Working in Singapore v9, How to save 100k in 3 years to buy HDB?

jhcj
post Jan 17 2012, 02:38 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(roci @ Jan 17 2012, 02:26 PM)
Hi jhcj, You also working in that area? u know that company?
I'm familiar with IBP but I dont work there.
jhcj
post Jan 17 2012, 03:29 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

extremepower, please stop spamming nonsense. your posts are getting very annoying to read.

QUOTE(roci @ Jan 17 2012, 02:48 PM)
Where is ur current location now? yes my location at IBP. Need to start in early March. But now still considering  hmm.gif
What's to consider?
jhcj
post Jan 17 2012, 04:05 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

I will buy you a one way ticket to a 3 day suspension. This is your final warning.
jhcj
post Jan 18 2012, 12:42 AM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

Celest-Lee, what is your working experience? My company is hiring, but then again it'll depend on your qualifications. Drop me a PM if you're interested.
jhcj
post Jan 18 2012, 11:26 AM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

I would also recommend just dropping your resume before you graduate. If you're good enough to warrant an interview, they can do it over the phone.

My wife got hired this way 6 months before she completed her Masters degree. smile.gif
jhcj
post Jan 18 2012, 11:31 AM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(roci @ Jan 18 2012, 09:34 AM)
in March ull be attached to which company at singapore? u manage to find a hse over ther? march like a very short notice for me  rclxub.gif
I only had 2 weeks to settle my accomodation and move to SG when I got transferred last time. March is like forever from now.

But a word of advice. Take your time to find a place that you are comfortable staying in! When I first got here I rented a room from an aunty from hell. Used to go through my stuff when I was away at work even though I locked the doors. Creepy! doh.gif
jhcj
post Jan 18 2012, 12:13 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

There is no "best" bah kut teh. It all boils down to personal preference. Some like the soup to be herbal-based, some like it to be soya sauce-based, some like it without the extras (mushrooms, intestines, etc).

But hey, saying that Klang bah kut teh is not as nice as JB's is like saying Penang char kueh teow is not as nice as Klang char kueh teow (which is yummy also lah actually). Wanna kena whack ar!

Singapore BKT? No eye see. doh.gif

Klang boy here btw.
jhcj
post Jan 18 2012, 12:23 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

search jobstreet for "operation executive" or "marketing coordinator"

who knows? might get lucky and "kena" my company whistling.gif
jhcj
post Jan 18 2012, 09:40 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

Just crossed into malaysia. Traffic is smooth all the way!

Now to take a nap. smile.gif
jhcj
post Jan 18 2012, 10:03 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

I reckon it will be more than that, unless you're putting up with relatives.

Assuming you sign a 2 year rental agreement for a room, you will need to pay 2 months deposit. Then you gotta sign up for phone, buy some necessities, get a ez-link card, etc.

Safer to say 3k at least.
jhcj
post Jan 27 2012, 11:05 AM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(john_makaay @ Jan 27 2012, 08:20 AM)
hi all, i already working in SG for 6 months. I have a First Class degree(UK degree in Software Engineering) ,employment pass and have close relatives staying in SG. possible to apply PR already? can get approved? and i did not study in Singapore b4 tis...
I applied after 6 months of work, and I got it. My wife (who has a Masters Degree and working in the health sector) also applied after 6 months and hers got rejected (approved later after appeal).

Hard to say really, but go ahead and apply if you're gonna stay here for the long term.
jhcj
post Jan 27 2012, 02:55 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(john_makaay @ Jan 27 2012, 02:18 PM)
previously no working exp. started as fresh grad in SG. no chance at all? degree done in malaysia and awarding uni is UK uni
no worries, even if you got rejected, you can always appeal.

QUOTE(FuQuO @ Jan 27 2012, 02:51 PM)
Just got a call to go for interview at HSBC. Job title is wealth management executive. Anyone has any experience in such job? I'm not from banking industry and I have no idea what is it about.
my guess is that you will be trained to sell investment products for the bank
jhcj
post Jan 27 2012, 03:04 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

no idea at all since i'm not from the banking industry either.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0433sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:59 AM