The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

sshark
post Feb 21 2012, 02:17 PM

183 posts

I didn't mention anything about sacrifice. I was saying, "those who don't NEED to own a car and a house". these ppl probably already inherited, at least, a house and a car. And you are right, everyone has their priorities.

QUOTE(adkins981 @ Feb 21 2012, 01:01 PM)
u rather sacrifice owning a car and a house to buy a watch?? well i guess every1 has their different priorities  smile.gif
sshark
post Feb 22 2012, 02:20 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(bernard79 @ Feb 21 2012, 09:39 PM)
I just got my vintage and classic looked watch from tissot. The first ever analogue perpetual calendar from Tissot.. It seems has pretty good review..... smile.gif                                     
http://www.watchalyzer.com/tissot-watches/...calendar-watch/
I wonder what the criteria used to claim they are first when Seiko already had their perpetual calendar for many years.
sshark
post Feb 22 2012, 03:23 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(Vincent Pang @ Feb 22 2012, 02:39 PM)
i think they mean, this is the first perpetual calendar watch from Tissot line up
You are right. The 1st perpetual watch for their brand, "Equipped with a totally new G15.561 quartz movement, the Tissot Tradition is the brand’s first ever analogue perpetual calendar timepiece."

Thanks for clearing that out for me.
sshark
post Feb 26 2012, 04:34 PM

183 posts

For LCD watches, there are 3 important major components a buyer should aware of, the battery, the circuit board and the LCD display. When the company mentioned the battery lasted as long as the watch, did they refer to the circuit board or LCD display? Generally, a watch LCD panel has a life of 7 years. The watch is rendered useless (died) when the LCD panel or the circuit board dies. Assuming the the watch battery lasted 7 years, at that time, when you changed the rechargeable battery it will cost you couple of magnitude more compared to ordinary battery that you changed every 3 years. IMO, we live in a place where battery is ubiquitous there is no need for rechargeable battery apart from the coolness factor which is why you buy the watch in the 1st place smile.gif

QUOTE(versey @ Feb 26 2012, 02:44 PM)
Yes, the rechargeable battery lasts as long as the watch, I checked the Casio website.
Even people lives in Alaska wear this watch with no battery problem for more than 5 years! laugh.gif

The below model has Tough Solar. drool.gif

sshark
post Feb 27 2012, 02:06 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(versey @ Feb 26 2012, 05:17 PM)
Generally LCD watch display life is about 30+ years! thumbup.gif

Using solar energy, and reduce battery consumption is good, saving the earth. thumbup.gif

If LCD watch can tahan 7 years only, then how long LCD TV or LCD monitor can tahan? 3 years?? laugh.gif

Please read more about G-Shock watches! G-Shock is build to last many years!! wink.gif
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f17/g-shock-u...lay-416356.html
I read about the LCD lifespan in the owner manual. It is my mistake, I shouldn't generalize it too early.

When the time comes to chg the rechargeable batt, I hope u r mentally prepared to pay for batt. smile.gif

sshark
post Mar 8 2012, 11:12 PM

183 posts

These super rich sportsmen (Tiger wood included) were paid for advertising the watch and get it for free. We, on the other hand, who are not rich or so rich has to pay for it. The rich just get richer sad.gif

QUOTE(dingoyat @ Mar 8 2012, 10:59 PM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-xtBbL5IgBA
Roger Federer meets the Sky-Dweller
sshark
post Mar 14 2012, 02:23 PM

183 posts

Or Diaz with a Sub in the movie Knight and Day

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 14 2012, 11:40 AM)
Cameron Diaz Lends Star Power to TAG Heuer’s New Link Lady
http://www.watchtime.com/2012/03/cameron-d...uers-link-lady/
sshark
post Mar 20 2012, 05:28 PM

183 posts

The price is about right.

QUOTE(fuzagi @ Mar 20 2012, 01:03 AM)
guys, any idea how much is this?
if its stated about 10k usd online, does that translate to rm 30k here or more?
sshark
post Mar 24 2012, 04:34 PM

183 posts

I suppose you can change it urself. the swatch battery holder is outside the case.
sshark
post Mar 28 2012, 11:20 PM

183 posts

RM35K there about for S.Steel. Double or more than double for precious metal.

QUOTE(mattyl @ Mar 28 2012, 11:01 PM)
anyone know the retail price of this?
thks.
sshark
post Mar 29 2012, 05:39 PM

183 posts

From the casing (looked elongated) and bracelet (Sub C has no holes on the clasp side) this is an older sub model

QUOTE(ck77 @ Mar 29 2012, 05:14 PM)
From the picture it look like an old sub 16610?
And the box is the old box.
Any close up pictures?
sshark
post Mar 30 2012, 04:01 PM

183 posts

Rolex date change is instantaneous that you don't often see in IWC, Omega and other leading luxury brands.

QUOTE(h11g @ Mar 30 2012, 02:00 PM)
wow so same movement and they charge like 5k extra for the date function huh?
sshark
post Apr 2 2012, 11:03 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Apr 2 2012, 10:20 AM)

So the big question - will you buy a PO-C or a SubC? I believe they're now about the same price.
It is a hard choice now. Do you want a well known brand, an iconic diver watch with a proven calibre or a newly desgined "better" calibre?
sshark
post Apr 25 2012, 02:43 PM

183 posts

Accuracy is important to me but I won't get a quartz. For quartz it is given, for mechanical watch it is an effort. I am not talking about atomic clock accuracy but I don't think anyone want to wear a watch than run faster or slower more than 1 min/day
sshark
post May 12 2012, 12:47 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(hanz079 @ May 12 2012, 07:48 AM)
From your pics, 100% fake.
I concur.

You mentioned your old tag bought for rm150??? that made it double fake
sshark
post May 22 2012, 07:32 PM

183 posts

nice. i find the date frame made the digit looks small on the dial.

QUOTE(CheeZai @ May 22 2012, 02:37 PM)
My 1st luxury watch, after save money for 2 years  drool.gif  drool.gif

sshark
post Jun 5 2012, 06:11 PM

183 posts

Don;t think you can get Spring Drive for anything less than rm20k. The cheaper ones are around rm15k. If the discount was better I think GS will pick up. Their 9s series calibres are fantastic. The calibres are polished but not much colors compared to Swiss calibres. Some of the models the bracelets are not as good as IWC or Rolex.

QUOTE(gladfly @ Jun 5 2012, 05:01 PM)
Hahah...thats the normal reaction. Its like will you buy a 200k Proton? Difficult to accept ler.

But once you have seen a GS, then 10k is actually relatively cheap. The finishing and spring drive movement is simply jaw dropping. smile.gif

But then again..ah pek will go "Har..nice seiko how many hundred u buy..?" tongue.gif
sshark
post Jun 6 2012, 09:52 PM

183 posts

Few thousands of RM is a bit too much. Service a rolex set you back about a thousand RM, more if need to replace worn parts.

With service cost like it is very hard for GS to pick
up. I dunno if thong sia has any hand in controlling the service or not. as far as watches concern, GS price pretty steep in MY

QUOTE(yeehai @ Jun 6 2012, 09:31 PM)
Yes, you are right. I have called Thong Sia quoting of sending my spring drive for servicing after 4 years of running. It ends up advising me not to send as long as the watch is running fine becuase of the cost(few K in RM) and hazzles(send back to Japan)
sshark
post Jun 18 2012, 02:59 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Jun 18 2012, 01:10 PM)
Nope..thats not normal. As a comparison COSC requirement are like -2s to plus 8 sec a day (IIANM)

If anything is above 1 minute..its time to bring it to a watch maker and have it checked out
COSC requires a watch to be -4 ~ +6s

For laco i think it should be around 10~15s/day. I suspect the watch was magnetized. if that the case just get the watch checked (if it is really so) without opening the case and get it demagnetized. it is a less than 5mins job and they might not charge you.
sshark
post Jun 18 2012, 03:09 PM

183 posts

It is far more accurate than any Swiss mechanical watches. I found that the bracelet for some models are not as good as other Swiss watches like IWC or Rolex. I do not mean that it feels cheap. It feels sturdy and solid. It is minor at the clasp where there is a mm gap when it is closed.

Another concern is, should you have problem with GS, it will be sent back to Japan to service. It might take a month or so and it eats into your warranty.

Which GS model are you looking for?

QUOTE(shinjun @ Jun 18 2012, 03:03 PM)
Just a simple question.

How do you all find about Grand Seiko compare to swiss watch like TAG and so on.

Thought of buying 1.
This post has been edited by sshark: Jun 18 2012, 03:11 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0246sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:45 AM