Build Strength and Agility Like a Fighter.., Help needed..

SUSaaaeye
post Dec 20 2011, 03:02 PM, updated 14y ago

183 posts

Hello everybody..

Now, i want to get a lean body and build muscle..besides, want to get body like a fighter and have strength and agility..

My training right now:

Cardio - Jogging 2km, and skipping 50 with 30s rest..

Weight lifting - Normal 11kg dumb bell..

So, may i know proper way to get the body like this:

SUSPepper
post Dec 20 2011, 03:18 PM

427 posts

cardio change to HIIT
weight lift change to the one that requires explosiveness aka power clean, snatch, ect. read the stickies. 11kg can only bring you to a certain point only. join a MMA class or something too. different type of martial art gives different type of body.
Mihawk7
post Dec 20 2011, 08:07 PM

943 posts

I think first you need to explain how is the current condition of your body. before the sifu here can advice you on the next step.
ChinHong86
post Dec 20 2011, 08:17 PM

1,116 posts

u wan the looks of the body
or the functionality of the body?
SUSaaaeye
post Dec 20 2011, 09:07 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(Mihawk7 @ Dec 20 2011, 08:07 PM)
I think first you need to explain how is the current condition of your body. before the sifu here can advice you on the next step.
I got 172cm/92kg/38cm waist.. my total muscle mass around 50kg if i'm not mistaken.. blush.gif

Mostly have fat at the abs, oblisque and chest..sometimes looks like man boobs.. cry.gif

QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ Dec 20 2011, 08:17 PM)
u wan the looks of the body
or the functionality of the body?
I want both.. nod.gif
ChinHong86
post Dec 20 2011, 10:23 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(aaaeye @ Dec 20 2011, 10:07 PM)
I got 172cm/92kg/38cm waist.. my total muscle mass around 50kg if i'm not mistaken..  blush.gif

Mostly have fat at the abs, oblisque and chest..sometimes looks like man boobs..  cry.gif
I want both..  nod.gif
start changing ur diet first...
most importantly
and i guess u made a mistake
if u got 38cm waist, u damn slim...
lol
xxboxx
post Dec 20 2011, 10:36 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(aaaeye @ Dec 20 2011, 09:07 PM)
I got 172cm/92kg/38cm waist.. my total muscle mass around 50kg if i'm not mistaken..  blush.gif

Mostly have fat at the abs, oblisque and chest..sometimes looks like man boobs..  cry.gif
I want both..  nod.gif
you mean 38 inches waist is it?
your 38" is from measurement tape or from your pants? if from pants it is false.
ChinHong86
post Dec 20 2011, 10:39 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 20 2011, 11:36 PM)
your 38" is from measurement tape or from your pants? if from pants it is false.
if pants shud b more or less a?
SUSaaaeye
post Dec 20 2011, 11:41 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ Dec 20 2011, 10:23 PM)
start changing ur diet first...
most importantly
and i guess u made a mistake
if u got 38cm waist, u damn slim...
lol
Oops~ 38" laugh.gif

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 20 2011, 10:36 PM)
It's from my pants..so, if by tape i dunno how much.. sweat.gif
xxboxx
post Dec 21 2011, 12:28 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ Dec 20 2011, 10:39 PM)
if pants shud b more or less a?
nope, different a lot, the clothing industries have been telling white lies to keep consumer happy.
ChinHong86
post Dec 21 2011, 01:11 AM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 21 2011, 01:28 AM)
nope, different a lot, the clothing industries have been telling white lies to keep consumer happy.
so shud be more OR less?
which?
xxboxx
post Dec 21 2011, 01:31 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ Dec 21 2011, 01:11 AM)
so shud be more OR less?
which?
of coz what pants show is less than actual size.
my pants and measurement tape show the size is different by 6"
don't think the cloth can expand until 6" ba.. hmm.gif
statikinetic
post Dec 21 2011, 01:50 AM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(aaaeye @ Dec 20 2011, 03:02 PM)
Hello everybody..

Now, i want to get a lean body and build muscle..besides, want to get body like a fighter and have strength and agility..

My training right now:

Cardio - Jogging 2km, and skipping 50 with 30s rest..

Weight lifting - Normal 11kg dumb bell..

So, may i know proper way to get the body like this:

If you want to replicate a fighter's body, then live the fighter's lifestyle.
Eat like them, train like them.

I personally don't know any local fighters whose training regiment consists purely of jogging 2km and weight lifting 11kg DB.
jamis
post Dec 21 2011, 08:33 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

lol, dude ur best deal would be joining a martial art and since u r posting tony's pic, join muay thai (not those muay fit kind of stuff, go join real muay thai training). U will get lots of "hiit" there.
SUSaaaeye
post Dec 22 2011, 02:09 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ Dec 21 2011, 08:33 AM)
lol, dude ur best deal would be joining a martial art and since u r posting tony's pic, join muay thai (not those muay fit kind of stuff, go join real muay thai training). U will get lots of "hiit" there.
Already joined before..but other martial art..2 years ago.. tongue.gif

Today i just do HIIT..

Jog, run, jog..really tired one eventhough i jog everyday.. sweat.gif

HIIT burn more fat than cardio exercise rite?
SUSPepper
post Dec 22 2011, 02:16 AM

427 posts

hiit is cardio exercise.
farkinid
post Dec 22 2011, 10:23 AM

997 posts

Hi TS, I can't tell you how to train for other martial arts but I box. So I'm just gonna tell you what is recommended for boxers. (Not that I follow everything, because I'm lazy tongue.gif )

Please remember that boxers train specifically for that 3 mins round.
Cardio
Running
  • At amateur level, 3 times a week 10km runs (I only manage 5km 3 times a week)
  • Each run is divided into sections. First section is plain running for about 3km.
  • Next section is 3 mins fast run (not quite a sprint yet) and then 2 mins of shadowboxing while jogging
  • The final section is sprinting to the finish

Misc
  • Squat jumps
  • Burpees
  • Lunges
  • Leg raises
  • Jump punches
  • Jump twists
  • Obstacle course type tyre exercise (i have no idea what its called)
*note that all these misc exercises are done while running. This run is separate from the 10km recommended runs

Martial arts specific
This you'll have to fill in yourself because it depends on the martial art you practice. But it should be about 4-6 hours a week.

Strength
Old school boxing coaches don't agree with weight training. They say it makes you slow. I'm not sure but I still do weights because power is important

I think you'd better ask the weights guru-s here for weight exercises that focus on explosive power and endurance, not strength. Since boxing is core and footwork centric, I mainly do core exercises.
pedro
post Dec 22 2011, 11:05 AM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

Why not train for this??

moe81
post Dec 22 2011, 11:19 AM

265 posts

lol. he wish!
pedro