isit safe to remap? won't damage car in the long run? Why 2.0 cant remap?
------->> LYN Proton INSPIRA:Owners/Fan Thread V11
Nov 16 2011, 12:44 AM
3,037 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: 6-feet under |
isit safe to remap? won't damage car in the long run? Why 2.0 cant remap?
Nov 16 2011, 12:45 AM
2,479 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mars |
Nov 16 2011, 12:46 AM
25 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(lazyboy666 @ Nov 16 2011, 12:43 AM) ya man...damn potong stimm... Bro,anyway thank kenny. it really worth single drop. can't imagine if we can do proper dyno to it too. stim weeiiii!! stimmm!! Upgrade exhaust system and intake filter only do Dyno graph.. Then stim high somemore. But PLS drive safely even highspeed ya. Must remenber to re-learn stopping power arhhhhh.... I feel hard to catch stopping power now compare before remap. Because dulu rpm only 4k start fly. Now short distance pun boleh fly oh. |
647 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(ikeken @ Nov 16 2011, 12:41 AM) Hehe went test drive just now, found something. "6th" gear or any top gear in any gearbox are known as the overdrive, its design not to rev hard or high, to save fuel and the engine, which also gives the engine + gearbox breathing room as this is the top limit of the gearbox.... else your engine kaboom and last only 2 F1 race weekends like the F1 cars....For 2.0, do we have a RPM limiter? Cz when I'm on 6th gear RPM hard to go beyond 4k. Can see it stays there while speed climbs slowly. SO this re-map will take this off and no speed limiter? Hehehe So rev it hard at lower gears, not at the highest overdrive gear.... This post has been edited by Poadster: Nov 16 2011, 12:48 AM |
225 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Nov 16 2011, 12:48 AM
2,465 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bukit Jalil, migrated to Paldea. |
QUOTE(Poadster @ Nov 16 2011, 12:46 AM) "6th" gear or any top gear in any engine are known as the overdrive, its design not to rev hard or high, to save fuel and the engine, which also gives the engine breathing room as this is the top limit of the gearbox.... else your engine kaboom and not last 2 F1 sessions like the F1 cars.... So if want to test max speed. Put to 6th gear? or 5th will do?So rev it hard at lower gears, not at the highest overdrive gear.... |
QUOTE(ikeken @ Nov 16 2011, 12:46 AM) I will get it ASAP. tml will send pm to u guys on payment (early birdy only)Added on November 16, 2011, 12:48 am QUOTE(Pip_X @ Nov 16 2011, 12:48 AM) Will only damage your right leg. Pip.. how was it? Worthit?I feel the power already. I have to press brake harder now. ABS season for me again. Have to relearn "cara memandu berhemah"again. This post has been edited by K3nnYkl82: Nov 16 2011, 12:48 AM |
Nov 16 2011, 12:49 AM
Fucuking worth it!
Nov 16 2011, 12:50 AM
Nov 16 2011, 12:51 AM
208 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
someone in this forum told me personally he dun dare to remap cos it will spoil d ecu.bt i think this remap is juz like root ur phone with another cooked up rom.so i think it wont spoil d ecu.bt will spoil ur engine or gb if u dunno hw to control ur car...so i took up d risk to reflash it..am i right kenny???
Nov 16 2011, 12:52 AM
QUOTE(generalhwh @ Nov 16 2011, 12:51 AM) someone in this forum told me personally he dun dare to remap cos it will spoil d ecu.bt i think this remap is juz like root ur phone with another cooked up rom.so i think it wont spoil d ecu.bt will spoil ur engine or gb if u dunno hw to control ur car...so i took up d risk to reflash it..am i right kenny??? Wrong. it wont spoilt..This is just basic remap to optimise.. I already explain to them just now. Going extreme yes u might spoilt it. This ia veru conaervative mapping |
Nov 16 2011, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(generalhwh @ Nov 16 2011, 12:51 AM) someone in this forum told me personally he dun dare to remap cos it will spoil d ecu.bt i think this remap is juz like root ur phone with another cooked up rom.so i think it wont spoil d ecu.bt will spoil ur engine or gb if u dunno hw to control ur car...so i took up d risk to reflash it..am i right kenny??? Yup... its like jailbreak / root the OS....But there are risk of hurting the engine in the long run (shorten the lifespan) as you are running it at the higher echelon of its performance band..... just like F1 cars can rev to 19,000 RPM but the engine cant last more than 3 race weekends.... Added on November 16, 2011, 12:56 am QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Nov 16 2011, 12:52 AM) Wrong. it wont spoilt.. Dude.... mapping is conservative, but the drivers arent....This is just basic remap to optimise.. I already explain to them just now. Going extreme yes u might spoilt it. This ia veru conaervative mapping Example: Normal drivers can rev to 6200, but will average rev 4000.... Re-map drivers can rev to 7000, and due to improved performance, will now average rev 5000.... Thus lifespan will shorten..... its called wear and tear.... But most will not care about the wear and tear, they want the response.... see the happy and positive replies here.... This post has been edited by Poadster: Nov 16 2011, 12:56 AM |
Nov 16 2011, 12:56 AM
I think you remap to make the car a beast.
But you can always drive slowly, no one said having a beast means you must unleash the beast all the time. In the meantime, those with 1.8 reflash dont tiong 2.0 yah.. Heheh |
Nov 16 2011, 12:57 AM
Haha.. poadster means it will cause faster tear n wear due to ur attitude of driving.. haha
Nov 16 2011, 12:58 AM
Also, MIVEC timing kicks in at 2000 RPM, more wear and tear.... unless you shift at below 2000 RPM, but that defeats the purpose of power re-map... no???
Added on November 16, 2011, 12:59 am QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Nov 16 2011, 12:57 AM) Yup.... not the re-mapping have problem or it will cause ECU damage.... its a fairly common practice for improved performance in cars....This post has been edited by Poadster: Nov 16 2011, 12:59 AM |
Nov 16 2011, 01:00 AM
Kenny, now MIVEC kicks at 2k rpm meh? I think no.
208 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(ikeken @ Nov 16 2011, 12:56 AM) I think you remap to make the car a beast. podster wanna tiong police car again after remap his..hahaBut you can always drive slowly, no one said having a beast means you must unleash the beast all the time. In the meantime, those with 1.8 reflash dont tiong 2.0 yah.. Heheh |
23 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(Poadster @ Nov 16 2011, 12:54 AM) Yup... its like jailbreak / root the OS.... yea...agreed. But there are risk of hurting the engine in the long run (shorten the lifespan) as you are running it at the higher echelon of its performance band..... just like F1 cars can rev to 19,000 RPM but the engine cant last more than 3 race weekends.... Added on November 16, 2011, 12:56 am Dude.... mapping is conservative, but the drivers arent.... Example: Normal drivers can rev to 6200, but will average rev 4000.... Re-map drivers can rev to 7000, and due to improved performance, will now average rev 5000.... Thus lifespan will shorten..... its called wear and tear.... But most will not care about the wear and tear, they want the response.... see the happy and positive replies here.... so, maintaining the car now is main priority. proper servicing on time, sayang 'her' more, feed 'her' more goodies... |
QUOTE(Poadster @ Nov 16 2011, 12:58 AM) Also, MIVEC timing kicks in at 2000 RPM, more wear and tear.... unless you shift at below 2000 RPM, but that defeats the purpose of power re-map... no??? Ori mivec timing is around there.. the tuning smoothen the graph to deliver smoother power without the lag onlyAdded on November 16, 2011, 12:59 am Yup.... not the re-mapping have problem or it will cause ECU damage.... its a fairly common practice for improved performance in cars.... |
| Change to: | 0.0166sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:55 PM |