water heater, price and quality

SUSsupersound
post Feb 6 2014, 02:07 PM

11,554 posts

Still prefer Panasonic or Centon(used for 6 years then the DC pump gone).
Anyway, water heater shall be changed after 6-7 years.
SUSsupersound
post May 7 2014, 10:32 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(daylight2013 @ May 7 2014, 10:27 AM)
i also asking same question..

after drop a visit to electrical shop, charges as below:-

water heater installation - RM70, adding power point- RM60

fan installation with existing hook- RM45, without existing hook- RM80

Price reasonable everyone?  blink.gif
If water pipes are there already(mine are flexible type), installation can nego to rm50. Just put 3 wires in, hack 4 small holes for screws, secure the heater and close shop hmm.gif
Wiring the water heater is reasonable, if they tap the wire from the distribution box. If they tap from nearest plug point, use a 1.5l 100plus bottle and poke their ars tongue.gif
rm80-100 for installing a fan without hook are the market price thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post May 7 2014, 10:52 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(daylight2013 @ May 7 2014, 10:45 AM)
but can it be tap to nearest point? if my master bath room far away from DB, then need travel a long long cable?
You can, but make sure it is from the light point.
As lights are not that power hungry flex.gif
But you have to know by testing the fuse on the distribution box. If original already 1 fuse serve the whole room, then it will be quite risky.
SUSsupersound
post May 7 2014, 03:43 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(daylight2013 @ May 7 2014, 10:59 AM)
thanks for your advise. i should test it out. just avoid to share with aircon point.  flex.gif
Technically you shall avoid sharing. But then if confirmed already is just lights that are using that particular fuse, then it should not be a big problem. Have to know that, water heater(with pump) the power requirement are not that high. It will be high when the heater starts to work.
Like my house, I install the water heater just because of low pressure. The heater seldom use.
SUSsupersound
post May 10 2014, 10:17 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ May 10 2014, 09:50 AM)
For water heater with pump, Joven or Alpha better?
What ever brand you buy, the protecting circuit must be checked once every few years.
Unless you want your self to come out in the newspaper saying you died during shower.
Each year in Malaysia sure have 1-3 person died on this reason.
SUSsupersound
post May 14 2014, 09:53 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ May 14 2014, 07:09 AM)
Bro, i dont think you shall tap wires from lighting point for WH. most lighting wires are 1.5mm if provided by developer or even the wire man. the MCB rating for lighting is usually 6A. sweat.gif
Tell you what, the whole house are using low quality wire by default. That's why I'll lay new wire for high power consumers as far as possible. Using it for short period of time(as said, water heater won't take much power if the thermostat not set to max heat), so in some sense need to compromise a bit on this.
For safety sake, yes you are right.
SUSsupersound
post May 14 2014, 10:11 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ May 14 2014, 10:02 AM)
bought rinnai water heaters during the fair... anyone used them before?
From where?
And after sales service support good or not hmm.gif
SUSsupersound
post May 14 2014, 10:22 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ May 14 2014, 10:14 AM)
aiyo, the homedec lor, pricing so attractive make me wanna buy nia

around 500+ (lower 500s) for each without the rainshower thing since i bought hansgrohe shower hand thing

dunno about anything else because never bought their things before rclxms.gif
Sorry, my bad.
I mean is made from where notworthy.gif
When buying electric appliances, after sales service support are very important.
That's why I never buy any item in Homdec.
SUSsupersound
post May 14 2014, 10:34 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ May 14 2014, 10:24 AM)
japan lor. rinnai all their things they told me from jipon
http://www.rinnai.com.my/main/service/contact
Looks like is from Japan, but made in where are a question mark whistling.gif
Service centers also not much, so sweat.gif
SUSsupersound
post May 14 2014, 10:41 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ May 14 2014, 10:37 AM)
made in japon

should be japon Q

less service centers mean = awesome product no need service (i hope)

Update:

Rinnai Corporation is a company based in Nagoya, Japan, that manufactures gas appliances, including energy-efficient tankless water heaters,[1] home heating appliances, and boilers.

Incorporated in 1920, Rinnai has 20 branches, six domestic production facilities, and 86 sales offices globally including Australia, Brazil, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, New Zealand, China, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, the United Kingdom, Vietnam, and the United States.

The company produces its own branded tankless water heaters, as well as rebranded units sold by manufacturers such as Bradford White and GE.

From Wiki. They have 6 domestic = made in japon  laugh.gif
When the sellers stressing that it is from Japan, then I on the spot walked out(they are cheating) brows.gif
SUSsupersound
post May 14 2014, 11:01 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ May 14 2014, 10:45 AM)
rinnai not japan? i always thought that it was...
A Japan company does not means everything will be made in Japan whistling.gif
Usually they will build the manufacturing plant in third world countries to reduce cost.
SUSsupersound
post May 14 2014, 11:05 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ May 14 2014, 11:03 AM)
but but but

the wiki entry mentioned that they have 6 domestic plants...
I can have 20 domestic plants but I won't tell you where are them located brows.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 14 2014, 11:49 AM

11,554 posts

Suddenly all want to say that instant water heater are not safe. Is funny.
Then the storage type will be also safe?
Before ruling out something, why not ask those that had incidents, how long have they use it? Did they do regular maintenance or not?
And instant water heaters are low pressure? Again another lie. Get the internal pump type and it can as strong as you want.
SUSsupersound
post Sep 21 2014, 03:08 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(white cam @ Sep 21 2014, 12:24 PM)
Thanks weikee. 
Any comments on i-Series without pump?
For water heater, I'll get those that can last you 5-6 years. If it last too long, you will forget about what does safety means.
When you forget what does safety means, you may end up your face's photo posted in the newspaper.
All water heater needs to be check once every 5 years.
SUSsupersound
post Sep 21 2014, 03:17 PM

11,554 posts

double post

This post has been edited by supersound: Sep 21 2014, 03:18 PM
SUSsupersound
post Sep 21 2014, 03:20 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(white cam @ Sep 21 2014, 03:12 PM)
Noted!  biggrin.gif
Get an electrician to check cost you rm100-200.
Getting a new about rm400-500.
So I don't really check but change it after 6 years.
SUSsupersound
post Sep 21 2014, 04:22 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(white cam @ Sep 21 2014, 04:19 PM)
which 1 you currently using now?
The Joven with auto ELCB failed after 7 years due to internal motor problem.
Now using Panasonic type also with internal motor. But with manual ELCB tripping for testing.
SUSsupersound
post Sep 21 2014, 05:50 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Sep 21 2014, 05:41 PM)
i have one super old joven heater currently in use. easily more than 10 years.. can i know what does the electrician check? it has a manual ELCB tripping for testing
He is just checking the internal parts. But again I won't really safe this rm500 to risk my life.
SUSsupersound
post Sep 21 2014, 05:55 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Sep 21 2014, 05:53 PM)
understood. just wondering what the electrician check for RM200. then again they will probably ask you to buy a new one...i wonder if can send back to the maker to have it check for a nominal fee..
That's why I just change to new 1 and spend another rm50 on him to install whistling.gif

SUSsupersound
post Sep 21 2014, 06:12 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Sep 21 2014, 06:01 PM)
yeah...but i just have the habit of not changing things...of coz this has something to do with safety hence wondering if there are any other ways...
i have a pana heater send back for them to check cause i thought rosak(but actually the problem lies with the switch) end up paying RM70 just to check and tell me nothing wrong...
I also the same, won't simply change things. But now this perception changes as when my 1st water heater fails, the pump "exploded" with all the carbon.
What if it leaks before fails? I won't be here anymore cry.gif

0.0536sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:28 AM