16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Discussion FA 'kickstart' Campaign against Racism?, Has it the Will to stamp out Racism?

TSA 11
post Nov 18 2011, 04:37 AM, updated 14y ago

17 posts

Two burning issues are on the hotplate for the FA to handle;
namely Suarez & Terry alleged racist remarks.

IMO both Suarez and Terry need to be reprimanded and suspended or penalized IF the FA is serious about stamping out racism in football

Now that Suarez is rightfully charged why isn't Terry?

This post has been edited by A 11: Nov 18 2011, 04:38 AM
Fowl
post Nov 18 2011, 04:58 AM

54 posts

Because a lot of anti liverpool fan inside FA and terry is the national team's captain.
Suarez = easy target
TSA 11
post Nov 18 2011, 05:02 AM

17 posts

Let me give a cogent example. During a football match a white opponent was taken aback when he overheard me calling my teammate 'pass the ball nigga'. The whitey thought I was a racist never knowing that my black teammate is my close friend & golfing buddy & that we always call each other 'endearing names'. Do you know some blacks (close friends) call each other 'nigga' too?

Remember these 2 rules;

Rule 1. The Whitey knows that its an offensive remark if used against a black person. My South American or Hispanic Friends (Salvadoreno, Peruvians, Mexicans etc) also know this rule.
Rule 2. Yes Evra's United teammates used it but is Suarez one of them or Evra's buddy? If you are not would you dare to use it?

Tiger Wood is a prime example. He forgives his former caddie Steve Williams because he knows that Williams is not a racist even tho' they are ex-buddies!

Now remember Suarez did not DENY making the racist remark!
Now like CityBP advocates - Cogitate, Correlate before you communicate your opinion. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by A 11: Nov 18 2011, 05:05 AM
Fowl
post Nov 18 2011, 05:11 AM

54 posts

ahhahahaa somene fail at fathoming my comments
Duke Red
post Nov 18 2011, 08:01 AM

6,112 posts

One law to rule them all I say. If a word is deemed to be racist, then no one should say it, friend or foe. So now, given the variety if different cultures in the Premiership now, is the FA going to churn out a list of racist words to be avoided?

Incidentally I do think Suarez is being made an example of. Not really the first time anyone has been accused of racism is it? Yet the attention the media is giving the incident trumps prior offenses.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Nov 18 2011, 08:03 AM
[kuaLe]_AGX
post Nov 18 2011, 08:26 AM

241 posts

in BPL...English player can do anything and get away with it

/facts
Wan
post Nov 18 2011, 10:18 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Will be very interesting indeed what they would do regarding Terry. It seems like they tried to brush it under the carpet since theres not even a mention of it anywhere almost and they got lucky everyone is focusing on Evra&Suarez case. But since they charged Suarez, surely they have to make a decision regarding Terry.

But going by the tones and noises, the FA will try to douse down the fire and let them both go off free. If they give out punishments(if found guilty of course), well done to them. Would go a long way of cleaning up their reputation.

From what i read in another forum.
Negrito.
They only used it for those with darker skin in a humouros way. But never directly to a 'black' skin person.
SGSuser
post Nov 18 2011, 10:26 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

QUOTE(kuaLe_AGX @ Nov 18 2011, 08:26 AM)
in BPL...English player can do anything and get away with it

/facts
shocking.gif shakehead.gif

/notafact

This post has been edited by SGSuser: Nov 18 2011, 10:28 AM
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Nov 18 2011, 10:37 AM

3,703 posts

What for start this campaign anymore when the head of FIFA says there's none... and any matters should be resolved by a handshake on the field? whistling.gif:
toshio14
post Nov 18 2011, 10:40 AM

704 posts

Suarez case was prior to Terry incident, right? so isn't it just normal to have Suarez case handled first before Terry's hence the his (Suarez) charge comes first
Duke Red
post Nov 18 2011, 10:53 AM

6,112 posts

Just for the record, the term "Negrito" does also refer to African pygmies and African's are as far as I can tell, "black" for lack of a better term. Read here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negrito. The FA just has to decide if it's acceptable in the Premiership or not? If they deem it isn't, then Suarez gets punished and anyone and everyone who uses the term again, gets the same punishment, end off.

As for John Terry, well we aren't privy to the video evidence so we rely on what we read. All I know is his image cannot take another hit. This is the captain of the 3 Lions we are talking about and the British pride is well known. Sitting here behind our PCs, we'll never see first hand evidence and can only hope that true accounts are reported.

In terms of racism in general, it's like I said earlier, with so many cultures and languages coming together in the Premiership, there are bound to be more reported cases.
dundermifflin
post Nov 18 2011, 11:27 AM

237 posts

if they punish both Suarez & Terry, the FA will set a precedent.. we'll see more cases like this in the future.. the opportunist minority race /foreigner players will moan every time they get 'regular' foul mouths.

i believe spouting foul words between players during games are like breathing an air in English football..

but inconsistent English FA would love set example on big names.. (not like they anti certain club)
likeicare
post Nov 18 2011, 12:14 PM

problem is, while there may have many cases, not many victims officially lodge a case.
Duke Red
post Nov 18 2011, 12:34 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(likeicare @ Nov 18 2011, 12:14 PM)
problem is, while there may have many cases, not many victims officially lodge a case.
Thing is it's also hard to prove. If I whispered, "chink" in the ear of a Chinese player for example and he reported it, it's my word against his. How does the FA rule on this then?
likeicare
post Nov 18 2011, 12:39 PM

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 18 2011, 12:34 PM)
Thing is it's also hard to prove. If I whispered, "chink" in the ear of a Chinese player for example and he reported it, it's my word against his. How does the FA rule on this then?
True, but I believed whether you have proof or no proof, lodge a case. People wont take this issue lightly when they are in the lights. Doesn't matter what is the outcome. The first step is the most important ones and that is making an official complaint.
Duke Red
post Nov 18 2011, 01:03 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(likeicare @ Nov 18 2011, 12:39 PM)
True, but I believed whether you have proof or no proof, lodge a case. People wont take this issue lightly when they are in the lights. Doesn't matter what is the outcome. The first step is the most important ones and that is making an official complaint.
There needs to be a balance though. I mean we all know how there can be feuds on the pitch. Joey Barton and Karl Henry for example are nowhere close to being friends. The latter is of Jamaican descent and therefore, dark skinned. Knowing that the FA will not seriously look into any accusation regardless of the presence of proof, Henry could easily allege that Barton called him a whatever just out of spite.

It isn't right that someone can make a personal remark against someone else but short of having players wear mics, I don't see how it can be completely eradicated.
likeicare
post Nov 18 2011, 01:25 PM

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 18 2011, 01:03 PM)
There needs to be a balance though. I mean we all know how there can be feuds on the pitch. Joey Barton and Karl Henry for example are nowhere close to being friends. The latter is of Jamaican descent and therefore, dark skinned. Knowing that the FA will not seriously look into any accusation regardless of the presence of proof, Henry could easily allege that Barton called him a whatever just out of spite.

It isn't right that someone can make a personal remark against someone else but short of having players wear mics, I don't see how it can be completely eradicated.
The same reason players not filing a complaint. So yes, it needs a balance. I don't know how though.
I dun think it can be completely eradicated as well but there must be efforts from parties involved to mitigate this issues.
ayanami_tard
post Nov 18 2011, 02:03 PM

40 posts

Racism issue in England isn't as big(and chronic) as the one in Spain,Italy or some eastern european country(where this is rampant)

even Germany is worse than england,with their hell angel and neo-nazi thingy...i think England(and the UK generally) and france are the only country with minimal racism issue in football
TSA 11
post Nov 19 2011, 05:52 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Nov 18 2011, 12:01 AM)
One law to rule them all I say. If a word is deemed to be racist, then no one should say it, friend or foe. So now, given the variety if different cultures in the Premiership now, is the FA going to churn out a list of racist words to be avoided?

Incidentally I do think Suarez is being made an example of. Not really the first time anyone has been accused of racism is it? Yet the attention the media is giving the incident trumps prior offenses.

Absolutely right on.

To continue my whitey encounter. He brought it up with the referee who reprimanded me prior to the start of the second half. I apologised to the whitey (for offending his sensibilities, a nice guy IMO) and to my buddy (who forgave me tho' I was ticked of with him hogging the ball).

The moral of the story is that you may get carded for fowl language (even among teammates) viz. calling someone a c*nt but to call someone a black c*nt? Thats racism because it is meant to be derogatory and demeaning and belittling especially against someone of colour (including me & my colour).

Pls. don't defend the inexcusable!

This post has been edited by A 11: Nov 19 2011, 05:53 AM
CityBluePrint
post Dec 22 2011, 08:53 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(A 11 @ Nov 18 2011, 04:37 AM)
Two burning issues are on the hotplate for the FA to handle;
namely Suarez & Terry alleged racist remarks.
IMO both Suarez and Terry need to be reprimanded and suspended or penalized IF the FA is serious about stamping out racism in football

Now that Suarez is rightfully charged why isn't Terry?
Now that Luis Suarez has been handed an eight-match ban and a £40,000 fine by the Football Association after being found guilty of racially abusing Manchester United's Patrice Evra.

Lets put it in the proper context.
Say in a round of golf between us I called you (A11) a kilingkui and you call me a chinakui which happened very often whenever we get together for one. Between us we will not be offended because we know its a 'friendly' banter. Likewise my black football mates will not be offended when I called them 'niggas' or they in return called me chinaman.

However the excuses or support given to either of them (Suarez or Terry) to mitigate their behaviour or offenses is 'beyond the pale'.

The FACTS are;

One readily admitted to using the offensive word against an enemy or hostile opponent (since when is Suarez Evra's buddy or teammate?) and is rightfully fined and handed an eight-match ban.

The other is being crimminally charged. Here's the kicker whatever the outcome of Terry's magistrate trial the FA will have a responsibility to INVESTIGATE Terry's alleged racial abuse too.

Not only must Justice be done but SEEN to be done.

Why?

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:37 AM