5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

spicediablo
post Jan 4 2012, 06:30 PM

114 posts

^Thanks for the reply. I'm kinda very careful owner. But just wondering if polishing it helps....smile.gif
spicediablo
post Jan 5 2012, 08:47 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ Jan 4 2012, 11:34 PM)
Dent cannot be polished off. Light scratches maybe. You should check with the shop people where you bought your watch, they should be able to help.
Thanks!I shall check with them..
spicediablo
post Jan 6 2012, 10:15 AM

114 posts

^Nice one
spicediablo
post Jan 6 2012, 09:37 PM

114 posts

I am currently having an Orient star retrograde which set me back around 1.6k. So for 3k, I think you can get something better than mine.smile.gif. It is my first proper watch as well...smile.gif

QUOTE(lky88 @ Jan 6 2012, 07:00 PM)
Hey guys, not really a watch person but i really like them . I'm thinking of buying something automatic around rm3k ( willing to stretch abit if i really like it )
Will be using very often and would be my first proper watch .
Suggestions?
spicediablo
post Jan 8 2012, 09:21 PM

114 posts

Do they sell straps for Oris F1? I have a replica watch with a broken strap. sad.gif

QUOTE(fluffy6640 @ Jan 7 2012, 04:28 PM)
Got a 20mm pvd Zulu for 45.cheaper than most that I can find online.
spicediablo
post Jan 9 2012, 10:05 AM

114 posts

I share the same opinion. I don't mind them standing behind me though so that I can view the watches conveniently(asking for their assistance to open the display)

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Jan 9 2012, 09:48 AM)
Truth be told, I don't really care if I'm attended to when I first step in or not.
I always find it to be a major annoyance when I'm browsing through their selection and they insist on standing beside me and trying to make small talk.
But I also have a habit of putting my hands behind my back when browsing haha. They can only see the clasp laugh.gif
spicediablo
post Jan 10 2012, 10:26 AM

114 posts

In cases like this, I normally walk off. It's not like I am so hardup for their watches. Since they do not want my business, no point in browsing anymore..

QUOTE(lky88 @ Jan 9 2012, 04:51 PM)
the thing is , its not they don't serve me , they treat me like im going to nick something from them eventhough EVERYTHING is in the glass box/ or i feel like it .
At the very least they do like they're annoyed with me .. very bad service .

On topic, what about victorinox watches?
spicediablo
post Jan 10 2012, 05:25 PM

114 posts

^Looks sporty...Love the orange accent!!
spicediablo
post Jan 13 2012, 10:08 AM

114 posts

I thought it's just me but look like 21600bph is slightly jerky..smile.gif
spicediablo
post Jan 13 2012, 10:16 AM

114 posts

Too many autos then have to adjust everytime u wanna wear one...smile.gif
spicediablo
post Jan 13 2012, 01:07 PM

114 posts

Guys,

My orient uses 40a50 movement which is in-house. Does it mean it's designed from scratch up? Not based on any movement?
spicediablo
post Jan 13 2012, 03:25 PM

114 posts

So small....
spicediablo
post Jan 13 2012, 04:04 PM

114 posts

Thanks Jason. I would imagine in-house development will require great effort as it is designed totally from ground up. Modifying some one's work should be easier...

QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 13 2012, 03:27 PM)
In house simply means that it is self-developed.

e.g. ETA, part of the Swatch group makes the most movements. Technically, Swatch automatics and Longines automatics that uses ETA movements are using in house movements, as they are all in the same house (same family, same group - Swatch).

Tag Heuer that purchases ETA movements and put it in their watches would then not be an in-house movement.
Therefore, Orient and Seiko, both uses in-house movements. Likewise with Alba watches, which is a subsidiary of Seiko and uses Seiko movements.

sometimes there are some grey areas, examples such as Rolex purchasing the El Primero movement from Zenith to be placed in their Rolex Daytona. Although Rolex slowed the bph of the movement down and made extensive changes, it is still NOT considered an in-house movement.

however, Tag Heuer recently purchased a Seiko movement and made extensive changes, and they claim it is an in-house movement, which in my personal opinion is utter rubbish. That's like saying BMW bought Proton Campro engine, put on a turbocharger and made some changes and call it a German engine.

I love the Tag Heuer designs, but I think they are taking their customers for a ride.
spicediablo
post Feb 9 2012, 07:58 AM

114 posts

Pardon me, noob here

How come the watches have same dials but different brand? Citizen and Campanola related?
QUOTE(nando @ Feb 8 2012, 10:32 PM)
ck+ patron + hanz.....congrats...wear in good health!  smile.gif

silverstan...must say..the PP is mesmerizing!

Added on February 8, 2012, 10:37 pm

beautiful man..what's the damage?
spicediablo
post Mar 7 2012, 03:02 PM

114 posts

If you wear your automatic mechanical watch often, there is no need to worry about watch going dead. My PW 40 hours no problem being a daily watch. Sat and Sun sometimes less power reserve due to less wear.

QUOTE(ongLAI @ Mar 7 2012, 02:56 PM)
What if the watch is Mechanical type but need to rotate manually max can tahan 40 hours one time... is that will make the watch last longer? any pros and cons? Or should i just grab the one with automatic mechanical?
spicediablo
post Mar 7 2012, 04:30 PM

114 posts

Naturally auto wind will have thicker as they have more parts to accomodate..laugh.gif

QUOTE(ongLAI @ Mar 7 2012, 03:47 PM)
How about the thickness, the thicker the better?
Actually i am comparing the 2 watches below which almost around my budget.
Oris is very thin and need manual rotate while Maurice is auto.
Oris Artelier Small Second

Maurice Lacroix - Pontos Date
spicediablo
post Mar 13 2012, 03:25 PM

114 posts

Snatch theft and robbery quite common nowadays. It's best to not be centre of attraction...laugh.gif

QUOTE(deriku @ Mar 13 2012, 03:12 PM)
Is it so dangerous to wear a Rolex in town nowadays? I thought Malaysia is the 19th safest country in the world biggrin.gif
Sorry for my ignorance cos I don't own one and have not been spending much time in KL for much of the past 2 years.
spicediablo
post Mar 13 2012, 04:14 PM

114 posts

The keyword here is attention...laugh.gif

QUOTE(ck77 @ Mar 13 2012, 03:59 PM)
Stainless steel Rolex I don't find any problem.
Unless you are wearing 2 tones or gold rolex.
spicediablo
post Mar 13 2012, 04:28 PM

114 posts

thumbup.gif

QUOTE(adkins981 @ Mar 13 2012, 04:15 PM)
its dangerous if u don't take precaution.. avoid lonely/dark areas... take precautions and the risk of getting into an incident decreases..

to add on to be safer, don't wear a rolex, get an IWC tongue.gif  tongue.gif
spicediablo
post Apr 20 2012, 11:34 AM

114 posts

You are referring to this?

http://www.iwc.com/en-us/collection/portuguese/IW5001/

Love IWC watch but i can only take <40mm watches as I have small wrist.sad.gif

QUOTE(gladfly @ Apr 20 2012, 11:05 AM)
There are many IWC fans in Malaysia..even non WIS people knows a IWC. I have a soft spot for the IWC brand...but funnily...I have yet to acquire any..came close so many times. They have some great watches...IMHO the Pilot range and the Portugese range is simply in a league of its own.Only problem is they are expensive and dont have a strong pre-owned market unlike Rolex. Their new watches tends to be oversized which I cant wear. The Big Ingenuir is such a great looking watch but at 46mm its just too big. However, the Portuguese range is just right...the 5004, 7 days Auto is the "dress" watch as far I am concern and hopefully will be my next watch... smile.gif

Added on April 20, 2012, 11:08 am

But...you run the risk of buying an "unknown" watch. It could be stolen..?

IMHO..get a receipt for the peace of mind. At least anything goes wrong..you can always show that you bought it from the shop.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0251sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:19 AM