4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Official iPhone 4S Discussion Thread v5!

andrewyulm
post Dec 21 2011, 02:35 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(cscool @ Dec 21 2011, 01:32 AM)
restore setup as new iPhone, do not restore from backup then you'll feel the differences..
I tried restore from backup, and i feel as if it helped...but i'm not sure if it really helped or it is just me trying to feel better tongue.gif
So now I want to try restore and setup as a new iPhone, but I was wondering if it would wipe everything from my phone?
apps and music and content and video not that important because can be re-downloaded or re-synced, but what about my contacts?
will all my contacts disappear? how do i preserve my contacts if i want to setup as a new iPhone?
andrewyulm
post Dec 21 2011, 02:55 AM

720 posts

If I use backup then it won't be setup as a new phone right? Yeah i was thinking of iCloud, but wanted to wait for someone else to confirm this...
@cscool, how did you do yours?
andrewyulm
post Dec 21 2011, 02:37 PM

720 posts

Yeah Siri doesn't show you your location in Malaysia, only help you with other stuff, but quite useful sometimes la, if ur driving or jogging or whatever, the texting and calling and setting reminders or meetings or calender updates is quite useful. Depends how u use it la hehehe

Added on December 21, 2011, 2:39 pm
QUOTE(hobbes1001 @ Dec 21 2011, 02:35 PM)
That does not turn 3G off, it just turns your data connectivity off. You will still be connected to 3G (in 3G coverage) for voice calls
There is no way to turn off 3G and force it to use EDGE only in 4s
actually, that DOES turn 3G off. but it turns ALL cellular data off, so you can't even use 2G or EDGE and basically you can't surf the net, can't use whatsapp, can't go to facebook.
but that function (turn cellular data off) turns off ALL cellular data, which means you have turned 3G off. But you're right, 4s got no way to switch from 3G to 2G manually. so it's either ALL data or NO data.

This post has been edited by andrewyulm: Dec 21 2011, 02:39 PM
andrewyulm
post Dec 21 2011, 03:07 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Dec 21 2011, 02:49 PM)
so, no way to just turn off 3G? isit possible in the next update, this bug will be fixed or it depends on hardware?
yeah there is NO way to turn JUST 3G off, and maybe use EDGE or 2G to save battery life.
you're either on 3G and can use data, or not on 3G and no data =\

yeah there's a petition going around, alot of 4S users signed it hahahah to get apple to restore the 3G toggle
hopefully it's software la, should be software issue la, but i'm not a techy guy so i couldnt say for sure tongue.gif
andrewyulm
post Dec 21 2011, 11:42 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(hobbes1001 @ Dec 21 2011, 05:24 PM)
If you are in a non 3G coverage area, it will automatically connect to EDGE / GPRS depending on what is available. You will still be able to use data in a non 3G coverage area

Added on December 21, 2011, 5:34 pm

It can be confusing cause most will relate 3G with internet/data. 3G can make voice & video calls too

So if you turn off Cellular Data in a 3G coverage area, all calls you make will still be using 3G network, you will still be log on to 3G network

So even with Cellular Data off, you are looking at 3G talk time instead of 2G talk time for battery life.

Connected to 3G on it's own without any activity does use more battery which will affect your standby time as well especially in low coverage 3G areas

The only way for you to switch from 3G to 2G is to go to an area with only 2G coverage. Your battery life will improve LoL
If you are a DiGi subscriber, it should not be too hard for you.
ohhhh, so that means when i turn cellular data off, my 3G sign disappears and only got my telco sign there, but i am still technically using 3G for calls is it? but when i do that i can't use the internet or any net-based apps (ie whatsapp facebook imsg etc). but im still on a 3g network for calls lah that means? so draining of battery will still be more than if it is purely on 2G network, like say on the iphone4 where there is a toggle switch to turn off 3G. thanks thanks understand now hahahah
andrewyulm
post Dec 21 2011, 11:51 PM

720 posts

huh? that's my perception, what i thought also, but
@hobbes1001 said "So if you turn off Cellular Data in a 3G coverage area, all calls you make will still be using 3G network, you will still be log on to 3G network"

which one is correct?
andrewyulm
post Dec 22 2011, 01:16 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Dec 22 2011, 12:20 AM)
yalo... agreed...

soon im gona conclude the iphone is only good for showing off style and "gaya", but not in features.... could i conclude that?
ahahah i think this is up to the user one la, if u know how to maximise the function of ur phone, im sure ull feel damn worth it...not just style and gaya tongue.gif

andrewyulm
post Dec 22 2011, 10:17 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(subimpact @ Dec 22 2011, 02:20 AM)
iOS 5.0.1 is out fixed the batt life biggrin.gif 4s guys can rejoice!
QUOTE(DjKenji @ Dec 22 2011, 04:02 AM)
should name it latest IOS5.0.1 firmware

Must be manually update via iTune

It did fix my battery drain, another problem comes toward me

it was receive panic.plist in crash log, sometimes will reboot stay in black screen DFU mode.

Got to press power button and up to used.

anyone facing this prob?
are you guys talking about the 9A406?
andrewyulm
post Dec 22 2011, 11:05 AM

720 posts

[quote=hobbes1001,Dec 22 2011, 10:25 AM]
[quote=rajivshm,Dec 22 2011, 12:13 AM]
that means any phone turn off 3g also will only turn off data, but the line still use 3g? may be true. the signal has 3g but our phone only take 2g.
example my old nokia 5800 xm, once i turned off the 3g, my battery lasted longer. i was only on prepaid. no data plan and rarely online from my phone. only use for calls n sms but battery drains quickly. then read on LYN that i shud switch off 3g, and miracle the battery lasted wat longer. at least 40% longer.

so, if we follow what this guys says, even off 3g, no difference, how could my phone consume less energy@battery?
1. For iPhone 4, you have two toggle, one for Cellular Data, One for 3G
2. For iPhone 4S, you only have one toggle which is Cellular Data

Since iPhone 4S no longer has the capability to turn off 3G. Turning off cellular data will not have the same effect as iPhone 4.
There is a reason why apple list two type of talk time in their website. One for 3G & one for 2G. That's because you can use 3G network to make calls. It is suppose to be clearer.

The easiest way to test this is by doing the following:

1. Turn off cellular data (but leave 3G on for iPhone 4)
2. Go to Carrier
3. Switch Network Selection to Manual
4. It will give you a list of network available

If you do the above in a uMobile 3G coverage area, you will see uMobile in the list.
If you do the above with a iPhone 4 with 3G OFF / cellular data OFF, you will not see uMobile in the list.

This shows that by turning cellular data OFF does not turn off the 3G in your iPhone 4S

[/quote]
aahhh i see i see, ok ok thanks for clarifying thumbup.gif
andrewyulm
post Dec 22 2011, 01:37 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(rajivshm @ Dec 22 2011, 01:32 PM)
yes indeed the best. only feel burn hole in pocket when need to spend in us$ for apps when i earn in ringgit....  cry.gif
hahaha at least u earn in ringgit ma, for those of us (like me) who haven't started earning yet sad.gif lagi gg
FaMo scholarship doesn't cover iPhone apps tongue.gif
andrewyulm
post Dec 22 2011, 02:38 PM

720 posts

Supposed not to be able to, but if you scroll to this dudes post
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=47534754

howwww he do?!?!! or is that ps'd one? hahahahaha damn curious, i haven't gotten around to asking him

andrewyulm
post Dec 22 2011, 03:01 PM

720 posts

Siri is not supposed to be able to search for location outside of the US.
you try asking on siri "where's my location" and see what response u get.
andrewyulm
post Dec 22 2011, 03:08 PM

720 posts

this is his topic http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2154881
he hasn't replied yet, damn lucky bugger, he's probably the only one who has that function now hahaha tongue.gif
andrewyulm
post Dec 22 2011, 03:25 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(lohchlcm @ Dec 22 2011, 03:22 PM)
I think it's still OK that SIRI can't work on location outside US.  Don't forget there is a MAPS app in your iPhone.  Either you use SIRI or your "finger", it is still non-voice aided like GPS e.g. Papago.  I can live with that until SIRI 2.0, 3.0, 4.0

Right now, SIRI can help me to call, text, setting alarm, setting reminder, timer, filter email etc.
haha yeah it's actually quite helpful to me now, i do all those that you do too, except filter email la hahaha
but what i am actually lookin forward to is the day i can ask siri "where's the nearest petrol station" or "where is the closest macdonalds". that is damn useful if ur a traveller hahahah
andrewyulm
post Dec 22 2011, 03:58 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Dec 22 2011, 03:45 PM)
Getting 64gb..will it be lagg when I used up 64gb?
friends of mine who using the 32 gb say that when they are nearing the max storage space it starts to lagg for htem, but i dunno anyone who has used up 64gb yet hahaha
andrewyulm
post Dec 22 2011, 05:54 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Dec 22 2011, 05:04 PM)
Good thing I have my iPad to accomodate those games...the 9A406 looks good. Battery life quite stable than before.
sigh you guys are lucky la, the 9A406 works for u.
i've updated to 9A406, set up as new phone, tried restore as backup before also, network reset all that jazz,
and im STILL at 34% battery with
4 hours 37 minutes usage
8 hours 12 minutes standby

barely half a day =\
andrewyulm
post Dec 22 2011, 06:05 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Dec 22 2011, 05:59 PM)
Maybe you should tweak some settings.

This was my 9A405 battery life. I'm yet to test 9A406.

yeah i tried tweaking quite a bit actually, off'd all location services except find my iphone, off'd all system services under location services
off stock widget and weather widget, notifications only for calls whatsapp facebook messages mails
only facebook and whatsapp has push notification
wifi off, only 3G forever on
bluetooth off
email is fetch hourly
icloud is also on fetch, i'll see how it ends up when i reach 1 or 2% battery life later tonight hahaha

is there anything else to tweak?

Added on December 22, 2011, 6:07 pm
QUOTE(gouken @ Dec 22 2011, 06:02 PM)
9A406 is only to resolve SIM card problems, not battery.
Don't border updating because its a huge download (800+MB) and the pain of backuping your phone and stuff.
Just wait for 5.1

The best way to resolve the battery issue now is still to do a fresh clean state install without restoring, like a new phone.

And on the issue of Backup/Restore, just avoid using iCloud Backup now, it will be a nightmare waiting for 1 minute for each photo to be restored. Backup via iTunes.
haha yeah i know, but from all the support forums, the 9A406 is giving SOME good results (not all but some) for the battery as well, some of them 1 day+ standby with 9 hrs usage battery still 42% hahahaha damn good
so i thought just try.
i did that, fresh clean state install and i backup via itunes, only contacts via icloud
im just unlucky i guess haha unsure.gif

This post has been edited by andrewyulm: Dec 22 2011, 06:07 PM
andrewyulm
post Dec 22 2011, 06:22 PM

720 posts

Hey does anyone know if there is a way or place on the iphone 4s to go to see all push notifications? like for example facebook push notifications, u don't go to notification centre, but u go to settings > facebook > push notifications and then u can modify urself there
what about the other apps, does anyone know how to access it?
andrewyulm
post Dec 23 2011, 02:10 AM

720 posts

Bahhhhh I can't wait for apple to release a proper update to fix the battery issue, if they even are working on one sad.gif
9A406 doesn't work properly for me vmad.gif

andrewyulm
post Dec 23 2011, 02:20 AM

720 posts

this is counted good ah? oh shit...i beh tahan already like this, i keep thinking my battery life sucks... shouldn't you expect like at least 9 hours of usage with more than a day of standby?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0412sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:33 AM