The Watch Thread v4, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

gladfly
post Apr 20 2012, 11:05 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(oblong1 @ Apr 20 2012, 12:12 AM)
what reputation does iwc have in kl? seems alot of people in singapore talk about it, but not here.
There are many IWC fans in Malaysia..even non WIS people knows a IWC. I have a soft spot for the IWC brand...but funnily...I have yet to acquire any..came close so many times. They have some great watches...IMHO the Pilot range and the Portugese range is simply in a league of its own.Only problem is they are expensive and dont have a strong pre-owned market unlike Rolex. Their new watches tends to be oversized which I cant wear. The Big Ingenuir is such a great looking watch but at 46mm its just too big. However, the Portuguese range is just right...the 5004, 7 days Auto is the "dress" watch as far I am concern and hopefully will be my next watch... smile.gif

Added on April 20, 2012, 11:08 am
QUOTE(MeToo @ Apr 19 2012, 03:56 PM)
Um... so more discount with no receipt. Will the lack of receipt affect the warranty issue?
But...you run the risk of buying an "unknown" watch. It could be stolen..?

IMHO..get a receipt for the peace of mind. At least anything goes wrong..you can always show that you bought it from the shop.

This post has been edited by gladfly: Apr 20 2012, 11:08 AM
gladfly
post Apr 20 2012, 02:30 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(spicediablo @ Apr 20 2012, 11:34 AM)
You are referring to this?

http://www.iwc.com/en-us/collection/portuguese/IW5001/

Love IWC watch but i can only take <40mm watches as I have small wrist.sad.gif
yes...thanks for the correction..is should be 5001 ...5004 is the Big Pilot.

I love the silver with blue hands. Actually 40mm is just about unisized nowadays. Even girls wearing 40mm... :0
gladfly
post Apr 23 2012, 02:32 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Vryon @ Apr 23 2012, 12:41 PM)
Something bad happened today. Was changing my rolex bracelet then spring bar felt off and I couldnt find it. Where can I get one ? sad.gif help
I just had a similiar experiance. No need to go to RSC get a replacement.

Best way is take the watch to a watch repair shops. They have replacements (of course OEM). Reason for bringing the watch is to check the lug size for fitting.

Cheers

gladfly
post Apr 24 2012, 02:07 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Apr 23 2012, 05:55 PM)
impressed by all the top of the line watches u guys owned here notworthy.gif

sadly im not there yet to acquired any of those, hope one day i would be able to own an IWC thou laugh.gif

ok im considering a watch that is less than RM2k now, be it fashion watch, or watch specific brands.. what would u all recommend?

also, are those fashion watch ie CK, Emporio Armani, Armani Exchange, Fossil type of fashion watches actually reliable? i actually fancy Burberry watches a lot  tongue.gif  say to have it running for 3 years without fail mechanically?

or for RM2k, is it better to go for Tissot, Seiko and so on which mainly produces watches only?

what would be ur best buy if u have RM2k on hand to get a watch now?

pls suggest biggrin.gif and hopefully some pictures to make it more interesting icon_idea.gif

im looking at this actually:

what do u all think? this will cost roughly US$300++.. or are there any better range of watches?

pls guide me as im just into watches icon_rolleyes.gif
Dont fret..in good time your IWC will come along...

if I have 2k.. I will look at Tissot / Luminox or Seiko...probably a Seiko mechanical....nothing beats (pun intended) a beating watch....

gladfly
post Apr 25 2012, 02:21 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Apr 25 2012, 10:20 AM)
I doubt you are talking about 2 exact same watch one with COSC and one without. If you are saying omega Model A comes with cosc is more expensive then a different Model B, then the 2k extra isnt exactly for the COSC alone.

ps : For me, COSC is not a consideration, as I usually have to rewind my watches whenever I wear them anyway...
+1.

7750 is a crono. Are u worried that the crono may not be accurate?

To me COSC is overrated. Of course its set a benchmark but then again if accuracy is important ..might as well go for a quartz. If I am not mistaken , COSC needs to bewithin -1/+4 sec a day. Like the poster above said....the difference will not matter if you have to wind the watch once you left it after 2 days as you have to reset the time. I have never checked all my watches for accuracy to the second.....its just a waste of time.

I rather spend the extra $$$ on a in house movement... smile.gif

gladfly
post Apr 25 2012, 07:27 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Apr 25 2012, 05:40 PM)
Haha how can u miss Invicta... that brand is 'huge'  tongue.gif
"Huge" in the sense its overrated!!!!!

Move along nothing to see.... smile.gif

gladfly
post May 7 2012, 06:34 PM

579 posts

picture of it would be helpful..

Otherwise, does the second hands jump or sweep? If its sweeping then its a auto..if it jumps then its a quartz.

Usually quartz dont retain value well...

In respect of the scratches, you can polish it off by sending it to a watch repairman

Added on May 7, 2012, 6:42 pm
QUOTE(Red Tsubasa @ May 7 2012, 03:10 PM)
all Sifu Sifu here...... I thinking to get AP Off Shore Royal Oak ....do u guys think its worth for $$?
Wow..orang kaya spotted.. tongue.gif

By all means if you have the extra cash..AP ROOs are highly regarded as one of the best watches around...

Care to share which model if are in mind looking at? nod.gif

This post has been edited by gladfly: May 7 2012, 06:42 PM
gladfly
post May 7 2012, 08:40 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ May 7 2012, 07:35 PM)
Its not moving. Could it be broken ?  cry.gif
You say leh? If its not moving it sure is broken...

Try to send it to a watch repair shop..but mind you a crono auto is expensive to reapir lor...

gladfly
post May 17 2012, 03:17 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 17 2012, 12:28 PM)
how come ace jewellers can sell much lower than the boutique here?
i thought omega prices pretty much controlled worldwide?
ACE sells cheap as they sell it without VAT. The watch is actually not very expensive, cost wise. And yes ACE is very good. Only thing I worry as per above- the watch get lost in transit.

It still expensive in Malaysisa to buy a P.O. I saw somewhere someone buying a P.O 2500 for about 11k after disc in KL. The 2500 is being stopped and replaced by 8500 so they are clearing it out. But the 2500D is a bargain at 2330 Euros. Make sure its a 2500D ok...you should know by checking the serial it should start from 85XXXXX.

I have the 8500, and its more expensive than the 2500. But then again, if your budget can stretch, the 8500 is a really good watch smile.gif

Have fun
gladfly
post May 18 2012, 10:51 PM

579 posts

I thought all automatics can be hand wound?

gladfly
post May 18 2012, 11:19 PM

579 posts

Wow..so for Jap autos...you have to shake shake shake kau kau before can start ticking ah?

Hmmm..didnt know that..always presumed all auto..you need to wind like 30 times after they stop..

Oh well goes to show u learn new things evceryday smile.gif

gladfly
post May 19 2012, 11:13 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ May 19 2012, 02:26 PM)
I would be heading to Europe for a holiday and my last departing country is Holland.

Can any sifus here recommend where to buy watches in Amsterdam? Am looking at a Rolex Submariner. How are the prices there compared to prices in KL or SG as I know watches are tax free in Malaysia.
one word...

ACE ...
gladfly
post May 20 2012, 10:46 AM

579 posts

oh...i think they can source it for you even if they are not AD for the said brand ..why dont u just drop ACE a email and see if they can get the submariner for you? You plan to get the ceramic?

By the way..the price of the new ceramic is pretty same everywhere..as its a hot new release. No harm trying in Amsterdam or other areas in Europe smile.gif. Italy tend to be wee bit cheaper in watches too

This post has been edited by gladfly: May 20 2012, 10:47 AM
gladfly
post May 23 2012, 04:12 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(CheeZai @ May 23 2012, 09:21 AM)
16k+ before discount...
Ooo rather expensive RRP. I mean 16k for a 3 hand date and month complication Tag? Its on the high side le..

Hope you had a lot of discount for it.
gladfly
post May 23 2012, 06:36 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Ducki3s @ May 23 2012, 06:31 PM)
can get an omega with 16k
Yo canget a Omega quatz for less than 10k ooo

But then again..its a quartz smile.gif
gladfly
post May 24 2012, 03:20 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(CheeZai @ May 24 2012, 09:10 AM)
ya..i get 50% discount, for Grand Carrera...i wish to get OMEGA...
too bad he know the disty selling Tag only.... >.<
If so then its a good buy. TAG or Omega doesnt really matter. In the end its what you like that counts.
gladfly
post May 27 2012, 11:32 AM

579 posts

QUOTE(Naka7a @ May 24 2012, 05:39 PM)
certainly looks very fresh... perhaps, this targets to the younger crowd?

Added on May 24, 2012, 5:41 pm

talking about finding ur keys.... are those Nite Glowringsbright enough to be used as key rings? abit off topic lah i know...
I qA t the Omega Boutique and had a try when was changing for the rubber strap of my PO. Looks abit girl for me
gladfly
post May 29 2012, 04:46 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(arthur5011 @ May 29 2012, 02:52 PM)
I'm not sure about this series. But the new PO chrono is about 18k if I not mistaken.
There are 2 types of PO Crono. The 3313 (a Valjoux 7725 variant) based movement and the newer 9300(ETA exclusive fro Omega) movement.

As I know the RRP for the 3313 is about 18k. The 9300 is much more about 26k. Best is to check out both at an AD. Mind you the 9300 is ridiculously thick!!!!!!

This post has been edited by gladfly: May 29 2012, 04:46 PM
gladfly
post May 29 2012, 06:37 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 29 2012, 05:59 PM)
dunno about tritium replacements, but i imagine its going to be very hard to find someone to do it.
Of course..since its bloody radioactive...its dangerous to try to changethe tritium tubes le

gladfly
post May 30 2012, 03:16 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(JackLee88 @ May 29 2012, 08:18 PM)
Planning to buy a panerai for the first time. I've always like the design of it. I've been looking among all the models and I'm quite keen on getting the Pam312 as my first model. In-house movement, 3 day power reserve, transparent back casing, automatic, it's absolutely perfect for me! The only thing is that it's not COSC.

I know it's mostly for marketing purposes but i'm a little bit disappointed that it's not COSC certified. Any owners here have any comments on this piece, accuracy and the quality of this particular inhouse movement? Also, what is the best price of this piece after discount?  Thanks for the replies guys. smile.gif
Well..its one of the watches which I had in mind previously but didnt pull the trigger.

Anyways, back to your Q. I think the reason why its not COSC is 3 day power reserve= 72 hours. As the power reserves wind-down to maybe like 20 hours or so, watches with big power reaserve tends to be less accurate as the torque release tends to be less linear. Most of COSC watches power reserve are in the 2 days range. For EG IWC 5001 7 days reserve is also not COSC.

Anyways, as you mentioned COSC is just a marketing tool, some really expensive watches are not COSC, like PP/Hublot/AP/ALS and so on... If COSC is a must, get a Rolex or Omega since mostly COSC. But heck..if accuracy is so important, get a quartz then.

To me PAM is an icon. Easily recognizable, great finish and ahem..not that accurate.smile.gif. But its a great way to start smile.gif. The best thing is the straps. There are plenty of OEM straps around to play which is not too expensive. Where to buy..get from AD since PAM's price is rather standard across and well worth paying extra bit for the peace of mind . Hour-glass or Sincere comes to mind. If you want cheaper options, then grey importers like collector's time or Hang Thai watch shop warrants a look. Or you can look ofor a dealer by the nick of dsiewmy at Malaysianwatch forum for good prices.

Happy hunting

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0488sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:20 AM