SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V22, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

teepee
post Dec 20 2011, 10:57 PM

232 posts

applied pikachu01's tweaks to my CM7. my CM7 has some mounting point difference but managed get it to work (i guess) as i checked the 'How to find out if it works' in http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1296927.

we'll see how well it goes. anyway thanks pikachu01 for the effort! u rox!
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 09:38 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Dec 20 2011, 11:15 PM)
Do you feel its faster? tongue.gif
hmm honestly i cant really feel the difference in speed but i am more concerned with the battery saving & efficiency about ur tweak. need to monitor for few days. as far as for last night until now, i feel the consumption still the same as my default CM7. lets see how it goes for my usage for today haha smile.gif

another ques, since we have to manually mount /system, /data and /sdcard, do we need to unmount them after flashing the zip? like 'reverting' our mounting to our previous in order to prevent anything to go wrong after this?

This post has been edited by teepee: Dec 21 2011, 09:47 AM
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 09:56 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Dec 21 2011, 09:50 AM)
When I received a missed call, I will get a message but it shows the phone number and not the name of the person calling although the person is in my contact list.

Is this the norm? How can I make sure the name appears instead of phone number?

the msg was sent by ur telco, not from ur sgs2 so it will only display the number. its normal smile.gif i dont think there is a way to make the msg display the name (according to what u saved in ur contact list) instead of the number only smile.gif cheers mate
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 10:16 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Dec 21 2011, 10:03 AM)
Nope, you only mount it in CWM. Rebooting will dismount/remount etc. Every Linux machine undergoes an unmount/remount every reboot.
sweettttt! thanks! so by right everytime when we reboot our phone, a msg will be displayed saying 'script manager has been given superuser permission' right? since we need to run ur script on boot smile.gif hope this shows that the tweak flashing is correct.
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 10:25 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Dec 21 2011, 10:20 AM)
mind to share what is the tweak?
check out pikachu01's signature. sgs2 Thunderbolt! tweaks smile.gif
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 10:32 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(senbonzakura123 @ Dec 21 2011, 10:26 AM)
thanks for the info, in script manager,

Open up Script Manager and launch /sdcard/bolt_scripts/remount[device] (e.g. remounti9000) as Root (The skull icon) and as Boot (The wheel icon).

after that, save or RUN it ?
for remount[device] script, u save it only, then perform a reboot if possible (because everytime u reboot, this script will run by itself). for sqlite, u may save then run it from script manager whenever u want to run it.
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 10:53 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Dec 21 2011, 10:34 AM)
Yup. smile.gif That's correct.

Edit: You can check by typing:

CODE

mount

In terminal emulator and checking that all ext4 mounts have barrier=0 and/or commit=60.
in CM7, i have /mnt/emmc for internal sdcard while /sdcard is my external sdcard. therefore my mounting points are different from others.
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 11:20 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(senbonzakura123 @ Dec 21 2011, 11:16 AM)
pika bro, u know why this happen ? -___-ll
This is perfectly normal smile.gif happens to me too. if u see pika's thread in Xda:
Known Issues
If you're using a custom MP3/Wav file as a ringtone, flashing ThunderBolt! might erase that setting causing your ringtone to be silent. Be sure to restore the ringtone again.
Barriers are turned off in /data. Corruption can happen but risks are minimal if you still have journaling.
Libsqlite safety_level is tuned to "1" from "3". There is risk of corruption here. Revert the libsqlite*.so files from the restore pack if you face corruption This is due to no fsync is done before databases are committed into disk hence it'll be faster but at the risk of corruption i.e. Launcher widgets going missing or SMS messages going missing etc.
sqlite_optimize script will produce errors like "malformed database" or "unknown collation sequence". It's normal, it means that these databases are not sqlite compatible, hence erroring out (skipped).
You may sometimes lose access to busybox. Install busybox installer (stericson's) from the market and install 1.19.3 to /xbin.
Bootup (even to the point where you can see the launcher)may be a little slow as zipalign takes some time.
remount script has to be launched using script manager
Remount script is only for i9000 Samsung, i9000 CM7/MIUI and i9001 + a few others(check /sdcard/bolt_scripts)
CWM zip is only for devices that has /system and /data as its mount points. Remember to mount these in CWM.
The LMK/OOM is on the aggressive side. Some apps that you've hidden behind other visible processes SHOULD be killed to make way for bigger apps. This is to ensure your Angry Birds or Fruit Ninja doesn't LAG LIKE HELL after some time.
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 11:24 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Dec 21 2011, 11:21 AM)
S2 is the phone to own now. Why wait & miss out all the good time with the phone.
Cheers the decision is yours. You don't know what u missing.
AGREE!

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 21 2011, 11:23 AM)
Just buy lar RM1.2K...mana cari?? I bought one recently...smile.gif
LAGI AGREE!
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 11:40 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(senbonzakura123 @ Dec 21 2011, 11:25 AM)
oh i get it then -___- , tq bro
haha ur welcome! chillax bro. always remember to find out about known issues with anything that u flash, to prevent heart attacks smile.gif
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 11:44 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(MikeX @ Dec 21 2011, 11:39 AM)
The screen 4.3" itself is much better than iphone 4 oredi... when i use my wife iphone, i kept on pressing the right side of the home button tongue.gif used to S2 liao...
lol i did the same when i went to digi to test out iphone 4s!

QUOTE(shanelai @ Dec 21 2011, 11:40 AM)
Can we have a poll in this thread on the various ROMs u guys using currently? This can provide us the info on what ROM are more attractive for local ppl.
this is a good idea smile.gif

QUOTE(iori57 @ Dec 21 2011, 11:42 AM)
Lol, jumped to Turkbey rom bandwagon.. so far it's jaw dropping!

Stable, solid, beautiful, using Jkay, good battery.. omg

wipe rom also worth it man!

the ICS theme looks like children's drawing compare to this turkbey.. SO BEAUTIFULLLLL
i flashed the turkbey rom last week too. the interface is really nice! since u were on checkrom, i bet u would prefer turkbey over checkrom.

This post has been edited by teepee: Dec 21 2011, 11:46 AM
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 12:10 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Dec 21 2011, 11:47 AM)
then u went back cm7 again? haha
LOL YES! Help me to get rid of CM7 poison out off me ! arghhh
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 12:14 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Dec 21 2011, 11:48 AM)
It looks very stylish.... Will consider it.... Currently running on v8 lite'ning... thinking of try some other ROM.
Got Lite'ning Rom v8 already??? i could only find v6.1 which is where i hopped from. Cant seem to find it in XDA, mind providing a link to it? thanks!
teepee
post Dec 21 2011, 12:16 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(bananalow @ Dec 21 2011, 12:14 PM)
so, all the games are demo or gameloft only?

Added on December 21, 2011, 12:14 pm

i think is typo mistake ~~ ><"
maybe.. false alarm haha
teepee
post Dec 27 2011, 02:16 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Dec 27 2011, 12:58 PM)
~~duhh~~
Just now i flash XXKL1 firmware and found that it was meant for developer/tester. Now i got a funny in-built dev tools app where i can tweak here and there o_O
Gonna flash DXKL3 after finish poking this blardy tester firmware. Anybody else using this firmware.??
this Dev Tool is also present in my Cyanogenmod 7 rom since long ago. it comes along with the custom rom. no idea why is it in ur rom too haha

Added on December 27, 2011, 2:20 pm
QUOTE(chindian @ Dec 27 2011, 01:06 PM)
Sorry I did not give enough info. I asking about TM Wifi in public places like IOI Mall etc. If I don't get a login page, How am I to login.  cry.gif Thanks.
QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Dec 27 2011, 01:09 PM)
+1
yeah i wonder how to login also?
i thought public wifi like these, u just connect to their wifi then try to open ur browser to surf (example google.com) then u will be redirected to their login page? if u do not have a valid login ID of cause u will not be able to online.

This post has been edited by teepee: Dec 27 2011, 02:20 PM
teepee
post Jan 3 2012, 04:17 PM

232 posts

yo guys, any of u bought yoobao powerbanks for extra boost juice? i wonder if they are lasting. planning to buy one for travel use. opinions?
teepee
post Jan 3 2012, 04:30 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Jan 3 2012, 04:28 PM)

i do, using AVG antivirus only smile.gif
teepee
post Jan 3 2012, 04:35 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Jan 3 2012, 04:32 PM)
hm..why u guys not using eyyy?

phone no need anti virus meh?
is it good?
hmm it scans any newly installed app and i have not encountered any virus or errors. i duno if its good or not. just try install it if it gives u a peace of mind smile.gif

repeat: any of u bought yoobao powerbanks for extra boost juice? i wonder if they are lasting. planning to buy one for travel use. opinions?

This post has been edited by teepee: Jan 3 2012, 04:35 PM
teepee
post Jan 3 2012, 04:45 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(reijikageyama @ Jan 3 2012, 04:41 PM)
i have a 6600mAH one. it lasts almost 3 full charges smile.gif

i always bring it when i go travelling so it's a good backup
definitely! or else you'll just be connecting to Kies.
oh well that sounds good. i plan to buy the 4800mah one only. can charge 2-3 cycles good enough smile.gif
teepee
post Jan 3 2012, 04:48 PM

232 posts

btw since our battery capacity is 1650mah, is it safe to say that 4800mah can charge 2 times full and around another half? 4800/1650 = 2.9 haha

0.0458sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:28 PM