HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V5, >9000 owners. Like a boss.

AronC
post May 10 2012, 10:32 PM

302 posts

Regarding the 9mm, it's the height of the HDD. There are 3 types of 2.5" HDD. For those who's changing from HDD to SSD, make sure you identify your HDD model name, and google it to get more information. If you're making your HDD as external, then only you go and buy an enclosure. I believe most of the 2.5" HDD is 7mm or 9mm, so no worries. smile.gif

As for my dv6-6108TX, it's Toshiba MK1059GSM. It's 12.5mm in height, so I have to buy a bigger enclosure. My personal opinion - larger capacity of HDD may be higher in terms of height. Acid can link this to first post so that the others can have this information.

This post has been edited by AronC: May 10 2012, 10:51 PM
mR.hyDE
post May 10 2012, 11:17 PM

186 posts

hi buddy just want to ask question again
1.izzit if i install unbuntu or format to others window i will lost the hp cool sense and the beats audio?
2.is there any what to reserve the files inside the harddisk?
thanks in advance ^^
TSAcid_RuleZz
post May 11 2012, 12:36 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(AronC @ May 10 2012, 10:32 PM)
Regarding the 9mm, it's the height of the HDD. There are 3 types of 2.5" HDD. For those who's changing from HDD to SSD, make sure you identify your HDD model name, and google it to get more information. If you're making your HDD as external, then only you go and buy an enclosure. I believe most of the 2.5" HDD is 7mm or 9mm, so no worries. smile.gif

As for my dv6-6108TX, it's Toshiba MK1059GSM. It's 12.5mm in height, so I have to buy a bigger enclosure. My personal opinion - larger capacity of HDD may be higher in terms of height. Acid can link this to first post so that the others can have this information.
Done. Thanks for the info. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(mR.hyDE @ May 10 2012, 11:17 PM)
hi buddy just want to ask question again
1.izzit if i install unbuntu or format to others window i will lost the hp cool sense and the beats audio?
2.is there any what to reserve the files inside the harddisk?
thanks in advance ^^
1. HP CoolSense come with HP Support Assistant software and for BeatsAudio you just need to reinstall the driver.
2. What u meant by to reserve the file inside the hdd? I don't get it..
davidyeow94
post May 11 2012, 01:06 AM

35 posts

Dell Inspiron 15R (Limited Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M@RM2999, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm)

HP dv6-6c19TX, i7-2670QM + AMD HD7690M XT@RM3099[Beats], 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm)

which is better? Dell's processor i7 is 3rd generation? does Dell graphics better?
TSAcid_RuleZz
post May 11 2012, 01:16 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

It was base on desktop Cape Verde but with much lower clock. I think it will perform better. You need to watch out about the heat though.. better wait for any review at the end of this month.
joonwei23
post May 11 2012, 04:40 AM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ May 10 2012, 09:10 PM)
Leshcat 12.2 WHQL UP5? laugh.gif
Haha bro, which one eh ? biggrin.gif

or

thanks smile.gif
TSAcid_RuleZz
post May 11 2012, 06:05 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

http://drivers.leshcatlabs.org/2012/03/22/...hable-graphics/

make sure u follow the instructions.
joonwei23
post May 11 2012, 07:00 AM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ May 11 2012, 06:05 AM)
done. rclxm9.gif
anyways, just want to ask whether can I disable the AML Device Install thing on the startup ? smile.gif
Vee Doubleyou
post May 11 2012, 10:10 AM

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ May 9 2012, 04:15 AM)
Can u install fraps and check the fps?

Open CCC.. you can see which switching method u currently using in graphic switching section.
Ok, thanks Acid.....do I also have to update my CCC to the latest ver? I don't think I have done anything since I got my dv.

LordReaper
post May 11 2012, 11:29 AM

207 posts

acid , do you recommend cooler master U2 for dv6? brows.gif
eviltoaster
post May 11 2012, 04:04 PM

55 posts

HP Pavilion dv6-7014tx Entertainment Notebook PC (B0P52PA) @ RM3999

Similar HP laptop from the US; dv6tqe series I customize from the official HP website (US) with NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5, 15.6-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080) @ USD1124.99 (which is RM3,459.36)

People in the US really lucky lor. Can get cheaper and better spec. =\
My friend is currently in the US now. Should I ask him to help me get it? brows.gif

This post has been edited by eviltoaster: May 11 2012, 10:16 PM
tellmewhy
post May 11 2012, 07:52 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(eviltoaster @ May 11 2012, 04:04 PM)

Similar HP laptop from the US; dv6tqe series I customize from the official HP website (US) with NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5, 15.6-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080) @ USD1124.99 (which is RM3,459.36)

People in the US really lucky lor. Can cheaper and better spec. =\
My friend is currently in the US now. Should I ask him to help me get it?  brows.gif
what????? sayonara hp, 15z is much better in term of value

Added on May 11, 2012, 7:54 pm
QUOTE(davidyeow94 @ May 11 2012, 01:06 AM)
Dell Inspiron 15R (Limited Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M@RM2999, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm)

HP dv6-6c19TX, i7-2670QM + AMD HD7690M XT@RM3099[Beats], 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm)

which is better? Dell's processor i7 is 3rd generation? does Dell graphics better?
better a bit,
and its MUCH CHEAPER

This post has been edited by tellmewhy: May 11 2012, 07:54 PM
TSAcid_RuleZz
post May 11 2012, 07:57 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ May 11 2012, 07:00 AM)
done.  rclxm9.gif
anyways, just want to ask whether can I disable the AML Device Install thing on the startup ?  smile.gif
Yes.. or you don't need to install it at all. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Vee Doubleyou @ May 11 2012, 10:10 AM)
Ok, thanks Acid.....do I also have to update my CCC to the latest ver?  I don't think I have done anything since I got my dv.
Do you gaming alot?

QUOTE(LordReaper @ May 11 2012, 11:29 AM)
acid , do you recommend cooler master U2 for dv6? brows.gif
I say get U3 for 3 fans and bigger throne for your DV6. tongue.gif

People in the US really lucky lor. Can cheaper and better spec. =\
My friend is currently in the US now. Should I ask him to help me get it?  brows.gif
lmao.. don't buy that and lets spam in HP Facebook page. ph34r.gif
LordReaper
post May 11 2012, 08:05 PM

207 posts

3 year carepack onsite - 425
3 year carepack return - 335

wah, so expensive one ?!
If no extend warranty, can tahan? ==

This post has been edited by LordReaper: May 11 2012, 08:06 PM
TSAcid_RuleZz
post May 11 2012, 08:10 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(LordReaper @ May 11 2012, 08:05 PM)
3 year carepack onsite - 425
3 year carepack return - 335

wah, so expensive one ?!
If no extend warranty, can tahan? ==
Better extend it. PM devour/marcus20125/hikari85. hmm.gif
LordReaper
post May 11 2012, 08:29 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ May 11 2012, 08:10 PM)
Better extend it. PM devour/marcus20125/hikari85. hmm.gif
3320 for +4gb ram(rm20) +2 years warranty(rm199) no free gift
worth it?
Revamperz
post May 11 2012, 10:38 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,163 posts

People in the US really lucky lor. Can get cheaper and better spec. =\
its official then. darn.. even if they slapped it with 640 would be good enuf.. 2nd time im turn off by HP ( spec, not designs ) , o well if its wasn't mean to be , it wasn't mean to be

G55 is getting more attractive now

botac_6
post May 12 2012, 03:26 AM

hi everyone.

i'm a dv6 user. need opinions from others.

i'm gaming alot. what is the proper settings for my laptop, such as driver or cooling pad etc.

right now i'm using standard settings with dynamic switching...
nanamizuki
post May 12 2012, 01:35 PM

~Safe And Sound~
1,152 posts

just got my hp dv6-6c19tx from it avenue biggrin.gif
got it for 3.5k with steelseries mouse and targus backpack and 8gb ram update

1 thing questioning me, y dis laptop comes with intel graphic driver but dun hav amd card driver????y so weird 1 zzz
shud i install the driver? hmm.gif

edit:double check again, reli dun hav catylst control centre installed leh blink.gif
shud i insall the 12.3 ver driver???

This post has been edited by nanamizuki: May 12 2012, 01:39 PM
TSAcid_RuleZz
post May 12 2012, 02:16 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

^ Enter BIOS and try change to Fixed switching.

127 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0363sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:57 PM