The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

Catnip
post Jun 19 2012, 05:46 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(tjwn @ Jun 17 2012, 08:26 AM)
as for seiko kinetic, yes it is still using quartz but....theres no quartz crystal inside spring drive

http://www.thepurists.net/Patrons/Members/...an/article.html
Read the article that you posted carefully and try to understand how a trisynchro regulator in Seiko Spring Drive works. It is essentially quartz regulated mechanical watch that uses mechanical, electrical and electromagnetic energy.
Posted this in the Seiko thread previously.

QUOTE(h11g @ Jun 18 2012, 01:07 PM)
guys my laco has been running +3-4mins a day, it's that normal?
It's fast. I suspect that the balance wheel is not aligned properly and the hairspring could be touching something that causes the effective length of the hairsping to be shorter. Hence it is running faster. Did you drop the watch or has it been knocked around?

An competent watch repairer can easily fix this and regulate the movement.
Catnip
post Jul 2 2012, 07:07 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(chenhui87 @ Jul 1 2012, 08:15 PM)
guys, wanna ask for recommendation, any tissot automatic chronograph or automatic watch price falls around 1k??
No. But you can get a Swatch Automatic Chronograph for RM1.3K. It uses the same movement as the Tissot PRC200 Chrono that retails for RM2.65K. I'm not sure if Tissot or Swatch has increased their retail price.

is titus a reliable watch?is titus made in china?

Solvil et Titus
Most likely yes.

Collected my Tag Heuer today from LVMH, Central Plaza.
It will be 18 years old at the end of this year.

This post has been edited by Catnip: Jul 2 2012, 07:25 PM
Catnip
post Jul 10 2012, 10:48 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(spicediablo @ Jul 9 2012, 10:24 AM)
Hi guys,

Thinking of getting a Seiko 5 military watch as a daily beater. Model SNKH63K2. I went to Subang Parade but didn't manage to find it. Do you know where around Subang can I get this watch? Also, is it possible to get a deployment clasp? How much does it cost normally?
I dunno where in Subang, but saw it at Pertama Complex and Sg. Wang Plaza. Price. Below 400. Real men don't use deployment clasps. They wear metal bracelet. wink.gif

Catnip
post Jul 10 2012, 11:23 PM

1,633 posts

I haven't seen anyone selling the watch with the metal bracelet yet. Reference no: SNKH63K instead of SNKH63K2. It's possible to order it separately from Thong Sia or their authorized dealers.

Catnip
post Jul 11 2012, 12:34 AM

1,633 posts

Nylon isn't suitable for a daily beater since it traps dust, sweat and bits of skin. Not hygienic unless you are planning to wash it daily.
Catnip
post Aug 5 2012, 12:04 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Aug 4 2012, 03:49 PM)
apparently before london 2012 began dato and Lin Dan were discussing about their new watches outside the hotel...anybody knows what watches are they? sorry for the size of pic...so can be seen more clearly
I'm guessing that DLCW is holding a Richard Mille RM30 or RM35. He looks envious. laugh.gif
Catnip
post Aug 7 2012, 10:07 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Aug 5 2012, 02:16 AM)
how much is that watch man? not watch freak...
I don't consider myself one either. You can always UTSE to find out more info... wink.gif
Anyway, the RM 35 list price is US 99K.

QUOTE(ck77 @ Aug 7 2012, 06:23 PM)
FYI, there is a project watch by MWF.
Register yourself if anyone is interested.
Price will be RM3k - RM3.5k depends on total numbers.

http://www.malaysiawatchforum.com/index.ph...g66871.html#new

From the link:
Case - 44mm wide Cusn8 bronze case
Lug - 24mm
Caseback - see through
Movement - Japan made automatic, hack n windable
Water resistant - 300 m with Double diomand system screw down lock crown
Dial N hands - as shown in picture, dark brown with lum tec famous lume technology
Strap - 2 nos - leather and rubber
Warranty - standard by lum tec

Price - rm3000 - rm3500 depends on numbers
Its probably going to have a Miyota 9 series movement inside.
The design does not appeal to me. A dial with second markers would be better since the movement is going to have a second stop function.

Catnip
post Aug 8 2012, 06:14 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Aug 7 2012, 10:29 PM)
Yes, they do.
Ya miyota movement. Different ppl different taste  smile.gif
Looks like it uses NH35 instead. Based on Seiko 4R35.
The original Lum-Tec M54 design is better.
Lum-Tec M Bronze M54 Automatic

Aye or Nay?
Catnip
post Aug 11 2012, 09:26 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 10 2012, 09:52 PM)
cant believe ppl are debating on what a fictional figure's choice of watch is...kinda like debating what kinda underwear superman wears...
then again, what about all the seiko's bond used? tongue.gif
QUOTE(yonggoh @ Aug 10 2012, 10:48 PM)
Defintely bad form... but also a tribute to the trends at the time when digital and quartz was all the rage...
Bad form? Nah. I consider the literary James Bond as written in the novels by Ian Fleming to be the canon source of James Bond. Not the movies.

How I Found the Original James Bond Watch

Naming James Bond watch brands throughout the series would have perfectly, intimately served Fleming, then. But that’s not what he did.
Why not? Because, purposefully, Bond’s watch needed to be a commodity due to the nature of his work. This is confirmed by the copy of a letter provided to me by Lucy Fleming, the author’s niece. In correspondence dated June 5, 1958, Ian Fleming responded to a fan by the name of B. W. Goodden, stating that the practice of James Bond, ‘in fact, is to use fairly cheap, expendable wrist watches on expanding metal bracelets….’
So the Seiko and other brands that James Bond did wear in the films are as what the author described in the novels. He isn't a watch snob. wink.gif James Bond did wore a Rolex, not a Submariner but a Rolex Explorer I in the novel On Her Majesty's Secret Service.

If Ian Fleming were alive today, he would've dropped dead seeing James Bond pushing Omega watches now.

Catnip
post Aug 15 2012, 09:46 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Darkstar1234 @ Aug 15 2012, 08:58 PM)
What do you guys think of this watch?

Would be nice if you could provide the link to where you found the watch in the future.
<LINK>

Too expensive for a plain quartz watch. Could get a Seiko Quartz Chronograph for less.
Catnip
post Aug 15 2012, 11:38 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Darkstar1234 @ Aug 15 2012, 11:04 PM)
Sorry, I just google the pic because the original pic from the site which I plan to buy from doesn't portray the watch nicely.

I'm actually getting it for US$125 from creationwatches.com

Is this price tag justifiable then?
My personal opinion. No.
In the end, it all depends on your tastes.
Here's a link to all the watches available for less than USD 150.
<LINK>

You can get a nice solar powered quartz or automatic watches for less.

Catnip
post Aug 23 2012, 06:26 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Aug 23 2012, 10:49 AM)
My watch of > 10 years just died on me.

http://instagram.com/p/Op4DhQsQ8V/?fb_acti...A%22ogexp%22%7D

I plan to buy a new watch with budget between RM500-RM700.
No particular preference and all ideas welcomed..
Maybe something like what i have now but automatic movement would be nice

Any particular watch to recommend?
Automatic chronograph watches are expensive.

For your budget, you can get a Seiko 5, Divers automatic or the usual Seiko quartz chrono.

If you can increase your budget, consider getting:
Seiko solar powered chronograph
Seiko Sportura or Velatura kinetic direct drive chronograph

If you want a cheap Swiss chronograph.
Look at Swatch Irony Chrono Automatic collection.
RM1.3K

Tissot auto chrono costs double that price.
Catnip
post Aug 24 2012, 06:19 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Aug 24 2012, 04:55 PM)
wow 15400? 15202? 40th anni?
blue? black? white?
can't wait for your post bro  rclxms.gif
The above pic is of an Audemars Piguet Calibre 2120 movement. An ultra thin movement. Definitely not a Royal Oak.
Catnip
post Aug 24 2012, 07:03 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Aug 24 2012, 06:54 PM)
oh is it... i was pretty sure it was a 2121 from google images
hmm.gif
Lol. They look similar from the back.

Thought you were getting an Audemars Piguet Classique Ultra Thin. biggrin.gif

Added:
More info on that movement.
<Link>

This post has been edited by Catnip: Aug 24 2012, 07:09 PM
Catnip
post Aug 25 2012, 12:50 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Irfan2397 @ Aug 24 2012, 11:25 PM)
Hello all watch sifu here,Can recommend me watch budget <3k.Swiss brand,automatic,tachymater and etc.And  i prefer futuristic design.
Tq Irfan
What exactly do you mean by futuristic design?
There is nothing futuristic about automatic watches. They all operate using escapements that have been around for more than 700 years. wink.gif
For your budget, look at Swatch and Tissot watch collections with C01.211 movement.

Catnip
post Aug 26 2012, 12:09 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Irfan2397 @ Aug 25 2012, 12:13 PM)
Which model?
What are you referring to? You have yet to provide feedback on your definition of futuristic design even though I've given information that meets your budget and specs. UTSE.
In exchange for a large snogurt for two the following Sunday, I would be happy to give a few suggestions....
Catnip
post Sep 2 2012, 06:24 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 2 2012, 06:04 PM)
yeah in australia. know how much in malaysia?
I think can get below 1K after nego.

QUOTE(saru04 @ Sep 2 2012, 06:09 PM)
Now I really can't wait to get mine.
That Tissot is fitted with a cheap G10.211 (4 jeweled) sealed quartz movement. If you want a better one, look for Certina DS First Chronograph that is fitted with an ETA 251.262 (27 jeweled) quartz movement.

Added on September 2, 2012, 6:28 pm
QUOTE(sshark @ Sep 2 2012, 06:20 PM)
Why did the hospital disallow their staff to wear a watch?
Curb the spread of MRSA.

This post has been edited by Catnip: Sep 2 2012, 06:28 PM
Catnip
post Sep 4 2012, 10:30 PM

1,633 posts

Kenneth Cole is no longer available in Malaysia and Singapore.
Catnip
post Sep 8 2012, 11:04 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Sep 8 2012, 09:01 PM)
A bit of a dilemma here. I've got this mid-90's Tag 1500 series which is worth nothing now but except sentimental value (it was my high school graduation present and the watch I worn during my pak-toh years with my wife).

Haven't touched it for years but just went for a battery change and service... and gatal asked them if can fix the bezel which rotates smoothly now (no more click). The sifu says have to change the bezel.

Haven't got a quote yet but should I fix it?
Why don't you send the watch to LVMH Tag Heuer Service Center at Central Plaza? They can examine the watch make an evaluation, check the parts availability and give you a quote.
Had the end link and crown changed on my 20 year old Tag earlier this year. Check my previous post in this thread.

Catnip
post Sep 11 2012, 11:43 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Sep 10 2012, 07:21 PM)
On another note.. being a watch noob... I think I know why a Patek and a Seiko is priced so differently.
The reason for the difference

Seiko makes more than 10 million watches annually under several brands.
Patek Phillipe around 38,000 watches per year.
But if you only count Seiko's high end watch production from Shizuku-ishi Watch Studio;
30,000 units per year.

SEIKO's Shizuku-ishi Watch Studio Visit
Two Meisters of SEIKO - Part I
Two Meisters of SEIKO - Part II

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 11 2012, 10:35 AM)
ppl who wear pam have napolean complexes.
ok, time to hide from the flames biggrin.gif

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Sep 11 2012, 10:49 AM)
And ppl who wear Rolex?
ps: just curious.. not trolling.
Ppl who wear Rolex are posers. tongue.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0619sec    1.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:23 PM