot laugh.gif
Says the cucuk-KING. laugh.gif
sphiroth
post Feb 2 2012, 09:00 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(chrislyv @ Feb 2 2012, 08:53 AM)
when playin wif bigger cc car like 2.0, agree that after 180 lower c.c. will kena "tapau".. play pick-up sure no problem..

for engine heat dispersion.. not much we can do as ori shld b enough.. the only things we can do is:
- service ur cooling system regularly. replace coolant/water at every service interval. use good coolant = toyota coolant
I don't think using other manufacturer specific coolant is a good idea. Since its a different engine/technology system and characteristic.

- use good engine oil - full-syn. shld consider 5w40 or 10w40. lower i think too thin for cps engine.
CPS recommend 5w30. I'm using 5w40 since its quite rare to find 5w30 fully synthetic at SC.

- those with extractor, u may wanna custom made a heat shield. w/o the ori shield, ur engine bay is exposed to more heat..
optional if ada budget:
This I agree. nod.gif

- change ori radiator to aluminium type "guarantee works"..
In theory, it should be better since alu is better at heat dissipation. But, with so many imitation in the market nowadays, better be extra careful when choosing one. And also, the durability is lower.

sphiroth
post Feb 2 2012, 02:31 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Feb 2 2012, 10:01 AM)
Yeah...beat forte twice laugh.gif
QUOTE(shinjite @ Feb 2 2012, 10:47 AM)
Yeah that is why I say depends on what car hahaha

Forte 2L boleh main XD
Agreed, been there, done that. brows.gif
sphiroth
post Feb 2 2012, 04:56 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ Feb 2 2012, 03:18 PM)
Inspira 2.0 bole main?
Nowadays drive slowly only whistling.gif
sphiroth
post Feb 2 2012, 07:37 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(TripleJ104 @ Feb 2 2012, 06:11 PM)
Hmmm...dah repair x kan blom press lagi. laugh.gif
whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif laugh.gif
sphiroth
post Feb 3 2012, 08:22 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(chrislyv @ Feb 2 2012, 10:46 PM)
- toyota coolant is proven 1 of the better coolant in the mkt. "red color type" - just to share from my experience

polo 1.2 tsi = 100+ps. shld not b a problem for our cps to out run it. i hav not test with 1 b4 but from spec. sheet shld b no problem.

what i meant bigger c.c = mazda 3, forte 2.0, lancer 2.0, civic 2.0.. not those monster b16, b18 or etc etc..
Sure? hmm.gif 150nm of torque as low as 1.5k rpm, where cps only 150nm at 4.6k rpm...how can match. Got 7 speed DSG some more. whistling.gif
sphiroth
post Feb 3 2012, 11:55 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Feb 3 2012, 11:30 AM)
Sphiroth and Azuma has 140whp?
Can post dyno chart?

Because last time I saw Azuma dynoed his Waja before at GT Auto, I was there and I know the result. But after that I don't know already ler XD
Only 118whp. Even r3 neo also have 140bhp.
sphiroth
post Feb 3 2012, 02:55 PM

2,804 posts

My dyno at my sig.
sphiroth
post Feb 3 2012, 03:00 PM

2,804 posts

Now my adjustable cam pulley at standard setting after those repairs. Pick-up is good but after 5.5k rpm, out of breath already. Now shifting below 5k rpm only...huhuh
sphiroth
post Feb 4 2012, 06:36 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Feb 3 2012, 04:35 PM)
Wat u modify to get 118whp?
Refer to my sig. brows.gif

QUOTE(shinjite @ Feb 3 2012, 05:29 PM)
Dyno actually is not about the figures, it is about the torque and power curve plus the AF Ratio XD

Stock CPS should get around 110whp at least....since normal Campro also can get 100whp-104whp already
Agreed. Curve is more important since the value can easily manipulated. For me, i like my torque curve flat across all the rpm instead if higher torque but only at some rpm (narrow powerband).
sphiroth
post Feb 6 2012, 03:04 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Feb 5 2012, 11:28 AM)
got dyno result,ur car pic and video..but dun have the modification list lo rclxub.gif
Ops..sorry, since its been so long since I done all the mods.

list in installed order...
16 rims
R3 suspension
K&N drop in
Extractor
Muffler (straight flow)
Mid bullet
Apexi SAFC II
Fuel pressure regulator
Adjustable cam pulley
Muffler (sflow)

sphiroth
post Feb 9 2012, 09:52 PM

2,804 posts

I felt that my fuel pump is giving way already, sometimes need to crank up twice or more to start the engine.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0471sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:51 PM