12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V20, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

antt00
post Nov 30 2011, 11:56 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Nov 30 2011, 11:51 PM)
I wonder why nobody asks Gokhan to make a Siyah kernel for the G-versions. He even makes them for those other region S2's.
Kernel is the link between our CPU and hardware drivers to the software. Other region's S2 like Japan's NTT and i9100 uses the same CPU so it easy to make it for all just additional drivers and stuff for the NTT. G version uses a different CPU, which is a major difference in terms of kernel. Its like 2 different device.
antt00
post Nov 30 2011, 11:59 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(ChrisWeiYuan @ Nov 30 2011, 11:51 PM)
do i need to re-root my device after i updated it?
Non wipe flashing should not remove root. But with that said rooting is way too easy on SGS2 so its not really an issue is it.

Added on December 1, 2011, 12:00 am
QUOTE(snigapoe @ Nov 30 2011, 11:44 PM)
seems that siyah came out new kernel again 2.3 gonna flash it tmr
Flash it already a few hours ago. Nice. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by antt00: Dec 1 2011, 12:00 AM
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 07:46 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Dec 1 2011, 12:05 AM)
seems siyah+ kernel thread is gone
Well yeah. That guy totally took siyah kernel and just renamed it. At first Gokhan was ok with it till he found out its the same as his kernel. There were no tweaks and mod unlike ragemod which was tweaked based on speedmod.

And some people even reported its better even though its the same. doh.gif

Added on December 1, 2011, 7:48 amIts too soon to tell but somehow, siyah 2.3 seem very batt friendly.

This post has been edited by antt00: Dec 1 2011, 07:48 AM
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 08:00 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

Here is an app to change screen colour, sharpness, etc...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1366280

Added on December 1, 2011, 8:14 am
QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Dec 1 2011, 01:34 AM)
so weird.. i got around 30% battery.. i dl tubemate then dl mv.. i left the phone thr around 1hr.. now turned off.. cant turn on - -
dono izzit finish battery or what.. charge like no respond

edit: i go take off battery n put in back.. charge got logo out d - - then turn on while charging.. 37% battery..
how come will shut down = = worrying me
Well keep monitoring if it happens again. Not alot to go on to determine if there is any problem at the moment.

This post has been edited by antt00: Dec 1 2011, 08:14 AM
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 08:57 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Dec 1 2011, 08:33 AM)
custom
Custom for non-G, latest KK2 and KK5 both 2.3.6
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 09:19 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Dec 1 2011, 09:09 AM)
from the feature seems to be very batt friendly
but initial startup of the phone before my data manager + juice defender
the phone abit sluggish and stuck at horizontal view when entering setting

only once everything loaded then smoothness again

when on siyah 2.2 never had this problem at all
Don't have that problem here but I don't use his default kernel setting. I use conservative (tweaked) 200 - 1200mhz with -50mV. Also tweaked my hotplug dual core settings.
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 09:34 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Dec 1 2011, 09:32 AM)
Villainrom 3.0 using latest firmware?
No. He have not updated in a while cos for him it serve no purpose. Its just newer numbers. If it ain't broken why fix it...
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 09:43 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Dec 1 2011, 09:39 AM)
then i think is time for me to do some tweaking already
which app did you use for the tweaking?
No app. I use init scripts.

Added on December 1, 2011, 9:43 amAnother new kernel for G version. Now you got a choice.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1369977

This post has been edited by antt00: Dec 1 2011, 09:43 AM
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 09:46 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Dec 1 2011, 09:43 AM)
for root g must flash custom firmware?
is there any more simple way without flash anything?
There is the zerg rush method but I am not sure how it goes. Never use it before and I am not sure if it is compatible with 2.3.6.

But you do not need to flash custom firmware to root. You just need to flash custom kernel and keep your current firmware. Now there is 2 root kernel for G version on XDA.
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 10:09 AM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(scofield @ Dec 1 2011, 10:01 AM)
back to siyah's 2.2 final after testing 2.2i and 2.2p.. couldn't get good battery life on both version..
There is a 2.3 version if you want to try.

Added on December 1, 2011, 10:10 am
QUOTE(ken8boy @ Dec 1 2011, 10:04 AM)
after i'm using lite'ning rom for 3 months, yesterday i found that my phone keep screen on for whole night. my battery show from 95% drop to 20 % when i wake up. The Display show the phone screen on time is 8 hrs! Anyone experience this?
Its cause by some app keeping your device awake. Install betterbatterystats from XDA to identify the culprit. Usually its facebook app chat or latitude.

This post has been edited by antt00: Dec 1 2011, 10:10 AM
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 01:54 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Dec 1 2011, 01:49 PM)
supposed to be "original" also can happen like that?
Original does not mean 100% perfect. Probably a defective battery that got pass the manufacturing line QC.

Edit: You should go get warranty claim. Battery have warranty for 6 months but the condition of your battery definitely looks like manufacturing defect. I bet they will replace for you if you make enough noise and if there are no external physical damage on the battery. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by antt00: Dec 1 2011, 01:58 PM
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 02:12 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Dec 1 2011, 02:04 PM)
Which type of SiyahKernel v2.3 are you guys flashing? There are three different types.
There is only one 2.3 kernel that is meant for normal i9100 which is EU version. NTT = Japan and AT&T is for AT&T version of SGS2.
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 02:46 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Dec 1 2011, 02:40 PM)
video recording how to focus ah? i try tapping the screen but it won't focus before or after i start recording..

stock camera app...
There is no manual focus for video recording. Only auto focus.
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 03:54 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Dec 1 2011, 03:13 PM)
i mean the small rectangle during focus that will turn into green color wan.. because in video mode it macam didn't focus at all

Added on December 1, 2011, 3:13 pm
the latest one is rm48 bond 2 years you get sgs2 for rm1199
Yeah i just tested it out does not seem to focus nor have small square. I remember some forumer said it will auto focus cos I seldom use video.

Edit: I just did another test and the video mode does auto focus. Just dun have the box.

This post has been edited by antt00: Dec 1 2011, 04:02 PM
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 07:49 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Dec 1 2011, 07:15 PM)
Wonder why HTC is able to do it..
HTC got give 1 to 1 exchange meh? Last time my HD2 rosak they just change the mainboard. Never gave 1 to 1 also. Maybe they change their policy oledi.
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 08:21 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Dec 1 2011, 08:19 PM)
Got wo. Within 7 days. My fren's sensation got problem she send for exchange. At first they say wan repair but she insisted a bit then they exchange edi.
Oh you mean within 7 days. I thought you meant throughout the 2 years warranty. blush.gif

This post has been edited by antt00: Dec 1 2011, 08:22 PM
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 10:36 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Dec 1 2011, 10:29 PM)
In your Settings>Date and Time, untick the Automatic and set your time manually.
That's not what he want...
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 10:59 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Dec 1 2011, 10:54 PM)
what is tat function for?
That function will sync your phone time to your telco time.

Added on December 1, 2011, 11:01 pm
QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Dec 1 2011, 10:07 PM)
Does anyone know how to change the time of the service providers clock? or make the SMS'es follow the phone time instead of the Hotlink provided time? Now when I receive SMS'es it appears before my message because my time is faster than the one provided by Hotlink. It is so screwed up.

I know I can make the time auto update, but that time is slower than the Astro time.
I don't think there is a way to do this as the sms are sent through your telco. Unless you can convince your telco to change their time to follow astro. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by antt00: Dec 1 2011, 11:01 PM
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 11:02 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(ndragon @ Dec 1 2011, 10:57 PM)
guys.. once installed go launcher.. can remain it in phone n disable it and activate anytime i like?..
Yeah sure. If you want you can just freeze it with titanium or just set another launcher as default.
antt00
post Dec 1 2011, 11:50 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Dec 1 2011, 11:39 PM)
Yeah, that is the problem I have, because all my sent messages appear after the received, because of my phone time.

I guess I will just have to stick with their shitty time. I do not see why the phone cannot tag the SMS'es according to when it is received, not use whatever time the telco decides to attach to the message.

I had the same problem with my N97, but that one ignored the time and arranged the messages according to sequence. Can any other SMS program do this?
There are mods on xda to make the sms show either sent time or the receive time. Dunno if this will help your problem.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1113854

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0398sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:38 PM