39 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V14, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 28 2011, 11:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Ruzumaki @ Dec 28 2011, 10:26 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Reliable brand? Asus reliable???

2. Budget : 2k

3. Usage : multimedia, gaming and study.
Probably use for parallel processing programming (CUDA/STEAM) also.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15inch
Is that Asus A53SV-SX792V good enough or any other better brand?? What is the best price I can get for this model?? 

Im kinda newbie in buying laptop, anything need to aware when buying so dat I wont kena cons >_<
Yeah, pretty much the A53Sv, its a good pick nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 28 2011, 11:31 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Ruzumaki @ Dec 28 2011, 10:51 PM)
Yalo =(
But now they usually discount RM100, now RM2.2k+
Just wanna to find is there any model more worth
The Asus A53Sv you should be able to get at around RM2.1k if you bargain nod.gif
Its worth the additioanal money considering that the other sub RM2k 15" laptops come with GT525M only, which is significantly weaker than the GT540M~ hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 28 2011, 11:49 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Ruzumaki @ Dec 28 2011, 11:41 PM)
OO =D Thanks for the feedback.
But what I scare is the temperature of Nvidia gc. I encounter overheat problem with nvidia gc for my last laptop. A bit scare to buy laptop with nvdia gc
It all depends on the design of the laptop itself, since its a 15" laptop, it should theoretically run cooler, so far there's no overheating issues for the A53Sv, and mind you, it has been around for quite some time liao (only different in specs)~
I guess its safe to say that the A53Sv is the perfect pick at the moment~ nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 28 2011, 11:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Dec 28 2011, 11:46 PM)
Hello it's me again. Apparently I decided to increase my budget to get a better laptop.

The factors that I'm still considering are the portability and performance.
Portability wise it should be below 14" and below 2kg.
Performance wise just enough to do normal activities like surfing, movies, words, etc. gaming is not a priority.
The budget will 2.5k and below.

The one i'm considering now is acer aspire s3. Isit a good buy?

Thank you.
Even though it doesn't perform that well compared to all the other ultrabooks, the S3 is still the only ultrabook within the budget range... so if you like it, then why not?
Just try not to expect too much in terms of performance as well as entertainment (speakers) laugh.gif
It was built with only one thing in mind - portability smile.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 28 2011, 11:56 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Ruzumaki @ Dec 28 2011, 11:53 PM)
Thanks for sharing your experience =D
I feel confident to choose A53SV
Oh ya, the speaker sucks haha laugh.gif
Better invest in some external speakers or earphones~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 29 2011, 12:03 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Dec 28 2011, 11:59 PM)
Oh thanks for the feedback. I think it can perform what I need? as for speakers I think it will not be a big problem coz I got a portable speaker as well haha biggrin.gif
And yea it suit my budget well.

What worried me is the build and quality of the laptop. Have you heard of any common problems or issues of it? and as for as I know the battery is not detachable, so will it be a problem in a long run?
Well, reviews all say that Acer has "Cut too many corners" for this particular ultrabook and its not good... its up to you to decide whether you would want it or not nod.gif
Here are the reviews (spec may differ):
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Acer-Aspire-S...ew.64595.0.html
http://www.engadget.com/2011/10/14/acer-as...trabook-review/
http://www.laptopmag.com/review/laptops/acer-aspire-s3.aspx
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 29 2011, 12:33 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(yeohkc @ Dec 29 2011, 12:22 AM)
Well. I guess you get what you paid for? biggrin.gif So I guess there is no other option in my budget rite? Should go and try out the machine itself. Thank you so much
If you want ultrabook, then yes, there's no other options..
If you want subnotebook, then that's a different story brows.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 29 2011, 03:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lcking @ Dec 29 2011, 12:24 PM)
i have a question about Toshiba Satellite L755, how many this laptop Nvidia? 1GB? got 2GB?
QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Dec 29 2011, 03:16 PM)
only 1GB Nvidia GT525M
VRAM is not exactly important when it comes to gauging the GPU performance laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 29 2011, 03:48 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Dec 29 2011, 03:42 PM)
currently lyp still got Asus N53 ?? i want i5 , gt 555 2gb ram that spec...
Yeah, the N53Sn (i7 + Gt550M) is still around nod.gif
N53Sv (i5 + Gt540M) no more already...

Only the N45/55sf hsa the GT555m
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 29 2011, 09:05 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xxillusionxx @ Dec 29 2011, 08:36 PM)
Thanks all smile.gif
Some dude at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2162563 suggest me get HP Pavilion dv6-6c19TX.
Seems quite good. Thanks anyways biggrin.gif
+1!
The HP would be the better pick
HP dv6-6c19TX, i7-2670QM + AMD HD7690M XT@RM3099[Beats]

TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 30 2011, 11:52 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(GaRd3NiA @ Dec 30 2011, 11:50 AM)
Thanks bro for the suggestions, btw, what do you think about dell XPS14z?
i7-2640M + GT 520M 1GB, @Rm3499?

The GT520m is not suitable for "normal gaming" laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 30 2011, 01:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ef7389 @ Dec 30 2011, 01:34 PM)
in terms of speakers and multimedia performance, which is better ya?
sorry ya, i got a lot of confusion and questions here..
hehe smile.gif
Speakers and multimedia (higher screen resolution), Asus N55 is better nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 30 2011, 08:07 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Dec 30 2011, 07:32 PM)
hmmm got any cheaper model cause my price range is around 1.8k. sorry that i wrote mistaken thumbup.gif
If gaming is of priority, then:
14"
Asus A43TA-VX047v, AMD A6-3400M + AMD HD6720 G2@RM1899
Hp Pavilion G4-1204AX, A8-3500M + AMD HD6470M@RM1899

15"
Acer Aspire 5560G-8354G50, AMD A8-3500M + AMD HD6740M G2@RM1899[2.6kg], Dirt 3 game voucher

Added on December 30, 2011, 8:10 pm
QUOTE(Shiniz @ Dec 30 2011, 07:38 PM)
Brand any (except acer)
budget rm 2.5k n below
usage: web surfing, light gaming, movies
screen size 15" or below..

i used to own a acer till it died...so yea no acer...hahaha...
14"

Which one to choose depends on your definition of "light gaming" laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 30 2011, 08:10 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 30 2011, 08:16 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Dec 30 2011, 08:14 PM)
i wanna ask is there big differences between intel and AMD processors?
Difference in what?
If you're looking for gaming performance within that budget range, AMD is the way to go since gaming depends more on the GPU rather than the CPU~
But then the processing power is not as good compared to a normal SB Intel i3/ i5...
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 30 2011, 09:26 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(akusukakamu @ Dec 30 2011, 09:23 PM)
do help me please.. which type of asus series is better, the Nseries or Aseries.. thinkng of buying one next week..
N series is better than A series nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 1 2012, 11:30 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kab_eer @ Jan 1 2012, 10:22 PM)
How about the cheapest laptop with I7 processor and cheapest with I3 processor, which model? Can anyone of you help me
#fJok3R
Thanks a lot mate for reply..
Cheapest with i7:
14"
Lenovo V470, i7-2630QM + Intel HD3000@RM2599
Samsung 3 series, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GT520MX@RM2699, colors: Black/Silver

15"
Dell Inspiron 15R, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT525M@RM2699, 24 months McAfee

TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 1 2012, 11:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Jan 1 2012, 11:38 PM)
current RRP = RM2599
Thanks for the heads up bro~ notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 2 2012, 12:46 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kab_eer @ Jan 2 2012, 12:20 AM)
Thank you guys, specially marcus20125 , [PF] T.J. and fJok3r
Appreciate your help.. Btw anywhere in kuala lumpur provide some exchange like exchange old laptop+ some money  to new laptop?
I don't think there's any shops accepting trade-in nowadays sad.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 2 2012, 11:37 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Jan 2 2012, 08:18 AM)
I believe you can google the specs urself... =D
+1
Everything is here: http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-laptops
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 2 2012, 03:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Jan 2 2012, 01:25 PM)
hi all, want to buy a laptop for my brother.

1. Preferred Brand NO
2. Budget rm2000 max not even a single penny more
3. Usage study. the only game he plays is fifa. thats not the point anyway, most important is battery life without sacrificing peformance. a well balance laptop (something like timeline series from acer with a dedicated graphic card, a normal voltage cpu and 6 hours battery life will be awesome. i know its over 2k, so im asking if theres a similar recommended one below 2k)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size 14 and below. dun think theres any good 15 one below 2k.
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Jan 2 2012, 03:02 PM)
so any recommendation for sub 2k laptop?
None that fits your requirements at least sad.gif
Closest:
Acer Aspire 4752G-2432G50, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1899, 3 years local limited warranty
Asus A43Sj, i3-2330M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1999[2.44kg], Colors:Red/Blue/Pink/Green/Gold/Black
MSI CX480X, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1999, W7HP, 3 years warranty
Lenovo G470, i5-2430M + AMD HD6370M@RM1999, W7HP
Samsung RV420, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1999
Toshiba Satellite L745-1138X, i3-2330M + Nvidia GT525M@RM1999[2.14kg], 2nd & 3rd year warramty; color: Grace silver

*The battery life is around 3-4 hours only though...

If can fork out a little bit more, these would be relatively better (prices in RRP, can bargain):

39 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0512sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:47 PM