Are property prices going to up further? V4, nothing's gonna stop us now

lucerne
post Jan 5 2012, 02:10 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 5 2012, 01:58 PM)
bank crisis almost as worse as subprime in US are coming to Malaysia.  rclxms.gif  Home price drop 50% is achievable end of this year or next.  rclxms.gif
good. can buy prop at bargain prices. already refinane some of my prop to get ready to sapu more cheap stock..
lucerne
post Jan 5 2012, 03:17 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 5 2012, 02:25 PM)
Me too. Waiting.

But need to wait for few years because from history of US subprime problem, property crash will continue crash for 5 years. Have to hold on to property for 5 years with risk of no one renting.
msia different vs US lah..
their bubble is really really big vs msia
unemployment is high (due to Asia rise?) , no job how to service loan??
many ppl also working oversea (eg china, Singapore etc) due to poor economy /job market. so home/rent demand is poor..
US ppl prefer to rent, msia (or Asian) like to own house. die die must buy own house.. so new launch is still hot in msia..
lucerne
post Jan 5 2012, 03:45 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(peet @ Jan 5 2012, 03:31 PM)
In the property game, there are a few constants:
1. Developers are at the top of the pyramid
2. Buyers are at the bottom of the pyramid
3. In between are the suppliers and contractors. Many of them who get their units for free cos developers cannot pay them or sell off remaining units. They are "forced" to take up the units in lieu of payment.
3. Buyers act on "information" fed to them by "experts" who say that prices will always go up and they should buy now or regret later. This belief in turn fuel rise in property prices.

Smart investors do their due diligence:
1. Property prices should always be pegged to GDP and per capita income. If prices increase is not in proportion to GDP growth, a correction is imminent.
2. Use EPF returns as benchmark. Any property giving less than 6% returns is probably not worth the trouble. It's better to leave the money in EPF.
etc
good investors look forward and sometime need to take some calculator risk.
it is imposisble to make big $ if everyone follow same. only those making differences can win the game.
that's why rich are always lesser coz not many can smell the opportunities when come..

i just heard some rich investors start to buy lands/prop somewhere in in KL even they knew the "return" now is very very small .. (much much below EPF rate..haha)
they can smell the opportunities waiting..and prepare earlier.. their time horizon can be 5 -10 years
lucerne
post Jan 5 2012, 05:18 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(Nine9 @ Jan 5 2012, 05:05 PM)
even FD also got risk, %inflation risk...

Not much information for Bond can be found online... seem malaysia bond is not so active le...

anyone got link for bond?
malaysia bond - not for retail investors

i do invested Singapore treasury bond..
lucerne
post Jan 5 2012, 05:26 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(Nine9 @ Jan 5 2012, 05:23 PM)
how do we buy Singapore bond in Malaysia ?
u still need to open an account wiht a singapore broker firm. i used POEM (Phillip Security)
i also trade US, HK stock via POEM...
lucerne
post Jan 5 2012, 06:34 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(peet @ Jan 5 2012, 05:25 PM)
EPF has been giving 5-6% returns for past 10-15 yrs.
i doubt they can give such a high return, it is more likely they use new members $ to pay for old members (some sort like MLM's high profits promises)
when they have run out of cash, they will delay the withdrawal age. (now 55, they now propose to delay to 62 ), if still cant cope with the withdrawal crowd, they will delay to 65, then 70 ... samething happening in Europe..

This post has been edited by lucerne: Jan 5 2012, 07:05 PM
lucerne
post Jan 6 2012, 12:17 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(peet @ Jan 5 2012, 08:20 PM)
No worries, we are all adults and this is just friendly discussion. Everyone will have different views but I try my best to stick to facts based on historical & economic data. BTW our EPF performs much better than CPF in S'pore in terms of % returns and ease of withdrawal upon maturity. So we have to give credit where credit is due. I am not sure about the inner workings of EPF but... again historically... no Msian has ever been denied access to his funds upon maturity - at least not that I heard of. 10-20 years later? Who knows? I might be dead by then.  tongue.gif
i really salute u who believe epf can make such high profits by rescuing so many GLC and underperform related companies??
what make epf so special when so many fund managers r losing $ during 2008/2009 crisis??
lucerne
post Jan 6 2012, 11:39 AM

1,946 posts

yes, lesser new launch in 2012 and expect even lesser in 2013.
very similar to 2008, 2009 period where developers stop new launch due to uncertain econ and supply become tight. and market become suddenly hot after 2009. it is just like a cycle..and will continue the same in future, to follow supply and demand pattern.
lucerne
post Jan 6 2012, 12:06 PM

1,946 posts

yes, all now are accumulating more bullets to shot again in 2013..and the cylce repeat and repeat again..
lucerne
post Jan 6 2012, 12:22 PM

1,946 posts

when market down /stagnant , they are opportunities too. it depend how u smell the opportunities.

just like our very smart genting msia managed to convince the governor to allow new casino in new york city (first casino in New York city!!) similar to singapore resort world concept. in the city...
good timing when US econ is down, genting know how to play the game.

http://www.zaobao.com/cg/cg120106_001.shtml

this new project include MICE, casino, theme park, hotels, residentials, muzium etc.
estimate to open in 2013.
las vegas will hv hard time to compete with genting.

not sure if this will benefit msia??
lucerne
post Jan 6 2012, 04:16 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Jan 6 2012, 01:43 PM)
who know if they marked up before giving discounts..
many developer do this to woo late buyers.
lucerne
post Jan 6 2012, 04:25 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(frederic9 @ Jan 6 2012, 04:20 PM)
What you are talking about is not cash rich people.
CASH RICH people NEVER let their investment ROT, what you are talking about is NOT CASH RICH people but DUMB BRATS/DUMB ALEC.

You think you don't need to pay cukai pintu, maintenance fees, etc on your property? One fine day, I'll be picking up YOUR property from the auction house then.
u dun really understand cash rich ppl. some cash rich ppl cant even count how many prop they owned.

as per the expenses u mentioned, their accountant will show only misc and they dun even bother to look at. they oni look at big numbers..
lucerne
post Jan 6 2012, 04:46 PM

1,946 posts

rich ppl only interested how much net assets they hv in hand..they are more interested in $$ rather than units...
lucerne
post Jan 6 2012, 07:06 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(frederic9 @ Jan 6 2012, 05:12 PM)
What the hell are you talking about? There's no such thing as net assets.

It's obviously NET ASSETS = CASH. If you need to add other assets things to it, then you are NOT RICH.

Added on January 6, 2012, 5:16 pm

I'm very poor only.  sad.gif
what i mean they only care what is the net value of their asset in prop.
since this forum is talking abt prop, the "asset " in this case mean prop only , not include other kind of assets.
net asset mean current value - liabilities (loan)

my boss has more than 50 prop, he dun care what , where, which and how the prop doing, he only care how much is the net value to him.

lucerne
post Jan 7 2012, 11:06 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(R o Y @ Jan 7 2012, 12:36 AM)
To them maybe spending RM50k-100k a month is pocket change as their entertainment budget could be even more.
true, i hv a fren also act like that.
his is in manufaturing, the raw materials fluatuation oredi 50-100k per week, so for him, to spend 50-100k a month is nothing.
lucerne
post Jan 11 2012, 01:34 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Jan 11 2012, 01:17 PM)
Hopefully my buyer will cancel oso
I have a 2nd thought on selling it
yes, especially landed prop in KL . u will never get back the same (price) after u sold it.
same to condo in good/strategic location..
lucerne
post Jan 11 2012, 04:51 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ Jan 11 2012, 04:28 PM)
just wonder
if both parties signed offer letter
and buyer paid the 2% deposit, doing S&P and loan
but the seller keep delaying the S&P sign and delay giving documents to lawyer
how ah?
the SnP somehow protect the seller. mean seller dun have to pay LAD if they delay the process (no such clause in SnP).
but buyer has to pay LAD if they failed to pay within 120days. (stated clearly in SnP)
buyer can only issue lawyer letter to cancel if confirmed seller not keen /interest to sell (eg reply within 14 days etc) and get refund.
i m not sure if the buyer can get any compensation.

seems the seller can "enjoy" the 10% DP but delay the whole process and still keep collecting the rental??

delay tactic - refuse to pay outstanding maintenance fee so no consent letter.
lucerne
post Jan 11 2012, 09:31 PM

1,946 posts

dun worry, if your lawyer is capable they can make use of your bal 90% to settle all outstandings and proceed with transfer name...eg 10-20% to settle JMB, utilities etc, xx% to settle bank loan etc

also, if u knew your unit still hv bog sum outstanding with JMB, please pay the 10% to lawyer as undertaking instead pay to seller direct.
lucerne
post Jan 12 2012, 11:08 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Jan 12 2012, 10:52 AM)
not true. It pay to get a really good lawyer, not those copy & paste SnP type. You can insert a clause as any delay by seller will bear an interest as well.

If it earnest deposit done by an broker agent, i believe there are clause to refund plus interest if seller abort it.

Added on January 12, 2012, 10:54 am
you are paying the S&P fees ler, what make you the losing side doh.gif
yes, that is why i remind LYN memebr to look for good lawyer.
seller only pay LAD when they failed to VP the house to buyer after 100% payment hv been made.
so it is difficult to claim LAD from seller if they delay the proccessing, base on wat reason to claim LAD , delay in getting developer consent? How to justify the delay? they can claim the JMB charge them too much and refuse to pay and must nego. nego take time blah blah,,,your lawyer also pusing kepala...

Added on January 12, 2012, 11:13 amin standard Snp, buyer can only claim LAD from seller after u paid 100%, if not, eg 10% oni, u cant claim.

This post has been edited by lucerne: Jan 12 2012, 11:13 AM
lucerne
post Jan 12 2012, 11:26 AM

1,946 posts

back to prop topic..

Up go the skyscrapers, down goes the economy, report shows
China, India take note: Your skyscraper boom may foreshadow a fall

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/45957217/ns/bu...world_business/

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top