Auto transmission oil and gearbox oil

vr2turbo
post Dec 27 2011, 05:00 PM

Totally different. ATF is more towards hydraulic oil grade and viscosity.
Manual gear oil normally from 75w or 80w to 90.

vr2turbo
post Dec 27 2011, 05:19 PM

ATF is again different from hydraulic fluid, just mentioned that the viscosity is different from manual gear oil and is lighter and closer like hydraulic fluid..... blush.gif
vr2turbo
post Dec 27 2011, 07:53 PM

QUOTE(xain @ Dec 27 2011, 07:42 PM)
so let me get this straight.

either way, automatic transmission fluid is just another word for auto gearbox oil ?
Yes, you can put it this way as long as mention is auto gear box, as manual and auto gear box uses different oil.
Auto transmission is also call an auto gearbox.

Bro. rcracer is also correct as CVT gear box again uses different oil as in CVT gear oil and also DSG boxes....
vr2turbo
post Dec 27 2011, 08:08 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 27 2011, 07:54 PM)
yeap this too.

so to TS:
if you really want an absolute clear cut answer, better provide your car make/model, and its transmission system, then we can further advise as needed
Yup, correct... nod.gif

Last time, there were cases of CVT gear box when newly launched, they put in ATF then gear box died.... sad.gif
vr2turbo
post Dec 27 2011, 08:12 PM

QUOTE(xain @ Dec 27 2011, 08:08 PM)
got it guys! thanks a lot!

its a myvi 2009 auto
What is the mileage done? atf not changed before?
vr2turbo
post Dec 28 2011, 07:45 AM

QUOTE(huakenny @ Dec 27 2011, 08:25 PM)
dextron III for myvi, mineral and synthetic based.

just use synthetic based...it wont cost so much
Is it? I thought usually synthetic will cost much more.
But if doing oil pan atf change, isn't it better to use back the same brand and type as you are just mixing the atf up, unless you are doing a flush?
vr2turbo
post Dec 28 2011, 03:31 PM

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 08:35 AM)
Guys, My ATF tends to overheat. if I install a ATF cooler, can i install the same oil and pressure sensor, just like those oil coolers? or need to modify the fittings? Hope Sifu here can enlighten me.

Any good durable ATF would recommend? Driving a old waja
No harm as an external cooler is always better.
Try checking if Penzzoil Multi Vehicle ATF is compatible with your current atf. A few of my Honda friends have switched over because the Honda atf prices have sky rocketed. Penzzoil Multi Vehicle ATF is FS atf, and is quite cheap.

Added on December 28, 2011, 3:34 pm
QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 12:29 PM)
Hunch?. Cause during cold start etc it's ok. After spirited drive etc, there's a delay when I shift from N to D. Delay is like close to 2 second before the car engages gear. Some of my friends told me it's the transmission overheat or most likely insufficient ATF fluid. When I let the car cool down the next day it's ok till I drive the car hard.

Yes. I heard need to pull out the transmission cover and fabricate a port. Definitely use steel braided hose since it's high pressure. As I'm well aware the transmission peak working temp is less than 110 degrees. anything above, will result in ATF fluid being burn off. Thus, I was hoping if anyone did attempt to install sensors to tap the temperature. It would be great to know we're not stressing the transmission too much

Yes. Also thinking an option to install fan. But, standard fans are too big to be fitted on the cooler. May need to go with passive cooling since there isn't much space in under the hood. Hence I need to know the temperature.
Looks like sign of overheating, but do you need steel braided hose? Your normal hoses are rubber ones, right?
Even my engine oil cooler hoses are the rubber type, and they are running hotter then the atf..... brows.gif

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Dec 28 2011, 03:34 PM
vr2turbo
post Dec 28 2011, 08:22 PM

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 07:18 PM)
I whack my car too hard. Huhu.

If run external standalone cooler, I think need to make sure the placement is correct else it will suck in hot air. The radiator is tad small.  Seller recommends me to install fan.
Was about to say you have spirited drive...... biggrin.gif

Many cars actually don't have an atf cooler, so I think fitting one will be good.
The only thing is the place to install it. If can face the front, I don't think you need the fan....
vr2turbo
post Dec 29 2011, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 28 2011, 10:55 PM)
thats why la, i whack my car hard also, time to time maintain red line 6-7k rpm, also no problem shifting etc.

thats why i recommended lubegard, maybe it works for him, maybe not, however its not something permanent, and the cost isnt exactly a few hundred or so to speak.
Yup, some mentioned using lubegard does help too......

Added on December 29, 2011, 2:27 pm
QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 28 2011, 11:19 PM)
thanks folks, my car ar... *sigh* still along list of upgrades... Next might be oil coolers...

anyone here know how to install OCT on campro?? got two holes on top of the rocker cover. which to connect? the left one I put a small breather.
Why you need oil cooler, you have no turbo?

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Dec 29 2011, 02:27 PM
vr2turbo
post Dec 29 2011, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 29 2011, 03:26 PM)
hence the recommendation to try, i was also specific that it may or may not help biggrin.gif
Yup, more slippery runs cooler also...... nod.gif
vr2turbo
post Dec 30 2011, 10:07 AM

QUOTE(huakenny @ Dec 30 2011, 09:19 AM)
oil cooler fits NA and Turbo

it doesnt mean u dun need external oil cooler if u r on NA

my2cents
If use in the track, maybe need. Normal use no need loh!
In turbo, the oil gets very very hot, after passing through the turbine bearings......
vr2turbo
post Dec 30 2011, 10:41 AM

QUOTE(huakenny @ Dec 30 2011, 10:25 AM)
yes...it all depends on driving behavior

normal car normal use for sure dun need
Normal use also, atf cooler more useful...... tongue.gif
vr2turbo
post Dec 30 2011, 04:39 PM

got topic before.....

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1115799/all
vr2turbo
post Dec 31 2011, 07:47 AM

QUOTE(huakenny @ Dec 30 2011, 11:14 PM)
this normally for power steering fluid

seldom saw in in ATF, maybe only in honda? im not sure

if really wanna use this kind of cooler, then for sure cannot bypass the radiator cooling way....otherwise sure overheat
Yup, in my mitsu for power steering only. Cooler more like radiator type..... tongue.gif

0.0168sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:56 PM