SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V5, RRP RM2299

ogiveyakuza
post Jan 5 2012, 07:56 PM

huh..????
2,946 posts

QUOTE(wcshin @ Jan 5 2012, 07:55 PM)
updated 2 2.3.6 thru kies...
was rooted b4 update, but now no more rooted.
previously i rooted using cf-root by chainfire.
now use it 2 root can't liao...
uncle benny can help?
read a few post back from uncle benny, there is instruction for it...
Edoras
post Jan 5 2012, 07:57 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 5 2012, 06:15 PM)
It doesn't matter. Try copy it to internal SD this time

Added on January 5, 2012, 6:26 pm
Upgrading Msian firmware to 2.3.6 with root and CWM installed :

If your phone is not rooted, you have to use ODIN on PC to flash the phone. In odin, just select the tar file as PDA - leave the rest as default. And don't worry, flashing an official stock rom will not increase the flash counter

Download the rom file from either sammobile.com or from XDA ( it is the second last item on the list )
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1424997

Once you have flash the phone successfully , use the methods as outline here to root and have CWM installed: Make sure you download the right Chainfire file matching to your phone kernel

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1329360

Download the appropriate Chainfire kernel file from here :

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1331784

Once your phone is rooted and withnCWM installed , you can now proceed to use Mobile odin to flash the 2.3.6 Msian firmware :
Launch mobile odin
Select OPEN FILE - and browse and choose the stock 2.3.6 firmware tar file
You will see a listing of all the files selected : kernel, system, data, modem etc etc
Replace the kernel file with the CWM extracted tar file ( MUST be in tar format ). DO NOT overextract the file to become zimage. The file extracted one level down should read something like this : example  CF-Root-SGN_ZS_MUL_KK1-v5.0-CWM5.tar - note the file extension is tar
Select flash firmware

TS : please post these instructions at first page. I have been repeating these several times already
Benny - Thanks for being very patience to people like myself who will ask another newbie question. tongue.gif

Ques: I have rooted my 2.3.5. If I just use the Mobile Odin, can I just point this to file which I downloaded from - http://www.hotfile.com/dl/139511343/6f2ad1...L2_XME.zip.html ?
Does it mean I will have 2.3.6 and remained rooted?
xyber9
post Jan 5 2012, 08:05 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Jan 5 2012, 07:57 PM)
Benny - Thanks for being very patience to people like myself who will ask another newbie question. tongue.gif

Ques: I have rooted my 2.3.5. If I just use the Mobile Odin, can I just point this to file which I downloaded from - http://www.hotfile.com/dl/139511343/6f2ad1...L2_XME.zip.html ?
Does it mean I will have 2.3.6 and remained rooted?
I have rooted using odin mobile with the same file.

There is a password which is "samfirware.com" when you unzip it.

This post has been edited by xyber9: Jan 5 2012, 08:07 PM
writeprotect
post Jan 5 2012, 08:21 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 5 2012, 06:15 PM)

TS : please post these instructions at first page. I have been repeating these several times already
Benny why dnt u open new thread? U r the sifu. Hehe
nick_vll
post Jan 5 2012, 08:27 PM

512 posts

now still downloading the 2.3.6 KL3 from sammobile. did we need to use the mobile odin pro + cf-root kernel to flash for remain root and cwm or the mobile odin lite + cf-root kernel will do the same trick?
mdnurman
post Jan 5 2012, 08:32 PM

738 posts

i just tried to check the custom binary counter using vol down+home+power then volume up. it shows no. the saw the android logo in the middle with Downloading. Do not turn off target!!.. how do i on the phone again?

(never root any of my hp b4- just gatal to check)...
andrekua
post Jan 5 2012, 08:47 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Samsung advertised free dead space and combat 2/3 but can't find it in Samsung Apps.
edwardlys
post Jan 5 2012, 08:48 PM

151 posts

My SGN got problem after update 2.3.6. My touch screen seems like not responsive and weird when typing msg. Especially screen at bottom right, hard to click when the phone is lay on flat surface (application icon and Messaging icon when using TWlauncher). But when i hold the phone on hand the icon can be click again. So so weird. hmm.gif hmm.gif
Check with SEP one utama, they checked and suggested send to Service Centre for further checking. They also not sure what problem is, they said maybe have to change screen.
Just wondering if need to change, do the Service Centre need 1 month or few weeks to change it? hmm, i juz scare cny no phone to use as well.

Haiz...juz bought only 1 month, got problem already. Seems like no fate wif android... unsure.gif
wcshin
post Jan 5 2012, 08:49 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Jan 5 2012, 07:56 PM)
read a few post back from uncle benny, there is instruction for it...
bro, u mind telling wic #post?
i gone thru bout 10pages couldn't find it...
sorry 2 trouble...
Edoras
post Jan 5 2012, 08:50 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Jan 5 2012, 08:32 PM)
i just tried to check the custom binary counter using vol down+home+power then volume up. it shows no. the saw the android logo in the middle with Downloading. Do not turn off target!!.. how do i on the phone again?

Same thing happen to me this morning.
I just switch off and on again. It reboots back to normal. Phew!

benny888
post Jan 5 2012, 08:50 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Jan 5 2012, 08:32 PM)

no worry. just switch it off press hard down on power button. switch it back on
mdnurman
post Jan 5 2012, 08:51 PM

738 posts

sorted

This post has been edited by mdnurman: Jan 5 2012, 08:51 PM
benny888
post Jan 5 2012, 08:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(wcshin @ Jan 5 2012, 08:49 PM)
bro, u mind telling wic #post?
i gone thru bout 10pages couldn't find it...
sorry 2 trouble...
just few post above you refer #2682 or my original post #2663. It is only a page to 3 pages before you post your problem

This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 5 2012, 09:01 PM
shinzan
post Jan 5 2012, 09:02 PM

Born To Support Liverpool All My Life
1,360 posts

Hope this step below can help people here.

1. If u already upgrade to 2.3.6, then u have to revert back to 2.3.5 using Odin. Kindly refer www.sammobile.com

2. After successfully installed 2.3.5, then u hav to root it using Chainfire method. U can search at Xda forum.

3. After root, u hav to install Mobile Odin Pro.

4. After that, upgrade ur Note with 2.3.6 using Mobile Odin Pro.

5. Then finish.

Uncle Benny, please check & modify as u like... brows.gif

This post has been edited by shinzan: Jan 5 2012, 09:10 PM
benny888
post Jan 5 2012, 09:03 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Just tested Checkrom ; couldn't get market to buy apps. Use his kitchen and delete and fix back market to older market - still cannot buy apps
restore back to Rocket V12
amyhs99

3,807 posts

QUOTE(shinzan @ Jan 5 2012, 09:02 PM)

1. If u already upgrade to 2.3.6, then u have to revert back to 2.3.5 using Odin. Kindly refer www.sammobile.com

2. After successfully installed 2.3.5, then u hav to root it using Chainfire method. U can search at Xda forum.

5. Then finish.

Uncle, please check & modify as u like... brows.gif
I updated to 2.3.6 from samsung kies. So i need to downgrade to 2.3.5 first?
TongCN

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,681 posts

Updated 2.3.6 this morning around 1am. Battery full charged.

After 17 hours, my battery still left 69% biggrin.gif

Data plan on whole time, play a bit game, video for 10 minutes, youtube half hour, sms, phone.

Before updating it always dropped till 30% something when I reach home at night.
nick_vll
post Jan 5 2012, 09:05 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(shinzan @ Jan 5 2012, 09:02 PM)

5. Then finish.

Uncle, please check & modify as u like... brows.gif
using mobile odin lite working? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by nick_vll: Jan 5 2012, 09:09 PM
benny888
post Jan 5 2012, 09:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(amyhs99 @ Jan 5 2012, 09:03 PM)
I updated to 2.3.6 from samsung kies. So i need to downgrade to 2.3.5 first?
Why are you asking a question which the answer is already spell out in Q1 ?
Simply because zergrush exploit together with Chainfire bat file cannot work on firmware KL**

This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 5 2012, 09:15 PM
TongCN
post Jan 5 2012, 09:22 PM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,681 posts

Left 55% =)

168 Pages « < 133 134 135 136 137 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled