QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 9 2012, 01:00 AM)
Canon G1X also coming. Finally a big sensor PnS which many kept asking for butstrange no excitement shown for this camera.
http://1.s.img-dpreview.com/files/news/112.../G1X.jpg?v=1301
FUJIFILM X10
Jan 10 2012, 05:06 PM
511 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jan 9 2012, 01:00 AM) Canon G1X also coming. Finally a big sensor PnS which many kept asking for butstrange no excitement shown for this camera. http://1.s.img-dpreview.com/files/news/112.../G1X.jpg?v=1301 |
Mar 6 2012, 07:37 AM
Fuji just announced this. Maybe they will recall our x10 and replace the sensor.
Wait for answer on 12/03/12 "Fujifilm has said it will provide a 'definitive solution' to the white orb blooming problem on its X10 enthusiast compact camera. No further details are available at this point but Fujifilm UK, speaking at the Focus 2012 show in Birmingham UK, said that it is aware of customer concerns and that there will be making a full statement on March 12th." Added on March 6, 2012, 7:48 am QUOTE(yangxi @ Mar 6 2012, 01:52 AM) The lower left pic is actually ok to me. Even though the 2 street light have orbsin the middle they are still nicely star shaped. This post has been edited by enviro: Mar 6 2012, 07:48 AM |
Mar 8 2012, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Mar 8 2012, 01:11 PM) I wonder what it will be. Hoping for something good but then again don't want to hope so much lol... The x10 is only 3 months old. Too early for them to give up and dump this camera.If fuji dont solve this problem their sales for the next 12 mth or so product life will be badly affected not to mention their reputation and other models and future models. somehow I feel they will not forget us the early buyers. If they do then they better commit harakiri Added on March 8, 2012, 1:27 pm QUOTE(redmeanmachine @ Mar 8 2012, 10:35 AM) http://dreuxsawyer.blogspot.com/2012/02/re...-uv-filter.htmlThis post has been edited by enviro: Mar 8 2012, 01:33 PM |
Mar 9 2012, 04:24 AM
QUOTE(joeroxworld @ Mar 8 2012, 10:51 PM) So far during daylight is superb. I use the camera like you so I have not even upgraded the firmware. At a popularI hardly snap at night. Seen few pictures, the orb is kinda distracting. 12th March, hopefully a new sensor replacement. This camera ain't cheap yo ! US forum the problem is hotly debated with some cursing Fuji so if thy cannot solve the technical problem then they should follow apple iphone 4 experience and offer refund to those unhappy customers. This post has been edited by enviro: Mar 13 2012, 04:50 AM |
Mar 10 2012, 07:09 AM
Mar 12 2012, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Mar 12 2012, 04:05 PM) Someone posted on dpreview "Today is X10 Day " we are waiting !! Ha ha US n UK Office hours starts in 1 hour. X10 owners worldwide looking forward to Fuji announcement like kids on christmas day Funny that a point and shoot camera can get so much attention. |
Mar 13 2012, 04:14 AM
QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Mar 13 2012, 03:24 AM) Announcement out but no final solution as yet. Fuji basically confirmedlast firmware update causes the x10 to increase ISO when shooting bright lights which we know didnt work. They also say a new sensor will be available in late May but did not say if early buyers will be given replacement. March 12, 2012 The FUJIFILM X10 and X-S1 digital cameras were made available by Fujifilm late last year, and have been generally very well received by customers, who admire the excellent picture quality, manual zoom lens and viewfinder. However, we did receive some inquiries concerning the so-called ‘white disc’ or ‘blooming’ occurrence, where exceptional highlights in the picture can appear as strongly delineated rounded shapes. This ‘blooming’ effect can occur with all digital cameras which use CMOS sensors, to varying degrees. It can also occur with the X10 and X-S1 when shooting in certain conditions, e.g. cars with front lights shining in dark night scene. The X10 and X-S1 are fitted with a very advanced sensor, which gives excellent picture quality and low noise, but which does give a different ‘blooming’ effect from other cameras. Fujifilm has a long-standing history of delivering top quality products to the market. In response to our customers’ comments, we have worked hard to find an improvement to reduce the ‘blooming’ effect of the X10 and X-S1. Below are the actions we have undertaken. In February, we announced a firmware upgrade for the X10 (version 1.03) which does reduce the white disc occurrence specifically in EXR mode. It works by identifying scenes that are likely to get ‘white disc’ blooming. When the camera recognizes such a scene, it automatically increases the ISO and optimizes DR (dynamic range). As the ISO increases, the white discs are less evident. * New firmware for the X-S1 will be available from March 21, 2012. We will also develop a modified sensor, which will more universally resolve the ‘white disc’ blooming effect in all modes. We are working hard to make this new sensor available from late May 2012. We encourage any customer with an X10 and X-S1 who has experienced the ‘white disc’ phenomenon to call their local authorized Fujifilm service centre. Fujifilm is committed to delivering the highest quality products to the photographic community, and is happy to provide this improvement. This post has been edited by enviro: Mar 13 2012, 04:53 AM |
Mar 14 2012, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Mar 14 2012, 10:04 AM) Good news everyone! We have a date! It was nice of Fuji Malaysia to reply your email fast and with good news too. The fewAlso, finally the announcement is on their site. http://www.myfinepix.co.uk/news/statement-...blooming-effect times I called them with other problems, I was well served. Kudos to you Fuji Malaysia. Lots of time to do the switch (and to see if it works) Thanks Joseph Hahn for getting us the good news. |
Mar 20 2012, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(kenlui @ Mar 14 2012, 09:47 PM) Just got mine about a week back. Haven't noticed any orb turning out in my pics yet. Will try to take note of that first. Well, if we don't have the orb issue does it mean we can't replace the sensor? All X10 can produce orbs regardless of serial numbers until they stick a new sensor intothe camera in may. I am sure they will rename it then. Actually daytime easier to get orbs due to low iso selected. Snap photos of cars parked under the sun in the afternoon and view those sun glare spots at 100% (press main command dial) in the camera lcd and you will surely see them. Normal viewing size they are hard to see. |
Mar 23 2012, 08:18 AM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 22 2012, 11:09 PM) looks like some ppl didnt read the manual, cos that strap doesnt look like its going thru the small metal triangle, and that is the piece thats suppose to hold the strap. Yeah, that small leather piece just on the sides to protect the body from that small metal triangle. |
Mar 24 2012, 03:53 PM
I am going to email fuji Malaysia to join the queue for a new sensor. If they need
proof, I will send them this photo. ![]() |
Mar 24 2012, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 24 2012, 07:02 PM) i'm very curious what settings u use to get orbs? Try shooting from outside your car. On a sunny day ISO 100, speed 1/600, f5, 112mm. P modehere are my 2 miserable failed attempts at trying to get orbs. left side is obviously underexposed just to show where the hotspots are. all shot in manual mode. I tried all the modes all the same can produce orbs. If i increase ISO to 800 ,1/1800, f9 ,112mm P mode the orbs are gone. Dont forget to view at 100%. |
Mar 25 2012, 11:56 AM
Mar 27 2012, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Mar 26 2012, 12:11 PM) Lol that's really bad. I have yet to try shooting shiny things at daylight but at night it's proven to be as bad as your pic. This is normal result for ALL X10 until new sensor is fitted. You just have toMaybe you're lucky to get a good copy! The reason i didn't get the pouch even though the seller say it's "free". want to shoot to get it. After that it is easy to replicate. Good copy bad copy means quality control problem at production. Fuji would not resort to expensive sensor replacement if this is the case. Added on March 27, 2012, 8:35 am QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Mar 27 2012, 08:19 AM) I did try shooting my phone LED. Shoot a few photos night and day to get orbs. After sensor replacement shoot theAt F2 it's perfectly round but at at F2.2 there's a nice starry shape around the orb. High ISO not so bad la because of the noise. Only ISO 100-800 it seems bad. Eh why don't we post pics taken by the X10 or the X10 itself instead of talking about orb the whole time? same scenes again at same settings to see if problem is solved. Added on March 27, 2012, 8:57 am QUOTE(redmeanmachine @ Mar 27 2012, 01:42 AM) Yes, it's due to settings. I have tried the settings from this site, and I get the star-shaped effect instead of the orb result! simply brilliant! Yes we know how to avoid orbs. It is using higher ISO and avoiding bright light source.http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp...essage=40595479 You should try it! We X10 owners have to thank those owners who agressively attacked Fuji on this issue until they gave in and promised us new sensors. If they kept quite Fuji would have waited until they launch X20 ? to solve the issue and save tons of money. This post has been edited by enviro: Mar 27 2012, 09:02 AM |
Mar 27 2012, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(redmeanmachine @ Mar 27 2012, 11:00 AM) btw, enviro, how to post pics here? when i use the 'img' tag, it is expecting some kind of http link. is there a way to upload the pic here directly from my hard disk? I copy from photobucket and paste here. Maybe others can explain better.http://www.malaysiawatchforum.com/index.ph...pic,1228.0.html |
Apr 12 2012, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(simonckyong @ Apr 10 2012, 03:46 PM) anyone have this problem with on/off issue ? it has been very annoying when you want to take a snapshot, it cannot power on or hang...need to on/off afew times before it get back to normal. by the way how to upload pics to this forum ? The on/off switch on the x10 is not well designed in my opinion. First it does notfeel precise. Instead of click"on"click "off" it is like going over a bump feeling when "on" and going over bump again to "off." Real cheap feeling. Another problem is if you dont shoot for more than 2 min. it will go to sleep mode. Other cameras you just press shutter button and it will wake up ready to shoot again. On the x10 you have to twist lens to switch "off" and then twist the lens to switch "on" again before you can shoot again. If you are playing tourist at some spot then you have to"on"and "off" the camera too often. |
Apr 12 2012, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 12 2012, 03:27 PM) that is not a camera problem, but user problem. User problem my foot, pls understand the issue : the menu already has an option to turn off sleep mode. flat lah.The battery life already shitty.It is the stupid camera cannot get out of sleep mode by half pressing the shutter like other cameras. Who dont know sleep mode can be switched off. : |
Apr 26 2012, 06:24 PM
X10 modified sensor has been tested. Initial result indicates orb
issue solved. http://www.dpreview.com/news/2012/04/26/Fu...hite-orb-update |
Aug 25 2012, 08:47 AM
Ken Rockwell has this to say
"POP Photo magazine just tested the RX100 (page 80, Sept 2012 issue), and high ISO performance is horrible, with only an ISO 400 maximum acceptable speed. Forget it if you were mislead into thinking the RX100 has a DSLR sensor, it's just a little sensor with a big marketing campaign behind it. If you want a posh point and shoot for $650 with a small sensor, get the Fuji X10 for $100 less with far better mechanics, much faster zooming and handling and a faster lens (Sony markets as "f/1.8," but the RX100 lens is only f/4.9 at the long end):" This post has been edited by enviro: Aug 25 2012, 08:48 AM |
Sep 17 2012, 08:53 PM
Fujifilm XF1 announced. Pleasantly surprised that it is smaller than X10.
Looks highly pocketable and not too expensive at about RM1500. Might get this or the new Canon S110 ( like the new touchscreen) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iE-PRQHs6T8 |
| Change to: | 0.0325sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:08 PM |