The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

sshark
post Nov 29 2011, 01:24 PM

183 posts

if they already have a list of customers why do they display the GMT2c on the counter?

QUOTE(h11g @ Nov 29 2011, 12:59 PM)
lolek i like  rclxms.gif

btw was quoted 24500 for the gmt master 2 ceramic @ pavilion rolex shop, and need booking summore~!  blush.gif

apparently it is selling like hot cakes, cuz when i went there they have one in their store and there is a waiting list for customers wishing to get it.
sshark
post Dec 1 2011, 12:56 PM

183 posts

Like a mini computer smile.gif

QUOTE(fluffy6640 @ Dec 1 2011, 11:34 AM)
seems very....intelligent.
sshark
post Dec 2 2011, 07:42 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(TheSecRet @ Dec 2 2011, 04:11 PM)
Not sure any brand will do. Titus? Seiko? Any will do as long as I like the look smile.gif
U dun even know what you want for urself. U might as well go out and do some shopping. What u asking here is like asking to guess what's in ur mind. That's absurd.
sshark
post Dec 2 2011, 10:44 PM

183 posts

That's the spirit. Our 1st lady can save and buy a RM24M ring, RM660k watch is a small matter. smile.gif

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Dec 2 2011, 09:35 PM)
Was at Omega Star Hill just now, they were having an event of some sort. Saw the new blue Bond, looks really weird without the wave pattern on the dial. Now it looks like just any other generic diver... sad.gif

Also popped by Van Cleef & Arpels next next door. Saw the Pont des Amoureux at last - RM660k! Probably should start saving soon...

sshark
post Dec 7 2011, 11:31 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(joeyap @ Dec 7 2011, 11:01 PM)
I am keen to look for a Rolex watch similar to this design.
http://www.watchesonnet.com/wab1120-bb0802.html
I remember seeing some where, but wasn't sure of the Rolex model.
Anyone can help pls?
This is the rolex model that has the look you wanted

http://www.rolex.com/en/rolex-watches/subm...-m116613lb-0001
sshark
post Dec 8 2011, 11:44 PM

183 posts

why do u say it looks like fake?what's the tell tale sign? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Dec 8 2011, 11:40 PM)
i'm not PAM expert, but it looks like a fake  hmm.gif
sshark
post Dec 20 2011, 11:36 AM

183 posts

That pretty costly blink.gif
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Dec 20 2011, 11:03 AM)

with 5k u can get the black and white dial together  thumbup.gif
sshark
post Dec 20 2011, 01:21 PM

183 posts

More likely an entrepreneur student smile.gif For rm400, i suggest better Casio modals, citizen, seiko and orient. I think these non fashion based japanese watch fit ur into budget nicely.

QUOTE(spicediablo @ Dec 20 2011, 11:53 AM)
Any shops around PJ? I'm from Subang.... smile.gif

Added on December 20, 2011, 12:37 pmThanks for pointing that out. Ur recommendations is not bad except need to wait and i prefer metal bracelet. Any other choices for 39mm below?
sshark
post Dec 20 2011, 01:48 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(apsidewatch @ Dec 20 2011, 01:42 PM)
thanks ill have a look. other than japanese brand? looking for swiss-made
lol im just a normal student, it is just that i hate wasting money for something with no quality, like i said senselessly paying for guess or quiksilver watches for a pvc strap is not me. i rather save up for a couple of months for something worth it.
Agree. no point paying for those fancy dial and case which will fade after few months.

I think you can only buy Swatch with rm400 for true blood swiss watch. Other swiss brands are above rm1k. For those claimed to be swiss watches like cima, where the company started in swiss (i think) and now owns by hongkie, are about rm400 too.
sshark
post Dec 23 2011, 05:24 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(fluffy6640 @ Dec 23 2011, 04:38 PM)
patryn33  not in malaysia meh? always had an impression u were. haha.
Sound like from MY, looks like from MY but not in MY smile.gif
sshark
post Jan 12 2012, 09:56 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ Jan 12 2012, 08:16 PM)
Seiko chrono with tachymeter less than 1k, quartz.

After owning 2 automatics, don't think I can stand looking at hands that tick.

Anyone feels the same?
Yes I feel the same. The next levels are hi-beat and spring drive. 21600 bph felt jerky but acceptable. However, 2 years ago I bought a digital watch to wear. Nostalgic reason smile.gif it reminded me during the 80s, seiko digital watches were like rolex to me
sshark
post Jan 14 2012, 05:22 PM

183 posts

You can use toothpaste in place of polywatch. only hesalite / hard plastic crystal can be polished

QUOTE(ken_ng @ Jan 14 2012, 03:04 PM)
Hi, i'm a newbie here. May i ask is there anyone of u use Polywatch scratch remover before?
sshark
post Jan 14 2012, 05:55 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(ken_ng @ Jan 14 2012, 05:47 PM)
bro, thanks for the reply. I'm wondering whether i can use on the mineral glass on the Baby-G BG-5600. Any idea?
not tat i know of. u can try since u already hv toothpaste. no harm if not working.
sshark
post Jan 30 2012, 05:04 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(unixcorp @ Jan 30 2012, 03:09 PM)
need help from sifu here..

is FOSSIL CH2644 glass is scratch-resistant?  smile.gif

According to its specs, it is a mineral glass so it is NOT scratch resistance
sshark
post Jan 30 2012, 10:42 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(unixcorp @ Jan 30 2012, 08:52 PM)
Thank you sshark..  rclxms.gif

So, how to avoid the glass from getting scratch?
Put screen protector like the one put on the handphone?  sweat.gif
You could use a protector if there is 1 available but why bother. scratches and dings add character to the watch smile.gif
sshark
post Feb 3 2012, 07:02 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ Feb 3 2012, 02:03 PM)
What is your wrist size (diameter in inch)?
wrist is measured in circumference instead of diameter
sshark
post Feb 6 2012, 11:52 PM

183 posts

!

This post has been edited by sshark: Feb 7 2012, 12:03 AM
sshark
post Feb 9 2012, 10:41 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(spicediablo @ Feb 9 2012, 07:58 AM)
Pardon me, noob here

How come the watches have same dials but different brand? Citizen and Campanola related?
There are very seldom watches with same dial but different brands. So far what I saw was one company wanted to put a model by another company into their product line but refuse to produce on their own, B&R with Sinn. OR r u referring to similar instead of same?

Campanola, like Eco-drive, is another Citizen product line for high end quartz watches with great craftsmanship.

sshark
post Feb 16 2012, 05:44 PM

183 posts

I think it is a fake. I can't find the 4th hand, the GMT hand. and see-thru back case didn't mention Panerai. I could miss these details because the photo is dark.

QUOTE(kenny B @ Feb 16 2012, 04:41 PM)
hey guys, i got this from my gramps, but cant find this model on the web. anyone knows what model it is?
thanks!

sshark
post Feb 21 2012, 11:06 AM

183 posts

YOu dun need to be a millionaire. someone who doesn't need to own a car and a house has some spare cash smile.gif

QUOTE(adkins981 @ Feb 21 2012, 02:05 AM)
If ur not a millionaire u got to be watch lovers to be able to spend these kind of money..  biggrin.gif i actually like the grand carera..

0.0236sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:11 PM