123 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Lawyer's Corner v2, One-stop centre for any legal queries

post Mar 30 2012, 01:45 AM

31 posts

Hi Dariofoo,

I am reading the draft S&P. I came across quite a number of occurrences in the S&P that mentions something like "the number of days in excess of the aforesaid fourteen (14) days shall not be taken into account in calculating the Completion Period or the Extended Completion Period, as the case may be, and the Completion Period or the Extended Completion Period, as the case may be, shall be extended accordingly without interest" which raise a question what can be taken into account in calculating the Completion Period under standard S&P? It sounds like the Completion Period is of no use here.

Also, is it a standard practice that the Completion Period calculated from Unconditional Date?

Thank you.
rugratz
post Mar 30 2012, 03:47 AM

I purchased a second hand property (Leasehold Condo Unit). The SNP was signed in Oct 2011. Till date, the lawyer has just advised me that my bank has already released the redemption sum and that they are pending the release of the Deed from the Vendors bank.

My question is, do i have to wait until they obtain the deed from the Vendors bank before I am entitled to obtain the keys to the unit or can i actually request for the keys now as my bank has already released the redemption sum?

Also, does it usually take this long to complete the whole process for a Leasehold property?

Thank you

TSdariofoo
post Mar 30 2012, 10:30 AM

In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
2,795 posts

QUOTE(101011001 @ Mar 30 2012, 01:45 AM)
Hi Dariofoo,

I am reading the draft S&P. I came across quite a number of occurrences in the S&P that mentions something like "the number of days in excess of the aforesaid fourteen (14) days shall not be taken into account in calculating the Completion Period or the Extended Completion Period, as the case may be, and the Completion Period or the Extended Completion Period, as the case may be, shall be extended accordingly without interest" which raise a question what can be taken into account in calculating the Completion Period under standard S&P? It sounds like the Completion Period is of no use here.

It only refers to things which the vendor has to do. If there is a delay of more than 14 days by the vendor, it does not count to extend the completion date. It means that delay by vendor would not punish the purchaser, as the purchaser relies on the completion date to avoid paying penalty to the vendor.

If that clause is not in, then delay by the vendor will eat up time for the purchaser to complete the transaction. Then every vendor, with an eye to collect late penalty interest, will simply drag matters which are up to them to do, like obtaining the redemption statement.

This clause is quite standard in practice.

QUOTE(101011001 @ Mar 30 2012, 01:45 AM)
Also, is it a standard practice that the Completion Period calculated from Unconditional Date?
You first have to tell me what is the definition of Unconditional Date in your SPA. Different lawyers use different terms.
TSdariofoo
post Mar 30 2012, 10:33 AM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(rugratz @ Mar 30 2012, 03:47 AM)
My question is, do i have to wait until they obtain the deed from the Vendors bank before I am entitled to obtain the keys to the unit or can i actually request for the keys now as my bank has already released the redemption sum?
You can't request the keys unless the balance purchase price has been paid in full. That is the usual way. If the vendor wants to give it to you earlier then it is up to his discretion.

QUOTE(rugratz @ Mar 30 2012, 03:47 AM)
Also, does it usually take this long to complete the whole process for a Leasehold property?

Consent involved, I assume? Sometimes longer.
post Mar 30 2012, 12:32 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 30 2012, 10:30 AM)
It only refers to things which the vendor has to do. If there is a delay of more than 14 days by the vendor, it does not count to extend the completion date. It means that delay by vendor would not punish the purchaser, as the purchaser relies on the completion date to avoid paying penalty to the vendor.

If that clause is not in, then delay by the vendor will eat up time for the purchaser to complete the transaction. Then every vendor, with an eye to collect late penalty interest, will simply drag matters which are up to them to do, like obtaining the redemption statement.

This clause is quite standard in practice.
You first have to tell me what is the definition of Unconditional Date in your SPA. Different lawyers use different terms.
Hi Dariofoo,

Thanks for your helpful reply. Here's the definition of the Unconditional Date,

This Agreement shall become unconditional on the date the Purchaser's Solicitors are in receipt of a copy of Developer's Confirmation OR upon the Purchaser's Solicitors' receipt of the relevant receipts evidencing that the Vendor has settled all outstanding charges with the Developer, whichever shall be later (hereinafter referred to as “the Unconditional Date”) and provided always the Purchaser's Solicitors are in receipt of this Agreement duly executed by both parties

Here's the Developer's Confirmation,

a) The sale and purchase of the said Property is subject to the Purchaser at its costs and expense having obtained the written confirmation of the Developer (hereinafter referred to as “the Developer's Confirmation”) of the following:-

i) the full particulars of the said Property;
ii) the postal address of the said Property;
iii) the Vendor is the current beneficial owner of the said Property;
iv) the Vendor's Financier is the current assignee of the said Property (if applicable);
v) the Purchase Price of the said Property has been fully paid by the Vendor to the Developer;
vi) the said Property is not a Bumi Lot or allocated for Bumiputra;
vii) the total outstanding charges due to the Developer under the Principal Sale Agreement as at the date of the confirmation and such other matter as may be prescribed by the Developer from time to time; and
viii) whether there is a master chargee on the Master Title upon which the said Property is erected.

b) In the event that the Developer requires the Vendor to comply with certain terms and conditions as stipulated in the Developer’s Confirmation including but not limited to any outstanding charges or purchase price due to the Developer under the Principal Sale Agreement, the Vendor hereby undertakes to comply and to settle the same within fourteen (14) days from the date of the Purchaser's Solicitors' receipt of the Developer's Confirmation.

c) In the event that the foregoing condition(s) precedent is/are not/cannot be fulfilled and complied with by the Vendor within two (2) months from the date of this Agreement (or such other time frame as parties may mutually agree in writing), then this Agreement may be rescinded by and at the instance of the Purchaser and the Deposit and any other monies paid by the Purchaser hereunder towards the Purchase Price and in respect of the transaction (including without limitation solicitors' fees on a solicitor-client basis and all disbursements incurred) shall be refunded free of interest to the Purchaser within fourteen (14) days from the date of receipt of the notice in writing of the rescission of this Agreement (hereinafter referred to as the "Notification Date"), failing which the Vendor shall further pay interest at the rate of eight per centum (8%) per annum calculated on a daily basis from the due date the Deposit is supposed to be refunded to the Purchaser until the date of actual payment to the Purchaser and upon the receipt of the refund and interest (if any) from the Vendor, this Agreement shall terminate and be of no further effect and neither party hereto shall have any claim against the other.

My question is when will the Purchaser's Solicitor request for the Developer's Confirmation? Does it mean as long as the Developer's confirmation not obtained, the Completion Date will not count down?

Also, there's one part of the S&P that mentions about documents deposit and delay in my part will result in penalty. Since I will be going down to sign the S&P, I will hand in all the documents by hand. Can I get a acknowledgement from the Solicitor? Just want to make sure that delay is not from my end. smile.gif

Thank you.

This post has been edited by 101011001: Mar 30 2012, 12:48 PM
TSdariofoo
post Mar 30 2012, 01:40 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(101011001 @ Mar 30 2012, 12:32 PM)
My question is when will the Purchaser's Solicitor request for the Developer's Confirmation? Does it mean as long as the Developer's confirmation not obtained, the Completion Date will not count down?

Also, there's one part of the S&P that mentions about documents deposit and delay in my part will result in penalty. Since I will be going down to sign the S&P, I will hand in all the documents by hand. Can I get a acknowledgement from the Solicitor? Just want to make sure that delay is not from my end.  smile.gif

Thank you.
Yes, time will not run until the developer's confirmation is obtained.

I did not see a clause which fixes the time for the purchaser to write for the letter of confirmation. Some SPAs fix 5-7 days from date of execution of SPA in order for them to do so. This will prevent the purchaser from delaying to write in to the developer, perhaps to buy time to wait until their loan is approved. May happen.

And note the clause where it says that upon termination, you have to bear the purchaser's legal fees as well. That is not commonly inserted.

You can always prepare your own acknowledgement copy and get the lawyer to sign/stamp on it. That would be very prudent. All documents should be served by hand or courier service with acknowledgement.

icon_rolleyes.gif
elynny
post Mar 30 2012, 04:02 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 26 2012, 05:49 PM)
Hard to say. How efficient is your lawyer, the lawyer for the other side, and the land office staff?  hmm.gif
Thanks! cause i have been waiting since last Sept 2011...the lawyer answer is..in progess...LOL... smile.gif
lovepark4444
post Mar 30 2012, 04:51 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(elynny @ Mar 30 2012, 05:02 PM)
Thanks! cause i have been waiting since last Sept 2011...the lawyer answer is..in progess...LOL... smile.gif
My lawyer did my case told me this.................I have scan and email our cover letter, cheque to redemp the property, redemption statement, Deed of Receipt & Reassignment and courier slip skynet to you email as evidence..............she send it on 10th February 2012 and receive the previous bank legal document on the 16th March 2012 with proof of courier slip & cover letter................I was sweat.gif ...............Hebat............Bank very slow leh? 1 month ++++...........I and my lawyer chase after officer but either was pass around the phone or no pick...........Next time I just go to the bank shout at them if it take more than 2 weeks. mad.gif
william1112
post Mar 30 2012, 04:57 PM

34 posts

Hi Dariofoo,

I'm refinancing my property. My loan lawyer had actually charged me entry & withdrawal of private caveat. Which i clarified later on, it was requested by the bank. My property is condo & strata title was issued out. Is it a standard pratice for banker to lodge private caveat? Pls advise. Thanks
post Mar 31 2012, 01:12 PM

4,230 posts

Just to share. I finally charged for RM700++ for R&R.

Deed of R&R - RM400
Service tax - RM24
Stamp duty - RM40
Others (printing charges, photostating, postage/courier, transport/travelling) - RM250 rclxub.gif doh.gif

In another note, I've called up my condo management to enquire about the strata title. According to them, developer has submitted the request since year 2009 but still pending at land office. Is that really take so long to get the title and is there anything the owners can do to speed thing up?

zoesk.sk
post Mar 31 2012, 04:48 PM

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 29 2012, 10:15 AM)
If you really want to follow the black letter of the law you need to:

1. Give 1 month's notice for the tenant to surrender VP to you;
2. Serve it at the registered address.
3. After that, appoint a lawyer to file a suit in Court for VP with damages (unpaid rent);
4. You can get your order fast - the lawyer has to file a certificate of urgency. Most likely the tenant will not show up so you obtain a judgment in default
5. Serve the order at the registered address.
6. Most likely tenant would still not have any response, so you need to instruct your lawyer to file a writ of possession [WOP] at the High Court.
7. With this writ, you can effect re-entry into the premises. The Court bailiff will attend together with you and a locksmith. Once you've gone in pursuant to the order for WOP, you have the right to dispose of his items. He has no right to sue you for trespass to goods.

Any other way, and you can be sued. Very very few landlords use the above method as it is time consuming and incur more costs. So they take the risk of breaking the locks themselves and throwing away the items. Remember that just because the tenant owes you rent does not mean that you have the right to break-in and throw away his things. If he sues you for trespass, he has a good case. Of course you can put in a counter-claim for unpaid rental and other costs, but it doesn't meant that you won't be liable to him for his claim against you. So it depends on whether you think that this tenant would come back to haunt you or if they have actually tutup kedai and disappeared already.

icon_rolleyes.gif
This post has been edited by zoesk.sk: Apr 4 2012, 04:48 PM
BTG1982
post Mar 31 2012, 11:02 PM

Hi All,

I bought a house with my gf 2 years ago. Now we would like to transfer house ownership to my gf's mother. Bank advise us to do new S&P and new loan agreement (Our current loan still within lock in period and will be fined). My queries as following:

1.) Could we only do the MOT (treated as love and affection transaction) instead of new S&P?

2.) If new S&P is a must, could we have 50% discount on stamp duty because of transfers of immovable property between speficied family members?

Appreciate if you all can advise. Thanks.

This post has been edited by BTG1982: Apr 1 2012, 02:07 AM
post Apr 1 2012, 01:19 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 30 2012, 01:40 PM)
Yes, time will not run until the developer's confirmation is obtained.

I did not see a clause which fixes the time for the purchaser to write for the letter of confirmation. Some SPAs fix 5-7 days from date of execution of SPA in order for them to do so. This will prevent the purchaser from delaying to write in to the developer, perhaps to buy time to wait until their loan is approved. May happen.

And note the clause where it says that upon termination, you have to bear the purchaser's legal fees as well. That is not commonly inserted.

You can always prepare your own acknowledgement copy and get the lawyer to sign/stamp on it. That would be very prudent. All documents should be served by hand or courier service with acknowledgement.

icon_rolleyes.gif
Thank you for your helpful reply. The S&P has been amended and I have signed it. That's the problem with layman like us not knowing what's common and uncommon. If you didn't mention that it is uncommon for vendor to bear purchaser's legal fees upon termination, I never thought of it.

I have a question about MOT. Is it common for vendor to bear the MOT if strata title issued before completion date?

Thank you.

This post has been edited by 101011001: Apr 1 2012, 01:20 AM
boldsouljah
post Apr 2 2012, 01:29 PM

50 posts

Hi would like to ask, if its possible for me to get a lawyer to process my house purchase, S&P stamp duty, fees and so on which will be around 5k and to pay them only after ive withdrawn my EPF money?

Planning to buy a house, paying 3% deposit cash to book the unit, then getting a loan, and will get the letter from bank to go and withdraw $ from my account 2 to pay the remaining of the deposit. can i only pay the lawyer once ive withdrawn my EPF money?
TSdariofoo
post Apr 2 2012, 01:32 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(elynny @ Mar 30 2012, 04:02 PM)
At least you can ask for copies of correspondence to see if they got follow up. icon_rolleyes.gif

TSdariofoo
post Apr 2 2012, 01:33 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(william1112 @ Mar 30 2012, 04:57 PM)
Hi Dariofoo,

I'm refinancing my property. My loan lawyer had actually charged me entry & withdrawal of private caveat. Which i clarified later on, it was requested by the bank. My property is condo & strata title was issued out. Is it a standard pratice for banker to lodge private caveat? Pls advise. Thanks
Depends on the bank. Some banks require it while some you can ask for waiver. If the lawyer indeed did it then ask for filing receipts as evidence. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Apr 2 2012, 01:38 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Mar 31 2012, 01:12 PM)
In another note, I've called up my condo management to enquire about the strata title. According to them, developer has submitted the request since year 2009 but still pending at land office. Is that really take so long to get the title and is there anything the owners can do to speed thing up?
Anyone can submit an application but was there a proper follow up and were all the requirements by the land office met by the developer?

Any correspondence between the owners and developer ought to be done by the JMB. So, ask your JMB to write in. There is nothing in the law as it stands which requires the developer to apply for strata title within xxxx time after VP has been handed to the owners.
TSdariofoo
post Apr 2 2012, 01:41 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(zoesk.sk @ Mar 31 2012, 04:48 PM)
Is the writ of possession only being carry out in High court not magistrate court or civil court ?

If under Order 54 of Subordinate Court Rules, 1980,

Defendan must be filed in  14 days ( but not serve to plaintiff within 14 days)after the service of claim,

is time an issue?

if only serve to the other party in 32 days after summon being serve, or 21 after 1 st hearing,  7 days after 2nd hearing,

can plaintiff request for default of judgment (amount & course of action)? is it justify? what is the form no and how's the procedure?
Sorry but I don't follow you.

Order 54, Sub Court Rules talk about small claims, not writ of possession. What is your question and background of case, actually? Can you be more specific please? Cheers. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdariofoo
post Apr 2 2012, 02:06 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(BTG1982 @ Mar 31 2012, 11:02 PM)
Hi All,

I bought a house with my gf 2 years ago. Now we would like to transfer house ownership to my gf's mother. Bank advise us to do new S&P and new loan agreement (Our current loan still within lock in period and will be fined). My queries as following:

1.) Could we only do the MOT (treated as love and affection transaction) instead of new S&P?

2.) If new S&P is a must, could we have 50% discount on stamp duty because of transfers of immovable property between speficied family members?

Appreciate if you all can advise. Thanks.
1) Yes.
2) From parent to child, there is a 50% rebate. From child to parent, I'm not sure. Can't remember, to be exact. doh.gif Perhaps you can call LHDN hotline just to confirm. If so, then your gf's half share to her mother would be entitled to 50% rebate.
TSdariofoo
post Apr 2 2012, 02:15 PM

2,795 posts

QUOTE(101011001 @ Apr 1 2012, 01:19 AM)
I have a question about MOT. Is it common for vendor to bear the MOT if strata title issued before completion date?

Thank you.
If the developer refuses to do a direct transfer to the purchaser, then yes, the vendor has to pay for MOT upon strata title.

But normally what happens is that parties proceed based on master title and let the purchaser deal with it later with his bank. To pull the plug on documents prepared by the purchaser's financier's solicitors and start again would take time. So would the process of back-to-back transfers. So it depends on the flexibility of the parties involved.

123 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0298sec    1.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:01 PM