8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

seantang
post Dec 29 2011, 10:50 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 29 2011, 10:43 PM)
You took NS you chinese only 5 million, and they 35 million. who will win? If u learn ninjutsu you can escape and run away fast..
Israel population and army was how large? It's neighours' populations and armies how large? Who defeated who in 7 days?

Ninjutsu... the last fight I witnessed, a 4th dan tae kwan do expert got the back of his head cracked open by a surprise whisky bottle as he turned to scold someone else.
seantang
post Dec 29 2011, 11:15 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 29 2011, 10:52 PM)
Ninjutsu and taekwondo is different. do you know ninja??
Do you know Yee Loi San Cheong?

QUOTE(Materazzi)
And Krav Maga is from Israel!!
Modern conflicts are not won by hand to hand combat. But you're right... the Singaporean chap in the office next to mine looks a bit sissy and will probably be badly beaten up by a ninja in a boxing ring. But he's a trained sniper and is part of a very well-equipped army consisting mainly of Chinese. I have no doubt whatsoever who I should hang out with during a racial riot.

Added on December 29, 2011, 11:17 pm
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Dec 29 2011, 11:04 PM)
i think he means jiujitsu
I think he means jiu yin zhen jing.

This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 29 2011, 11:19 PM
seantang
post Dec 30 2011, 10:33 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Dec 30 2011, 09:26 AM)
Can the "yee loi san cheong" or "jiu yin zhen jing" stop the pistol or gun?  tongue.gif

In the movie, no matter how good kung fu the starring is, once the pistol or gun is pointed to them, they surrender.  biggrin.gif
Maybe he has achieved Matrix bullet-time... or Zohan silky smooth style.
seantang
post Dec 30 2011, 05:52 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Estella @ Dec 30 2011, 02:43 PM)
why say like that?

why again?
Because that's what I said?... I don't understand what you're asking why about.

seantang
post Dec 30 2011, 09:04 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Estella @ Dec 30 2011, 08:51 PM)
pardon me. sorry for that lol. I meant why you want to say such harsh words?
1. Because those were very, very harsh events.

2. Because the govt, UMNO, Perkasa, our children's school history books, Biro Tata Negara etc. have suppressed the truth during our generation, and are now brainwashing the current schoolgoing generation.

Added on December 30, 2011, 9:28 pm
QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 30 2011, 08:57 PM)
you know my history is very poor. 13 may 1969 you mean? That's long ago la..
May 1998 in Indonesia? That's not so long ago.

And just because it's "long ago" doesn't mean it won't happen again. IMO, the chances of it happening is escalating with each progressive election as UMNO increasingly feels that it's losing grip and must resort to the tried & true malay vs chinese bogey man to gain support. Although I wish PR well and fervently hope that they will come into power and change the country - I do believe in a Plan B... that the chinese must gain access to some sort of armed response capability, or else the overwhelmingly malay police and military will continue to hang like a Sword of Damocles over chinese necks.

Having said that - realistically, there's zero chance of Singapore's military intervening in Malaysia unless it's UN sanctioned... and the UN moves real slow. But in such a cataclysmic event - I'm hoping, like during May 13 - the chinese triads in Malaysia will again come forward as the "armed resistance". Along with the chinese associations, NS trained Singaporean volunteers/Malaysian PR returnees, covert forces and most importantly Singapore-supplied guns - the chinese may fight a good fight after all.

This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 30 2011, 09:28 PM
seantang
post Dec 31 2011, 12:19 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Estella @ Dec 30 2011, 10:38 PM)
can violence solve the problem? i hate violence.
I hate violence too. But I hate violence that goes only in one direction even more.

Can it solve the problem... of course not. But in the absence of a better solution, it at the very least ensures both sides will suffer from the problem, if either one side tries to be funny.

I'm not sure if it's Henry Kissinger that I'm paraphrasing, but the assurance of mutual destruction is the best guarantee of peace. Violence only starts when one side thinks it's stronger than the other side, and can therefore violate the other side at low or no cost. Getting weapons and weapons training into as many chinese hands as possible will guarantee peace... or assure mutual destruction. Either consequence is more acceptable to me personally, than generation after generation of subjugation, which is what the so-called social contract calls for.
seantang
post Dec 31 2011, 12:42 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Dec 31 2011, 12:26 AM)
it will happen again if every malays think like UMNO and every chinese think like you...
Right.

And the conundrum is that it will also happen again if the malays think like umno, and the chinese think like jesus (turn the other cheek). So should the chinese put their fate in one basket ie. remain submissive and put themselves at the mercy of the armed malays in the hope that they will turn away from UMNO? Ever studied the Prisoner's Dilemma? This is it.

The problem is an imbalance of power... not the motivation to use it.

The imbalance must first be corrected, before the motivation can be addressed. Without correcting the imbalance, the motiviation will always exist.

This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 31 2011, 12:53 AM
seantang
post Dec 31 2011, 09:25 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Dec 31 2011, 08:36 AM)
then will it give some changes if only just 10-20 people trained with military?? Why don't you establish an chinese organization which train chinese in military?
10-20 people? You worked out the numbers and finish the master plan already?
seantang
post Dec 31 2011, 07:17 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Gaius B @ Dec 31 2011, 05:39 PM)
Probably a noob question here: Does a Mech. Eng. degree from Japan stand a high chance in SG? What's the starting for fresh grad from ME? Thanks.
Do you also speak/read Japanese fluently?

If you're Malaysian/Singaporen who knows Japanese or a Japanese already in Singapore who speaks good English, I think there's very little problem getting work at any of the Japanese MNCs in Singapore. Even if they don't have a job for an engineer, they will find another role for you to capitalise on your being multi-lingual.

Added on December 31, 2011, 7:18 pm
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 31 2011, 05:45 PM)
Your changes of getting a work pass for a temp job in sg is almost 0%

Added on December 31, 2011, 5:57 pmTepuk Sebelah Tangan Takkan Berbunyi
That is true. Duly noted.

This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 31 2011, 07:18 PM
seantang
post Jan 4 2012, 02:44 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jan 4 2012, 02:35 PM)
just started my gold savings acc today. hope to do a regular monthly injection of money there to hedge against inflation sweat.gif

What's that? Can you elaborate?
seantang
post Jan 4 2012, 03:56 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Jan 4 2012, 03:32 PM)
Just asking for opinion on fixed/time deposit. If you got 5K SGD to set aside, would you rather save it in Singapore bank time deposit with 0.2-0.5% interest, or convert them into RM then saved in fixed deposit with >3% interest rate?

RM higher interest rate, risk of currency depreciation. SGD vice versa. Let's exclude other investment options.
If it's the only 5K you have, put it in a SGD FD as you need to protect your capital in SGD... assuming your spending is in SGD. If your spending is in MYR, then bring it back home and put it into a MYR FD.

If it's one of the many 5Ks you have... buy exactly 2 lots of M1. Averaging 7% dividends at current price, blue chip and stands up well in a weak market as telcos are considered to be safe havens (as far as safe havens in the stock market go).

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 4 2012, 03:57 PM
seantang
post Jan 4 2012, 03:59 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Jan 4 2012, 02:48 PM)
can read more here: http://www.uob.com.sg/personal/investments...ous_metals.html

basically i opened an acc to buy gold (paper though, not physical). gold is a hedge against inflation, so just plan on injection some of my savings there each month.
Thanks. Appreciate it. Fees don't look too high (0.25%) and buy/sell spread is minimal .20 on 66.6.

seantang
post Jan 4 2012, 05:46 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jan 4 2012, 04:35 PM)
Ok u fancy telcos counters.

For me, i would park my funds at SG banks like UOB or DBS.
SG banks considered to be good investments too, SG banks' administration and management is quite well known and at least 5 times better than of Maybank or RHB in Malaysia.
I used to have PBB in Bursa, OCBC in SG and HSBC in HKSE. But since Lehman Bros, bank stocks are no longer considered defensive. Now I've only got HSC left as a China play, but still in the red.

I've moved on to mainly telcos and SPH as defensive plays. In Malaysia, Digi and Maxis... plus my long time (since I started investing my ang pow money as a teen) the evergreen piew tou yum chui (sex gamble drink smoke) like Guinness, Carlberg, BToto, BAT, Genting etc. I also like the Wawasan 2020 bonds... steady 6-7%.
seantang
post Jan 6 2012, 09:42 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jan 5 2012, 04:44 PM)
More terror in Japan, they can gang up and molest the girl in the train.... tongue.gif
Not only the girl, but satu kali also her mother and all her classmates.
seantang
post Jan 6 2012, 07:55 PM

6,624 posts

JAV lovers... what's the size of your collection? And does your other half allow you to keep it? I've got like 3TBs of the stuff and it's getting hard to explain why I've got a bunch of hard drives that I always claim are "Nothing".
seantang
post Jan 6 2012, 08:06 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Jan 6 2012, 08:00 PM)
Walau 3TB of JAVs????
Can share ar? whistling.gif
I ummm, started very young. The HDDs are all in MY lah. Don't want to go to jail for 3000 years if sardenly a routine NEA denggi mosquito check or HDB flat inspection accidentally discovers my stash.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 6 2012, 08:08 PM
seantang
post Jan 7 2012, 11:25 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Jan 7 2012, 09:22 PM)
Visa debit card only given to me . Can be used as atm card also .
Oh just realised at the back got the NETS logo as well , but ytd I tried using the card to top up ez card in the mrt ticket machine , but cant =.=
Need to top up or register  the nets card first is it ? sorry abit confuse with this nets card thing
So much easier just to top up with cash.
seantang
post Jan 7 2012, 11:37 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Jan 7 2012, 11:35 PM)
Yes easier top up with cash but queue for atm also quite long lol
EZ Link can be topped up with cash at any VAM (Value Add Machine) at any MRT station, bus interchange etc. I usually have no trouble even during morning or evening peak hours. At most wait for a couple of people in queue.

seantang
post Jan 8 2012, 12:13 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jan 8 2012, 12:11 AM)
2) chase those PRC girls (there are many good (pretty, simple and kind heartered) PRC girls if you dont mind)

Tell me more... notworthy.gif
seantang
post Jan 8 2012, 01:24 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jan 8 2012, 12:50 PM)
Some cards yes...some cannot.
You need the ezlink logo/wording on the back of your card.
All ATM and debit cards have NETS (POS or Point of Sale). Credit cards are also NETS capable but only if also linked to deposit accounts and used as ATM cards. Newer multi feature cards of any type can have stored value electronic wallets like EZ Link , Flash Pay (from NETS) and Pay Pass. EZ Link and Flash Pay can be used for public transport as they're CEPAS compliant. Pay Pass is a Mastercard thing... dunno who accepts payments from it.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 8 2012, 01:26 PM

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0450sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:57 AM