4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Table Tennis/Ping Pong V2

cede1975
post Apr 24 2019, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(empire @ Apr 24 2019, 01:25 PM)
I will also invite everyone here to witness the match. then we see if you are as good as the way you talk.
If you challenge an 80 yearold liu guo liang and win, should he shut up too?

This is not some pasar malam argument lah.

We all have our experience to share. Some people are always harder to convince until they see for themselves. Which is perfectly fine.
No need to become defensive and throwing out meaningless 'challenge'.

cede1975
post Apr 24 2019, 02:55 PM

QUOTE(empire @ Apr 24 2019, 02:37 PM)
ah ok then. anybody can talk whatever they want? Sure sure. I can also say anything I want. YOu got a problem with that??
Of course you can.

But responsible adults should know what to say and how to behave.

cede1975
post Apr 25 2019, 12:55 PM

QUOTE(ccm1234 @ Apr 25 2019, 02:29 AM)
I know that this has been asked many times before, but some of the posts are a few years old, so I am going to ask again.

I am looking for TT clubs near Cheras and Klang that allow walk-in since I don’t have a playmate.

Thank you!
TableTennis Trading
012-354 0751
1-1, 1st Floor, Jalan 3/93, Taman Miharja, Cheras,
https://goo.gl/maps/nMNeGP6WqT7xj5MM7
behind VIVA mall. Call them to check.

Walk in is hit and miss, gd luck.
cede1975
post Apr 25 2019, 01:14 PM

QUOTE(cede1975 @ Apr 25 2019, 12:55 PM)
TableTennis Trading
012-354 0751
1-1, 1st Floor, Jalan 3/93, Taman Miharja, Cheras,
https://goo.gl/maps/nMNeGP6WqT7xj5MM7
behind VIVA mall. Call them to check.

Walk in is hit and miss, gd luck.
Since you mentioned Cheras, might as well try kajang.

I am currently trainning at

Altec TT club.
33-3 jalan sek 3/9 taman kajang utama
kajang selangor 43000
Highlights info row image

almost all are using BH long pimple except me. A lot of long pimple experts there. Great place to learn how to kill long pimple.
From my 1st training until 8 sessions(2months) later i can kill from zero win to 3-0 on a few regulars there.
If most of you see long pimple opponent as a barrier, you can try Altec and overcome it. You will love playing against LP.

Just an analogy, initially it feels like they are using sword and you are using penknife, but when you got it, u are using gun they are still with sword.
Most players that are not trained with solid foundations uses LP as a quick fix. and sometimes more of a confusion to themselves than to opponent who read the spins perfectly. LP is always defensive and reactive and close table. the best key is KISS> keep it SIMPLE SPIN. either pure top/under spin. Dont ever do crazy sidespins to LP side. always try to chop long table to BH LP corner. and high chance you can attack the return slow topspin. it will take some practise before you can confidently attack slow dead/topspin ball especially with high tension rubber and OFF blade.

cede1975
post Apr 26 2019, 09:27 AM

QUOTE(ccm1234 @ Apr 26 2019, 05:48 AM)
Forgot to say, the Kajang place seems to be great location for treating the fear of LP. When you have no choice, you gotto fight. Haha
Another reason is the regulars there participate in local open novice/beginner prized tournaments.
Im joining for the 1st time team event(beginner/novice) this saturday at Kajang Prison MPH , total over 50+ teams. Huge event.

I found the top common reason most switched to LP backhand is for receiving serve 'advantage'. Another quick fix reason that does not address the main problem.
I see it as an easy way out because inverted rubber needs more skill set to return serve, but it also has greater advantage to gain attack advantage from returning serve using the flick.

Another reason why i see recent kids TT club is leaping over these LP players, They are drilled into flicking skill early and returning serve is so effortlessly.Of course modern rubber/blade helps a lot.

cede1975
post Apr 29 2019, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(tsd @ Apr 27 2019, 03:48 PM)
you can do sidespin with handshake bats, you will have to hold the bat with just 2 fingers. Thumb and second finger, that way you can be almost as flexible as the penholder. Actually its not that they cant return or cant read those spin, it is just that they are trying to do something that fails to work, so people think they cant return the serve. Alot of pro players dont really care what kind of serve, they just watch the flight of the ball to determine what kind of spin.
There are all sorts of sidespin style, famous tomahawk style by Ding Ning do not need what thumb n fingers u mentioned. Ding Ning sidespin can transition to top+sidespin with angle adjustment or pure sidespin.

TSD i believe when you mention your 'PRO'...they are really just amateur or novice.

Most people used PRO too lightly, I just participate in a local open beginner/novice tournament, the player quality is really very high.

Those who trained professionally will look 1st at the server bat angle and ball contact position (this is why ITTF ban illegal serve with body blocking view).
and the 1st land point(near or further from net) and from there they already can judge the power,type of spin and the 2nd landing point (very important to get into position).

To see the path of flight is already TOO LATE.

There's a hint here to learn to better return serve, watch your server bat angle and ball contact, mirror it when u received. this will be your 'safe' return.
The so call 'PRO' throwing high, swinging left n right like doing magic show is just to confuse you not to let you see the bat angle n ball contact. But once you know where to look it will help a lot to judge serve.

cede1975
post Apr 29 2019, 01:13 PM

QUOTE(ccf1162 @ Apr 26 2019, 06:07 PM)
Good luck, so you are using LP to chop or attack? And how to defeat LP because it's hard to predict the position when they chop over my table.
After my 1st local beginner/novice tournament im sticking to inverted both side. Not going to try LP.

it is not hard to predict. but need more practise.

1st scenario, when u see opponent at center close table position, any ball you return far angle to their BH LP they will only be able to return back to your FH half. The faster your ball and longer to their BH, the harder they can return sharp to your BH especially if it is a chop from you.

You can test by serving long quick underspin from your FH far angle to your opponent far BH LP, basically a straight fast underspin. If you find he cant control it beyond your center line. Then you are almost free to smash/drive/ or set up 5 balls.

vary your shots. i always prefer long dead center body balls and aim their long BH side with chop underspin. and keep in mind drive or smash center or to their FH. LP BH counter block from heavy drive is really devastating unless they r off position....

also there are 2 types of LP, sponge n without sponge. without sponge is the easiest to beat. sponge LP is quite challenging you will noticed their balls has 'power'. But power also mean they have much less control. Both side is pretty confused. but always keep a long ball distance, always chop their BH LP when you got the opportunity.
cede1975
post Apr 30 2019, 02:15 PM

QUOTE(tsd @ Apr 29 2019, 07:12 PM)
oh so you join a novice competition smile.gif good for you. Did u win ?

Yes, tomahawk serve can do side spin as well, but tomahawk is a very tiring serve to do, especially on the knee. I had a lot of experience with this serve during my younger player years. You can win points right from it or get killed by doing it, if you do not recover fast after serve especially when your knee becomes very tired. Even Ding Ning is reducing her tomahawk serve nowadays. Tomahawk is only good for top sidespin, very hard to do short side bottom spin with tomahawk, even if you managed to do it, it will be a lousy one. So, still the 2 finger grip on shakehand bat, forward pendulum or reversed pendulum can make very good side-spin of any kind.

Well, if you do not believe what I said about those ball flight reader, nevermind. Next time when you encounter them you will understand or when you learn it yourself, you will also understand. Of cos even if someone can read ball flight/bounce, he will still be looking at contact point of the ball because if the contact is too obvious, there is no need to read ball flight, because much easier to read contacts than reading ball flight.

Try watch closely on your youtube video on professional players, they only watch opponent body language during serve, then see how their eyes track the ball after opponent hit the ball, they are reading flight, they will watch it bounce ( you can see how they pause with their eyes fixed on the bounce )... then only move in for it.

ITTF ban hiding of ball during serve is to protect weaker players. Reading ball flight is difficult and even more difficult for older players with poorer eye-sight. Imagine if everyone have to learn to read ball flight in order to play table tennis, the table tennis game will be so unpopular and will be dead.

Heavy spin serve are slow, plenty of time to see ball flight. So for ball flight, learn it and all your troubles with spin and long pimples will be gone. IF you dont believe, next time you go and play again, stay focused and watch the ball closely after they serve. There is a fixed pattern in ball flight, just deal with the pattern. A lot of time people could not be bothered to learn how to read ball flight. Unless you are too old with bad eye-sight, then no choice but to skip this skill.
You totally ignore the fact that it is the initial bat angle, ball contact and the the ball 1st landing position PROs are more interested than flight.
The flight a 15 yo kid who well trained already know by 2nd instinct. a strong sidespin will swerve left or right, but a PRO once they see the contact THEY ALREADY KNOW the serve FLIGHT pattern. even that is obvious to me. From THAT i get to judge where the ball will land on my side and move in to position.

Obviously you have never seen fast and wobbly flight serve before. Those are 'transition' spin top-sidespin, if you look at the flight you are too late. All has to determine even before ball take flight, server position, bat ball contact, 1st landing point, ball bounce....You speak of flight is just a general observation, there is no substance in your analysis at all.

LOL what a full load of bollocks when you says ITTF ban body block to protect weaker players. come on la, to this day the super PRO are still doing their best to confuse opponent with extra 'magic' show hand movement. You'd think they do it for fun? Watching flight is already too late, PROs generally serve according to their 3balls/5balls tactics, and i can tell you they dont serve short strong sidespin to let you 'admire' your so call 'flight'.

I dont know where you get the idea real PRO look at flight path. The flight path and landing point is for the receiver to 'JUDGE' beforehand. waiting to watch it flies is already too damn late.

This post has been edited by cede1975: Apr 30 2019, 02:16 PM
cede1975
post Apr 30 2019, 04:10 PM

it is simple physics, when side spin anti clockwise looking from top, it will swerve banana to the right, vice versa for cw side spin.

The spin dynamic is nothing magic, all who trained know why top spin ball will dip and why under spin ball will float(gravity effect, if not the ball will fly upwards.)

anyway watching ball flight path is definately an amateur level observation, i cannot agree PRO will wait and watch ur so call 'flight' path and then only judge how to receive. Thats just some post observation from your point of view no doubt. It offers no insights and misleading. if ppl listen to you, they will forever stuck as a weak receiver.

There is nothing wrong learning from real world class players/coaches in youtube. You should try it yourself.

This post has been edited by cede1975: Apr 30 2019, 04:10 PM
cede1975
post May 6 2019, 02:03 PM

It improved my receiving by leaps and bound when i read server bats angle and pattern more.

I DO not believe anyone who is serious into table tennis do not pay attention to server bat angle/swing.

This is a more concise observation of the whole serve and receiving dynamics, You are just trying to argue something you dont/cant understand fully.
Beyond any doubt you are already doing it and trying hard to be a hypocrite. When i was in primary school ive already learn watching bats for top or underspin serve. ; it was confusing when receiving side-spin, but once i got the idea of watching serve and mirror contact point. It was a great leap on receiving serve for me. The idea is so simple to grasp, you dont get confused by server who uses different swing/backhand/forehand but end up same spin serve. This is the main idea. Too bad you dont get it at all.

The path as i said is already 'EXPECTED' and burnt in the memory, you do not need to see the path to 'judge' the ball and get into position. It is already too late, do you not get it at all?

in a far table rally when i see my opponent pulling a power sidespin drive, from his swing i've already know i have to adjust further left or right due to the swerve and bite. YOU seriously dont know this? you wait and watch the path all day and fail to understand this simple logic. I give up. It is same as serve.

This post has been edited by cede1975: May 6 2019, 04:33 PM
cede1975
post May 23 2019, 11:28 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQibuKr0x2c

Great pointers to read serve. It enhanced my serve reading a lot.

This post has been edited by cede1975: May 23 2019, 11:30 AM
cede1975
post May 23 2019, 11:50 AM

QUOTE(ccf1162 @ May 20 2019, 10:54 AM)
Anyone tried before DHS PF4? Heard old ppl says it not sensitive to spin, basically any incoming spin also can loop . Most of the time if a rubber lose tackiness it basically dead but tis rubber at its best performance when it lose its tackiness. They also said good for fast loop and sidespin loop . Only cons is really hard to find blade that suit it as its sponge too dead not bouncy enough. The best combination is DHS 032 &04 because the power supply to the rubber wif these blade I would say is unlimited no bottleneck but 032 and 04 is ancient blade which on the brink of extinction. Alternative cheaper one is yinhe n9 but only suitable for continuous looping but not smashing and near table control a bit weak.Hope to hear some reviews.

Loop is focus on generating spins for dipping arc rather than forward speed.They are slow n super topspin by defination. A dead rubber will never be able to achieve that.

There is a misconception when players go far table and smash the ball at quarter bottom contact point and 'think' what they are doing is loop. It can be done with any kind of rubber even with short pips. But the spin is the crucial difference. You simply cant generate 'more' spin if your top rubber is dead. this is physics.
Just try the dead PF4 on looping slow near table underspin ball and you can verify it easily.

Most Old people style usually uses anti,short pips,long pips. they cant loop, they smash/flat hit. chinese rubber excel on loop/loop drive because of tacky rubber. Dead rubber/anti/pips rubber looping is utter nonsense. They can mimick all they want but end of the day they cant generate the special Arc and table bite of a standard loop.
cede1975
post May 23 2019, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(rogerlieu @ May 15 2019, 11:59 AM)
hi, where can play in puchong area on wednesday ?
Forum19 Subang

https://goo.gl/maps/PF2sZC2emz1UQ1fe6

You can try forum19, regular schedule is mon,wed,friday 4-9pm. walk in and ask.
cede1975
post May 24 2019, 09:21 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xZBKZS7ZLCs

simple demo of forehand loop. bear in mind loop/loop drive is not exclusively for far table only.

most amateur cant extinguish loop, loop drive, drive, drive smash and even flat hit. expert flat hitter using anti rubber, pimple or long pimple are hard to beat because you are your own defeat, it is exactly playing against a wall. Once your skills over come it, it is nothing. That is why to be competitive ppl will still use invert rubber as forehand and maybe pimple on backhand. With Invert friction rubber you can manipulate and control spin 'actively'. Spin is the game changing factor in table tennis.

The idea of flat hitter is better than you, does not mean they are good. Means you sucks more. This is a hard fact but also why you dont see flat hitters in world tournament at all. All the worldly technique and equipment are designed for inverted game, there is a reason. If you cant figure out by now your level of play will forever stuck there.

This post has been edited by cede1975: May 24 2019, 09:53 AM
cede1975
post May 24 2019, 10:12 AM

QUOTE(ccf1162 @ May 23 2019, 07:52 PM)
Forget to say that pf4 everything is about the hitting angle when you loop and swing speed , don't ever hit the ball with all your strength because this rubber doesn't work like that. The ball might go fast if you loop it hard every time but this is not the most powerful one . This rubber is everything about thinking and changing.

I ask that old ppl again about the dead rubber problem. I not sure you ever see old chinese rubber when they age ,they will turn from smooth and shiny surface to little misty and vague with maybe some cracks. This is the best stage , it will turn from hard stiff rubber to soft and comfortable . Maybe you can find this feeling on some of the old ancient chinese rubber and it's surface turned vague
They are using speed glue for the sponge only. The top layer can be 'revive' back with booster.
This is a near extinct art of heavy speed glueing. Chinese traditional inverted rubber are made much harder to 'accommodate' speed glue. With continue application of speed glue multiple times the sponge layer will become softer and springer. The VOlatile Organic compound (VOC) glue will weaken the bond between the top layer and sponge , this is why u see the rubber side peeling off.

In my yonder years of playing tt, Ive seen personally a super thick speed glued black sriver on a jpen during my tertiary days. The kid had to boost the rubber just before every match. And he told me japanese rubber last longer but still only good for at most an hour of play.

fast forward to now. the 5th 6th Xth gen tensile rubber already replaced this messy speed glueing. But you can still get 'water down' speed glue which doesnt do much but stick your rubber. It is a 'placeabo' thingy now. The old guy who uses speedglue for sponge but with dead top rubber is a flathitter without any doubt.
You cant get 'strong' VOC glue nowadays, It is extinct not even from taobao. But folk legend said cow glue can do the job.

Speedglue on sponge is for power, Speed glue/booster on top layer is for tacky spin.That was the basic idea.

Personally i still keep my old 1 ply 9mm hinoki cypress MAx with bryce speed with haifu glue for nostalgia. That bat is over 15 year old...
It still gives the sweet sound click smash whenever i feel like whipping it out.

This post has been edited by cede1975: May 24 2019, 10:14 AM
cede1975
post May 24 2019, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(ccf1162 @ May 24 2019, 03:12 PM)
Every style has it own pros and cons. There is no such thing as smooth rubber two side loop is the most advance style. Every rubber suit different person . Like the main reason I play short pips is my thigh muscle every time cramp when I loop with smooth even I have warm up.  There is no flat hitter in tournament? Yeah ,there is, he zhiwen ,mima ito and other Japanese female players but is lesser compared to 20th century. Why? U go n ask liu guoliang because he buried short pips style and chopper in man and turn Chinese team into looping machine.
I think flat hitter is coming back you see Mattias falck from SWE won the second place in WTTC recently. Why people turn to pips because their body condition don't allow them to loop like they used to be.
1st of all, Falck uses Rakxa X for BH. and much discussions has already been done on his superior 'backhand' style. Dont try to be misleading.

There is no one in their right mind will join a competition in full anti or pimple setup.

And please bear in mind,i said in table tennis SPIN is the decisive factor. without a means to 'counter' spin your opponent you are always at the mercy of being in 'defensive' side. Sure you can say block/punch works too but at close table to block punch u need close to inhuman relfex to pull it off if you are out of position. I dont think your cramp can handle that too. also honestly i bet you can smash pretty hard too with those pimple, yet you said loop is hurting for you? Your technique is wrong. get a coach or watch youtube. look at how pro/coaches loop so effortlessly.

If you are looking for excuses to justify your short pimple style, please be objective. I have seen old man in their 80s still using inverted to drive ala chicken wing style. That is the marvel of new generation tensile rubber + all kinda of futuristic carbon blade.

It is always hard to venture to new experience. That is why strong basics is so important. A lot of amateurs ignore the basics and perceive the game as how they play it. But in reality they got it way way way all wrong. I had this problem too when i changed from cpen/jpen to handshake. In my honest opinion cpen and jpen is the worst-draining stamina, with handshake you've already had attacking advantage on your left side reach. This is the lazy reason i change to handshake and never look back. and following any kind of basics training like learning kungfu. It is never too late.

This post has been edited by cede1975: May 24 2019, 05:17 PM
cede1975
post Jun 11 2019, 05:08 PM

QUOTE(ccf1162 @ May 24 2019, 11:13 PM)
H3 should be not bad but I never used it before. Just too much counterfeit H3 in market so be careful. Yeah, I'll buy one PF4 and glue on the backhand side of my penhold to act as a weight.
You are using H3 with booster right? VOC glue.
cede1975
post Jun 12 2019, 01:45 PM

QUOTE(ccf1162 @ Jun 11 2019, 05:34 PM)
I tried other ppl's H3 before but H3 need to boost frequently . However I hv long heard about many counterfeits exist on taobao or other china platforms. For me , I'm really lazy to glue frequently so H3 not my tea. What I can advice ppl who wanted to buy H3 is never buy or trust those say is national level rubber? In chinese is 國狂。
if you are using H3, you must need to boost. If not the sponge is too hard to do anything.

provincial version is 省套,national version is 国套。

you can get non counterfeit from reputable merchant like tenryu.com. i am quite confident the owner of tenryu knows their stuff.
national H3 is priced over 300+. and heavy maintenance and compare to tenergy they dont last under 1 year. The VOC booster will accumulate until the sponge is either expand too thick too heavy or top layer start to peel.

At forum19 there are a few players using chinese rubber boosting.

anyway bty Sriver voc glue is the most economic way if you want to try. Japan top layer rubber is more reliable and long lasting.

My personal advice dont even try chinese rubber, unless you die die must use tacky rubber.

BTY Sriver+ Speedglue is a legendary setup you can try, japanese topsheet is more reliable and long lasting.

cede1975
post Jun 20 2019, 09:26 AM

QUOTE(ccf1162 @ Jun 19 2019, 05:08 PM)
Don't miss T2 diamond , many players participate in it include Ma long ,xu xin ,harimoto https://airasiaredtix.com/t2diamondmy

LOL i want to watch benedette ScoZs only.
https://youtu.be/xK92_3HLjyg
cede1975
post Nov 18 2024, 12:22 PM

Anyone playing near semenyih area?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0541sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:03 AM