Consoles & Handhelds will be replaced by tablet ?, Come in and discuss !

TSLeonix7791
post Dec 8 2011, 10:30 PM, updated 14y ago

235 posts

Well as we can see today ipad2 / various tablets can play games such as batman aa,la noire,dirt 2 etc etc through Onlive service.At the same time,the game being offered by them are much more cheaper compare to PSP/DS/3DS/PSV.Do you ever think that tablet gaming will if ever replaces Console/handheld (PSV,3DS etc etc) in the future ?

Not to mention phone/tablets get tremendous upgrades every year/month,so what is your opinion ? This is a question i have been thinking as a gamer.
gundamalpha
post Dec 8 2011, 10:34 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(Leonix7791 @ Dec 8 2011, 10:30 PM)
Well as we can see today ipad2 / various tablets can play games such as batman aa,la noire,dirt 2 etc etc through Onlive service.At the same time,the game being offered by them are much more cheaper compare to PSP/DS/3DS/PSV.Do you ever think that tablet gaming will if ever replaces Console/handheld (PSV,3DS etc etc) in the future ?

Not to mention phone/tablets get tremendous upgrades every year/month,so what is your opinion ? This is a question i have been thinking as a gamer.
Ask yourself, would you start collecting limited edition downloads?
lilko
post Dec 8 2011, 11:08 PM

95 posts

Right... I still prefer a minimum 20 inches to a 52 inches wide TV when playing with a controller.. Or a console that does not need me to have an extra game pad when I was on the go.. Moreover, the phone screen is so tiny where I cant even bring up close to my face, then how am I suppose to see the details?

And dun get me started with virtual gamepad.. I effing hate them! Because the sensibility can get dull when I was in a very ganjeong moment.. I always felt so cheated playing all those touch screen games.. Well, if they do have this physical add ons... I still wun have them. They are not as solid..

Anyway, Playing AAA games using ipad is just stupid to me.. seriously.. Unless apple came out with a screen+console combi system just like the imac.. If so... That will definitely throw M$ and Sony off the hill....Cuz I am going to support them, least, Sony comes out with Bravia+PS system as well.. And I'd imagine Samsung will collaborate with M$ if it comes to that.. In which case, Given that they are affordable of course.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by lilko: Dec 8 2011, 11:27 PM
satriakid
post Dec 8 2011, 11:28 PM

426 posts

Hard to replace. See how consoles never replaced PCs when they were here. Consoles has their own pros. One of which is no need to worry of hardware requirement.

Ipads/Androids has OS requirement, processor requirement. Try playing angry birds on a low-end sub rm400 smartphone. Lag till death. They may seem to replace but as a full blown dedicated gaming system, I doubt so.

Just my 2 cents.
TSLeonix7791
post Dec 9 2011, 09:54 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Dec 8 2011, 10:34 PM)
Ask yourself, would you start collecting limited edition downloads?
No way shakehead.gif

Every1 does have a point here but i'm curious what would the other side says ?
The_Rock
post Dec 9 2011, 10:35 AM

451 posts

mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif birds.....
PhoenixByte
post Dec 9 2011, 11:09 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

each will have their own share of the pie...wii U and the vita is aiming to integrate the use of AR + tablet + traditional gaming..I like the idea..but we'll see how it turns out in practice next year.

If executed properly...it can be a great year for us gamers.

sjneow
post Dec 12 2011, 11:23 AM

82 posts

Onlive on iPAD

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UTvOtKxadJQ

but not in Malaysia yet
Sigint
post Dec 12 2011, 12:23 PM

136 posts

Tablets and gaming will no doubt have a market and will continue to grow but full fledged console with huge screenies is defiantly here to stay for now.
koolzuru
post Dec 12 2011, 08:39 PM

113 posts

Tablet need more buttons. Very uncomfortable using the touch screen control. Anyways, really hope onlive can reach here. The concept is good and with good internet connection it will be perfect. Imagine gaming with high end PC graphic anywhere anytime. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSLeonix7791
post Dec 12 2011, 10:05 PM

235 posts

Yes Onlive sounds like a pretty good deal.But when i think about the internet connection i also no mood liao sad.gif

Heard Kotaku says need at least 25mbps to play smoothly...
zororo
post Dec 13 2011, 10:58 AM

366 posts

it really suck to play FPS or rpg on the touchscreen man...its just a little too hard 2 control....casual games like angry birds, chinese chess or puzzles that 1 is fine....

and I think it would be a cold day in hell when those puny little touchscreens replaces proper consoles with big ass tvs and monitors

This post has been edited by zororo: Dec 13 2011, 11:00 AM
krazee_k
post Dec 14 2011, 08:26 AM

255 posts

Tablets/touch gaming is just a different market totally so I dont see any worries of it replacing consoles (home or portable). Ask ourselves, if u played console games long enough, nothing beats physical buttons/keys/sticks right?

My opinion la wink.gif
zororo
post Dec 14 2011, 11:06 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(krazee_k @ Dec 14 2011, 08:26 AM)
Tablets/touch gaming is just a different market totally so I dont see any worries of it replacing consoles (home or portable). Ask ourselves, if u played console games long enough, nothing beats physical buttons/keys/sticks right?

My opinion la wink.gif
true...and those tablets games aint gripping enough....play a few times n ur bored....
krazee_k
post Dec 14 2011, 11:25 AM

255 posts

Actually talked to some retailers about this issue, worrying about the future of gaming. But not to worry la, "console @ core" gamers hv been around for ages, containing a mix of casual and the more dedicated gamers. "tablet" gaming are on the rise but (much) more on the casual type of games. It's a new "instantly sellable" genre but the core gamers will diverse but not switch (for good at least). Nothing beats playing on the pc or tv, and most DS/psp/GB gamers look less funnier without using the gyroscope on most tablets in public, hehe
geekster129
post Dec 14 2011, 04:06 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

I still love the tactile sensation of my PS3 controller. Hate fingering my iPad on most of the games....
ramz
post Dec 24 2011, 10:52 AM

21,375 posts

not all games can be played effectively on the tablet. not all games can be played on touchscreen only. just like not all games can be played on kinect

lim360
post Dec 24 2011, 05:40 PM

59 posts

With all this onlive availabe,I think that Sony and Microsoft gonna come out with the avatar like graphics which the onlive server hardly handle to keep their competition in the game industry in future
blah2blah
post Dec 24 2011, 06:16 PM

748 posts

console ftw. it will never be replace by tablet. just like how console will never keep up with pc in performance wise.
chew3344
post Dec 29 2011, 06:38 PM

282 posts

Imagine playing MW3, Bf3 on tablet blink.gif Ur eyes gonna spoil very fast tongue.gif

0.0212sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:19 AM