Are property prices going to up further? V4, nothing's gonna stop us now

prody
post Dec 13 2011, 12:36 PM

Dance while the record spins
1,548 posts

I can foresee all the "investors" need to start to shred some paper and recalculate their paper profits.
They can say a 1000 times these prices are normal because of "fill in the usual reasons" but that still doesn't mean people can afford them.

I, as a potential upgrader, will never pay these crazy prices. I rather stay where I am and once prices come down pick where I want to go.
In the event that they don't go down I stay where I am now and enjoy life with all the money I have left over.
prody
post Dec 13 2011, 05:15 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(22222222 @ Dec 13 2011, 05:04 PM)
China ppl expected property price average will drop 50%....2 u believe it...smile.gif

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-12-02/r...dam-minter.html
Shanghai prices already dropped 40% from the peak.

http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-chin...2603,full.story
prody
post Dec 15 2011, 09:43 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(22222222 @ Dec 13 2011, 05:45 PM)
Oh...i not read today news yet.....

OMG, now already spread to first tier cities .....

My colleague (she come from Shanghai.... tongue.gif ) jz told me that, it is happen to certain area only, not whole shanghai...location is very important when u buy property in Shanghai.

She said average drop around 5-8% oni. I dun know whether want to believe her or not??? biggrin.gif
Bit difficult to decide who to believe, Bloomberg or your colleague.... wink.gif

Peak was in 2009 already, maybe that's why there is a difference.

Added on December 15, 2011, 9:46 am
QUOTE(zuiko407 @ Dec 13 2011, 06:54 PM)

Added on December 13, 2011, 7:15 pm
The government intentionally slammed the price to 40% down rather than control the price be stagnant, but not to affect the whole economy collapse from the bubble, very interesting strategy from the chinese government, really interested to follow up what's the next they gonna do.
i'm pity on the home buyers who made the downpayment before the developer slashed prices 25% on unsold units to attract new buyers, i'm wondering any developer here in malaysia going to do so during the bad market response, unless the developer intentionally for doing one time business and quit from property development industry!
I guess it's better to stop the bubble from growing larger when the price had to drop 80%. wink.gif

This post has been edited by prody: Dec 15 2011, 09:47 AM
prody
post Dec 16 2011, 09:40 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(106127 @ Dec 15 2011, 08:39 PM)
those crooks are siphoning money out of malaysia, but crooks from other country are also siphoning money into malaysia. the problem is we do not know how much is siphoned out and into malaysia. rich china businessmen have bank accounts in various countries. they export their goods from mainland but payment are made to a bank account in 3rd country to escape tax. so what do they do with these money? they buy property. just like our powerful malaysian politicians with huge assets in canada US and Uk. http://www.sarawakreport.org/tag/taib-wealth/

http://www.sarawakreport.org/2011/04/sipho...y-from-sarawak/

Added on December 15, 2011, 8:41 pm
2012 outlook will be quite flat i guess. but it might not go down. it just stay stagnant as raw material is increasing, labour is increasing, cost is shooting up. there is no way that new property can be price lower in 2011.
What do you think will happen to material prices when China slows down even more?
prody
post Dec 16 2011, 10:05 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(zuiko407 @ Dec 16 2011, 09:52 AM)
What do you think will happen to the price of Kopi-O ice and Chicken rice when China slows down even more?
You don't want to answer the question?
prody
post Dec 16 2011, 10:58 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(zuiko407 @ Dec 16 2011, 10:53 AM)
No doubt US and europe in deep shit now, it making other region in a worry, everybody are predict the crisis coming on next year, somemore can predict end 2012/ early 2013, even the aunty in the wet market also can tell you the same; "Europe no good lo, next year we die la, save more money now, property drop next year".
Whether the crisis happen or not, still a question mark. but sometime we keep discuss among our friends, the crisis which happened so far, do we really be able to predict before it happen? not only you and me, not only the economist, even char kuey tiew uncle aunty be able to tell the same story, most people are keep the ready cash to standby, pull hand brake for big spending, put on hold to buy big car, wait for Genting share drop till RM3.20 like happened year 2009. if most people be able to know it going to happen and get ready to prevent, that's not so call crisis then?? there will not many poor people in the world then? Mahathir won't big spent on KLCC, Putrajaya, KLIA before 1997 then? the American will get ready before 2008 then!

Added on December 16, 2011, 10:55 am
i actually answered your question with asked you a question.
You actually avoided answering my question with answering it with an unrelated question. tongue.gif
prody
post Dec 16 2011, 04:11 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(vectorian @ Dec 16 2011, 03:59 PM)
I am not a property investor and have thus far bought for own stay only. After reading the last 2-3 pages of this thread though, I can't help but agree with Zuiko's points, perspective and arguments.

I also think quite a lot of mid income group of Malaysians have been holding off their property purchase for the past 2 yrs and therefore the cash is there. Heck even Zuiko and Gogo have the cash to further purchase properties so what does that tell ya?

IF there is a correction to the market next year.. I think the ones effected are the mid range areas. Perhaps the outskirts will even see an increase.. lol
You should read a bit about Malaysia household debt levels.

prody
post Dec 16 2011, 04:56 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(vectorian @ Dec 16 2011, 04:42 PM)
I have.. but the bulk that contributes to the debt levels are unfortunately from the low income group for whatever reasons it may be (unable to earn enough for necessities spending or spending beyond their means). Is this situation alarming?  Heck of course it is.. cos the disparity between income groups will widen even further. The more pressing matter if you guys are talking about a recession or downturn next year or so.. trust me when I say that when the economy does picks up again.. the disparity will be even larger. This is an issue our Gov should have looked into years ago but also a price to pay for progress I guess.
If I had to guess I'd say middle income earners are also heavily indebted.
Anyway it's just a guess. Not sure if there is any data available out there on this.
prody
post Dec 20 2011, 09:47 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(vectorian @ Dec 16 2011, 05:21 PM)
Had a look, but can't find any data on what income level groups are carrying the debt.
prody
post Jan 10 2012, 09:59 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(mellomm @ Jan 9 2012, 09:31 PM)
A friend found that his sales at nearly double the price to a buyer didnt go tru. Buyer paid 10 pcnt then cancel. Is this the start of 2012 reality check.
I think reality was already checked in 2011.
prody
post Jan 17 2012, 11:19 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Jan 17 2012, 01:35 AM)
bro i dunno about this europe problem will affect us or not in terms of property price
bcoz last time when U.S had a subprime crisis it didnt affect us a lot
One major difference is that last time the property prices here hadn't gone up a lot yet.
prody
post Jan 17 2012, 02:55 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Jan 17 2012, 11:31 AM)
i know that in this 2-3 years property price gone up like crazy
but are u sure before that the price hadnt gone up a lot?

from my point of view, everything rise suddenly
Yeah, prices have gone up a lot from 2009-2011.
Prices were just slowly creeping up from 2006-2008.
prody
post Jan 31 2012, 11:23 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(cheekykoon @ Jan 31 2012, 10:33 PM)
Low interest rate is an expansionist policy. Govt wants to expand the economy. Unless otherwise stated, interest for property loan is going to be low. Low cost of owning a home - means people can start to take high mortgage and property price will stabilise on a upward trend.

Commodity price is coming down means developer can build at a lower price - have more leverage to lower price of new launch. But cannot be lower than current price.
Of course it is possible for developer to launch with lower price in future.
prody
post Feb 1 2012, 09:12 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(cheekykoon @ Feb 1 2012, 12:04 AM)
It is very hard to launch lower price in future because land value would have risen. Maybe in the suburbs it is possible but in the city, not really. The material cost can be lower but the main cost of condo in malaysia is material cost.
It's also possible for land values to drop. Basically any price can drop once demand is low enough.
prody
post Feb 14 2012, 03:24 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 14 2012, 03:03 PM)
If the plan is from 10% of wages, like reduction in EPF, the main group being "crushed" may come from middle to low income people only.
Wealthy one may not being affected at all.
Unless it is done through tax system, if not, wealthy one may a lot of way not to pay a single cent contribution to the 1care.
As we don't know how the plan will be carried out, so I don't want to jump into any conclusion.

But for simple illustration.

For eg. a millionaire that work as shareholder/CEO of the company, he may choose to earn RM1 from the company as annual wages.
So if 1 care is done through 10% from the wages, he just paid RM0.10 pa.  sweat.gif
While company make millions of profit and company declare millions of dividend which eventually the millionaire get million income from dividend.

So if like that, the wealthy, high income earners may not affected, unless it is done through tax system.
If it is done through tax system, then it is considered another form additional tax hike already, which can kill the competitiveness of trying to encourage FDI.

Reduction from wages is a big flaw to start with.
The system should be trying to seek for the wealthy to pay more and less wealthy to pay less to have a equilibrium for social welfare.

If the middle class being crushed hard due to 10%, the likely outcome can be middle class demanded payrise from employers or being bounded by employers, by then employers being forced to raise the goods prices, eventually, inflation around.
With inflation around, properties price has even firm footing than before.

More simple way of thinking is: more money spent on healthcare means less money spent on properties.
prody
post Feb 14 2012, 03:58 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Feb 14 2012, 03:28 PM)
not really... i think 1C, like socso kind of thing... but wat socso benefit to us as majority... the beneficial/staff... earn big $$$, still BBBB. just $$$ transfer from 1 party to another..... tis we call wealth transfer by law.
Not talking about what 1Care is, just talking about what the simple result will be if it is implemented and if the middle class needs to pay 10% of salary.
prody
post Feb 15 2012, 12:46 PM

1,548 posts

As predicted previously, prices have started to decline.

The Malaysian House Price Index
prody
post Feb 15 2012, 02:19 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Feb 15 2012, 01:04 PM)
icon_question.gif  which page is said so..
First page at the bottom, Q3 2011 index is lower then Q2 2011 index. (153.1 vs 155.1, -1.3%)
prody
post Mar 1 2012, 02:33 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(adrianjc @ Mar 1 2012, 01:43 PM)
iProperty has just released their property market sentiment. The results are fasicnating, i've put some of my thoughts down if you feel like reading it, if not you can grab the PDF file off this page.

iProperty Property Market Survey 2012

What do you guys think of the results reported?
blink.gif
Do you believe there is a property bubble in Malaysia?
58.6% yes
23.4% no
18.0% doesn't know

Looking through the entire report, property prices are probably going to continue the downward trend from Q3 2011.
prody
post Mar 9 2012, 08:44 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(PradaLee @ Mar 9 2012, 07:07 PM)
It says shortage of 2 million houses/condos in Klang Valley. So maybe, there are only 4 mil units now. Need another 2 milion units! Shocking isn't it? And people are talking about oversupply.
Shortage of 2 million houses. Let's assume 4 people per house. So where are those 8 million people living now?

0.0554sec    1.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:48 PM