The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

spicediablo
post Dec 26 2011, 08:26 AM

114 posts

post some pics bro.....smile.gif

QUOTE(Guenhwyvar @ Dec 26 2011, 02:55 AM)
End up bought myself an Orient black mako but I happy with it.  laugh.gif

Added on December 26, 2011, 9:36 amPatrn33, What kinda of tool are you referring?

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Dec 26 2011, 02:48 AM)
not sure if U can get them locally.
it is easy to change, just buy the tool and DIY!
This post has been edited by spicediablo: Dec 26 2011, 09:36 AM
spicediablo
post Dec 26 2011, 06:07 PM

114 posts

^Just choose a file and attach it. There is a box at the bottom of the window...smile.gif
spicediablo
post Dec 26 2011, 06:59 PM

114 posts

Thanks patryn33. Will look around hardware shop and see if they have this...

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Dec 26 2011, 06:25 PM)
youtube, google has the instructions and what you need.
http://www.thewatchprince.com/Changing-Your-Watch-Band
spicediablo
post Dec 27 2011, 04:13 PM

114 posts

^Looks good. Love the side by side day date...smile.gif
spicediablo
post Dec 27 2011, 04:24 PM

114 posts

^ Not sure about the price but I got my orient star retrograde for 1600++. Fantastic value too.. Maybe you can look around the net for an idea of the reasonable price...

This post has been edited by spicediablo: Dec 27 2011, 04:24 PM
spicediablo
post Dec 28 2011, 09:02 AM

114 posts

Deriku, what is the normal price range for Orient?

QUOTE(deriku @ Dec 27 2011, 05:22 PM)
That's a Mido All Dial Diver, on sale by grey dealer for the same price.
http://www.bodying.my/mido-watches-m8370-4...1/watches/23046

2.8k is fair I guess. I would try to further nego, cos personally would not pay such an amount for a non-chrono Mido.

Btw 1.6k is a lot of money for an Orient, but as long as you're happy smile.gif
spicediablo
post Dec 28 2011, 09:33 AM

114 posts

Besides the retrograde, I really love the details and quality of this watch. It's quite 'heavy'. Each dial has a different background and it winds up easily. Every morning, the PR will be down to about 30 hours but by lunch time, I would have full PR of 40 hours. Mind you, I am an office worker( don't really move a lot)smile.gif. BTW, how expensive is this longines? 4 retrograde!!

QUOTE(deriku @ Dec 28 2011, 09:30 AM)
I paid less than 1k for my open dial Rally. But on second thought, yours being an Orient Star JDM model (I think), also with a retrograde complication, the price is not bad.

Have always liked the retrograde function (e.g. ML Masterpiece, Longines Master)&nbsp; but just can't justify the spending right now biggrin.gif

4 retrograde functions!
This post has been edited by spicediablo: Dec 28 2011, 12:37 PM
spicediablo
post Dec 28 2011, 09:48 AM

114 posts

Mine takes 20 hand winds to get to max... which is perfect for new mechanical watch user like me just in case i forgot to wear it for one day, I'll still be able to 'recover' the charge in a short time.

QUOTE(deriku @ Dec 28 2011, 09:44 AM)
The Longines is USD3750 on prestigetime. Agree that Orient watches take little effort to wind, at least compared to my Seiko Monster. Shaking it for about 10min brings the PR from 0 - 40.
This post has been edited by spicediablo: Dec 28 2011, 09:49 AM
spicediablo
post Dec 28 2011, 11:11 AM

114 posts

As I know,not all automatic watches support handwinding.You have to check if your model supports it. As for number of turns, it depends on your engine. If you could list down your model, maybe sifus here can advise you...smile.gif

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 28 2011, 11:07 AM)
For an automatic mechanical watch, it is alright/necessary to wind the watch manually by turning its knob? And what is the usual number of turns to avoid overwinding? Thanks.
spicediablo
post Dec 28 2011, 11:47 AM

114 posts

Mind to share the price of this beautiful piece?

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 28 2011, 11:32 AM)
Not mine yet, going to make the purchase soon after deliberating for months. It is the Raymond Weil 2838-STC-00659 model. ETA 2824 according to patryn33. I may not be wearing it during weekends, thus it would be great if a little manual winding can help  smile.gif
spicediablo
post Dec 28 2011, 12:33 PM

114 posts

^ So my retrograde orient is not entry level then...tongue.gif
spicediablo
post Dec 28 2011, 01:50 PM

114 posts

Mine's Orient Star...neither royal nor orient 3 star... Just found out that my orient star has anti-reflective coating according to the link you posted....smile.gif

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Dec 28 2011, 12:48 PM)
u talking about this? which is on poljot 3133 which is base off Valjoux 7734. a good work horse. ppl say it is cheaper to maintain, I think if you can do it yourself. pay someone is same as swiss.

grey not original is not grey but replica! LOL..
grey vs AD... most case no factory 2yr warranty but can get huge discount. thats the trade off

Added on December 28, 2011, 12:51 pm

have u seen this? orient 3 star is their entry level range much like seiko 5. their Orient Royal is like Seiko GS.
http://www.orient-watch.jp/product/
This post has been edited by spicediablo: Dec 28 2011, 02:02 PM
spicediablo
post Dec 29 2011, 04:36 PM

114 posts

Any orient star retrograde owners here? My buckle is very difficult to fix. Not sure if it's my watch problem or it is common among this model....
spicediablo
post Dec 30 2011, 08:31 AM

114 posts

^How will it damage the mechanical watch if we adjust between that time? Sorry noob here..
spicediablo
post Dec 30 2011, 10:14 AM

114 posts

^ So basically, I have to change the time to 4 then change the date then change it back to correct time...smile.gif
spicediablo
post Dec 30 2011, 12:57 PM

114 posts

^I'm currently on Orient star retrograde so it's good to learn...smile.gif
spicediablo
post Jan 3 2012, 03:22 PM

114 posts

^Must cost a fortune....
spicediablo
post Jan 3 2012, 04:58 PM

114 posts

Sifus, would like to know if we wear a mechanical watch normally, will it get over-wound? My retrograde orient star winds up to max real fast and stays there. Sorry for the noob question...smile.gif
spicediablo
post Jan 3 2012, 06:27 PM

114 posts

^Hmm ic. It'll be pretty unpractical to take off the watch once it's fully wound up right?
spicediablo
post Jan 4 2012, 05:03 PM

114 posts

Guys, just noticed my 1 week old orient star retrograde has a small dent at the bezel. How do I repair it? Does polishing help? do I have to change the whole case?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:31 PM