AVFAN
post Mar 1 2012, 06:44 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(katijar @ Mar 1 2012, 11:42 AM)
i think the trend now is "just buy whatever the bank is willing to loan you"
you hit the nail on the head.

rewind 2 years, all gorengers were doing this. it was, "if the bank is still lending you, you haven't bought enough"!
many applied multiple credit cards in a rush to swipe for dwnpayment.
many applied loans on multiple props with diff banks at same time to "cheat" ccris checks.
that's why the domestic/housing/personal loans ballooned so quickly.

now, i'm pretty sure the master gorengers are no longer doing this but busy selling as quick as they can (while talking things up still. tongue.gif )
so, those still practicing this are either optimistic late comers or diehard upupups.
if there are 3 options for up, down and flat, 2/3 will be wrong, isn't it? biggrin.gif
up, down or flat, fresh buyers take on a higher risk.

Added on March 1, 2012, 6:45 pm
QUOTE(sampool @ Mar 1 2012, 12:55 PM)
speechless!
like me. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 1 2012, 06:54 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 2 2012, 06:44 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(Bobby C @ Mar 2 2012, 06:23 PM)
As long as majority investors can keep their jobs, maintain/improve salary, unemployment kept below 5% as current rate, wouldn't fear of bubble bursting. Price correction or stagnant may be esp on the new properties. If same Asian crisis hit us again like in 1997, sure going to have another round bargain hunting. Bubble will happen in new development, matured development no fear as most paid up their debts, of course you will find few mini bubble in matured developed but will get snapped up as demand higher.

But again, many prop craze will likely work for the bank for the rest of their life if can't demand good rental. Keep their job, kwai-kwai pay the banks. No bubble burst lah. biggrin.gif
this, i agree.

it's unwise to look at home prices in a vacuum, i.e. one's luck or how hardworking or how clever.
if the shit from europe hits here, no one and nothing will escape like in 1998.
but then things can be less dramatic, life goes on, limp along.
if yr gaji goes up 3-4% a yr while fish and kopi goes up 8%, eat less but still kwaikwai pay bank.
while at the mercy of bnm since if rates go up and they have historically, kwaikwai pay for a longer period.

when people make money incl paper gains, they shout and yell to the world.
when they lose, they go somewhere else to sulk - that's only human. tongue.gif

AVFAN
post Mar 9 2012, 01:29 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Mar 9 2012, 10:53 AM)
If that's the case, the articles is rubbish and not realistic after all.
The moment all the household income increase, all the property speculator will jack up even much higher on the property price.
There is no law on property speculation in our country.
if that sinchew article is cimb's comments, it's much of a double speak like many things.
earlier comments from the chief says loans too high, risky, no good.
now say prop price not high enough.
i'll say read the crap with a full barrel of salt!

meanwhile, 3k salary-400k loans workable? if so, this hba fella is all wrong about banks and jibkor's my1sthome hype. tongue.gif

“It is obvious that our honourable PM was ill-advised by parties with vested interest on setting the price range of RM400,000 for income earners below RM3,000,” he said in an interview.

He said the association had run checks with banks and found that most applicants were those who have been blacklisted or lack proper proof of income.

“The feedback was simply that if people can’t afford it, then don’t buy. How can you take a 100 per cent loan for such an amount without commitment?” he asked.

Chang said that a 20-year loan of RM400,000 at the industry standard two per cent below base lending rate would require a monthly repayment of RM2,552, or 85 per cent of RM3,000.

He added that a 30-year agreement would still require monthly instalments of RM2,051 or 68 per cent of RM3,000.

The scheme’s website also states that to qualify for the programme, the repayment commitment cannot exceed 55 per cent of the applicant’s gross income.

“It is not surprising there have been zero approvals as borrowers would be living beyond their means and default in a matter of time.”

He said that based on Bank Negara’s guidelines that loan repayments cannot exceed one-third of income, the ceiling for the scheme should be set between RM150,000 and RM180,000.
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...e-buyers-group/

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 9 2012, 01:31 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 14 2012, 05:40 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(ethanyong @ Mar 14 2012, 05:27 PM)
Uni degree fresh grad generally = Bangla level  rclxms.gif
this is not a joke, quite real.

some banglas already earning close to 2k a month, maybe can buy 150k homes soon.

while local fresh grads earning 2k yell at najiz to provide 400k homes. tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 21 2012, 08:10 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(ethanyong @ Mar 21 2012, 06:54 PM)
You gave me a business idea..... should get ready to start up a maid training institute over here in Malaysia in order to ship out crude work force to other countries in the future.  brows.gif It is not funny, I know, but no harm in making a bit of fun with our Malaysia's already dim future. blush.gif
u have good vision or you had a call from the minister? biggrin.gif
Subramaniam: Malaysians must prepare for life without maids
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...-without-maids/

actually some connected ones may be oledi preparing. question is who will go since some can get cash handouts and study grants and loans easy.

bolehland after decades of rape and plundering is more bankrupt than most people think.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 21 2012, 08:12 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 24 2012, 06:19 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(debtismoney @ Mar 24 2012, 06:11 PM)
It's time to prove the "STRONG HOLDING POWER" myth as stated by many real estate agents/investors here from this point on.

Easy home buying scheme started in 2009, and after 2 or 3 years of construction frenzy, we will see ROW AFTER ROW OF EMPTY BUILDINGS hitting the market soon, and those "owners" will be desperately seeking the next greater fool which is drying up.
this aspect, dun need to worry for anyone la...

those who like to eat salted fish should and would know how to fight thirst, so they say.

chances are majority can hold, unless bnm hike rates by 2-3% soon which is most unlikely.

no disagreement with you that some areas will see rows and rows, blocks and blocks empty for some time, but that may mean price stagnant or a slight softening in subsale prices, not the crash some are hoping for.
AVFAN
post Mar 24 2012, 06:42 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(debtismoney @ Mar 24 2012, 06:39 PM)
http://www.malaysiaeconomy.net/my_economy/...3-17/17854.html

This may interest you, see what BN did to your EPF.

BN may lose the next GE, the cronies are liquidating to fill the EPF hole, or to pull out as much fund as possible and bailing out themselves while they are still in the government?
well know fact bn already sucked 60% of epf money for their projects. just hope it won't become 90% in the next year or so.

if epf collapses, no need to talk property anymore - our lives will be at stake.
AVFAN
post Mar 26 2012, 09:15 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Mar 26 2012, 12:02 AM)
I recap again, if you dun buy that's fine, but dun simply ask other people not to buy

QUOTE(debtismoney @ Mar 26 2012, 09:08 PM)
I recap again, if you buy that's fine, but dun simply ask other people to buy.

i agree with both of you.
asking people to buy is the same sin as asking people not to buy.
especially on a specific dev.
can't be too faced about it. be consistent.

AVFAN
post Mar 27 2012, 07:24 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Mar 27 2012, 06:10 PM)
What is so special about Iskandar? It's just another concept city like i-City.
I guess the key is to attract Singaporean people to go Iskandar.
Btw, does Singaporean ppl consider Johor a safe state?
As for Penang, your point is valid if more FDI from Klang Valley move to Penang but we're not seeing it happening right now.
mysians like to think sgreans are waterfish, but that's a wish, not true.

penang will remain with pr and fdi will continue to to rise like now, incl props.
selangor has its problems, but the size of the economy keeps it going one way or another.
johor... iskandar... i see it as all bn bull, corruption, propganda, little will come out of it.

if i hv the big dough and look at 10yrs... penang, esp on the island is where i will put my money now.

AVFAN
post Apr 9 2012, 07:19 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(debtismoney @ Apr 9 2012, 07:44 AM)
But the thing is many people with vested interest are active in this forum, i.e., mortgage brokers, RE agents, developers, builders, building material suppliers, hardcore flippers, bankers etc.

When someone says something bad about the property market other than BBBlindness which might affect their rice bowl, the party with vested interest would stand together and rout you out! If I was in RE industry, I would do the same either smile.gif this is just human nature. I believe you get my point.

bro, i agree with yr comments. in fact, i understand and appreciate all that u've been saying.

diversity is the spice of life, so stay cool and be yrself!
AVFAN
post Apr 13 2012, 01:06 AM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(splinky @ Apr 12 2012, 02:35 PM)
I am currently trying to sell my hse in Bangsar but the market seems to be stagnating or leveling off. I think the smart money is there but they are adopting a wait n see stance. PRU and the stock market are among the key variables.
I dont see a property bubble but I do expect a 10-30% correction in hse prices sometime in the 3rd Q depending on the location. This is mainly due to curbs on liquidity. I am not a property expert...just sharing my 0.02 cents worth.
QUOTE(humble_tot @ Apr 13 2012, 12:15 AM)
my buddy bot bayan villa to flip but vp till now not able sell. i think may location is a factor too.
i salute the 2 of you for braving to post this as this thread can be intimidating with so many tigers and crocodiles. tongue.gif

this is where it counts but many will deny and ignore. but like some, i understand many investors, speculators and agents lurking in lyn, wanna "wan sek", so it is not easy to be polite and non offensive. esp in this general forum thread.

the naked truth, however you hate it, is while a minority new launches get snapped within hours (and many chose to cite temasya and reed but somehow not others), it is foolish albeit intentionally to ignore the bulk of new launches and subsale that aren't getting the same hot, spicy and juicy response. many bolehsians rich, can buy all hor...? please la....

i do not think asking subsale prices will drop 30%, but 10-15% is likely. and please wait for yr turn to sell as no serious buyer will rush.

newbies buying left right and center this year hoping to fart, pls wake up. May need to wait 3-5 years.

i stand by my position - 1. bolehsians aren't as rich as many think; 2. inflation will not go on and on w/o drop in demand in anything; 3. anytime is good time to buy a home for own stay, but not as investment.

AVFAN
post Apr 13 2012, 05:01 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(humble_tot @ Apr 13 2012, 01:32 AM)
i jz shared d truth only. my other fren sold TS recently for rm460k & earn rm200k, b4 minus interest, reno so on. subsale is slower but not entirely dead.
prop is always good inv, cant flip then jz hold long term, worst keep for retirement or nx gen.
ts grossing 80% gain is real and about right. tot some were saying now at 500k, 550k?
any prop bought in 2007-2008 no doubt had the highest gains, 50-100% upon completion - that we already know.
we should be more interested in those bought in 2010, 2011 and now when prices had gone up so high.

AVFAN
post Apr 13 2012, 05:21 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(splinky @ Apr 13 2012, 04:33 PM)
3. The property market for prime areas are leveling off currently because IMO the flippers / speculators are concentrating on new launches and sub 1mil properties. It makes sense because the capital returns are much higher. But Bangsar and other prime areas offers rock solid investment security even in the event of a recession or economic downturn. That is why there are so many retirees living in Bangsar.

good point. i agree that places like bangsar, mk and even ttdi-bu have reached maturity and will enjoy slow but steady price appreciation in the longer term. short term price adjustments are possible.

now, if the primest areas are stagnating or softening slightly in subsale price, what then is the likely scenario for those new ones that started with a high price? herein lies the debate over and over again - true or false - there are always enough people willing to pay higher and higher prices in most places due to inflation, foreign buyers, etc. ?

AVFAN
post Apr 16 2012, 07:05 PM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Apr 16 2012, 06:37 PM)
Nothing to worry as you're buying for your own stay...

aint that the truth and nothing but the truth!
wholeheartedly agree, again!
just beware those crying up 50% or drop 50%! tongue.gif
challenging times indeed. inevitably, some will lose, some will gain.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 16 2012, 07:06 PM

0.0573sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:02 PM