4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

The Official iPhone 4S Discussion Thread v5!

andrewyulm
post Dec 25 2011, 06:33 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Dec 25 2011, 03:04 AM)
anyone got idea can make facetime with 3g? i try to make facetime but system ios say need to use wifi to run facetime ....
facetime has always only been possible with wifi. never with 3G...unless you....do....something...to your...phone...if you understand what i mean heehehehhe
whistling.gif
andrewyulm
post Dec 26 2011, 04:00 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Dec 26 2011, 02:45 PM)
Guys.. How come my 4s dun have imessage?

Any clue r guys ?
hahah i can help you on that
1. make sure all your contacts have country code in front of them, so all your malaysian land line numbers should be +60X XXXX XXXX and your handphone numbers would be +601X XXX XXXX
2. turn on your imsg in settings > message > imessage ON
3. ta daa should be done already =D
andrewyulm
post Dec 26 2011, 08:23 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(serenity11 @ Dec 26 2011, 06:47 PM)
not Apple ID. u imsg to their email address.
yeah their email is their apple ID, so lets say on your contact list, you just add email instead of phone number gao liao.

QUOTE(rathian_mhfu @ Dec 26 2011, 07:20 PM)
Yes i also from there just now sad.gif

Added on December 26, 2011, 7:21 pmguys how to know the set is refurbished set?coz it just look like new(my friend)
if im not mistaken, u check your settings > general > about >serial number.
IFFF lah i remember correctly, a new set ends with DTDV or something like that, DV last 2 i think....
a refurbished set ends with CC, IF IM NOT MISTAKEN

if im wrong, please correct me other sifus tongue.gif
andrewyulm
post Dec 27 2011, 11:28 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Dec 27 2011, 04:35 AM)
so only two of us got 64GB? my video already 14GB and music 3GB, in all, 21GB already used. but now worried about RAM, dunno where to check
haha im using 64gb too, but i'm already more than halfway used up =\
cause my phone is my lifeline, all my music and apps and pictures and videos all inside
some more i have a lot of apps for my work, so it's almost 75% filled up haha
andrewyulm
post Dec 28 2011, 02:02 PM

720 posts

not really la, its really luck
i'm using 64gb from digi too, and it's white, supposedly white more yellow too but i dont have any tint, just luck la
andrewyulm
post Dec 29 2011, 02:24 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(se2nd @ Dec 29 2011, 02:02 PM)
Not found searching in the ibook libary. Where do you download it.
can what, just search "iphone 4s starter guide"
that's what i did, already got it
thanks @gouken for the recommendation hope its a useful read for new users like me haha biggrin.gif
andrewyulm
post Dec 29 2011, 05:57 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(elaineliew88 @ Dec 29 2011, 05:32 PM)
i am having overheat problem on my iphone4s...when i charging my phone, it became very hot...freaking hot....is it only me or everyone experience this? =(
overheating is normal for an iphone 4s cause of the dual core processor i guess
mine heats quite badly when im playing certain games for prolonged periods, when im charging it doesnt overheat though
i had a friend whose 4s overheated til got smoke smell come out, but still fine his phone, just keep in mind if this continues for a long while, bring it to a mac store or epicentre and ask for technical help ok?
andrewyulm
post Dec 29 2011, 11:03 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(theberry @ Dec 29 2011, 10:39 PM)
12pm till now from 70%
only 3g on. phone rang 3 times.

[attachmentid=2612394]

this battery status can i charge via usb now?
is it safe for the battery?
yeah someone added on one of the threads, no diff one for apple Li-ion battery, am i right in usin that term?
Li-on? or Li-ion? hahahaha cause i'm not familiar with these hardware terms,
but anyway, can charge whenever, don't need to wait til 20% or 50% for better life as some people are saying.
can charge any time you want, but once in a while do a full drain, all the way til ur phone dies, then charge back up to 100%
and also do something called trickle charge once in a while, meaning once its reached 100% u leave it charging for another few hours
apparently these steps can maximise the life of your battery.

someone who is more knowledgeable in this field pls correct me if im wrong, or agree if im right thanks hahaha thumbup.gif
andrewyulm
post Dec 29 2011, 11:21 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(theberry @ Dec 29 2011, 11:11 PM)
can i discharge whenever i want via usb or wall charging?
discharge via usb? do u mean recharge via usb?
andrewyulm
post Dec 29 2011, 11:29 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(theberry @ Dec 29 2011, 11:25 PM)
yes charging via usb and discharge it whenever i want? is it possible?
err i dunno about discharging via usb, cause i dunno what that means or how to do it hahaha
but charging via usb or wall plug whenever u want should be ok
andrewyulm
post Dec 29 2011, 11:38 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(theberry @ Dec 29 2011, 11:32 PM)
i mean the battery havent reach 100% and i plug out. is it possible?
ohhh yeah understand now haha can

actually come to think about it, no one said about this, whether it would spoil the batt or not, but no one said it would or wouldn't spoil the batt, so i think should be fine

This post has been edited by andrewyulm: Dec 29 2011, 11:40 PM
andrewyulm
post Dec 30 2011, 01:27 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Dec 30 2011, 01:07 AM)
It does help thanks, but using USB to charge will it be count as one charge cycle ?
i also read somewhere that you shouldn't worry so much about charge cycles cause with apples battery, it is smart enough to detect itself haha smartphone ma

so lets say you charge 100% then use until 50% then charge back to 100% that's counted as half cycle
then next day you use from 100% to 80% then charge back to 100% thats 1/5 cycle
and third day you use again from 100% to 70% this time, and charge back to 100% so thats 30% of 1 cycle

so all in all this 3 days will equal up to 1 cycle charge
50% + 20% + 30%

again i haven't confirmed this on apple website or what, but the person who mentioned this linked a battery site about Li-ion batteries, gouken is this information right?

btw gouken wanna ask, im using a bumper only, but the bumper itself is quite tight and a bit hard to take off and put on one, will this affect the battery heat?
andrewyulm
post Dec 30 2011, 01:41 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(ivan5805 @ Dec 30 2011, 01:30 AM)
just wan to ask will i be charge for using hotspot on my iphone in malaysia? by the way i'm on celcom i98 plan . thanks for reply
if I'm not mistaken this depends on your data, if you exceed your data allocated per month then you'll be charged
andrewyulm
post Dec 30 2011, 01:45 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(gouken @ Dec 30 2011, 01:43 AM)
Yes because the heat is trap, similarly when you play a CPU intensive game like Infinity Blade or Real Racing, not jst during charging. The thing with heat is it will not kill the battery instantly but slowly but surely.
oh but my question is that i'm not using a casing wor, just a bumper, around the side of the iphone4s only, will it still affect the battery and keep the heat in? the front and the back not covered haha shouldnt that be able to offset the heat trapping problem?
andrewyulm
post Dec 30 2011, 01:51 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(gouken @ Dec 30 2011, 01:45 AM)
Sorry weirdly in my mind I tot you said Rebel Capsule, bumper should be fine because heat easily escape and not trap. Charge in cool and ventilated place also helps a lot
haha alright alright thanks so much man, puts my mind at rest abit, yeah i charge in cold room under fan hahhahaha tongue.gif
andrewyulm
post Dec 30 2011, 02:35 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(yupio @ Dec 30 2011, 12:10 PM)
Anyone here upgraded to ip4S from ip4??

To these people, do u regret upgrading? If given a choice, would u revert back to ip4?

I read @mmmbop's comment :

Excuse me then as I AM an iP4S owner. And prior to that owned 3GS and iP4. Like I said, improvement on the speed is there but barely visible in comparison to 4. I meant if 2-3 secs faster in opening a web, is that really matter? Siri likewise is still not much of use. It doesn't help to know that it has little knowledge on Malaysian business or shops around. And pardon my Manglish as I don't have the right accent for it as well. Dual core looks nice for gaming but the heat accumulation is way faster than 4. Even for casual web browsing or any that involves data will gives you that heat "treatment". As for the camera? Those that have use iP4, do you think it sucks? Never compare it to N8 obviously, but again not much of improvement either than 4. The XXtra MP simply enlarge the picture. But most notably, the battery on iP4s really drain wayy faster than 4 unless Apple can come up with a ipsw fix

Thanks....

Anymore opinions appreciated......coz rite now I have ip4 32Gb as well as ip4S 32Gb....I definitely need to sell one but now am confused whether to sell the 4 or the 4S ....

Very much agree with bro mmmbop comments.....speed wise, i don't even feel it is improved in 4s....and the heat is too much till i worries me....then the battery is zzzzzzzz wouldn't last a day of usage.....lastly....can't JB......these are the main Cons for 4S...which makes me shift towards selling the 4S and keeping the 4.....

I seek more opinions b4 i firm up my decision... wink.gif
hmm, it seems to me like ur already more or less decided to sell the 4s.
okay here's my 2cents yah, if salah kata pls dont bite my head off tongue.gif

1. i agree, 4s and 4 not much difference to msian users, i played with 4 and my 4s i couldnt really even feel the speed difference.
2. 4s has way more cons than the 4, heat, battery, some os problems etc.
3. according to some websites, apparently early 2012 they are updating siri so that it includes way more countries... i'm trying to find the source, but i dont remember where i read it lah, can anyone confirm this for me pls?
4. if you're waiting for a 4s jb, i think we're gonna see it quite soon u know, pod2g-ios.blogspot.com check that site out, he's gotten it done, but needs to stabilize some things before proper release and testing and all that jazz la

if it were up to me, the question that plays in my mind is, why would i sell of a newer device compared to an older device, im sure u know handphones are depreciative objects, but that's just my mindset, if u think the 4 would serve u better and the 4s currently cant serve u as well as the 4, then sell the 4s
i personally would sell the 4 and adapt to the 4s (buy car charger for example)

but that's just my 2cents ya blush.gif
andrewyulm
post Dec 31 2011, 04:04 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(yupio @ Dec 30 2011, 06:12 PM)
@andrekua,

I already owned both ip4 and ip4s lar bro.....now thinking whether to let go which....thanks for responding though...

@andrewyulm & @gouken

Thanks very much for your guys' opinions which is very clearly spelled out in point form  thumbup.gif

And those points are all very valid and reasonable ones about the 4S ... I guess, u both really helped me in making a decision and that is to bear with the shortcomings of the 4S for now and to let go of the 4.

The story was that I've been using my ip4 for several months till it went faulty on me. Then sent to Maxis for warranty....after a week of waiting without any news, I checked with them and was told it is going to take another couple of weeks b4 they can get back to me. I need an internet phone hence went on and bought the ip4S...but one day after I bought my 4S, Maxis called and guess what they say? "Sir, your iphone4 we replace a new unit for you and its ready for u to come collect."  doh.gif
eh you didn't tell this story earlier weih, ur ip4 is replaced, sure brand new unit, u have even more options now hahahahah
if u sell of ur ip4 now, its seems more worth it to me because it's new hence higher selling price.

but again, i still think this is user based decision, if u can bear with the 4s problems la, find adaptation methods lol
andrewyulm
post Dec 31 2011, 01:49 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(commanderz @ Dec 31 2011, 12:44 PM)
is that a game? or application =.=....
lol game, quite fun
but i think there are proper threads for those where you can find and ask which game or application is best there
andrewyulm
post Dec 31 2011, 09:19 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(Blackberries @ Dec 31 2011, 04:16 PM)
I can't make phone calls on SIRI. PLEASE HELP ME! ): im sad!
QUOTE(D-Frog @ Dec 31 2011, 07:11 PM)
Me too sad.gif
yeah just add country code to all ur numbers if from malaysia +6 from singapore +65 UK +44 etc etc.
andrewyulm
post Dec 31 2011, 10:14 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(theberry @ Dec 31 2011, 09:32 PM)
mine 16gb  laugh.gif

i dont use much space.  tongue.gif
haha i cannot man, im also using the 64, iv already used up 33.4 gb hahaha

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top