Astro B.yond Episode IV (Version 9.0), The New World of Entertainment

zeone
post Feb 9 2012, 09:21 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 9 2012, 03:17 PM)
Let the decoder rest for 1 hour.... then test again for hissing sound.
Decoder = Snake ? As in hissing sound?
Dat's a good one! Haha! rclxm9.gif
zeone
post Feb 10 2012, 02:12 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Feb 10 2012, 12:50 PM)
I'm currently subscribed to ASTRO Byond but to my disappointment .. my Condo wasn't able to receive HD services and worse thing is the signal strength is pretty bad (ie. Out of 100% is like about 30% in a bar chart)

No idea on how to improve the signal strength as ASTRO management asked me to consult the condo's management on this matter. Sometimes its not heavy rain, mild rain with strong wind - the service got distorted.

Any advice for me ? smile.gif
If condo's T&C not allow individual Sat Dishes, then yu gotta follow Astro's advice.
A signal booster module might offer temp solution to PQ probs at yr end but not when source (condo dish reception) fails... tongue.gif
Sorry... sad.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 10 2012, 02:13 PM
zeone
post Feb 10 2012, 05:36 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Feb 10 2012, 02:28 PM)
Guess I can't do anything .. sad.gif
Just hope that the management will implement any countermeasures to improve the service if not lots more will started to send complain letters already.
A good place 2start moving towards infrastruture improvement is at nxt meeting of yr Residents Assoc ie if yr condo grp has one.

Best wishes & Good Luck! smile.gif
zeone
post Feb 12 2012, 12:47 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

Anyone care to share Signal Strength values of their Byond Decoder/PVR here?
Feel it wld help subscribers to kno if they shld call for re-alignment of their Sat Dishes. thumbup.gif

To start, here are mine :
PVR :
Tuner 1 : 141
Tuner 2 : 154

Are the readings good or below average? TQ! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 12 2012, 05:59 PM
zeone
post Feb 13 2012, 09:37 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 12 2012, 11:29 PM)
My B.yond decoder self-rebooted and I was able to watch my AOD even in heavy rain.
QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 13 2012, 12:34 AM)
I put in on standby... then on its own did a boot sequence.
Does it do that every time it rains? whistling.gif

IINM it only reboots itself when power is CUT OFF! tongue.gif

Rain outage is slightly improved with 65cm dish...need a 90-100cm dish to eliminate more of that prob... sad.gif
zeone
post Feb 13 2012, 10:27 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(chikana @ Feb 13 2012, 10:15 AM)
For byond PVR, the reading should be more than 120 is OK I think.
TQ very much for responding, Bro chikana!! notworthy.gif

Yu're the first...2care enuf 2share yr knowledge! TQ!

I've the only PVR in my area & thus kinda lost...no one 2share notes abt my system. sad.gif

The installer set up the Sat Dish by using only my neighbour's old 60cm dish as reference! Even the Sat Install'n setup was at No. 1 in list for Measat 3 & not 3A. sad.gif

Someone even posted here that his installer used User Defined Settings for his Sat Settings...
Anyone can post wat those settings & values are? TQ.

This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 13 2012, 10:32 AM
zeone
post Feb 13 2012, 02:02 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(chikana @ Feb 13 2012, 11:13 AM)
No prob Bo zeone  smile.gif
From my understanding, someone from Astro told me last time, the default frequency was at no 1 is because this is its Base Transponder out from the other 12. Not sure what is the meaning by base transponder but I guess it is the most high priority transponder  whistling.gif 

About the User Defined Settings, my installer told me that we should not use this settings unless Astro change the frequency setting e.g. change the code rate, new base frequency etc.  rclxub.gif
Tks a meg, Bro!! notworthy.gif

Am very grateful 4yr clarifications...answers which were not forthcoming...
My installer juz did his thing; totally ignoring my questions... like he juz had 2do wat he had 2do w/o any reasons wan!!
Like the Subscriber not need 2understand as long as it works!! Phew...
Me hv been brought up, trained 2find out & understand watever me gotta do wan... tongue.gif
TQ agin!! Hv nice day, Bro!
zeone
post Feb 13 2012, 09:25 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(HaVoC @ Feb 13 2012, 06:26 PM)
Thanks for your clarification, bro. Any idea when's the next promotion going to be and what's the usual discount?  brows.gif
Dun think wat yu're asking is public knowledge/info.
Yu can try calling Byond Dept of Astro for such info...if they hv, there's hope they might tell yu...

Good Luck!! icon_rolleyes.gif
zeone
post Feb 15 2012, 07:41 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Feb 15 2012, 12:53 AM)
Called Astro yday, will need to top up monthly rm20 for Astro Beyond.
Yup, that's for access to HD Channels...unless yu subs to Superpacks packages, then it's inclusive... smile.gif

Added on February 15, 2012, 7:43 amCNN HD on Astro? Guess we'll b kept waiting...& waiting...& waiting...doh.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 15 2012, 07:43 AM
zeone
post Feb 15 2012, 04:00 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 15 2012, 03:10 PM)
Byond Lifestyle HD is incl in Superpack 3. smile.gif

Added on February 15, 2012, 5:03 pmUPDATE : Yup, juz chk-ed & can confirm Food Network Asia is in Lifestyle HD Ch 706. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 15 2012, 05:03 PM
zeone
post Feb 16 2012, 08:32 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 15 2012, 09:27 PM)
I'm asking where's the subtitle, not where the channel at. sweat.gif  laugh.gif
Oh! blush.gif
Thot yr "subs" mean "subscriptions"... brows.gif rolleyes.gif
zeone
post Feb 16 2012, 02:39 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(MRSamurai @ Feb 16 2012, 10:50 AM)
can I connect Astro B.yond and PC at the same time to my HDTV HDMI port? Which one will come out on screen? The HD channels or whatever being played on my PC? i don't have HDTV or Astro Byond yet just want to ask in advance. Or you need to unplug one when using another  HDMI port?
As Bro Fubar20 posted, yu can select which connected device yu wanna view...HDMI1/2/3 & so on. tongue.gif
However, hopefully yu dun opt for TV with ONLY 1 HDMI port...cos then yu'd need a HDMI Switcher?
zeone
post Feb 16 2012, 09:44 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 16 2012, 05:12 PM)
Info on Astro Njoi service:

Total cost for NJOI = RM388. (Heard the installation are free)

using B.yond decoder & B.yond dish (SD channel in MPEG4 when?)

Hotline at 03-95438100 (8am-12am).
ATM wat channels are viewable?
Any HD channels?

Apologies if previously posted. blush.gif
zeone
post Feb 16 2012, 10:59 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Feb 16 2012, 10:32 PM)
read here
TQ very much!! smile.gif notworthy.gif
Juz felt like being in opposite pair of shoes...2b @receiving end...for a change? brows.gif

Now 2help others :
"In the second phase, NJOI service will be made available to all by the first quarter of 2012, where customers can purchase the decoder and satellite dish at a one-off payment, install the service and start to enjoy the 37 TV and radio channels in multiple languages for completely free, with no monthly subscription."

And also this related info :

"TV channels available on NJOI includes Astro Tutor TV, Astro Tutor TV PMR ,Astro Tutor TV SPM, Astro Awani, Astro Vannavil, Astro AEC, Astro Prima, Astro Xiao Tai Yang,  Astro Oasis, Makkal TV, CCTV4,  Bernama TV, Jia Yu Channel , TV1 and TV2."

Sorry... No HD Channels... Need 2pay for anything more... sad.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Feb 16 2012, 11:04 PM
zeone
post Feb 17 2012, 07:50 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Feb 17 2012, 06:20 AM)
The question now is how about the others  who pay 37.95 as entry fee though most of the channels hv been made free,the 18 channels on NJOI shld be free to all too!
Dun think that wld happen... whistling.gif
Why?
Cos Astro not really doing community service...sad2say... sad.gif
More of preparing ground (& very strong possibility) for NJOI ppl to subscribe later to MORE paying channels!!! See? tongue.gif
More "Moneycome"!!! A wolf in sheep's clothing thingey? Haha!
zeone
post Feb 17 2012, 03:54 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Feb 17 2012, 10:29 AM)
Agreed! wat wl be interesting is when comes to rain fade astro wl lose out! njoi is politics,with such an offering though FOC i doubt many wl be interested,advertisemnt revenue wl be enough for astro,to cover njoi!I still feel good times are over with maxis iptv,unifi,and abn coming in,they cant hold with sports for too long,as it is many are pissed off with  its selection of matches. tongue.gif
Yup, a mere 5cm diam increase did VERY LITTLE (kinda insignificant) to alleviate Rain Fade prob of Astro! sad.gif
NJOI is mere money politics! Give a little when in actuallity giving almost NIL (applicants hv 2pay RM388 up front!) but opening doors 2get more $$$ in time...when they feel urge 2get more upon realisation FREE = nothing really worthwhile 4entertainment which wasn't oledi FREE b4! rolleyes.gif

Yup, all the other NEW players coming in2 the field slowly but surely wld take away Astro's monopoly privilege & status! If only these ppl cld speed up their access penetration nationwide... whistling.gif

zeone
post Feb 17 2012, 10:58 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 17 2012, 07:09 PM)
Aren't the overrall fee for Njoi wasn't enough? laugh.gif
Astro wld say...
"That 1-time payment for decoder, sat dish & installation....
After that we got nothing....not even 1 sen!!
How to survive doing biznes like dat?"

rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
zeone
post Feb 18 2012, 09:36 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Feb 18 2012, 01:19 AM)
Agreed! Slow pace = people lose patience = hype backlash.
The problem is, Njoi channels are blah. I get better shows on Youtube.
Njoi is just a gimmick- once you get njoi, they'll then slowly coax you to take other packages. And before you know it, you'll have bought a superpack and wasting hundreds of dollars a month like water.
True...true...true... thumbup.gif

However, Msians are STILL waiting 4a worthwhile competitor against Astro...one that wld NOT FADE OUT....like so many others so far!!! sad.gif
zeone
post Feb 18 2012, 12:37 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

In spite of larger Dishes being illegal here, one can see the increasing no. of those China made 5ft Dishes arnd!! My housing area has at least 10 such installations in FULL view!! rclxm9.gif
zeone
post Feb 18 2012, 06:17 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Feb 18 2012, 03:49 PM)
Njoi 288, without installation. Just register wanna see how it goes. This for my parents house. Currently still using normal antena.
288? w/o installation? So install = RM100?

Must also bear in mind TV3, NTV7, 8TV, 9tv not supported altho FTA telecasts!! sad.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0661sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:36 PM