117 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

▐ ❤★Google Nexus S Official Thread V3★❤▐, http://www.google.com/phone/detail/nexus

kongkkm
post Dec 17 2011, 10:32 PM

~~Overcomer~~
647 posts

QUOTE(wingwp @ Dec 17 2011, 10:27 PM)
This time I want to try official ICS rom first LOL
From what I read, for official upgrade to ICS, the steps won't be that simple right?

For now, we just download the ROM, boot into recovery, wipe, flash and DONE.

For ICS, the bootloader and radio needed to flash again, flash back to stock 2.3.6, install superuser,bla bla bla...
DunkyKung
post Dec 17 2011, 10:43 PM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

QUOTE(kongkkm @ Dec 17 2011, 10:32 PM)
From what I read, for official upgrade to ICS, the steps won't be that simple right?

For ICS, the bootloader and radio needed to flash again, flash back to stock 2.3.6, install superuser,bla bla bla...
its not that hard actually..just need 2 times flashing..
kongkkm
post Dec 17 2011, 10:45 PM

~~Overcomer~~
647 posts

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Dec 17 2011, 10:43 PM)
its not that hard actually..just need 2 times flashing..
2 times flashing only? How about radio and bootloader?

wingwp
post Dec 17 2011, 10:46 PM

639 posts

ya because official ICS for 9023 is not out yet, can try the 9020 ICS rom but risky, anyway I think the upgrade process should be the same except some of us might need to flash back to 2.3.6 first, so will just wait while envy the 9020 owners..

kongkkm
post Dec 17 2011, 10:49 PM

~~Overcomer~~
647 posts

QUOTE(wingwp @ Dec 17 2011, 10:46 PM)
ya because official ICS for 9023 is not out yet, can try the 9020 ICS rom but risky, anyway I think the upgrade process should be the same except some of us might need to flash back to 2.3.6 first, so will just wait while envy the 9020 owners..
Mine is i9020T also, hehe...Will try to flash to ICS after exam on tuesday.

Anyway, quite a lot of application are not compatible with ICS, so better wait longer until oxygen 3 come out.
XeactorZ
post Dec 17 2011, 10:50 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,611 posts

go try it out guys for official ICS if you can't wait tongue.gif

http://www.talkandroid.com/79353-want-to-m...w/#.TuyrDDX9O70
ogiveyakuza
post Dec 17 2011, 10:54 PM

huh..????
2,946 posts

so, its for i9020T, not for i9020A..arghh..
DunkyKung
post Dec 17 2011, 10:56 PM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

QUOTE(kongkkm @ Dec 17 2011, 10:45 PM)
2 times flashing only? How about radio and bootloader?
step that i take, from bm miui's

1.flashed stock 2.3.6 (before that wipe all partition exclude /sdcard)
2.boot into stock 2.3.6
3.reboot and enter stock recovery
4.choose update from sdcard and select update.zip ( the ICS rom that u download, rename it update.zip)
5.wait......
6.ICS

QUOTE(wingwp @ Dec 17 2011, 10:46 PM)
well..im using i9023 and can update to ICS without a hitch..the only drawback is it corrupt stock recovery, anyway ive found a way to flash cwm and root this rom..
kongkkm
post Dec 17 2011, 10:59 PM

~~Overcomer~~
647 posts

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Dec 17 2011, 10:56 PM)
step that i take, from bm miui's

1.flashed stock 2.3.6 (before that wipe all partition exclude /sdcard)
2.boot into stock 2.3.6
3.reboot and enter stock recovery
4.choose update from sdcard and select update.zip ( the ICS rom that u download, rename it update.zip)
5.wait......
6.ICS

I see. So you now having stock recovery? No superuser access also?
fcuk90
post Dec 17 2011, 10:59 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

corrupt recovery is the normal behaviour

since 2.3.3 recovery will be auto re install

i also got exam on monday , but hand macam gatal@@
waruna
post Dec 17 2011, 11:13 PM

543 posts

Haiyaa.. my screen almost scratched just now sad.gif. tomorrow imma to mines to look for screen protector..
DunkyKung
post Dec 17 2011, 11:16 PM

~im dead sexxay~
826 posts

QUOTE(kongkkm @ Dec 17 2011, 10:59 PM)
I see. So you now having stock recovery? No superuser access also?
nope, stock is corrupt for me, rite now im using CWM and rooted also..just follow this guide to root and install cwm..same with OCR tools, just different su.zip file..
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1396913

Ching
post Dec 17 2011, 11:23 PM

57 posts

just updated my nexus s to ics. quite simple step. superb and marvellous. wait for a free time to explore it. smile.gif
fcuk90
post Dec 18 2011, 12:15 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

TS ,lgs phone ok d mah?
LuffyPSP
post Dec 18 2011, 12:18 AM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

actually, most of the major upgrade requires new bootloader and radio. This is Nexus S's first major upgrade, from 2.3/2.3.6/etc so its normal if you guys dont need to update radio and bootloader since its Gingerbread.

I have experience Eclair to Froyo, Froyo to Gingerbread, and now Gingerbread to ICS, all requires both upgrades, or at least the radio to make some hardware features to work such as in ICS case here, for signal to work, and while i was on Desire, for camera HD video to work, and so on.

if you have the OTA, all of that are done automatically actually(sometimes i think), but now since we are doing it manually, those are needed.
TSlgs
post Dec 18 2011, 12:23 AM

Certified Noob
2,374 posts

QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Dec 17 2011, 11:16 PM)
nope, stock is corrupt for me, rite now im using CWM and rooted also..just follow this guide to root and install cwm..same with OCR tools, just different su.zip file..
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1396913
I have installed the root file provided manually via CWM Recovery then update it via market, The Superuser now is working, but those apps like AdFree is not working, so the root is still just semi useful.

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Dec 18 2011, 12:15 AM)
TS ,lgs phone ok d mah?
Yup, My ICS finally working already, what a nightmare!

For people that have 2k budget.

http://www.soyacincau.com/2011/12/17/galax...efore-cny-2012/
https://www.facebook.com/SamsungUnivez/posts/414527879977

This post has been edited by lgs: Dec 18 2011, 12:47 AM
fcuk90
post Dec 18 2011, 12:24 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

TB work fine with the su .

hand gatal , flash also .lols
radioburuk
post Dec 18 2011, 12:52 AM

73 posts

put me into owner list too bro...

>proud GN<
TSlgs
post Dec 18 2011, 12:57 AM

Certified Noob
2,374 posts

QUOTE(radioburuk @ Dec 18 2011, 12:52 AM)
put me into owner list too bro...

>proud GN<
Done smile.gif
post Dec 18 2011, 01:12 AM

176 posts

updated ICS too ... rclxms.gif

117 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top