Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

seantang
post Feb 1 2012, 07:30 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Surprisingly good information available at the Foreign Ministry Website for the the Singapore High Comm.

http://www.kln.gov.my/web/sgp_singapore/passport_renewal

QUOTE(icycokes @ Feb 1 2012, 06:41 PM)
Just to share my experience with Malaysia High Commision at Jervois Road.

I renewed my Malaysian passport 2 weeks ago and it was a breeze! I must say they are quite efficient, comparing to their counterparts back in Malaysia.

I arrived at 1120AM and collected my passport within the same day at 2PM. When I collect my passport, I found out that there are approximately 70 people in front of me in the queue line. But the queue moves very fast and I got my passport within 10 mins. So I would guess they need to process like 100 passports everyday? And they did it in 2 hours time!  rclxms.gif

Renewal fee is SGD 124. You can take ID photo there as well for SGD 6. ID photo taken in SG (Usually in white background) is not acceptable.

Make sure you arrive before their lunch break (12PM) to submit your application form or else your passport will be ready only on the next day.

Let me know if you need more details!
seantang
post Feb 1 2012, 10:16 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(metalslug @ Feb 1 2012, 10:07 PM)
hello guys, i have a question in my mind, i have converted my MY driving license to SG driving license recently. My question is can i drive MY car using SG driving license or not?
You didn't keep your Malaysian licence?

Added on February 1, 2012, 10:17 pm
QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Feb 1 2012, 10:14 PM)
hi guys,

can i know what does it mean by "Applicants should be Singaporean citizens or hold relevant residence status."

*the bold part
Means you can stay and work in Singapore without any additional paperwork needed. The company does not want to do any applications, permits, passes etc etc.

This post has been edited by seantang: Feb 1 2012, 10:17 PM
seantang
post Feb 1 2012, 10:22 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(metalslug @ Feb 1 2012, 10:20 PM)
Got, but i took out my copy out from JPJ. my MY license expired 2013. If i wan to retain my My license, have to pay those so called agent to retain the copy.
What copy?

seantang
post Feb 1 2012, 10:29 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Feb 1 2012, 10:25 PM)
erm then can i apply EP my self b4 working in SG??i'm still blur with those thingy
Nope. Company must sponsor and apply for you.

seantang
post Feb 1 2012, 10:33 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(metalslug @ Feb 1 2012, 10:25 PM)
an extract from JPJ Malaysia showing information of your driving record and licence information.

The extract is just a printout. It's got nothing to do with your licence validity.

Problem is that some JPJ officers insist on blacklisting your licence after issuing the extract (unless you kopi them). Other JPJ officers just give you the extract and that's it. Your licence is not affected.

I'll be converting my licence soon... I'll get my runner to get the extract and kopi if need be.
seantang
post Feb 1 2012, 10:43 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(metalslug @ Feb 1 2012, 10:37 PM)
What officer told me is the extract already move to SG so i dont have any record in JPJ now. I cant renew it cuz i dont have record in JPJ. If i want to kopi them back to make my MY license back 'alive', is it possible? I dont know.  hmm.gif
I don't believe so.

The record can't "move". MY JPJ and SG Traffic Police are not linked. Furthermore, you don't have a "record" with SG traffic police until you actually obtain a SG licence. Which will be AFTER you return to SG with the extract, fill in the forms, do the BTT etc. I believe the "officer" is just telling you to kopi kau him. JPJ are all corrupt bastards.

seantang
post Feb 1 2012, 10:54 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Feb 1 2012, 10:38 PM)
If your runner get it free then ok, I've read somewhere that they told the JPJ officer that they need the extract to show to employer to work as company driver, instead of telling the JPJ officer that they are converting to Singapore driving license.

Another way my friend did is get the extract from JPJ, Malaysia license blacklisted, convert to Singapore license, then get the equivalent extract from TP, show JPJ and they will cut the Singapore license and issue Malaysia license, then go back Singapore, request for new license with SGD50 fee to TP.
Let me ask my runner. Like grandfather say "有钱能使鬼推磨". Got money can even make demons work.
seantang
post Feb 2 2012, 09:50 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Feb 2 2012, 08:03 AM)
Wat is the benefit of holding both SG and MY driving license at the same time. It is not a requirement anyway and u need to pay both sides money.
If one of your licences is blacklisted, you still have the other licence to ensure continuity.

And using the right licence on the right side will smoothen a lot of things. From procedural issues when you're hiring a car, reduce your insurance expense to emotional issues when you're stopped by police, JPJ, appealing your fines etc etc.

I may be thinking too much, but I see no downsides and only upsides to holding on to my MY licence.
seantang
post Feb 2 2012, 10:35 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(calvint78 @ Feb 2 2012, 10:24 AM)
its an offence if u have 2 driving license as told by JPJ officer. So if u have 2 license and drive in MY, better show them ur MY license and keep safe ur SG license. Otherwise...hahaha....
JPJ's lying.

You don't have to "give up" or have your MY licence "blacklisted" if you have any other country's driving licence, apart from Singapore. Lots of people hold driving licences from Aust, NZ, Thai, US, UK, HK etc.

seantang
post Feb 2 2012, 02:11 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(calvint78 @ Feb 2 2012, 10:35 AM)
Maybe they dont like if u have MY/SG license together.
That's true. MY and SG has this stupid love-hate relationship. SG TP doesn't require "JPJ extracts" to convert licences of any other eligible country to SG licence. Any other nationality besides West MY can withdraw their CPF if they give up their PR. Malaysia JPJ doesn't "blacklist" your MY licence if you need anything from them to convert your MY licence to any other country's licence besides SG.

QUOTE(calvint78)
if u have driving licences from Aust, NZ, Thai, US, UK, HK etc but u can't use it here too.
Yes you can. You can use any eligible foreign licence to rent, insure and drive a MY car in MY.

QUOTE(calvint78)
1 of my contractor fren kena saman because during roadblock, he show TP his MY license, then the TP ask him got SG license or not, he slip mouth accidently say yes. then he kena saman.
This is point #1 above. Additionally, there's a lot of little napoleons in our civil service who make up their own rules. I dealt alot with JPJ in the past for car modifications (like replacing engines etc that requires an update in the registration card) and importing recond cars. The JPJ director or office that you deal with is VERY important in terms of how "strict" they implement their arbitrary rules.

Added on February 2, 2012, 2:13 pm
QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Feb 2 2012, 02:10 PM)
I just renewed my Malaysian Driving license and get JPJ manifest at the same time.

I DID NOT PAY ANY BRIDE OR DUIT KOPI and the JPJ officer did not cut my malaysian officer in half.
Check online to see if your MY driving licence is blacklisted. The link is in a recent post above.

Which JPJ office did you get this done?

This post has been edited by seantang: Feb 2 2012, 02:14 PM
seantang
post Feb 2 2012, 02:19 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(endau02 @ Feb 2 2012, 11:38 AM)
Not really, i ve found a sg grad telling me to REDUCE the pipe size to REDUCE pressure loss.. very good
Is he wrong?

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0422sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:59 AM