Catnip
post May 1 2012, 01:13 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(KeroroQ @ Apr 29 2012, 07:21 PM)
Anyone heard of Orient watches?
are they ok? plan to get one for my cousin's birthday smile.gif
http://www.orient-watch.com/products/categ...category_id=136
Orient watches have been selling here for a few decades already. It is now a subsidiary of Seiko. One thing that I notice about Orient automatics is the smooth rotor movement compared to Seiko. They are ok and some say that the finishing is better than Seiko.

QUOTE(matsheikh @ Apr 29 2012, 07:54 PM)
Now aiming for Bell & Ross 92 series.
Any comment from sifu here? Price range in malaysia? Should i purchase from bell & ross boutique?
Firstly, I'm not a sifu. Bell & Ross have nice designs but I think that they are overpriced. Most of their range of watches are using standard ETA movements that IMO does not justify their high price.
Catnip
post May 1 2012, 12:06 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ May 1 2012, 10:23 AM)
standard eta is misleading.
I believe what u meant is unmod eta movement usually 2892, but they are at elabore grade or better
Yes. Thank you for clarifying. I should have said stock ETA movements instead. It was 1am in the morning, and I was a bit tired.
I'd like to add:
There are 4 grades for ETA movements (standard, elaborate, top and chronometer) and elaborated is the second higher grade.
A Top grade ETA 2892-A2-TOP with Glucydur Balance costs roughly USD270 from the retail market.
It is adjusted in five positions with an average rate of +/-4 seconds/day, with a maximum daily variation of +/-15 seconds/day.
Catnip
post May 11 2012, 07:39 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ May 11 2012, 07:24 PM)
Tag center? as in their authorized dealer?
TAG Heuer Malaysia
Customer Service
A division of LVMH Watch & Jewellery Malaysia Sdn Bhd
Suite 2305-06, 23rd Floor, Central Plaza
34, Jalan Sultan Ismail
50250 Kuala Lumpur
Telephone : (+60) 03 2141 6328
Fax : (+60) 03 2143 9257

I'll be paying them a visit next week. Hopefully, they will roll out the red carpet for me. laugh.gif
Catnip
post May 12 2012, 01:08 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(michaelzolt @ May 11 2012, 10:26 PM)
Don't drive a big car to this plaza! The driving up to find parking the lane is so narrow.. Very easy for your car to kiss de wall
I don't sweat on the small stuff and let the chauffeur handle the situation. My only dilemma is what car should I choose to take out from the garage?. Rolls Royce Phantom or Maybach 63? Or maybe should I just take the monorail just like everyone else? laugh.gif
Catnip
post May 14 2012, 10:06 PM

1,633 posts

Went to TAG Heuer Service center to get my watch serviced today. The 1st service after 17years +.

Mine is a TAG Heuer 2000 series model WE1221-2 Mid sized watch. Same watch pictured here.
Bought on 21/12/94. If it is rare like what was posted in the thread, I'll keep it.
Price at that time, MYR 1570 after 10% discount. These days Swiss watch prices have gone through the roof. If I'm not mistaken, you can get a Rolex GMT for around 8K at that time.

I was pleasantly surprised that TAG Heuer still keep parts for my watch.
Breakdown of charges:
Maintenance Service - RM 120.00
Change bracelet end fitting - RM 50.00
Change Crown - RM 200.00 blink.gif
Total - RM 370.00

Since I opted for the crown replacement, it will take 2 months. Otherwise I could collect it on the same day for maintenance and change bracelet end fitting.
I'm satisfied with their service and will probably get another TAG in the future.
Catnip
post May 14 2012, 10:14 PM

1,633 posts

You could try City Time at Pertama Complex. They offered me a good discount off the retail price there.
Catnip
post May 14 2012, 10:25 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ May 14 2012, 10:16 PM)
I'm going down to S'pore next month for a short trip with the family. Any particular place that I should look into?
I haven't been to Singapore for a very long time. Last time was in 1990. Maybe someone else can help. laugh.gif
Catnip
post May 16 2012, 06:31 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ May 16 2012, 03:03 PM)
thanks mang. but roughly how much will it cost? hmm.gif
Read their Terms and Conditions here.
Catnip
post May 17 2012, 09:33 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(lemonboy @ May 17 2012, 05:14 PM)
Any idea how much does it cost to service my IWC?

Considering to send for service after 2.5 years wearing it...
How much depends on the model and movement of your watch. Anyway, it is good to send it for servicing if you have worn the watch daily for 2.5 years. The moving parts of the watch needs to be cleaned and relubricated.
Some movements need more care and attention than others. Not sure about yours since you never specified, but you can see the consequences of not servicing a Rolex here.

In a way, one even might say that a Seiko 7S26 auto winding mechanism is better than a Cal 3135. wink.gif

Catnip
post May 18 2012, 08:44 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Lotus1109 @ May 18 2012, 03:19 PM)
am looking for seiko / citizen brand watch with price range 300 - 500 ... Any recommendations??? Thanks in advance!
For an automatic, I recommend a Seiko SRP207K1. There are also several color versions. SRP201K1 (White), SRP203K1 (Blue) and SRP205K1 (Green).
All are powered by a Seiko Cal. 4R36 movement with stop second function (for easy calibrating to atomic time), with day and date and can be found for less than 500 while some of the more expensive watches in the Seiko / Citizen range are non hacking.

Similar to a basic Swiss automatic watch, but at a lower price. brows.gif

I forgot to mention that the 4R36 can also be handwound....

This post has been edited by Catnip: May 18 2012, 09:54 PM
Catnip
post May 18 2012, 10:56 PM

1,633 posts

Yup. For Swiss automatic movements yes. For Japanese movements no.
Catnip
post May 19 2012, 12:30 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ May 18 2012, 11:19 PM)
Wow..so for Jap autos...you have to shake shake shake kau kau before can start ticking ah?

Hmmm..didnt know that..always presumed all auto..you need to wind like 30 times after they stop..

Oh well goes to show u learn new things evceryday smile.gif
For 7S26, 7S35, 7S36 and 4R15 just need to swing from side to side in a horizontal arc for about 30 seconds if it stops and wear it. The normal wrist motion will do the rest.
Not a big issue anyway if the watch is worn more than 8 hours daily and it has roughly a 40 hours reserve.

My 7S26 watch has a daily gain of +4 secs, around +30 secs a week. To put it in another way, it has a daily accuracy of 99.995% and I don't have to pay through the nose to get a good accurate mechanical watch.

Catnip
post May 19 2012, 11:07 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(big2me @ May 19 2012, 04:32 AM)
awesome seiko
Can i know how much the price range?  rclxms.gif
Your watch reach COSC chronometer standard already.
For plain models, the lowest price for a Seiko 5 is RM180~RM200 after discount and go all the way to RM1K+ for those diving and sports models.

COSC specs? IMO it's outdated and merely a marketing tool. wink.gif
Bear in mind that the specs listed in the link are the old standard. I'm not willing to buy the technical papers for the revised ISO3159:2009 standard.

No, my watch does not meet COSC specs. Since 7S26 is non hackable, it can't be synched with an atomic time. So the relative accuracy will be in the range of -25/+35 seconds per day. More importantly, the accuracy of the watch also depends on the owner. If someone is riding a heavily vibrating motorcycle, operating a machine like a jackhammer or an impact drill etc, then the accuracy will be different for that individual. The +4 sec daily gain result is from my daily use and daily activity. Not static position like the COSC tests.
Catnip
post May 21 2012, 07:05 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(lol1313 @ May 21 2012, 07:01 PM)
can i get an automatic chronograph swiss made watch at that price?
Only in your dreams. laugh.gif
Catnip
post May 23 2012, 01:58 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 21 2012, 07:26 PM)
swiss brand can la tongue.gif
True. But, if the person asking the question would increase the budget from 1K to 1.3K then that person can get a Swatch Irony Chrono Automatic #SVGB400.

Swiss Made = Yes
Chronograph Function = Yes
Automatic = Yes
Catnip
post Jun 4 2012, 07:19 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(JackLee88 @ Jun 2 2012, 11:03 AM)
Quick question. If you guys were to choose any watch under Rm25k as a daily watch, etc, a watch suitable for  shopping, going out, lunch, dinner, work, uni, dates, formal events, parties, vacations, which watch will you all choose? Oh, and it has to look good on a leather strap.  thumbup.gif
This.

In addition, if I have to choose a single watch to wear in my lifetime, that would be it.
Catnip
post Jun 6 2012, 06:07 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 5 2012, 09:00 PM)
i've always wondered what is it about the watch stores here that they think everyone in malaysia likes to wear their watch loose like a bracelet when it comes to resizing...
dont they ever think that they are some ppl who like to wear them snug?
I dunno, perhaps they are afraid/don't know how to remove the removable links on the bracelet to get a perfect fit? I prefer mine to be snug with my index finger able to inserted under the clasp. Due to water retention my wrist will be slightly bigger in the morning and the braclet feels tighter.

QUOTE(gladfly @ Jun 6 2012, 12:40 PM)
Really.. I thought its rubber smile.gif But they are expensive as hell..bought my Omega PO OEM rubber strap with deployment for 1.5k  rclxub.gif

Added on June 6, 2012, 12:44 pm
Actually you can get spring drive for less than 15k. Not GS but Anantha's range. smile.gif
Agreed on the bracelets. Somehow...they just lack the final bit of class when compared with IWC or Rolex (new ones) OlderRollies bracelets kinda sucks  hmm.gif
Those Swiss watch companies will charge as much as they want for their straps and bracelets as long as they can get away with it. When people stop buying, then perhaps they will charge more reasonbly. Currently the Swiss watch industry is experiencing tremendous growth.

Seiko Ananta Spring Drive GMT RP of USD 4.3K
Seiko Ananta Spring Drive Chronograph RP USD 6.4K

I'd love to get one but the only problem that I forsee buying these watches is when you need to send it for servicing or repairs. I wonder if Thong Sia (Malaysia) will assist in getting the watch serviced through their channels. hmm.gif

Catnip
post Jun 7 2012, 11:55 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Jun 6 2012, 06:15 PM)
Unfortunely they can't help much. The most they can do is help you to send to Japan for servicing.
Prepare to wait for months and cost an arm and leg for servicing cost.
I read that Seiko employs only 5 persons (including 1 female employee) to assemble the spring drive movements. Perhaps these same persons are responsible for service and repairs that contributes to long waiting times.

QUOTE(yeehai @ Jun 6 2012, 09:31 PM)
Yes, you are right. I have called Thong Sia quoting of sending my spring drive for servicing after 4 years of running. It ends up advising me not to send as long as the watch is running fine becuase of the cost(few K in RM) and hazzles(send back to Japan)
What they are telling you is equivalent to running your car without servicing till it finally has problems. The glide wheel on the spring drive spins at 8 revolutions per second = 28800 revolutions per hour. Imagine after 4 years. Can the lubricant last much longer? Better get a second opinion from Seiko Japan.
Catnip
post Jun 14 2012, 11:12 PM

1,633 posts

A jumping second hand is easier to read than a sweeping second hand.
If anyone wants a quartz with sweeping second hand then get a Bulova Accutron.

The latest is the Bulova Precisionist.
Catnip
post Jun 16 2012, 01:39 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Jun 15 2012, 03:39 PM)
Aktuali..if I am not mistaken the spring drive is also semi quartz..something about useing electric impluses. But the movement is so sweet...just sweep only no tick tick tick..
It is a quartz mechanical movement and more expensive than a Bulova.

Nothing wrong with a ticking seconds hand and it has the advantage of easy and precise reading the seconds off on the dial. It all depends on how one uses the watch. Seeing how my old Seiko Kinetic is running perfectly after overhaul, I'm planning to add another Seiko Kinetic and Quartz Chronograph in my collection in the future.

Bulova Precisionist Champlain Review
Bulova Precisionist Claremont Review

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0429sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:42 PM