Auto transmission oil and gearbox oil

vr2turbo
post Dec 27 2011, 08:12 PM

QUOTE(xain @ Dec 27 2011, 08:08 PM)
got it guys! thanks a lot!

its a myvi 2009 auto
What is the mileage done? atf not changed before?
huakenny
post Dec 27 2011, 08:25 PM

384 posts

dextron III for myvi, mineral and synthetic based.

just use synthetic based...it wont cost so much
vr2turbo
post Dec 28 2011, 07:45 AM

QUOTE(huakenny @ Dec 27 2011, 08:25 PM)
dextron III for myvi, mineral and synthetic based.

just use synthetic based...it wont cost so much
Is it? I thought usually synthetic will cost much more.
But if doing oil pan atf change, isn't it better to use back the same brand and type as you are just mixing the atf up, unless you are doing a flush?
Vervain
post Dec 28 2011, 08:35 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Guys, My ATF tends to overheat. if I install a ATF cooler, can i install the same oil and pressure sensor, just like those oil coolers? or need to modify the fittings? Hope Sifu here can enlighten me.

Any good durable ATF would recommend? Driving a old waja
Quazacolt
post Dec 28 2011, 09:51 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 08:35 AM)
Guys, My ATF tends to overheat. if I install a ATF cooler, can i install the same oil and pressure sensor, just like those oil coolers? or need to modify the fittings? Hope Sifu here can enlighten me.

perhaps can try out lubegard platinum before installing additional coolers, if it resolves your problem, thats the end of it. if it doesnt, you just waste ~rm100, not too expensive compared to going through permanent hardware changes/mods which usually cost more, and may not resolve your issue.
makky
post Dec 28 2011, 10:03 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 09:35 AM)

Yes can, but need workshop that really know what they are doing with those fitting. If money not a option then go for steel tubing -custom made line from the tran to the radiator to the atf cooler and back to tran. Install a fan too. For the ATF fluid, i think it better to use back the ori ATF fluid because the tran already old. Changing new one might lead to abnormal gearbox issue. (in some cases only)
huakenny
post Dec 28 2011, 11:49 AM

384 posts

just add one additional cooler...few hundreds.

and when u meant overheat.....how u know its overheat? sweat.gif
Quazacolt
post Dec 28 2011, 12:00 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Dec 28 2011, 11:49 AM)
just add one additional cooler...few hundreds.

and when u meant overheat.....how u know its overheat? sweat.gif
^

exactly.
Vervain
post Dec 28 2011, 12:29 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Hunch?. Cause during cold start etc it's ok. After spirited drive etc, there's a delay when I shift from N to D. Delay is like close to 2 second before the car engages gear. Some of my friends told me it's the transmission overheat or most likely insufficient ATF fluid. When I let the car cool down the next day it's ok till I drive the car hard.

Yes. I heard need to pull out the transmission cover and fabricate a port. Definitely use steel braided hose since it's high pressure. As I'm well aware the transmission peak working temp is less than 110 degrees. anything above, will result in ATF fluid being burn off. Thus, I was hoping if anyone did attempt to install sensors to tap the temperature. It would be great to know we're not stressing the transmission too much

Yes. Also thinking an option to install fan. But, standard fans are too big to be fitted on the cooler. May need to go with passive cooling since there isn't much space in under the hood. Hence I need to know the temperature.

huakenny
post Dec 28 2011, 02:13 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 12:29 PM)
Hunch?. Cause during cold start etc it's ok. After spirited drive etc, there's a delay when I shift from N to D. Delay is like close to 2 second before the car engages gear. Some of my friends told me it's the transmission overheat or most likely insufficient ATF fluid. When I let the car cool down the next day it's ok till I drive the car hard.

Yes. I heard need to pull out the transmission cover and fabricate a port. Definitely use steel braided hose since it's high pressure. As I'm well aware the transmission peak working temp is less than 110 degrees. anything above, will result in ATF fluid being burn off. Thus, I was hoping if anyone did attempt to install sensors to tap the temperature. It would be great to know we're not stressing the transmission too much

Yes. Also thinking an option to install fan. But, standard fans are too big to be fitted on the cooler. May need to go with passive cooling since there isn't much space in under the hood. Hence I need to know the temperature.
just remove d atf cooling hose from radiator to external cooler. done... dun need so complicated

some ppl do in this way (either one)

atf -> radiator -> external cooler -> back to AT

atf -> external cooler -> radiator -> back to AT

atf -> external cooler -> back to AT

which one is better is depends on individual
vr2turbo
post Dec 28 2011, 03:31 PM

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 08:35 AM)

No harm as an external cooler is always better.
Try checking if Penzzoil Multi Vehicle ATF is compatible with your current atf. A few of my Honda friends have switched over because the Honda atf prices have sky rocketed. Penzzoil Multi Vehicle ATF is FS atf, and is quite cheap.

Added on December 28, 2011, 3:34 pm
QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 12:29 PM)

Looks like sign of overheating, but do you need steel braided hose? Your normal hoses are rubber ones, right?
Even my engine oil cooler hoses are the rubber type, and they are running hotter then the atf..... brows.gif

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Dec 28 2011, 03:34 PM
Vervain
post Dec 28 2011, 06:14 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Thanks guys. Just got my ATF cooler. It's not cooling the ATF as I thought. It's to cool the return radiator water to auto gearbox as brother Kenny mentioned. They told me to install.

Want to try

But not sure if the auto transmission got pump to drive the radiator. Brother Kenny. Can help to confirm?

rcracer
post Dec 28 2011, 06:27 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 11:14 AM)
Thanks guys. Just got my ATF cooler. It's not cooling the ATF as I thought. It's to cool the return radiator water to auto gearbox as brother Kenny mentioned. They told me to install.

Want to try

But not sure if the auto transmission got pump to drive the radiator. Brother Kenny. Can help to confirm?
in our hot country better to bypass radiator completely, in cold country it serves double purpose to also warm the ATF.
Besides to me it's stupid to still use the radiator one because lets say traffic jam and the water is 80-90 degrees but the AT is only 60 degrees, it'll start heating the oil instead or the external cooler is cooling the radiator.

Plus the longer the lines the higher chance of leakage and i don't like the fact there is chance if there is a leak in the radiator one, water can get into the GB and ruin it.

Did you try to find out the cause of overheating or not first?

This post has been edited by rcracer: Dec 28 2011, 06:29 PM
Vervain
post Dec 28 2011, 07:18 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

I whack my car too hard. Huhu.

If run external standalone cooler, I think need to make sure the placement is correct else it will suck in hot air. The radiator is tad small. Seller recommends me to install fan.
vr2turbo
post Dec 28 2011, 08:22 PM

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 07:18 PM)

If run external standalone cooler, I think need to make sure the placement is correct else it will suck in hot air. The radiator is tad small.  Seller recommends me to install fan.
Was about to say you have spirited drive...... biggrin.gif

Many cars actually don't have an atf cooler, so I think fitting one will be good.
The only thing is the place to install it. If can face the front, I don't think you need the fan....
rcracer
post Dec 28 2011, 10:40 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 12:18 PM)

If run external standalone cooler, I think need to make sure the placement is correct else it will suck in hot air. The radiator is tad small.  Seller recommends me to install fan.
just make simple bracket and mount in front of radiator, no need fan, fan at high speed become a restriction as long ambient is cooler than the gb cooling willl take place
Quazacolt
post Dec 28 2011, 10:55 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Dec 28 2011, 08:22 PM)
Was about to say you have spirited drive...... biggrin.gif

Many cars actually don't have an atf cooler, so I think fitting one will be good.
The only thing is the place to install it. If can face the front, I don't think you need the fan....
thats why la, i whack my car hard also, time to time maintain red line 6-7k rpm, also no problem shifting etc.

thats why i recommended lubegard, maybe it works for him, maybe not, however its not something permanent, and the cost isnt exactly a few hundred or so to speak.
Vervain
post Dec 28 2011, 11:19 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

thanks folks, my car ar... *sigh* still along list of upgrades... Next might be oil coolers...

anyone here know how to install OCT on campro?? got two holes on top of the rocker cover. which to connect? the left one I put a small breather.
vr2turbo
post Dec 29 2011, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 28 2011, 10:55 PM)
thats why la, i whack my car hard also, time to time maintain red line 6-7k rpm, also no problem shifting etc.

thats why i recommended lubegard, maybe it works for him, maybe not, however its not something permanent, and the cost isnt exactly a few hundred or so to speak.
Yup, some mentioned using lubegard does help too......

Added on December 29, 2011, 2:27 pm
QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 11:19 PM)
thanks folks, my car ar... *sigh* still along list of upgrades... Next might be oil coolers...

anyone here know how to install OCT on campro?? got two holes on top of the rocker cover. which to connect? the left one I put a small breather.
Why you need oil cooler, you have no turbo?

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Dec 29 2011, 02:27 PM
Quazacolt
post Dec 29 2011, 03:26 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Dec 29 2011, 02:26 PM)
Yup, some mentioned using lubegard does help too......

Added on December 29, 2011, 2:27 pm
Why you need oil cooler, you have no turbo?
hence the recommendation to try, i was also specific that it may or may not help biggrin.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0208sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:55 PM